Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 2000, XP or Vista giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Linux ?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Welcome Screen Spinning Circle Problem
Old
  (#1)
wsarahan
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 780 SC SLI
Processor: i7 4770k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GAZ87X OC Force
Memory: 16GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: SB Recon 3D
PSU: Coolermaster 1200W Gold
Default Welcome Screen Spinning Circle Problem - 07-26-2013, 04:17 | posts: 221 | Location: Brazil

Hi guys how are you?

So I`m with a strange issue that just started today (Some hours ago)

Wgen i boot my system or restart or shutdown the spiining circle does not spins anymore, it`s hard to explain but it stays stuck

The system boot normal, restart and login at same speed than before

I found i guy with the same issue but no answer and he posted the image, i think it will be easier to understand:



Anyonw knows how to come back to normal state?

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
mbk1969
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce 780 GTX
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard+NuForce Icon HDP
PSU: 1000 W
Default 07-26-2013, 09:29 | posts: 1,290 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Thoughts:
- screen not updated due to some bug
- circle not updated due to overwhelmed CPU

For errors look in the Event Viewer.
For startup programs, drivers and services look in the Autoruns.exe (from Sysinternals). There you can turn off some autostarted items and see if circle returns to normal.

Edit: Knowing how many actions Windows performs during startup it`s strange that animation is possible at all.

Last edited by mbk1969; 07-26-2013 at 09:31.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
CorNeLL
Maha Guru
 
CorNeLL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS EAH6850 DC V2
Processor: Phenom II X6 1055T 3.5GHz
Mainboard: ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO USB3
Memory: DDR3 G.SKILL Ripjaws 12GB
Soundcard: Onboard HD + AltecLansing
PSU: Coolmax 550W
Default 07-27-2013, 02:41 | posts: 871 | Location: Tijuana

try doing an integrity check

open command prompt as admin and type sfc /scannow
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
wsarahan
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 780 SC SLI
Processor: i7 4770k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GAZ87X OC Force
Memory: 16GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: SB Recon 3D
PSU: Coolermaster 1200W Gold
Default 07-27-2013, 03:35 | posts: 221 | Location: Brazil

Quote:
Originally Posted by CorNeLL View Post
try doing an integrity check

open command prompt as admin and type sfc /scannow
Thanks

Just tried now and the scan did not found any violation or error

Still with no spinning wheel
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Fender178
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 560 Ti (R9 280X Soon)
Processor: Q6600 (4790K Soon)
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45T-UD3LR
Memory: Cosair 8GB DDR3 (4x2GB)
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG 5.1
PSU: Corsair AX 860W(Soon)
Default 07-27-2013, 15:41 | posts: 1,047 | Location: Pennsylvania

Quote:
Originally Posted by wsarahan View Post
Thanks

Just tried now and the scan did not found any violation or error

Still with no spinning wheel
Does windows boot into safe mode?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
wsarahan
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 780 SC SLI
Processor: i7 4770k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GAZ87X OC Force
Memory: 16GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: SB Recon 3D
PSU: Coolermaster 1200W Gold
Default 07-28-2013, 17:52 | posts: 221 | Location: Brazil

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fender178 View Post
Does windows boot into safe mode?
Yes it boots but without the spinning animation just like in the normal mode
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 07-28-2013, 23:39 | posts: 3,714

I think it's been like that from the last couple of Patch Tuesdays.
Since the boot time (to Desktop) is still the same as ever I never really thought much about it.

Besides, I seldom sit in front of my laptop every time I start/restart it; just press a button then go scout the fridge or something. =b




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
wsarahan
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 780 SC SLI
Processor: i7 4770k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GAZ87X OC Force
Memory: 16GB 2400Mhz
Soundcard: SB Recon 3D
PSU: Coolermaster 1200W Gold
Default 07-28-2013, 23:50 | posts: 221 | Location: Brazil

Quote:
Originally Posted by k1net1cs View Post
I think it's been like that from the last couple of Patch Tuesdays.
Since the boot time (to Desktop) is still the same as ever I never really thought much about it.

Besides, I seldom sit in front of my laptop every time I start/restart it; just press a button then go scout the fridge or something. =b
But yours is not spinning just as mine?

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 07-29-2013, 00:38 | posts: 3,714

Not spinning at first, but close to showing up the login screen it did spin a bit.
Just unlike some times ago when it'd spin right when it showed up.

Like I said, I'm already used to ignore that bit and you should try to.
It doesn't affect your system's performance at all.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.