Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
680s flashed to 770 BIOS - Successes & Failures
Old
  (#1)
Caedo
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 680 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: Samsung 'Green' DDR3 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: SeaSonic SS-860XP2
Default 680s flashed to 770 BIOS - Successes & Failures - 07-18-2013, 21:27 | posts: 46

Update: 28 AUG 13

Courtesy of holystarlight, there is finally a 770 BIOS that lets my 680s function properly in SLI. This is the only 770 BIOS that I have tried that allows full SLI functionality with my 680s and still gives me Boost 2.0.



----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------





Hey guys.

Quick background for context: I've got two EVGA reference GTX 680s. I used V3DT's online BIOS mod tool to open up the full 1.212V for both cards. One 680 took extremely well to it, OCing up to 1306 MHz core and 7204 MHz effective memory. The 2nd could not finish a single run of 3DMark, Heaven, or Valley at stock settings when given the full 1.212V.

I found a working 770 BIOS (this one) from an OCN member. Flashed that to my misbehaving 680, and lo and behold, it's stable again. More to the point, it's stable when overclocked; it only reached 1280 MHz core (-26 MHz) and 7160 MHz memory (-44), but it got me a solid 100 point gain in Fire Strike.

Proofs:

EVGA GTX 680, 02G-P4-2680-KR, Core 1306 MHz, Mem 7204 MHz
 Click to show spoiler


EVGA GTX 680, 02G-P4-2682-KR on custom 770 BIOS, Core 1280 MHz, Mem 7160 MHz
 Click to show spoiler



Looked good, so I flashed my other 680 to the modded 770 BIOS. Lost 100 MHz memory, but it was otherwise stable. The trouble is, they wouldn't run together in SLI worth a damn. Unigine benchmarks crashed as often as not at "stock" clocks. 3DMark benchmarks wouldn't even load the first test. Call of Duty 4 flickered insanely, Tomb Raider crashed, etc. Just wouldn't work. Drop it to a single card, though, and life is good.

Has anyone else played with 770 BIOS's with their 680s? Anyone able to get them to work in SLI?

Last edited by Caedo; 08-28-2013 at 05:52.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Caedo
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 680 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: Samsung 'Green' DDR3 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: SeaSonic SS-860XP2
Default 07-20-2013, 19:18 | posts: 46

Tried again using the 770-mimic BIOS here (halfway down the first post). In this case, I left my 680s in SLI and used nvflash to flash them both at once. The card in the top slot (vanilla 680) flashed successfully. The card in the bottom slot (Superclocked 680) was dead in the water; took only minimal power, stayed at idle, and the fan did not spin at all. Flashed both cards back to stock.

Did a 2nd time using the modified 770 BIOS listed in the OP with identical results. It was a little more stable on 320.18 than on 320.49 and could make repeated runs through Unigine benchmarks. Still failed to load into any 3DMark benchmark and crashed attempting to load into COD4 and Tomb Raider.

The modded 770 BIOS seems to make my overclocks more stable at slightly reduced performance on the vanilla 680, and rock solid stable at higher performance on the Superclocked 680. I have no earthly idea what this means about what's going on under the hood.

It might be emulating or enabling Boost 2.0 helps my stability as long as I can keep temps in line?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 07-20-2013, 19:56 | posts: 18,316 | Location: New Jersey, USA

you can mod a 680 bios to 150 PT, 100% fan, 1.212v. I dont know if a 770 ftw 4gb card is coming out or not, thats the bios I am waiting for
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Caedo
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 680 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: Samsung 'Green' DDR3 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: SeaSonic SS-860XP2
Default 07-20-2013, 20:02 | posts: 46

You can mod PT to 200%, actually.

 Click to show spoiler

   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
moab600
Ancient Guru
 
moab600's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 AMP 1267/7300MHZ
Processor: Core I7 4790K 4.6GHZ DC
Mainboard: Asus Z97 PRO 1204
Memory: 8GB DDRIII 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX II Z906
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 650W 85+Br
Default 07-20-2013, 20:11 | posts: 4,450 | Location: Israel

My 680 is oced to 7100MHZ and 1230MHZ, any point update bios to 770? GPU Boost 2.0 sound nice, though i tried update my 680 to 770, but no success.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Caedo
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 680 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: Samsung 'Green' DDR3 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: SeaSonic SS-860XP2
Default 07-20-2013, 20:26 | posts: 46

On my vanilla 680, I lost 100 MHz memory and 2 FPS in Valley 1.0 on the 770 BIOS. On my Superclocked 680, I went from being unstable at stock with 1.212V to being stable and a great benchmarker, outscoring the vanilla 680 with lower clocks. Both of my cards got to higher core clocks than yours (1280 and 1306 MHz), and the same or better memory (7100-7200 MHz) on the unlocked 1.212V BIOS and the 770 BIOS.

Is your 680 getting full 1.212V? I'd think it could hit a little higher core than that.

Right now it seems very individual-card-dependent, though nobody has managed to get SLI working on the 770 BIOS.

Last edited by Caedo; 07-20-2013 at 20:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
CronosX9x9X
Master Guru
 
CronosX9x9X's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 SC ACX
Processor: Intel i7 3820 4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO
Memory: 16gb GSkill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Creative Zx
PSU: CORSAIR 750wtx
Default 07-20-2013, 23:19 | posts: 247

That's interesting what's the upside to having your 680's flashed to 770's bios via sli how much of a gain would you actually get?. I'm curious
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
moab600
Ancient Guru
 
moab600's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 AMP 1267/7300MHZ
Processor: Core I7 4790K 4.6GHZ DC
Mainboard: Asus Z97 PRO 1204
Memory: 8GB DDRIII 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX II Z906
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 650W 85+Br
Default 07-21-2013, 00:17 | posts: 4,450 | Location: Israel

tried to flash my reference GTX 680, no go. black screen after boot.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 07-21-2013, 00:31 | posts: 18,316 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Try flashing an unlocked 680 bios?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Caedo
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 680 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: Samsung 'Green' DDR3 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: SeaSonic SS-860XP2
Default 07-21-2013, 02:04 | posts: 46

Quote:
Originally Posted by CronosX9x9X View Post
That's interesting what's the upside to having your 680's flashed to 770's bios via sli how much of a gain would you actually get?. I'm curious
On the BIOS I could get to work, I got more performance (higher 3DMark score) with one 680 clocked slightly lower than my other 680. On both 680s, I was more stable while at max clocks, though my vanilla 680 couldn't OC memory quite as high (could still do 7k).

If you're running a single 680, it might be worth trying out. If you run SLI, then no-go.

moab600, did you try the modified 770 BIOS I linked in my first post?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 07-21-2013, 02:40 | posts: 18,316 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Is there evidence you cannot flash 2 680 to 2 770 in sli? If true I aint going to bother
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
moab600
Ancient Guru
 
moab600's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 AMP 1267/7300MHZ
Processor: Core I7 4790K 4.6GHZ DC
Mainboard: Asus Z97 PRO 1204
Memory: 8GB DDRIII 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX II Z906
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 650W 85+Br
Default 07-21-2013, 09:15 | posts: 4,450 | Location: Israel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caedo View Post
On the BIOS I could get to work, I got more performance (higher 3DMark score) with one 680 clocked slightly lower than my other 680. On both 680s, I was more stable while at max clocks, though my vanilla 680 couldn't OC memory quite as high (could still do 7k).

If you're running a single 680, it might be worth trying out. If you run SLI, then no-go.

moab600, did you try the modified 770 BIOS I linked in my first post?
Yes as well as some others, no luck at all. wonder what i doing wrong, since i familiar to flashing VGA bioses years...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Klapcos
Member Guru
 
Videocard: AMD
Processor: AMD
Mainboard: AMD Board
Memory: AMD Memory
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: AMD
Default 07-21-2013, 21:18 | posts: 57 | Location: Alaska

Thanks Caedo for testing this, really appreciate it
I wanted to test this myself but didn't want to risk it ya know. Well I'm going to stay with the stock bios for stable SLI performance @1320Mhz core & 7100Mhz memory.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Caedo
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 680 2GB
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Gene
Memory: Samsung 'Green' DDR3 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: SeaSonic SS-860XP2
Default 07-23-2013, 23:31 | posts: 46

I'm still searching for that optimal mix of performance. Something tells me the 770 BIOS flash will eventually be it, but until then I'm stuck on stock BIOS. Woe is me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
CronosX9x9X
Master Guru
 
CronosX9x9X's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 SC ACX
Processor: Intel i7 3820 4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO
Memory: 16gb GSkill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Creative Zx
PSU: CORSAIR 750wtx
Default 07-24-2013, 05:27 | posts: 247

You can't go wrong with 1320mMhz core and 7100Mhz memory I'd say your getting good performance til maxwell anyways. Nice OC by the way : )
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Bloodduty
Master Guru
 
Bloodduty's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x GTX 680 SC Signature
Processor: Intel Ivy-B i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: COASAIR D/P 16Gb1866Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D
PSU: 850Watt
Default 07-27-2013, 11:03 | posts: 215 | Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

I keep it as simple as possible use the same bios it has and modify it



so much easier then trying to make it something its not
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 07-27-2013, 13:40 | posts: 5,302 | Location: FLA,USA

^Thats all well and good but people are trying to unlock boost 2.0 on their 680's it has little to do with the stock clocks of the 770.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 07-27-2013, 14:25 | posts: 18,316 | Location: New Jersey, USA

true that I do not want to try a 770 bios for 680 clocks, I got that already. I do not think a 770 ftw 4gb is coming out tbh. I dont know if I want to try a different brand 770 4gb bios or even the 770 4gb classy. I want to give boost 2.0 a whirl well see though lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Accelero7970 1125/1500MHz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 07-27-2013, 15:23 | posts: 1,411 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Maybe someone with 2 real GTX770 may save bios from each card and compare them.
They may have some unique serial ID which is used by driver to distinct each card in SLi.
Having same serial ID may lead to cards working solo, but not in SLi.

Other thing is if you look into driver inf file on libraries for GTX770 and GTX680, are they same? May be case that after both cards are flashed to GTX770 you need to reinstall drivers to have it all working as designed.

You do not need to look for what's same here, but for things which are different between working GTX 770 SLi and not working GTX680>770 SLi.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Bloodduty
Master Guru
 
Bloodduty's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x GTX 680 SC Signature
Processor: Intel Ivy-B i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: COASAIR D/P 16Gb1866Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D
PSU: 850Watt
Default 07-27-2013, 18:08 | posts: 215 | Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne



the top 3 are the 770 bios the bottom 3 are the 680.

you can out perform the 770 if tweaked right.

this is something I've done for years, another tip for users of SLI - edit each card with different memory clocks only has to be around 10 to 20 Mhz and gpu clocks you find no micro stutter, I found that out from years ago with 6800 ultra (used on 2 4780s 2 5870s GTX285) worth a try if you are comfortable with flashing.

pity I did not have a 770 to hand, I would test that. Alls I can do is run a bench test, then put this up so you can compare with something like that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Bloodduty
Master Guru
 
Bloodduty's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x GTX 680 SC Signature
Processor: Intel Ivy-B i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: COASAIR D/P 16Gb1866Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D
PSU: 850Watt
Default 07-27-2013, 18:38 | posts: 215 | Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

something to look at http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6928274

4770k with Titan score of 11894

3770K with GTX680 score of 11117 with my mod sure the other one may be at stock but some tweaks can go along way

and one little tweak to 6800mhz on the mem

http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6928326

Last edited by Bloodduty; 07-27-2013 at 18:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 07-27-2013, 18:44 | posts: 18,316 | Location: New Jersey, USA

was the titan run at stock clocks with a stock cpu?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Bloodduty
Master Guru
 
Bloodduty's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x GTX 680 SC Signature
Processor: Intel Ivy-B i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: COASAIR D/P 16Gb1866Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D
PSU: 850Watt
Default 07-27-2013, 18:58 | posts: 215 | Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
was the titan run at stock clocks with a stock cpu?
not sure, cannot see any info on that - could be stock but as it stands it can be beaten just by tweaking the power setting booster setting.

the max voltage 1 and 2 makes a big difference, changing it from 1150 to 1187 made the card go from 1184 to 1320. It did crash but with more tweaks I got 1359 (max stability). Every card is different but 680s have so much going for them.

my card is the EVGA GTX680 OC+ no water cooling or anything. With the tweaks I don't ever go past 77oC.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 07-27-2013, 19:00 | posts: 18,316 | Location: New Jersey, USA

I ask because thats an awful score for a titan and an 8 thread 4770k
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 07-27-2013, 19:14 | posts: 26,143 | Location: Hampshire UK

must have been at stock, Hilbert's Titan review shows Titan scoring 12155 in 3DMark11 with (I'm assuming) a i7 3960 @ 4.6ghz.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.