Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
custom loop,afraid to install it
Old
  (#1)
Trolle
Maha Guru
 
Trolle's Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX780
Processor: I7 3770K
Mainboard: Asus Z77 Sabertooth
Memory: Corsair dom.plat 16gb
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default custom loop,afraid to install it - 07-22-2013, 17:48 | posts: 1,017 | Location: Belgium

hi
si i upgraded my pc 2 months ago and with that i bought a custom loop kit(EK l360)
i had a few problems with it(bent fins on the rad(my fault) and i bought another reservoir)
so now i am constantly ready to install it all but right when i am about to begin i chicken out and i dont even try

i am afraid that i will get a leak and screw up some of my hardware(wich i currently dont have money for to replace)

so here i am stuck with a full uninstalled wc loop
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Mraz
Master Guru
 
Mraz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX TITAN@1202
Processor: FX-6300 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1.6Ghz C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair GS 800Watt series
Default 07-22-2013, 17:59 | posts: 624 | Location: Croatia

Use towels when installing, unplug all the power out from the PC itself.

Make sure you ground yourself somewhere before getting in touch with components.

Take a deep breath and GO...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Lain
Master Guru
 
Lain's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD5970 @ 950/1200MHz
Processor: I7 860 @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55A-UD6
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Realtec on board
PSU: CM Silent Pro M 1 kW
Default 07-22-2013, 18:25 | posts: 660 | Location: The Netherlands

Indeed, make sure you unplug all the hardware, short the PSU to start it (check google for the wires you need to short, or buy a shorted plug). As long as the hardware isn't powered water will not damage it.

Before you start: Yes, you're going to get a leak somewhere, so make sure you've got towels ready and within reach (because you'll be using your other hand to stop the flow of water)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 07-22-2013, 18:34 | posts: 5,416 | Location: FLA,USA

As long as no power is going to the computer and a little water gets on it don't worry dry it off and let it sit for a few hours to air dry before putting power back to it water will only damage it if it is powered on.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 07-22-2013, 18:39 | posts: 5,940 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

most water cooling kits come with a shorter to start the PSU up on its own. Something like this

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 07-22-2013, 18:41 | posts: 5,416 | Location: FLA,USA

^That looks handy, I just used a paper clip.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 07-22-2013, 19:37 | posts: 10,542 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
^That looks handy, I just used a paper clip.
I dont use anything as i go straight into bios, fill my reservoir with manual connect/disconnection of the pump refill res- repeat etc.. The good old fashioned way never fails

@OP...

Once all your tubing is all connected just have some towels under the barb/compression fittings and waterblocks. Once the loop is full and its not leaking i would just leave for 30 mins. If you dont get a leak within this time from any of the fittings then you aint gonna get one unless you loosen fittings.

You do not need to watertest for 12-24 hrs or more like some people do. Some people on ocuk i heard were testing for 3 days. Massive LoL and a waste of time. Water is one of the softest substances known to man yet it can penetrate anything, you will soon know if you have a leak within seconds nvm hours.

If you just tighten everyting up and check it after the chance of you getting a leak are very small and even if you do it wil probably just be a waterdrop coming from 1 of the fittings. Just tighten it abit more and Job done. Also remember to run your pump at full speed when filling the loop out as weak links in the chain will be revealed because of the increased water flow and head pressure.

Some of the compression fittings can be tough to screw on with your fingers only even though there supposed to sometimes they dont. So you may need to use so Pliers or Mole grips or something similar but you also may not have too.

I had to use mole grips and a towel with mine to get the compression fittings on tight. I used a towel so the compression fittings were not marked are dented from the mole grips.

Oh yeah never run your pump without water as it can permanently damage the motor.

Last edited by Veteran; 07-22-2013 at 19:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 780Ti Gaming SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 07-22-2013, 19:43 | posts: 13,542 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
I dont use anything as i go straight into bios, fill my reservoir with manual connect/disconnection of the pump refill res- repeat etc.. The good old fashioned way never fails

Once all your tubing is all connected just have some towels under the barb/compression fittings and waterblocks. Once the loop is full and its not leaking i would just leave for 30 mins. If you dont get a leak within this time from any of the fittings then you aint gonna get one unless you loosen fittings.

You do not need to watertest for 12-24 hrs or more like some people do. Some people on ocuk i heard were testing for 3 days. Massive LoL and a waste of time. Water is one of the softest substances known to man yet it can penetrate anything, you will soon know if you have a leak within seconds nvm hours.

If you just tighten everyting up and check it after the chance of you getting a leak are very small and even if you do it wil probably just be a waterdrop coming from 1 of the fittings. Just tighten it abit more and Job done. Also remember to run your pump at full speed when filling the loop as out weak links in the chain will be revealed because of the increased water flow and head pressure.

Some of the compression fittings can be tough to screw on with your fingers only even though there supposed to sometimes they dont. So you may need to use so Pliers or Mole grips or something similar but you also may not have too.

I had to use mole grips and a towel with mine to get the compression fittings on tight. I used a towel so the compression fittings were not marked are dented from the mole grips.

Oh yeah never run your pump without water is it can permanently damage the motor.
This sums it up real nice.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 07-22-2013, 19:50 | posts: 5,416 | Location: FLA,USA

I warmed my tubing with a hair drier then put it on the compression fittings that worked great for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 780Ti Gaming SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 07-22-2013, 19:58 | posts: 13,542 | Location: USA

Heating up the hose works wonders. I know people who buy smaller ID hoses than their fittings just for that super tight seal.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Trolle
Maha Guru
 
Trolle's Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX780
Processor: I7 3770K
Mainboard: Asus Z77 Sabertooth
Memory: Corsair dom.plat 16gb
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 07-23-2013, 18:21 | posts: 1,017 | Location: Belgium

ok thanks for the tips guys
i also had such a psu starter with my kit

thanks all
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.