Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
770 Overclocking the Memory with Afterburner?
Old
  (#1)
CronosX9x9X
Master Guru
 
CronosX9x9X's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 SC ACX
Processor: Intel i7 3820 4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO
Memory: 16gb GSkill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Creative Zx
PSU: CORSAIR 750wtx
Exclamation 770 Overclocking the Memory with Afterburner? - 07-16-2013, 03:08 | posts: 259

I must be stupid or something because with gpu-z I'm seeing memory at 1753mhz I'm kinda at a loss to figure out how to maybe get to 8ghz on the ram and figure out what increments to start at like 7200 then 7500 and etc til I hit it's max can anyone explain to me how to overclock this cards memory please?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 07-16-2013, 03:13 | posts: 5,463 | Location: FLA,USA

In afterburner you double the number it gives you for the MEM. In GPU-z you have to multiply the number by four 1753x4=7012 or 7Ghz effective. Example in AB or precisionX setting MEM to +500 will add 1Ghz of speed to the VRAM and will show ~2000 in GPU-z.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
CronosX9x9X
Master Guru
 
CronosX9x9X's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 SC ACX
Processor: Intel i7 3820 4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO
Memory: 16gb GSkill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Creative Zx
PSU: CORSAIR 750wtx
Default 07-16-2013, 03:16 | posts: 259

Thank you I was definitely not gonna get that til someone helped me. Thank you so much.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Mraz
Master Guru
 
Mraz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX TITAN@1202
Processor: FX-6300 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1.6Ghz C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair GS 800Watt series
Default 07-16-2013, 03:26 | posts: 624 | Location: Croatia

Friendly advice, dont touch the memory it is completely unnecessery on 700 series and Titan, because of the retarded TDP limit.

Just OC the core as much as you can, and then add the voltage if you want for an additional slight boost, if you dont want to touch the voltage just leave it @stock.

TDP is the biggest problem here and they just ruined the cards potential by limiting it so much.

EDIT: Only solution to this is using a modded BIOS which I found quite interesting, but then I was hitting unstable OC's over 1200+ on core clock, but could push the memory way beyond 6500mhz, which I found also unnecessary.

Also the difference between an easily obtainable 1176 on core, without touching the voltage and 1202+ with modded BIOS and an extra one Ghz on the memory was a sloppy 3 FPS for me in most game bechmarks and Unigine 4.0...

Just a heads up with the edit so that you know what you get out of torturing the card.

Last edited by Mraz; 07-16-2013 at 03:30.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 07-16-2013, 03:28 | posts: 5,463 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mraz View Post
Friendly advice, dont touch the memory it is completely unnecessery on 700 series and Titan, because of the retarded TDP limit.

Just OC the core as much as you can, and then add the voltage if you want for an additional slight boost, if you dont want to touch the voltage just leave it @stock.

TDP is the biggest problem here and they just ruined the cards potential by limiting it so much.
That's only true on the Titan and 780 the 770 is still a 256 memory bus so the OC on the memory is still very beneficial, also the GK104 is not as power hungry as the GK110 so no TDP limit worries.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Mraz
Master Guru
 
Mraz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX TITAN@1202
Processor: FX-6300 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1.6Ghz C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair GS 800Watt series
Default 07-16-2013, 03:31 | posts: 624 | Location: Croatia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
That's only true on the Titan and 780 the 770 is still a 256 memory bus so the OC on the memory is still very beneficial, also the GK104 is not as power hungry as the GK110 so no TDP limit worries.
But how, isnt the 700 series also limited by TDP in MSI Afterburner and EVGA Precision?

EDIT: I meant the whole 700 series not just 780 and Titan...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 07-16-2013, 03:37 | posts: 5,463 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mraz View Post
But how, isnt the 700 series also limited by TDP in MSI Afterburner and EVGA Precision?

EDIT: I meant the whole 700 series not just 780 and Titan...
No more than your old 680 you used to have the 770 is the same GPU as the 680 with higher quality VRAM hence the factory 7Ghz. lots of people are hitting ~1250/8000 in the 770 thread. the reason that the memory overclock is not beneficial to the 780 and Titan is because of the 384 bit memory bus its effective data transfer rate at stock clock would mean a 256 bit bus having to be clocked at about 9Ghz.

Last edited by Loophole35; 07-16-2013 at 03:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
CronosX9x9X
Master Guru
 
CronosX9x9X's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 SC ACX
Processor: Intel i7 3820 4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO
Memory: 16gb GSkill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Creative Zx
PSU: CORSAIR 750wtx
Default 07-16-2013, 05:46 | posts: 259

Wow Hey I've been playing Farcry 3 at 7600mhz on the memory I don't see black artifacts but the grass shadows look odd like the shadows arn't displaying correctly and some of the main human models have a slight black shroud around parts of their bodies is this normal to see in the game?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Carfax
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte G1 GTX 970 SLI
Processor: Core i7 4930K @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: AsRock Extreme 6 x79
Memory: 16GB DDR3 2133 CL9 CR1
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Antec HCP 1200w
Default 07-16-2013, 06:52 | posts: 815 | Location: U.S

The memory on the 770s is sick. Even with my 4GB cards, I can hit 7.8ghz with no artifacts. I can probably do 8ghz as well, but I don't want to push it too far.

Usually I have my cards clocked to 1267 and 7.7ghz memory during games, and I find that the extra memory bandwidth helps in Crysis 3.

Last edited by Carfax; 07-16-2013 at 06:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 07-16-2013, 13:05 | posts: 5,463 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by CronosX9x9X View Post
Wow Hey I've been playing Farcry 3 at 7600mhz on the memory I don't see black artifacts but the grass shadows look odd like the shadows arn't displaying correctly and some of the main human models have a slight black shroud around parts of their bodies is this normal to see in the game?
Back the clock down a bit and see if it goes away I don't have the game myself to try though.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
TTtimzr
Newbie
 
Videocard: Evga&Msi GTX 780 sli
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.4GHz 1.08v
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 16GB Samsung 30nm@1866MHz
Soundcard: Creative sound blaster Z
PSU: Corsair Ax760i
Default 07-16-2013, 13:43 | posts: 24 | Location: Wales

Quote:
Wow Hey I've been playing Farcry 3 at 7600mhz on the memory I don't see black artifacts but the grass shadows look odd like the shadows arn't displaying correctly and some of the main human models have a slight black shroud around parts of their bodies is this normal to see in the game?
I get this all the time on my 780, even on stock clocks, remember reading somewhere this is just issue's with the game not your oc, unless you get it in other games then it is just the way far cry behaves
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
CronosX9x9X
Master Guru
 
CronosX9x9X's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 SC ACX
Processor: Intel i7 3820 4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO
Memory: 16gb GSkill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Creative Zx
PSU: CORSAIR 750wtx
Default 07-16-2013, 18:03 | posts: 259

It actually is just the way the shadows behave in dark segments of the game nothing to odd to deal with though. Although with everything max I was having dips and studders in far cry it would be 57fps then dip below 30 at times in the map I put down the shadows to medium it fixed the problem getting 55-60fps v sync on with 2x aa not to bad. Diablo 3 fluctuates only 10 mins then it's constant 60fps don't know why.

Out of every review it's what I expected for performance if I would have gotten the 4gb would it made a difference in shadows and aa or would it just add a couple frames, idk but I got it stable 1250 core 7600 memory need to try 7800 mem today I'll update.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 07-16-2013, 18:12 | posts: 18,921 | Location: New Jersey, USA

I would try for 8ghz just take it up a little at a time and test with heaven 4 and valley 1.0
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
TTtimzr
Newbie
 
Videocard: Evga&Msi GTX 780 sli
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.4GHz 1.08v
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 16GB Samsung 30nm@1866MHz
Soundcard: Creative sound blaster Z
PSU: Corsair Ax760i
Default 07-16-2013, 18:57 | posts: 24 | Location: Wales

Quote:
It actually is just the way the shadows behave in dark segments of the game nothing to odd to deal with though. Although with everything max I was having dips and studders in far cry it would be 57fps then dip below 30 at times in the map I put down the shadows to medium it fixed the problem getting 55-60fps v sync on with 2x aa not to bad.
Will give this a try, i occasionally get stutters so will try this and see if it helps

Have seen in reviews 770's nearly all hitting at least 7.8ghz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
CronosX9x9X
Master Guru
 
CronosX9x9X's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 SC ACX
Processor: Intel i7 3820 4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO
Memory: 16gb GSkill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Creative Zx
PSU: CORSAIR 750wtx
Default 07-16-2013, 20:09 | posts: 259

Yeah I was getting white artifacts in the beard of the main guy helping you in the sunlight they where white don't know if that was really artifacts but it was constant enough for me to think so. Everything else ran fine though at 8ghz mem except for those white artifacts never saw any black
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.