Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
wich game shall i buy
Old
  (#1)
pekka
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX580twin frozr PE
Processor: Core i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASUS MAximus Gene V
Memory: G skill. Sniper 6gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W TX V2
Default wich game shall i buy - 07-21-2013, 05:44 | posts: 314 | Location: Sweden

Howdy
steam has some crazy prices now on games withcher 2 enhanced for 9.99eur
and far cry 3 deluxe for 29.99 eur and Arma x anniversary for 27.69eur

so wich game FC3 deluxe or Arma X i can not afford both
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 07-21-2013, 05:49 | posts: 24,207 | Location: NZ

ZOMG da GRAPHIX!! Have you heard about them?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?featur...&v=yQXbyeztSe4











 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by Pill Monster; 07-21-2013 at 05:55.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
pekka
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX580twin frozr PE
Processor: Core i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASUS MAximus Gene V
Memory: G skill. Sniper 6gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W TX V2
Default 07-21-2013, 05:56 | posts: 314 | Location: Sweden

crysis 3 i already have
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 07-21-2013, 05:59 | posts: 24,207 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by pekka View Post
crysis 3 i already have
Me too sadly.

ArmaIII will last you for years man, FC3 will last a few days. Up to you.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
pekka
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX580twin frozr PE
Processor: Core i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASUS MAximus Gene V
Memory: G skill. Sniper 6gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W TX V2
Default 07-21-2013, 06:10 | posts: 314 | Location: Sweden

so i should get arma x anniversary pack?
i Always did want to find out day z and i need arma 2 for that or?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
pekka
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX580twin frozr PE
Processor: Core i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASUS MAximus Gene V
Memory: G skill. Sniper 6gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W TX V2
Default 07-21-2013, 06:12 | posts: 314 | Location: Sweden

arma III is still beta?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Valken
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HIS 6950 2GB CFX unlocked
Processor: Intel i7-4970k
Mainboard: Asrock Z97 OC Formula
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1333
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 07-21-2013, 06:47 | posts: 723

Quote:
Originally Posted by pekka View Post
so i should get arma x anniversary pack?
i Always did want to find out day z and i need arma 2 for that or?
If you ONLY want to try DayZ, just ONLY buy ARMA 2 Operation Arrowhead on STEAM. Then DL the ARMA 2 FREE game, run it once, then ARMA 2 OA, run it once and install the DayZ mod.

Then copy the ARMA 2 FREE "addons" folder over to your ARMA 2 Operation Arrowhead directory and you are good to go. Cheapest way to play DayZ.

If you hate the lowres playermodels, buy the PMC DLC addon for all the hires player and weapons models.

BUT

I can tell you there are a TON of mods for ARMA 0 - Operation Flashpoint, ARMA 1, and ARMA 2 - Combined Operations.

I would totally get it if you are even remotely interested in milsims.

I have all the ARMA games, thanks steam for the last DLC sale, and can use ARMA 2 assets in ARMA 3 Beta Sandbox mode with the "all in arma" mod.

If you are looking to graduate from CS, BF3, COD shooters (nothing wrong with those) into a more refined yet challenging hardcore teamwork type game, ARMA series is where it is at, especially ARMA 2 with Arrowhead Operations addon on coop servers.

The series also has Cold War, Nam, WWII and other total conversions that make other shooters nearly obsolete, except for SciFi Fantasy shooters like Crysis or Quake/Doom type games.

There are already Stalker type mods for ARMA 2 that takes it up a notch tactically over the original series.

For the money, I would get the whole ARMA X + ACR DLC (not included) and play through one of the best milsim you can buy.

Huge community, tons of servers, and a great game ESPECIALLY if you like coop/teamwork.

I love zombie games such as SvenCoop for HL1, Killing Floor, L4D series but DayZ is just a side attraction to the rest of ARMA series.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
pekka
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX580twin frozr PE
Processor: Core i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASUS MAximus Gene V
Memory: G skill. Sniper 6gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W TX V2
Default 07-21-2013, 06:52 | posts: 314 | Location: Sweden

acr dlc is it the Army of the Czech Republic for arma 2 combined ?
damn AMRA X or ARMA III Beta the later looks as nice as AMRA II even a bit nicer i guess either one is a good buy as i will get the full game on launch if i buy the beta and i guess new content and improvements will be made as time goes towards full game ?

so this is a hard choise get eh Anniversary now and ARMA III later or get the beta now and not have to pay for the full ARMA III later on

well thx for the tips guys i have some thinking to do

Last edited by pekka; 07-21-2013 at 07:02.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
kanej2007
Ancient Guru
 
kanej2007's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 580 SLI 900/1800/4200
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-VPro
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Vengeance C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra 7.1
PSU: Fractal Design R2 1000W
Default 07-21-2013, 06:53 | posts: 6,858 | Location: Dubai, UAE / London, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by pekka View Post
arma III is still beta?
Yeah. Full version will be released next month or so.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 07-21-2013, 06:54 | posts: 24,207 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by pekka View Post
arma III is still beta?
So far...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
pekka
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX580twin frozr PE
Processor: Core i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASUS MAximus Gene V
Memory: G skill. Sniper 6gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W TX V2
Default 07-21-2013, 07:11 | posts: 314 | Location: Sweden

so i better hurry to buy beta as price might change mwhen fulll game is out or might steam keep those arma III prices even for full game?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 07-21-2013, 07:30 | posts: 5,130 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

The witcher.

Arma is buggy, and FC3 has about the same level of interaction as buying a model plane that comes prebuilt, Just put the stickers on and call it a day..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
SLI-756
I have restricted access
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 07-21-2013, 07:51 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

OP asks which of two, people recommend totally different item,
anyways, FC3.

Last edited by SLI-756; 07-21-2013 at 07:55.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 07-21-2013, 08:38 | posts: 3,453 | Location: UK

Another vote for FC3. Great game.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 07-21-2013, 09:00 | posts: 24,207 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
OP asks which of two, people recommend totally different item,
anyways, FC3.
How did you reach that conclusion? Most replies said ArmA which was one of his 2 choices.

The ArmA series isn't for everyone since it requires more than the attention span of a gnat to play. Some players can find this quite daunting and stick with the zomfbbqgraphix of Crysis3 instead.

And btw did I mention the GRAPHIX?

Last edited by Pill Monster; 07-21-2013 at 13:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 07-21-2013, 09:01 | posts: 5,130 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
OP asks which of two, people recommend totally different item,
anyways, FC3.
Fair comment SLI-756,
Though my opinion of the two op mentioned along with the fact that he's strapped for cash, is that he purchase neither as I dont fell they're worth said cash, especially when one is on a tight budget.

he was talking to me i believe Pill Monster.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
pekka
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX580twin frozr PE
Processor: Core i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASUS MAximus Gene V
Memory: G skill. Sniper 6gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W TX V2
Default 07-21-2013, 09:04 | posts: 314 | Location: Sweden

i also noticed metro 2033 is cheap witcher 2 and dlc´s for skyrim might fit my budget and metro 2033 is one i haven´t played at all as is witcher 2 skyrim i have so buying legendary feels wrong as i can get the dlc´s or do i miss something that is in legendary only?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 07-21-2013, 09:13 | posts: 5,130 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

Nah legendary just contains all the dlc - 3 of 'em.

Quote:
Dawnguard
The Vampire Lord Harkon has returned to power. By using the Elder Scrolls, he seeks to do the unthinkable - to end the sun itself. Will you join the ancient order of the Dawnguard and stop him? Or will you become a Vampire Lord? In Dawnguard, the ultimate choice will be yours.

Hearthfire
Purchase land and build your own home from the ground up - from a simple one-room cottage to a sprawling compound complete with an armory, alchemy laboratory, and more. Use all-new tools like the drafting table and carpenter’s workbench to turn stone, clay, and sawn logs into structures and furnishings. Even transform your house into a home by adopting children.

Dragonborn
Journey off the coast of Morrowind, to the vast island of Solstheim.Traverse the ash wastes and glacial valleys of this new land as you become more powerful with shouts that bend the will of your enemies and even tame dragons. Your fate, and the fate of Solstheim, hangs in the balance as you face off against your deadliest adversary – the first Dragonborn.
Items included in this bundle
if you already own Skyrim, then just grab the main two dlc's separate, theres heaps of mods that allow you to do the same as heathfire.

Metros awesome and a must play imo, though you'll get far more hours outta skyrim dlc and/or witcher 2, if thats on the table.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
pekka
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX580twin frozr PE
Processor: Core i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASUS MAximus Gene V
Memory: G skill. Sniper 6gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W TX V2
Default 07-21-2013, 09:15 | posts: 314 | Location: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by (.)(.) View Post
Nah legendary just contains all the dlc - 3 of 'em.



if you already own Skyrim, then just grab the main two dlc's separate, theres heaps of mods that allow you to do the same as heathfire.

Metros awesome and a must play imo, though you'll get far more hours outta skyrim dlc and/or witcher 2, if thats on the table.
ok thx
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
ElFishoIII
Maha Guru
 
ElFishoIII's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX770Classi/BenQ XL2720z
Processor: i7 4970k 4.6ghz 1.24/h80i
Mainboard: ASRock z87 Extreme6
Memory: 16G GSkill 1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty Ch
PSU: Silverstone OP-1000
Default 07-21-2013, 09:46 | posts: 839 | Location: Brighton, MI USA

Buy Arma or just sell your PC for an xbox now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
pekka
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX580twin frozr PE
Processor: Core i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASUS MAximus Gene V
Memory: G skill. Sniper 6gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W TX V2
Default 07-21-2013, 10:00 | posts: 314 | Location: Sweden

i had a Xbox 360 i almost never use it so i sold it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 07-21-2013, 12:18 | posts: 9,157 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
How did you reach that conclusion? Most replies said ArmA which was one of his 2 choices.

The ArmA series isn't for everyone however since it requires more than the attention span of a gnat to play. Some players can find this quite daunting and stick with the graphix of Crysis3. And did I mention the GRAPHIX?
Arm requires a herculean effort to memorize all those keymappings, god almighty. I'm not knocking the game mind you, but it's daunting for someone new.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 07-21-2013, 13:15 | posts: 24,207 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by IcE View Post
Arm requires a herculean effort to memorize all those keymappings, god almighty. I'm not knocking the game mind you, but it's daunting for someone new.
Oh yeah for sure. ArmA II key bindings were so bad you practically needed a secretary to help operate the keyboard.

It was like playing Twister using just your fingers.


Thankfully ArmaIII isn't quite as clunky, still not perfect but def an improvement.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 07-21-2013 at 13:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Valken
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HIS 6950 2GB CFX unlocked
Processor: Intel i7-4970k
Mainboard: Asrock Z97 OC Formula
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1333
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 07-21-2013, 13:16 | posts: 723

Quote:
Originally Posted by pekka View Post
acr dlc is it the Army of the Czech Republic for arma 2 combined ?
Yes, you are correct. It is basically another campaign, new weapons, new units and new vehicles.

Quote:
damn AMRA X or ARMA III Beta the later looks as nice as AMRA II even a bit nicer i guess either one is a good buy as i will get the full game on launch if i buy the beta and i guess new content and improvements will be made as time goes towards full game ?
ARMA 3 will be the better game in the future. DX11, better engine, way more refined, near future premise - year 2035 conflict.

But ARMA 3 lacks mainly the singleplayer campaign, new maps (in development) while it is still in beta. I am playing it because I liked the ARMA series and am using ARMA 3 as a sandbox.

Checkout this video to see how ARMA 2 contents looks in the ARMA 3 engine, and you can imagine how great ARMA 3 will be when the game is final and people start porting mods over.

All in ARMA mod

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=72ICC_VbfT4

Other free mods

WWII - Invasion 1944

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=rBp9LCFnMZQ

Vietnam Conflict -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rI7G5rXzE3Q

There are a lot more such as the AlienZ mod which is grey aliens vs humans...

Quote:

so this is a hard choise get eh Anniversary now and ARMA III later or get the beta now and not have to pay for the full ARMA III later on

well thx for the tips guys i have some thinking to do
Actually, I have a better idea.

Just wait till the last day for the 66% off sale and buy ARMA 2 Complete which includes all the DLC for ARMA 2 and you can play DayZ. I think it was ~ 12 USD on the last sale.

Then just download these two mods which are remakes of Operation Flashpoint and ARMA 1 for ARMA2.

Cold War Assault Rearmed 2 - Operation Flashpoint remake mod for ARMA 2

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=eXbij-aF6ao

Get the Red Hammer Campaign remake for CWAR2

ArmA Rearmed Modifikation - ARMA 1 remake in ARMA 2 engine.

Later on, buy ARMA 3 if you feel like it.

It is cheaper this way for you and you basically get the entire ARMA X series in the ARMA 2 engine. But you will not be able to play any original Operation Flashpoint or ARMA 1 mods unless it gets ported to ARMA 2 or ARMA 3.

Lastly, You should go ahead right now and download the ARMA 2 FREE demo off steam, log into a few public servers and play some coop games before the steam sale ends.

That will give you a good idea if you are even up to ARMA in the first place.

Like others have said... Buy Far Cry 3, play it a few times, Buy ARMA X or ARMA 3, you will play it for a long time.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
pekka
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX580twin frozr PE
Processor: Core i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASUS MAximus Gene V
Memory: G skill. Sniper 6gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W TX V2
Default 07-21-2013, 19:54 | posts: 314 | Location: Sweden

i ended up buying the 2 dlc´s for skyrim and Withcher 2 and torchlight II
Arma has to wait but i guess i´ll have some good time with these purchases
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.