Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Is GTX 780 SLI worth upgrading to from 680 SLI?
Old
  (#1)
DrHycodan
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX 680 4GB SLI
Processor: Core i7 3930K
Mainboard: Asus P9X79 Deluxe
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default Is GTX 780 SLI worth upgrading to from 680 SLI? - 06-15-2013, 04:58 | posts: 871 | Location: Houston, TX USA

It seems my 680 SLI setup is getting hiccups running metro the last light at max settings. Do you think the 780 SLI would be worth upgrading to?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.7GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 06-15-2013, 05:54 | posts: 6,556 | Location: Dubai

Just for one game? Neah. Wait for the next series.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
StealBalls
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI 280x CrossFire
Processor: Intel 4670K@ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1866Mhz CL9
Soundcard: AMD HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM Series 850W
Default 06-15-2013, 06:58 | posts: 649 | Location: W.A.K.T

It's worth it if it's worth it FOR YOU.

What you should perhaps ask is how much better will 780 SLI run MLL compared to 680 SLI.

There is a definitely a performance jump however will it do enough for you, that's something you need to look into factually, look at benchmarks.

When you say max settings, please tell me you are not using 4xSSAA?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Radiopassive
Banned
 
Videocard: Gainward HD 4870 1G
Processor: PII X4 955 3,6GHz
Mainboard: MSI K9A2 Platinum v.1
Memory: 4GB DDR2 800 4-4-4-11
Soundcard: onboard/Sony rec+speakers
PSU: Seasonic SS-500ET-T3 500W
Default 06-15-2013, 07:34 | posts: 154 | Location: Innerworld

I wanted to reply with the obvious "First world problems..." phrase but in your particular case it looks more like a problem from another galaxy...

But hey if I got the money to burn I guess I'd run a quad-SLI from Titans or 780s... Burn baby burn...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
darrensimmons
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2 x EVGA 680 FTW 4GB SLI
Processor: 3770K@4.7 H/T on H70
Mainboard: ASUS® P8Z77-V
Memory: 16G DOMINATOR GT 2133Mhz
Soundcard: REALTEK
PSU: 1000w
Default 06-15-2013, 07:59 | posts: 841 | Location: BRISTOL uk

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrHycodan View Post
It seems my 680 SLI setup is getting hiccups running metro the last light at max settings. Do you think the 780 SLI would be worth upgrading to?
Sli 680 is what I use at 2560 x1440 and the only time it drops below 60fps is CPU limited scenes, do not use 4x ssaa there is no point as even sli titans cannot run the game well at these settings.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
DrHycodan
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX 680 4GB SLI
Processor: Core i7 3930K
Mainboard: Asus P9X79 Deluxe
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 06-15-2013, 22:12 | posts: 871 | Location: Houston, TX USA

So are there any games out that actually require more than 680 SLI to run at max settings?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 06-15-2013, 22:17 | posts: 17,849 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Sli 680 will run any game at max settings. It the framerate that suffers if the settings are too high
I would rather turn down iq slightly so I have a minimum of 60fps. Anything less starts to look choppy and not worth it to me
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
DrHycodan
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX 680 4GB SLI
Processor: Core i7 3930K
Mainboard: Asus P9X79 Deluxe
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 06-16-2013, 03:46 | posts: 871 | Location: Houston, TX USA

Are there any games out that requires more than 680 SLI to run at max settings and 2560x1440 without dropping below 60fps?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Greyleroux
Member Guru
 
Greyleroux's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gtx660 Sli_U2713
Processor: 3570K@4.4_H80i
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16G DDR3 @1600
Soundcard: SB ZxR_ATH-AD-500X
PSU: 850W
Default 07-14-2013, 13:36 | posts: 76 | Location: Japan

I've played Metro last light a max 1440p without any problem ! of cours i used no AA .
If i were you ,I'll wait for the next gen games to come out thus leading to more powerful cards to be used .Xbox one (IF upgraded)and ps4 will have more than 7GO of ram for games only ,our traditional 2go will not suffice .

Just crank the setting down "just the AA" and keep the 1600$ in your account !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
angmar
Maha Guru
 
angmar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X Tri-X
Processor: i7 3770k@ 4.7ghz h20
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Mushkin DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: OCZ 600 Watt 80 Plus
Default 07-14-2013, 14:09 | posts: 1,112 | Location: Monmouth County, NJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greyleroux View Post
I've played Metro last light a max 1440p without any problem ! of cours i used no AA .
If i were you ,I'll wait for the next gen games to come out thus leading to more powerful cards to be used .Xbox one (IF upgraded)and ps4 will have more than 7GO of ram for games only ,our traditional 2go will not suffice .

Just crank the setting down "just the AA" and keep the 1600$ in your account !
Yea 7 gigs for games as in system memory and video memory combined.....not just 7 gigs of gpu memory. Most mid range gaming pcs nowadays have 10 gigs combined if you really want to equate it though it doesn't mean much when you don't know how much is going to cpu and gpu in the consoles.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Greyleroux
Member Guru
 
Greyleroux's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gtx660 Sli_U2713
Processor: 3570K@4.4_H80i
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16G DDR3 @1600
Soundcard: SB ZxR_ATH-AD-500X
PSU: 850W
Default 07-14-2013, 23:37 | posts: 76 | Location: Japan

Quote:
Originally Posted by angmar View Post
Yea 7 gigs for games as in system memory and video memory combined.....not just 7 gigs of gpu memory. Most mid range gaming pcs nowadays have 10 gigs combined if you really want to equate it though it doesn't mean much when you don't know how much is going to cpu and gpu in the consoles.
The ps3 4 will have 8Go of GDDR 5 unified memory (Cpu and GPU) the System will take 1Go =7GO for the games ! so yeah !
In the PC almost all games only use 32bit application so the maximum amount of usable system memory is 2Go per app !(not video memory right ).
So now we have like 2go (vram) +max 2go program ram =4Go for the pc at most !
I'm talking 1920*1080 gaming not the surround experience .

Hope the future games will use 64bit app so i can finnaly use my 16Go of ram !


To be back at to the topic ,yeah just wait for the next gen graphics cards and the next gen consoles to show up .if you really cant wait and the money isn't an issue ,i'd say go for it !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Desprado
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 780 TI SLI
Processor: Intel i7 3770K@ 4.4GHZ
Mainboard: GigaByte G Sniper 3
Memory: Cosair Dominator 12GB
Soundcard:
PSU: CM Silent 1200W Modular
Default 07-15-2013, 05:30 | posts: 18

There is no need to upgrade right now.Even single gtx 680 is enough.
PS4 has 1.84 teraflops and if u compare with gtx 680 which has 3 teraflops.
Still PS4 is weak platform but we will have improvements and utilizing DX11 in a better way.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
milamber
Maha Guru
 
milamber's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 780 SC
Processor: Intel i7-3820 @4.3Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth X79
Memory: 16Gb Gskill Sniper @1666
Soundcard: Logitech Z623 / onboard
PSU: Corsair AX-850
Default 07-17-2013, 06:16 | posts: 807 | Location: Australia

I'm seriously considering the upgrade. Tomb Raider, Hitman and Bioshock run at 50-60fps+ maxed out. AC3 still dips below 60fps in Boston and as low as 23fps in the Frontier (1080p, TXAA+SweetFX). Crysis 3 runs about 40fps average maxed out (plus tweaks). I'm worried if Black Flag, GTA V, Watch Dogs and Rome: Total War 2 aren't be better optimized than earlier DX11 games I'll struggle to get 60fps. Money is not an issue and I don't want to compromise on IQ or performance.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
13thCaesar
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte GTX 680 2gig
Processor: Intel i7 3820
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79-UP4
Memory: Corsair Dominator 1866 16
Soundcard: OnBoard
PSU: Enermax Revolution87+ 1k
Default 10-23-2013, 11:19 | posts: 19 | Location: New Zealand

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrHycodan View Post
It seems my 680 SLI setup is getting hiccups running metro the last light at max settings. Do you think the 780 SLI would be worth upgrading to?
Hey... I've been debating the exact same thing.

One of my reasons is BF4, which I will be playing extensively when its released and the system recommendations say 3gig Vram, and I only have 2gig cards.

Also another big factor for me is running a Dell 30" so native res is 2560x1600.
Crysis 3 and Metro LL are other games that bring the frame rate below 60fps with my current setup.
And I'm guessing Watchdogs when it comes out will too.

I don't think my CPU will be an issue being a i7 chip and when comparing benchmarks for SLI 780s to a GTX 690 (basically 2 680s sli and slightly UNDER clocked) I see I stand to gain about 15-20fps and more across the board.

But... now that Nvidia have just announced the 780 Ti video card (specs still to be released yet) I'm gonner hold off just to see how they preform and if they do another 10fps more than a standard 780 then I might get 2x 780 Ti's instead.

That's my current thoughts on the situation anyway.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
0LBaID
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2- MSI Nvidia 780gtx (mod
Processor: Intel SB 2700k (OC 4.4)
Mainboard: MSI (b3) P67-GD65
Memory: 16g 1600 Corsair
Soundcard: CL X-FI Platinum HD
PSU: Silerstone 1200w
Default 10-26-2013, 15:02 | posts: 2 | Location: St. Louis

Figured I would chime in. Sold my 2-680's and got 780's (both MSI 780's are OC gaming card with a modded vBios) I made the move to future proof for all my games and stopped using my Dell U3011 and got a Overlord 27" @120hz.

They really are nice cards and very cool and quiet and easily handle anything thrown at them at 2560x1440 on maxed settings. Overall i really love the new cards.

They were not necessary but I know I dont have to worry about video for at least a year or more .
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI ftw bios @1215
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.9
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: xfx 850
Default 10-27-2013, 03:32 | posts: 6,372 | Location: Sunny Scotland

I can honestly say I'd take a 780 or a 780 ti at this point in time.
either or, most definitely if somehow I could keep my current card for teh lulz.
they would give me, (either one of them) 2k in firestrike earning me the steam 9k achievement, and totally setting someone up for bf4 (one of them would do me, I reiterate any one of them, January: 780 lightning would be fun.
or stock whatever.
I imagine the 780 ti will be outta my league in January. id say vanilla 780 ti £600 at launch.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
moab600
Ancient Guru
 
moab600's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 AMP 1267/7300MHZ
Processor: Core I7 2700K 5.12GHZ
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD4H F2K Bios
Memory: 8GB DDRIII 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX II Z906
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 650W 85+Br
Default 10-27-2013, 08:35 | posts: 4,297 | Location: Israel

just wait a bit more, i think Maxwell should be released around march.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
13thCaesar
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte GTX 680 2gig
Processor: Intel i7 3820
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79-UP4
Memory: Corsair Dominator 1866 16
Soundcard: OnBoard
PSU: Enermax Revolution87+ 1k
Default 10-28-2013, 05:49 | posts: 19 | Location: New Zealand

I hope they release the specs of the 780 Ti soon, and hopefully its not too much more expensive than a standard 780.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Accelero7970 1125/1500MHz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 10-28-2013, 06:23 | posts: 1,308 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrHycodan View Post
Are there any games out that requires more than 680 SLI to run at max settings and 2560x1440 without dropping below 60fps?
Max settings? 2Titans can't Handle (permanent 60+ fps) some new games at max settings with 4xMSAA at that resolution.

But then reasonable setup like one GTX 680 can do that on proper game settings. You have two, Sacrificing little bit of IQ for which you are able to tell difference only on screenshots is good choice.

High resolutions games look even better on SMAA than 2-4xMSAA. FXAA is somewhat questionable. And performance difference is usually pretty high.
Main disadvantage of SMAA - corners, on high resolutions corners still consists of same number of pixels as on low resolutions and there is minor graphical error, but on high resolution they actually cover smaller part of scene therefore are less visible.
Main advantage of SMAA - long edges, splines. Visual improvement is at level of 8xSSAA while performance impact is very small.

For me even at 1080p MSAA is bad choice in comparison for SMAA. Try both make screenshot, note difference and think if you can notice them while playing (playing mean not looking for them).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI ftw bios @1215
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.9
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: xfx 850
Default 10-28-2013, 08:13 | posts: 6,372 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by moab600 View Post
just wait a bit more, i think Maxwell should be released around march.
Perhaps, but not the lightning /classified, those won't show till perhaps may /june.
anyways, come January 780 prices will be just where I want them I imagine.
I like the 780 lightning.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
thisizbrian
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 780 SLI
Processor: i7-980x @ 4.4gzh ~1.375v
Mainboard: EVGA E758
Memory: G.Skill 6GB @ 2000mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec HCP 1000w
Default 10-29-2013, 01:51 | posts: 85 | Location: Los Angeles

there's games that require it for 5760x1080 with 3d vision on
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.