Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
500$ build. intel/nvidia prefeered.
Old
  (#1)
SnipeFrenzy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: PNY GTX660 / 2gb
Processor: AMD FX-6300/3.5ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: G.Skill DDR3/1866mhz/8gb
Soundcard:
PSU: CoolMaster 500w
Default 500$ build. intel/nvidia prefeered. - 07-22-2013, 05:22 | posts: 181 | Location: Michigan

Got 500 dollars max to build a new pc. have been out the loop for a while but still inclined on whats out there. Willing to get a graphics card later since the intel hd 4600 integrated one is probably better then my 8600gt that is running at pci-e x4. i have a 120gb hard drive, and a 1tb external, also have a 575 watt psu.

Thanks for the help!

Last edited by SnipeFrenzy; 07-22-2013 at 05:29.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Lain
Master Guru
 
Lain's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD5970 @ 950/1200MHz
Processor: I7 860 @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55A-UD6
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Realtec on board
PSU: CM Silent Pro M 1 kW
Default 07-22-2013, 07:50 | posts: 660 | Location: The Netherlands

What country do you live in (where are you planning to buy), and what do you expect your new PC to do?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2*7970 @ 1000/1500
Processor: "Core i9" @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79S-UP5
Memory: 16GB@1600MHz@9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 07-22-2013, 13:12 | posts: 4,692 | Location: Not Far North Enough (England)

I hate to say this but you might be better going AMD for better performance at a lower price...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 07-22-2013, 13:31 | posts: 5,720 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Yea AMD would be 100% your better option for price/performance if that is your budget. An AMD A6 5600K would do you just fine, couple that with an AMD HD7790 or 7850 with 8GB RAM and a decent Asrock, Asus, Gigabyte board and your golden. A case could be had for pretty cheap as well, and you would only need a 450-500W PSU if you don't plan on overclocking and this would leave you with enough money for an SSD as well and 500GB HDD as a secondary storage for media files like music, movies, and games whilst keeping the SSD for the OS and main program files. This should keep you within your $500 budget maybe a little over. Try and recycle some parts from your current build like HDD and maybe ram if its compatible and not too old.

If you went with Intel for that price you might be stuck with an i3 or very low end i5 the performance would not be as good as with the AMD build.

EDIT: Going with the AMD A6 5600K you will get better iGPU than the built in Intel chips. Then upgrading to a better GPU down the line would be much better idea.

EDIT2:

Sorry I meant an AMD A8 5600K - which can be had for $99.99 from newegg LINK

Last edited by CPC_RedDawn; 07-22-2013 at 13:39.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 07-22-2013, 14:08 | posts: 5,198 | Location: FLA,USA

I agree go with the APU I would say the A10 5800k and a good FM2 board and use the internal GPU at 720p it will play most anything. Just remember get at least 2133 RAM as that is your frame buffer in the system so it needs to be quick.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Fender178
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 560 Ti (R9 290 Soon)
Processor: Q6600 (4790K Soon)
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45T-UD3LR
Memory: Cosair 8GB DDR3 (4x2GB)
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG 5.1
PSU: Corsair AX 860W(Soon)
Default 07-22-2013, 14:10 | posts: 1,245 | Location: Pennsylvania

I agree with the other posters that AMD is your best bet since you are on a budget and the graphics that is included with the AMD APU would be alot better than any Intel HD graphics.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
SnipeFrenzy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: PNY GTX660 / 2gb
Processor: AMD FX-6300/3.5ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: G.Skill DDR3/1866mhz/8gb
Soundcard:
PSU: CoolMaster 500w
Default 07-22-2013, 19:21 | posts: 181 | Location: Michigan

Thanks for the replys.

I live in the usa and i was looking at these items.

Cpu: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=ATVPDKIKX0DER

mobo: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=ATVPDKIKX0DER

ram: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=ATVPDKIKX0DER

and windows 7 home edition.

my psu should do i what i need it to do. i got a case to hold it all. my hdd will work for now, i plan to buy a much better one later on along with the video card. all comes to just over 420$. never had an AMD processor so dont know what to think of them but im not totally set on the i5-4570.

edit: also will the integrated gpu on the amd processor..hold me out long enough to get a really nice gpu later on...compared to the hd 4600?

Last edited by SnipeFrenzy; 07-22-2013 at 19:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Fender178
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 560 Ti (R9 290 Soon)
Processor: Q6600 (4790K Soon)
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45T-UD3LR
Memory: Cosair 8GB DDR3 (4x2GB)
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG 5.1
PSU: Corsair AX 860W(Soon)
Default 07-22-2013, 19:47 | posts: 1,245 | Location: Pennsylvania

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnipeFrenzy View Post
Thanks for the replys.

I live in the usa and i was looking at these items.

Cpu: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=ATVPDKIKX0DER

mobo: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=ATVPDKIKX0DER

ram: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=ATVPDKIKX0DER

and windows 7 home edition.

my psu should do i what i need it to do. i got a case to hold it all. my hdd will work for now, i plan to buy a much better one later on along with the video card. all comes to just over 420$. never had an AMD processor so dont know what to think of them but im not totally set on the i5-4570.

edit: also will the integrated gpu on the amd processor..hold me out long enough to get a really nice gpu later on...compared to the hd 4600?
What are you planning on doing with this system? If you are planning on doing any kind of gaming then Integrated GPU in the AMD chip will preform a lot better than the Intel HD 4600 and will tide you over long enough until you can afford a decent card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
SnipeFrenzy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: PNY GTX660 / 2gb
Processor: AMD FX-6300/3.5ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: G.Skill DDR3/1866mhz/8gb
Soundcard:
PSU: CoolMaster 500w
Default 07-22-2013, 22:32 | posts: 181 | Location: Michigan

I do plan on gaming. Is the amd CPU as good as the i5-4570 in terms of power. Also if I go amd, what setup would you suggest in the 500$ range?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 07-22-2013, 23:10 | posts: 6,284 | Location: USA

No its not near as fast CPU wise but the integrated graphics is much better.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 07-22-2013, 23:22 | posts: 5,198 | Location: FLA,USA

Here's a close comparison no solid data on the 4570 yet this is a 3470 i5 vs. A10 5800K
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/675?vs=702

Keep in mind this is all cpu the game scores at the bottom are not with iGPU.
If you plan to go for a fairly higher end GPU later you may want to suffer through intel HD4600.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
SnipeFrenzy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: PNY GTX660 / 2gb
Processor: AMD FX-6300/3.5ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: G.Skill DDR3/1866mhz/8gb
Soundcard:
PSU: CoolMaster 500w
Default 07-23-2013, 00:22 | posts: 181 | Location: Michigan

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnipeFrenzy View Post
Thanks for the replys.

I live in the usa and i was looking at these items.

Cpu: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=ATVPDKIKX0DER

mobo: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=ATVPDKIKX0DER

ram: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=ATVPDKIKX0DER

and windows 7 home edition.
If I went the 4570 route..would this be a good setup? Maybe more ram tho.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 07-23-2013, 02:08 | posts: 5,198 | Location: FLA,USA

CPU should be fine though i would go with one of these http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116899

Mother board you picked is a h87 I would suggest a Z87 like this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157369

RAM what you picked is a bit slow I would recommend a bit faster like this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231460

without windows 7 home premium it comes up to 461.97 but that is a great base to work with you will have a motherboard and CPU that is overclockable so you can give yourself a free upgrade later when you need the extra power with the new GPU you get. Do you currently have windows 7 if so you can transfer your license to the new computer?

Last edited by Loophole35; 07-23-2013 at 02:12.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
SnipeFrenzy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: PNY GTX660 / 2gb
Processor: AMD FX-6300/3.5ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: G.Skill DDR3/1866mhz/8gb
Soundcard:
PSU: CoolMaster 500w
Default 07-23-2013, 03:36 | posts: 181 | Location: Michigan

That's some nice component s..and no I don't have win7, anyway you could "dumb" down something so I can get win7 and stay in budget? I'm on windows xp still :/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 07-23-2013, 17:03 | posts: 6,284 | Location: USA

Get a win 7 upgrade, no need for a full version. I think they are like 100 bucks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 07-23-2013, 17:48 | posts: 5,198 | Location: FLA,USA

Here's a nice combo that still has a Z87 and a 4670k so you can still overclock however the motherboard does not support SLI/crossfire
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboD...=Combo.1386591

This with the memory I linked earlier coma out to about $410 if you look around you can find a W7 key for OEM for less than $100.

BTW do you have a Microcenter close by as they usually have amazing in store deals.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
SnipeFrenzy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: PNY GTX660 / 2gb
Processor: AMD FX-6300/3.5ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: G.Skill DDR3/1866mhz/8gb
Soundcard:
PSU: CoolMaster 500w
Default 07-23-2013, 19:11 | posts: 181 | Location: Michigan

okay im going go to buy that the overclocking ability will be real nice when i get a nice gpu. i was also thinking about going to windows 8 instead of 7 and if i do can i just reformat this hard drive from the windows 8 disc and then immediately install windows 8 when i get all the parts?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 07-23-2013, 19:57 | posts: 5,198 | Location: FLA,USA

You should if it does not show up withing setup just go into the CMD line through the repair utility on disk and reformat it that way. Good luck. Out of curiosity what are you looking for with the GPU and how long till you have the funds?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
SOLLERHOLLER
Banned
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7790 2GB OC
Processor: Intel C2Q Q9650 3.00ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5G41T-MLX3
Memory: 8gb Kingston HyperX 1333
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX 7.1
PSU: Superchannel 550watt
Default 07-23-2013, 20:04 | posts: 221 | Location: South Africa

dude only problem is u can't compare a intel onboard to a nvidia gpu nope... and yes i do believe for that price get a AMD system
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 07-23-2013, 20:07 | posts: 5,198 | Location: FLA,USA

^He's planing to run a dedicated GFX card in the future so the lack of CPU power the AMD APU has will really show up then. And Haswell has a much improved iGPU over ivy bridge it's not a Trinity APU but much more compairable.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
SOLLERHOLLER
Banned
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7790 2GB OC
Processor: Intel C2Q Q9650 3.00ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5G41T-MLX3
Memory: 8gb Kingston HyperX 1333
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX 7.1
PSU: Superchannel 550watt
Default 07-23-2013, 20:12 | posts: 221 | Location: South Africa

okay but can u get a decent haswell for that price? not sure in the states?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 07-23-2013, 20:13 | posts: 5,198 | Location: FLA,USA

He is just getting CPU motherboard memory and OS so yes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
SOLLERHOLLER
Banned
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7790 2GB OC
Processor: Intel C2Q Q9650 3.00ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5G41T-MLX3
Memory: 8gb Kingston HyperX 1333
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX 7.1
PSU: Superchannel 550watt
Default 07-23-2013, 20:14 | posts: 221 | Location: South Africa

cool
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
SnipeFrenzy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: PNY GTX660 / 2gb
Processor: AMD FX-6300/3.5ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: G.Skill DDR3/1866mhz/8gb
Soundcard:
PSU: CoolMaster 500w
Default 07-24-2013, 02:00 | posts: 181 | Location: Michigan

I. Should have the funds in a month or two and I was thinking of a GPU similar to yours.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
styka
Master Guru
 
styka's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS R9 280X IceQ X2
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Pro3
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium
PSU: Seasonic X650W
Default 07-24-2013, 07:45 | posts: 300 | Location: Jakarta, Indonesia

Wait, shouldnt you also invest in a better PSU ?
Isnt Logysis one of those fake wattage brands ?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.