Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
nvidia system.exe ram problem..
Old
  (#1)
sqook
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 3000 + Gt 525m(o.c)
Processor: i5 2410m
Mainboard: hm67 express
Memory: dual 2*4 gb ddr3 1333mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default nvidia system.exe ram problem.. - 07-23-2013, 12:40 | posts: 66

my laptop
dell n5110
i5-2410m
8gb ram
500 gb hdd
intel hd 3000 + gt 525m ( o.c ) 750mhz. ( Nvidia System Tools o.c software )
system : windows ultimate sp1 64 bit eng



326.xx all driver problem

help me : (
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
FatBoyNL
Maha Guru
 
FatBoyNL's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 TF Gaming
Processor: i7-2600K 45x100 Mugen2B
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe 3603
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill Sr-F3 1866C9
Soundcard: ZxR|RX-A1020 DT880|MT-60D
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 800W
Default 07-23-2013, 13:18 | posts: 1,309 | Location: The Netherlands

Just don't use NVidia System Tools.
There are better programs like MSI Afterburner or EVGA Precision.

EDIT: I suspect NVidia System Tools might not be ready yet for the newer NVidia drivers.

EDIT 2: btw, why do you think NVidia System Tools is the cause of your problem?

EDIT 3: why do you think you have a problem in the first place?

Last edited by FatBoyNL; 07-23-2013 at 15:36.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Iruwen
Master Guru
 
Iruwen's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW
Processor: Intel Core i7-920
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P
Memory: 6GB PC3-10667U CL7-7-7-18
Soundcard: Soundblaster X-Fi Titan
PSU: Enermax MODU82+ 625W
Default 07-23-2013, 13:29 | posts: 307 | Location: Germany

I'd guess "System" is the windows kernel space and some kernel module is utilizing a lot of memory there. And that's it, pretty much. I wouldn't use any tools or tweaks at all and test again. If it's gone, there's the problem.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
LesserHellspawn
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte GTX660ti OC
Processor: Core i7 2600K 4.3 GHz
Mainboard: GA-P67A-UD7-B3
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill DDR3 1600 lv
Soundcard: Auzen X-Fi Prelude
PSU: Enermax Platimax 1,2 KW
Default 07-23-2013, 13:30 | posts: 347

Not a driver problem, as it's just 9356k here with the 326 drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Iruwen
Master Guru
 
Iruwen's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW
Processor: Intel Core i7-920
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P
Memory: 6GB PC3-10667U CL7-7-7-18
Soundcard: Soundblaster X-Fi Titan
PSU: Enermax MODU82+ 625W
Default 07-23-2013, 13:33 | posts: 307 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by LesserHellspawn View Post
Not a driver problem, as it's just 9356k here with the 326 drivers.
That's a pretty shortsighted argument.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 07-23-2013, 13:56 | posts: 12,159 | Location: England

952 KB is less than 1 MB so why are you concerned over a system process using that little memory when you have around 8,000 MB of memory? I could understand it if it was 952 MB...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Iruwen
Master Guru
 
Iruwen's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW
Processor: Intel Core i7-920
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P
Memory: 6GB PC3-10667U CL7-7-7-18
Soundcard: Soundblaster X-Fi Titan
PSU: Enermax MODU82+ 625W
Default 07-23-2013, 14:13 | posts: 307 | Location: Germany

That's two different screenshots, it's ~260MB in the first one Nothing to worry about, but makes you wonder why it only happens with specific drivers and I've heard reports of it growing way higher, causing crashes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 07-23-2013, 14:19 | posts: 12,159 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iruwen View Post
That's two different screenshots, it's ~260MB in the first one Nothing to worry about, but makes you wonder why it only happens with specific drivers and I've heard reports of it growing way higher, causing crashes.
Where is this 260 MB? I can only see 260 K, which is 0.26 MB approx...

*EDIT*
OK, so it's a bad screenshot as it looks like 260.184 K and not 260,184 K. As such it's probably best that you ignore my posts as that obviously is a big difference and likely a bug.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Cyberdyne
Maha Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 ACX 1241/3139
Processor: i7 4770K @4.4GHz CLW0222
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: Vengeance 2x8GB @1600
Soundcard: Logitech G430 + FiiO E6
PSU: CORSAIR tx750w
Default 07-23-2013, 15:04 | posts: 2,169 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyberdyne View Post
You keep posting about this, but it doesn't make any sense.
For one, there is no such thing as system.exe, from the taskmanager it's just called system. It's not an executable. It's where the windows kernel lives.

No one else reports having this problem, if you ask me it sounds like a virus. And yes, it is possible that the problem goes away when you install an older driver, obviously your system is unstable in the first place. Do a clean install of windows (don't install whatever you think you need), I bet you the problem goes away.
....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
sqook
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 3000 + Gt 525m(o.c)
Processor: i5 2410m
Mainboard: hm67 express
Memory: dual 2*4 gb ddr3 1333mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 07-23-2013, 15:34 | posts: 66

new screen
326.29
uninstall nvidia system tools and new driver clean install
problemsss :S
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
ravaged
Newbie
 
Videocard: R9 270 2GB
Processor: i5 3570K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 16GB Crucial Low Profile
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec Neo Eco 620W
Default 07-23-2013, 15:57 | posts: 38

You don't have this problem with other driver versions? Because that looks like malware to me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
sqook
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 3000 + Gt 525m(o.c)
Processor: i5 2410m
Mainboard: hm67 express
Memory: dual 2*4 gb ddr3 1333mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 07-23-2013, 16:51 | posts: 66

don' t malware, 320.49 driver i dont problem.

scan results:
g data int sec 2014 (clean)
bitdefender int sec 2014 (clean)
360 ( chine ) ( avira+bitdefender+360+qvm II) result (clean)
emsisoft energy kit ( clean)
dr.web ( clean)
comodo (clean)
malwarebytes ( clean)
hitman pro ( clean)
kaskersky (clean)

malware ? no malware
driver problem !!! nvidia.!

Last edited by sqook; 07-23-2013 at 18:16.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Cyberdyne
Maha Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 ACX 1241/3139
Processor: i7 4770K @4.4GHz CLW0222
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: Vengeance 2x8GB @1600
Soundcard: Logitech G430 + FiiO E6
PSU: CORSAIR tx750w
Default 07-23-2013, 19:22 | posts: 2,169 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania

Try doing what FatBoyNL said. Or uninstal NV System Tool altogether. I would do both.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
sqook
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 3000 + Gt 525m(o.c)
Processor: i5 2410m
Mainboard: hm67 express
Memory: dual 2*4 gb ddr3 1333mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 07-23-2013, 22:10 | posts: 66

nvidia uninstall tools, restart and nvidia 326.29 driver clean install and

image :
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Grendel_66
Master Guru
 
Grendel_66's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel i7-3930K
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage IV Gene
Memory: 4x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Seasonic X650
Default 07-23-2013, 22:51 | posts: 786 | Location: OR, US

Looks like a memory leak in the Nvidia drivers. Could explain the 2-day crashes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Sajittarius
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX970 G1 Gaming
Processor: Core I7 4790k
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO
Memory: 16GB Crucial Ballistix
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium
PSU: 850W Corsair
Default 07-24-2013, 19:42 | posts: 231 | Location: New York, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
Where is this 260 MB? I can only see 260 K, which is 0.26 MB approx...

*EDIT*
OK, so it's a bad screenshot as it looks like 260.184 K and not 260,184 K. As such it's probably best that you ignore my posts as that obviously is a big difference and likely a bug.
No, it really was a period, some places switch the period and comma for their numbers.

to the OP, can you see more processes under System in Process Explorer? System is not an EXE, so that means another program is using that memory (as someone else already said). It should appear under System though if you are using Process Explorer.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Iruwen
Master Guru
 
Iruwen's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW
Processor: Intel Core i7-920
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD4P
Memory: 6GB PC3-10667U CL7-7-7-18
Soundcard: Soundblaster X-Fi Titan
PSU: Enermax MODU82+ 625W
Default 07-25-2013, 11:53 | posts: 307 | Location: Germany

Process Explorer can list the system (kernel) threads, but unfortunately not their respective memory usage. Identifying kernel mode memory leaks requires a different approach:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...(v=vs.85).aspx
But that'll likely only lead to nvlddmkm.sys anyway which wouldn't really help him. Since it's a Dell notebook with a custom BIOS, there could be a plethora of reasons for this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
sqook
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 3000 + Gt 525m(o.c)
Processor: i5 2410m
Mainboard: hm67 express
Memory: dual 2*4 gb ddr3 1333mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 07-25-2013, 13:34 | posts: 66

okey thank you all
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Sajittarius
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX970 G1 Gaming
Processor: Core I7 4790k
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO
Memory: 16GB Crucial Ballistix
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium
PSU: 850W Corsair
Default 07-25-2013, 13:54 | posts: 231 | Location: New York, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iruwen View Post
Process Explorer can list the system (kernel) threads, but unfortunately not their respective memory usage. Identifying kernel mode memory leaks requires a different approach:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...(v=vs.85).aspx
But that'll likely only lead to nvlddmkm.sys anyway which wouldn't really help him. Since it's a Dell notebook with a custom BIOS, there could be a plethora of reasons for this.
oops, youre right i was thinking of svchost showing individual processes...

Yea, my first thought was that it was related to the Intel+Nvidia on the motherboard, i have an old hp laptop that has ATI+intel and it's a real pain changing drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
sqook
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 3000 + Gt 525m(o.c)
Processor: i5 2410m
Mainboard: hm67 express
Memory: dual 2*4 gb ddr3 1333mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 07-26-2013, 03:57 | posts: 66

format :/
windows 8.1 error :S
windows 7 clean install
chipset
intel hd 3000
gt 525m nvidia 326.29 error system.exe ram problem ..
and 320.49 continued..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
LesserHellspawn
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte GTX660ti OC
Processor: Core i7 2600K 4.3 GHz
Mainboard: GA-P67A-UD7-B3
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill DDR3 1600 lv
Soundcard: Auzen X-Fi Prelude
PSU: Enermax Platimax 1,2 KW
Default 07-26-2013, 11:00 | posts: 347

I can't for the life of me reproduce that, even though my notebook specs are near identical: HD3000 + 525M, 2x4 GB RAM. CPU is i7-2620, chipset HM65 though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
sqook
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 3000 + Gt 525m(o.c)
Processor: i5 2410m
Mainboard: hm67 express
Memory: dual 2*4 gb ddr3 1333mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 07-26-2013, 14:00 | posts: 66

Quote:
Originally Posted by LesserHellspawn View Post
I can't for the life of me reproduce that, even though my notebook specs are near identical: HD3000 + 525M, 2x4 GB RAM. CPU is i7-2620, chipset HM65 though.
u notebook problem ? system.exe ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Xphome
Member Guru
 
Xphome's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 780 3GB
Processor: Core i5 3570K 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 24GB DDR3 1600Mhz CL9
Soundcard: Logitech G35
PSU: Corsair TX750 V2
Default 07-26-2013, 15:08 | posts: 55 | Location: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by sqook View Post
u notebook problem ? system.exe ?
He just said that he can't reproduce it so no he doesn't have the problem, also it's just "System" not "system.exe".
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
BenYeeHua
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 650M D3
Processor: I5-3210M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop 90W Adapter
Default 07-26-2013, 15:48 | posts: 1,513

https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...tware-running/

So I just report the issues and also steps to reproduce at the Nvidia forum.

Steps to reproduce:
1.Running process monitoring software(Process Explorer for example) to observe the Working Set of System
2.Run monitoring software(NVIDIA System Tools, Msi afterburner etc.)
3.Close monitoring software
4.Repeat step 2 to 3, or running the monitoring software for a long time

Hope the OP can confirm this also happen on your side.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
sqook
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 3000 + Gt 525m(o.c)
Processor: i5 2410m
Mainboard: hm67 express
Memory: dual 2*4 gb ddr3 1333mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 07-26-2013, 16:27 | posts: 66

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xphome View Post
He just said that he can't reproduce it so no he doesn't have the problem, also it's just "System" not "system.exe".
thank you
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.