Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
"Configure Surround" missing from Nvidia control panel *solved*
Old
  (#1)
MrPibb
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 4GB
Processor: Phenom II X4 810
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-NA790XT-UD4P
Memory:
Soundcard: Soundblaster
PSU: Akasa 750w
Default "Configure Surround" missing from Nvidia control panel *solved* - 07-17-2013, 23:40 | posts: 4

I just brought myself a new GTX760 4GB card for 2D surround use as my old TH2Go died. I have three identical 19" BenQ FP93GX gaming screens, purchased at the same time. All three have identical resolution and frequency (1280x1024@75Hz). They are all configured and running like this, 1 via DVI cable, one via HDMI - DVI cable, and one via DVI cable through a Display Port adapter. All three run just fine in windows Vista 32 bit.

I am trying to enable 2D surround, but as you can see in this pic I have no option to configure surround in the Nvidia control panel:



As you can see: I do have three screens running, I am not lying:



Mobo is a Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P - which is a "crossfire" board, but I'm only using single GPU so that shouldn't matter.

I have done NUMEROUS 'Clean installs' of NVIDIA drivers 320.49. NO option to configure surround. Nothing shows up - nada, zip, zero.

I'm sick of banging my head against walls here. Far as I can tell everything's tip top. What have I done wrong?


Thanks. Dave.

Last edited by MrPibb; 07-31-2013 at 23:01.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
eternitykh
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW+ 4GB SLI
Processor: 3770K @ 4.8Ghz on Water
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth z77
Memory: 16GB 4xDIMM Vengeance1866
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 07-18-2013, 01:52 | posts: 322

very strange indeed, the surround settings would usually be at the same tab/page as physx.

i dont remember having any issues with setting up surround when i had a single 670.

though it shouldn't matter,
try to connect the monitors through dvi to dvi on 2 of the monitors, and hdmi on 1 (or hdmi to dvi if monitor doesn't have hdmi)

when i had single card, i connected using 2 dvi, and 1 hdmi
currently with 2 cards, i connect using 3 dvi

Last edited by eternitykh; 07-18-2013 at 01:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
MrPibb
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 4GB
Processor: Phenom II X4 810
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-NA790XT-UD4P
Memory:
Soundcard: Soundblaster
PSU: Akasa 750w
Default 07-18-2013, 15:47 | posts: 4

Thank you so much for your reply eternitykh.

I thought the same thing as you, and tried 2 monitors on DVI-DVI and 1 via HDMI. Nada. I even tried using just 2 monitors - both through the DVI connectors only. Still no option for configuring surround.

I really don't want to have to splash out for three new monitors when the ones I have are perfectly ok - and identical.

Mrs Pibb will not be the least bit impressed. I'll be in the dog house for weeks...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
ProBro
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 ACX 2GB
Processor: Intel i7-3770K @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock Z77-Extreme6
Memory: 16GB 1866mhz G.Skill Ares
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic X750
Default 07-21-2013, 08:40 | posts: 1

Not that it will make you feel any better... but my EVGA GTX 760 ACX 2G is working fine with three 1280x1024 monitors in surround mode. Attached DVI+DVI+HDMI, which you tried. Windows 8 Pro 64bit, but that shouldn't matter. Should work in win7 too.

I'm at a loss to explain why it doesn't work for you.



Here is what is in my "system information". Anything odd in yours?

NVIDIA System Information report created on: 07/21/2013 02:35:54
System name: Z77

[Display]
Operating System: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center, 64-bit
DirectX version: 11.0
GPU processor: GeForce GTX 760
Driver version: 320.49
Direct3D API version: 11.1
Direct3D feature level: 11_0
CUDA Cores: 1152
Core clock: 980 MHz
Memory data rate: 7008 MHz
Memory interface: 256-bit
Memory bandwidth: 224.26 GB/s
Total available graphics memory: 4096 MB
Dedicated video memory: 2048 MB GDDR5
System video memory: 0 MB
Shared system memory: 2048 MB
Video BIOS version: 80.04.BF.00.60
IRQ: 16
Bus: PCI Express x16 Gen3
Device Id: 10DE 1187 27633842
Part Number: 2004 0010

[Components]
easyDaemonAPIU64.DLL 6.4.23.3 NVIDIA GeForce Experience
WLMerger.exe 6.4.23.3 NVIDIA GeForce Experience
daemonu.exe 6.4.23.3 NVIDIA GeForce Experience
ComUpdatus.exe 6.4.23.3 NVIDIA GeForce Experience
NvUpdtr.dll 6.4.23.3 NVIDIA GeForce Experience
NvUpdt.dll 6.4.23.3 NVIDIA GeForce Experience
nvui.dll 8.17.13.2049 NVIDIA User Experience Driver Component
nvxdsync.exe 8.17.13.2049 NVIDIA User Experience Driver Component
nvxdplcy.dll 8.17.13.2049 NVIDIA User Experience Driver Component
nvxdbat.dll 8.17.13.2049 NVIDIA User Experience Driver Component
nvxdapix.dll 8.17.13.2049 NVIDIA User Experience Driver Component
NVCPL.DLL 8.17.13.2049 NVIDIA User Experience Driver Component
nvCplUIR.dll 6.9.850.0 NVIDIA Control Panel
nvCplUI.exe 7.2.710.0 NVIDIA Control Panel
nvWSSR.dll 6.14.13.1106 NVIDIA Workstation Server
nvWSS.dll 6.14.13.2049 NVIDIA Workstation Server
nvViTvSR.dll 6.14.13.1106 NVIDIA Video Server
nvViTvS.dll 6.14.13.2049 NVIDIA Video Server
NVSTVIEW.EXE 7.17.13.2049 NVIDIA 3D Vision Photo Viewer
NVSTTEST.EXE 7.17.13.2049 NVIDIA 3D Vision Test Application
NVSTRES.DLL 7.17.13.2049 NVIDIA 3D Vision Module
nvDispSR.dll 6.14.13.1106 NVIDIA Display Server
NVMCTRAY.DLL 8.17.13.2049 NVIDIA Media Center Library
nvDispS.dll 6.14.13.2049 NVIDIA Display Server
PhysX 09.13.0604 NVIDIA PhysX
NVCUDA.DLL 8.17.13.2049 NVIDIA CUDA 5.5.1 driver
nvGameSR.dll 6.14.13.1106 NVIDIA 3D Settings Server
nvGameS.dll 6.14.13.2049 NVIDIA 3D Settings Server


   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Prophet
Master Guru
 
Prophet's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi 680 Gtx Twin Frozr
Processor: Intel Sb@4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68V Progen3
Memory: 12 Gb Kingston
Soundcard: Asus Essence STX|Akg k701
PSU: Corsair 1200w
Default 07-21-2013, 16:27 | posts: 572 | Location: Heaven

Try another driver?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
MrPibb
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 4GB
Processor: Phenom II X4 810
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-NA790XT-UD4P
Memory:
Soundcard: Soundblaster
PSU: Akasa 750w
Default 07-21-2013, 17:18 | posts: 4

Thanks for the replies chaps. ProBro - it's good to hear that 3840 x 1024 works just fine.

I *think* I know what the problem is now. As is often the case, the problem is between the keyboard and the chair... I.e. me. I'm running on Vista and Nvidia quite clearly state that surround requires Win7 or 8. Can't believe I missed that.

Will do an upgrade and post here if successful.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
eternitykh
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW+ 4GB SLI
Processor: 3770K @ 4.8Ghz on Water
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth z77
Memory: 16GB 4xDIMM Vengeance1866
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 07-21-2013, 23:04 | posts: 322

aaah that would make a lot more sense, i just checked, they removed surround support for vista a long time ago.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
MrPibb
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 4GB
Processor: Phenom II X4 810
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-NA790XT-UD4P
Memory:
Soundcard: Soundblaster
PSU: Akasa 750w
Default 07-31-2013, 23:02 | posts: 4

Problem solved. I Installed Win7 and "configure surround" now appears.

Hope this helps someone else.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
IamGODobeyORdie
Master Guru
 
IamGODobeyORdie's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 780@SLI & GTX 780M
Processor: i7 3770K & i7 4700MQ
Mainboard: SaberTT Z77 & Clevo P17SM
Memory: 2x8 DT:Patriot LT:Crucial
Soundcard: Creative SBZ & SBX MBIII
PSU: Corsair 850TX & Pow-Brick
Default 08-01-2013, 12:26 | posts: 241 | Location: Im homeless, please any donations!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPibb View Post
Problem solved. I Installed Win7 and "configure surround" now appears.

Hope this helps someone else.
I was just about ask, why the hell you were using vista instead of Win7 (or even Win8.1, which is huge improvment from 8.0)?!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.