Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Seagate World's Fastest Enterprise Hard Drive
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Seagate World's Fastest Enterprise Hard Drive - 07-24-2013, 08:39 | posts: 21,697 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Seagate announced it is shipping the world's fastest hard drive - the Seagate Enterprise Turbo SSHD. The industry's first enterprise solid state hybrid drive (SSHD), the Enterprise Turbo SSHD combin...

Seagate World's Fastest Enterprise Hard Drive
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 07-25-2013, 22:02 | posts: 1,377 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

Never got much into Enterprise level tech, but what better or why should any company/center choose this over a 512/960GB ssd?

Life span/MTBF? Cost? Someone please enlighten me on this. I'm curious. Thanks.

Last edited by Koniakki; 07-25-2013 at 22:06.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Black_ice_Spain
Ancient Guru
 
Black_ice_Spain's Avatar
 
Videocard: 970GTX 4gb
Processor: 2500K @ 4.4 / 1.28v
Mainboard: Z77P-D3
Memory: 8gb 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: AC Strike-X 600W
Default 07-25-2013, 22:08 | posts: 4,410 | Location: Spain

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koniakki View Post
Never got much into Enterprise level tech, but what better or why should any company/center choose this over a 512/960GB ssd? Life span/MTBF?
backups for example (checkpoints of the software for example, not only system backups), high capacity and also fast backups, without the need of some special filesystem.

They'll have SSDs for sure, but not the whole system, they need a lot of capacity and there is no infinite money, even if you have it, you also want to spend it on processing power. Also space (real space they take in racks, as you need multiple SSD to have the same capacity than a real HDD, well not in this case , so it should be money) could be a problem.

Also this concrete model looks like a "i have this fastest thing" kind of marketing too.

Last edited by Black_ice_Spain; 07-25-2013 at 22:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 07-25-2013, 22:26 | posts: 1,377 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black_ice_Spain View Post
backups for example (checkpoints of the software for example, not only system backups), high capacity and also fast backups, without the need of some special filesystem.

They'll have SSDs for sure, but not the whole system, they need a lot of capacity and there is no infinite money, even if you have it, you also want to spend it on processing power. Also space (real space they take in racks, as you need multiple SSD to have the same capacity than a real HDD, well not in this case , so it should be money) could be a problem.

Also this concrete model looks like a "i have this fastest thing" kind of marketing too.
Some really good points. Thanks Black.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.