Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
27" pls, 29" ips or 120hz 1080p?
Old
  (#1)
Enmity
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 7970 Vapor-x GE 3GB
Processor: intel i5 3570k@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 8GB Mushkin Frostbyte
Soundcard: Creative Z/HD485/Studios
PSU: Corsair HX850 v2
Default 27" pls, 29" ips or 120hz 1080p? - 06-09-2013, 21:17 | posts: 1,243 | Location: New Zealand

So the asus 27" pls at 2560x1440 is only $899, the aoc and lg 29" 2560x1080p ips super widescreen is about $749, and a decent 27" ips at 1080p and 120hz can be found for about $700 too here in nz....what would you choose and why? See specs to the left, basically ive got 2x7970ghz editions that need more than the current walk in the park at 60hz 1080p.

Thoughts? Suggestions? All is welcome. Cheers mates.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
lehtv
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7950 3GB
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 2x4GB Samsung 1333
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX + SH PC-350
PSU: Seasonic X-660
Default 06-09-2013, 22:13 | posts: 3,094

Personally I would choose a 24" 120hz, that refresh rate is essential to me. Costs almost half a 27" 120hz but you barely notice the missing inches, in fact 1080p at 24" looks sharper than at 27".

But I don't know your usage scenario, maybe you would benefit from a high resolution more than a high refresh rate.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Enmity
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 7970 Vapor-x GE 3GB
Processor: intel i5 3570k@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 8GB Mushkin Frostbyte
Soundcard: Creative Z/HD485/Studios
PSU: Corsair HX850 v2
Default 06-09-2013, 22:22 | posts: 1,243 | Location: New Zealand

Thanks for ur input man i appreciate it. So have you tried gaming at higher res than 1080? Ive never used a higher res or used 120hz, plus theres no stores nearby for me to sample. Smoothness is big for me though. My usage is mainly just gaming though so i want to weigh up the gains of higher res (more detail) as versus no added detail, but more smoothness of the 120hz.


Also worth noting is i normally wouldnt have the deep pockets to make a purchase like this, but im going to use my tax return to treat myself so the money isnt really an issue. Im using a 23" monitor at the moment, will the extra inch and being 120hz really be a worthy upgrade?

I wish i could see the differences myself its just not possible in my small town. Im a graphics whore, i love great graphics and quite often slack off in games as im too busy in awe of the surroundings haha...hence why im thinking the higher res might be a good option for me.

Last edited by Enmity; 06-09-2013 at 22:47.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Greyleroux
Member Guru
 
Greyleroux's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gtx660 Sli_U2713
Processor: 3570K@4.4_H80i
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16G DDR3 @1600
Soundcard: SB ZxR_ATH-AD-500X
PSU: 850W
Default 06-09-2013, 23:04 | posts: 76 | Location: Japan

Hi, You can rule out the 29" the format is too specefic .
27"@120HZ or 27"@1440P
27"@1080P= 81.59 PPI

Now you are using a 23" 1080P(95.78 PPI) you'll lose some sharpness if you decide to go 27"@120Hz and trust me you'll notice the big ugly pixels staring back at you .

You have the muscle to back up 1440P gaming so i say go for it .
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Enmity
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 7970 Vapor-x GE 3GB
Processor: intel i5 3570k@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 8GB Mushkin Frostbyte
Soundcard: Creative Z/HD485/Studios
PSU: Corsair HX850 v2
Default 06-09-2013, 23:52 | posts: 1,243 | Location: New Zealand

Hey man thanks for your input thats good info there on the ppi. So i guess the race is between 24" 120hz vs 1440p. Anyone had experience with both 120hz and 2560x1440? People seem to say with 1440 you can really notice the extra detail (and performance hit) whereas with 120hz you have the smoothness...how about in games that are more demanding and you cant maintain 120fps? Titles like crysis 3 for example?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Corrupt^
Ancient Guru
 
Corrupt^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX770 - G2773HS
Processor: Core i7 2600K 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67-UD4-B3
Memory: Corsair DDR3 16GB 1600
Soundcard: Essence ST - Sennh. HD650
PSU: Antec Truepower 850W
Default 06-09-2013, 23:54 | posts: 5,412 | Location: Belgium

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
Personally I would choose a 24" 120hz, that refresh rate is essential to me. Costs almost half a 27" 120hz but you barely notice the missing inches, in fact 1080p at 24" looks sharper than at 27".

But I don't know your usage scenario, maybe you would benefit from a high resolution more than a high refresh rate.
In your case I would suggest http://www.iiyama.com/be_nl/producte...ite-g2773hs-1/

No 3D support, but if it's just for competitive gaming or what not at 120 Hz, it's alot cheaper then the other 120Hz 27 inch monitors. I don't care about 3D either, but I do care about 120 Hz so I bought that one.

Response time is good (real world not the one on the specs sheet), among the best 27 inch 120 Hz monitors, together with the ASUS one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 06-10-2013, 00:03 | posts: 7,490 | Location: GTA, Canada

Avoid super wide screen and avoid any anti glare coating, some like Dell's 3H coating are absolutely insane.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Enmity
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 7970 Vapor-x GE 3GB
Processor: intel i5 3570k@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 8GB Mushkin Frostbyte
Soundcard: Creative Z/HD485/Studios
PSU: Corsair HX850 v2
Default 06-10-2013, 00:31 | posts: 1,243 | Location: New Zealand

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corrupt^ View Post
In your case I would suggest http://www.iiyama.com/be_nl/producte...ite-g2773hs-1/

No 3D support, but if it's just for competitive gaming or what not at 120 Hz, it's alot cheaper then the other 120Hz 27 inch monitors. I don't care about 3D either, but I do care about 120 Hz so I bought that one.

Response time is good (real world not the one on the specs sheet), among the best 27 inch 120 Hz monitors, together with the ASUS one.

Thats a nice looking monitor there 3d means nothing to me personally as i have an artificial eye so cant see 3d anyway lol. The type of games i mostly play are single player fps and racing games.

on the point of 120hz, will amds latency issues prove an issue with 120hz? The other concern with 120hz is when fps drops below 120, how does the monitor react? Is there a triple buffer option for 120hz? Does it tear like on 60z monitors?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Enmity
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 7970 Vapor-x GE 3GB
Processor: intel i5 3570k@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 8GB Mushkin Frostbyte
Soundcard: Creative Z/HD485/Studios
PSU: Corsair HX850 v2
Default 06-10-2013, 01:15 | posts: 1,243 | Location: New Zealand

Hey Neo, whats up with the antiglare coating? Haven't heard about this one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 06-10-2013, 01:44 | posts: 9,136 | Location: Toledo

120Hz is wonderful, but if you can afford a proper 27" PLS with 2560x1440 resolution, that's what I recommend. 120Hz is something you can miss if you aren't used to it, and those PLS panels are absolutely wonderful when it comes to image quality.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Enmity
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 7970 Vapor-x GE 3GB
Processor: intel i5 3570k@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 8GB Mushkin Frostbyte
Soundcard: Creative Z/HD485/Studios
PSU: Corsair HX850 v2
Default 06-10-2013, 05:22 | posts: 1,243 | Location: New Zealand

heres the PLS panel i can get my hands on from Asus. The guy at the Computer lounge store a while back told me he has a 27" dell U2711 and would upgrade to this PLS panel any day.

http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/comp...p?partid=18255

Anything under a grand here in NZ is considered pretty good for a monitor of this magnitude.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
scheherazade
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: (.) an
Processor: sb-e water
Mainboard: p9x79 ws
Memory: 32 gig
Soundcard: spdif 4x12" driver towers
PSU: dual 1000w
Default 06-11-2013, 06:07 | posts: 2,037 | Location: NOVA

Or get a catleap or overlord display and have IPS 1440@120hz. Why settle when you can have both...

-scheherazade
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 06-11-2013, 07:01 | posts: 9,136 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by scheherazade View Post
Or get a catleap or overlord display and have IPS 1440@120hz. Why settle when you can have both...

-scheherazade
The price on those models has skyrocketed, it's not like it used to be where they were just as cheap as any other Korean knock off monitor. Not to mention, the 120Hz comes from overclocking (which means it's not guaranteed you'll get that high), and it's hard on the panel. And, it doesn't get around the high-ish response time of the panel. So it won't be as good as a monitor designed for 120Hz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
scheherazade
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: (.) an
Processor: sb-e water
Mainboard: p9x79 ws
Memory: 32 gig
Soundcard: spdif 4x12" driver towers
PSU: dual 1000w
Default 06-11-2013, 22:55 | posts: 2,037 | Location: NOVA

The folks with issues are few compared to the total user base.
Mine has been good at 120hz for about a year now, running 24/7.

The pixel response time is around 6ms iirc. Not 2ms like my vg276h, but good enough to be a gaming display.
At the end of the day, it's just a more pleasing display to use. The extra clarity, the nicer colour, the same high speed, and *practically* indistinguishable in motion blur.

The price is worth it. If they charged 50% more, I'd still think it's a good deal.
I'm not going back to 60hz, or 1080p. I'm happy that I even have the choice of any display at all, regardless of price.

-scheherazade

Last edited by scheherazade; 06-11-2013 at 22:59.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Enmity
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 7970 Vapor-x GE 3GB
Processor: intel i5 3570k@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 8GB Mushkin Frostbyte
Soundcard: Creative Z/HD485/Studios
PSU: Corsair HX850 v2
Default 06-11-2013, 23:03 | posts: 1,243 | Location: New Zealand

Hmmm ive got to say i am intrigued with those catleaps...although the inputs are important to me, as i use my monitor for both my pc use and xbox 360 (strictly for forza) i at least need dvi/dp and hdmi at minimum. Also, ive heard very good things about the catleaps ips panel, how do they compare to the pls panel from asus? Coz thats got some really good reviews with regard to both input selection and panel quality.

If there is a model with a good panel (i would opt for a pixel perfect) and being overclockable with the inputs i need, then sure i will consider it over the asus, but as of right now and my little understanding of the korean panels, the asus is so far my best all round suitable option.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
scheherazade
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: (.) an
Processor: sb-e water
Mainboard: p9x79 ws
Memory: 32 gig
Soundcard: spdif 4x12" driver towers
PSU: dual 1000w
Default 06-11-2013, 23:17 | posts: 2,037 | Location: NOVA

The catleap IPS panel is the same panel as used in Apple displays. Generally a good quality panel.

Catleaps only have DVI-D, and no OSD.
Connectivity is not a strength of this display.
Adjustability is only with side buttons, no advanced stuff.

In part this is what makes it a good display. The internals run simpler software and the hardware has more cycles free for higher refresh rates and lower input lag.


You overclock it via driver options. You are literally overclocking the DVI signal generator on the GPU. The display only needs to be fast enough to 'keep up'.

Without such driver control on the xbox, it will simply run at 60hz.


You could use a DVI/HDMI converter to connect to it via HDMI @ 60hz.

(HDMI *IS DVI [single-link] with a different shaped connector)
(*Not all colour formats are shared between the connector's standards, but all that you will ever need are)

DP is not available at all on the overclockable variants.

-scheherazade

Last edited by scheherazade; 06-11-2013 at 23:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Enmity
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 7970 Vapor-x GE 3GB
Processor: intel i5 3570k@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 8GB Mushkin Frostbyte
Soundcard: Creative Z/HD485/Studios
PSU: Corsair HX850 v2
Default 06-11-2013, 23:28 | posts: 1,243 | Location: New Zealand

Thanks man, its food for thought at the very least. I appreciate your input man and ill consider it as a possible purchase question tho, have you noticed much difference between 60hz and 120hz?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
scheherazade
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: (.) an
Processor: sb-e water
Mainboard: p9x79 ws
Memory: 32 gig
Soundcard: spdif 4x12" driver towers
PSU: dual 1000w
Default 06-11-2013, 23:34 | posts: 2,037 | Location: NOVA

Fast games (FPS, twitch anything) : Night and day.
All else (RTS, whatever) : Not really. You can tell it's smoother, but it has no meaning.

-scheherazade
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Enmity
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 7970 Vapor-x GE 3GB
Processor: intel i5 3570k@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 8GB Mushkin Frostbyte
Soundcard: Creative Z/HD485/Studios
PSU: Corsair HX850 v2
Default 06-12-2013, 00:10 | posts: 1,243 | Location: New Zealand

What video cards are you running to pull 120fps+ at 2560?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
scheherazade
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: (.) an
Processor: sb-e water
Mainboard: p9x79 ws
Memory: 32 gig
Soundcard: spdif 4x12" driver towers
PSU: dual 1000w
Default 06-12-2013, 00:54 | posts: 2,037 | Location: NOVA

Titan

-scheherazade
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Enmity
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 7970 Vapor-x GE 3GB
Processor: intel i5 3570k@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 8GB Mushkin Frostbyte
Soundcard: Creative Z/HD485/Studios
PSU: Corsair HX850 v2
Default 06-12-2013, 02:19 | posts: 1,243 | Location: New Zealand

Ive read that amd cards have less success with the overclocking, do you know much about that?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
scheherazade
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: (.) an
Processor: sb-e water
Mainboard: p9x79 ws
Memory: 32 gig
Soundcard: spdif 4x12" driver towers
PSU: dual 1000w
Default 06-12-2013, 03:02 | posts: 2,037 | Location: NOVA

Generally :
Different generations of cards overclock to different levels.
Different driver versions allow overclocks to different levels.

There are 'unlimit' driver patches that allow you to crank up the hz on driver versions that are locked.

From what I remember from the 120hz.net forums, ~90hz is about the lowest overclock you can expect from the most limited hardware [and no driver limit].
*You would have to check the forums if you don't want to rely on my fuzzy memory.


On video cards that are of a capable generation (eg. 500,600,700/Titan), with an unrestricted driver, you will max somewhere between 100hz(rarely this low) and 140hz(rarely this high), with 120hz being extremely common.
This is because different monitors max out at different levels. All the GPUs in this class can drive the monitors at over 140hz - even if the monitor can't handle it.


ATI/Nvidia wise :

Recent nvidia hardware will overclock over 120+hz, and recent drivers allow 120+hz overclocks without patching.

You will have to check the forums on 120hz.net to see the specific current state of ATI hardware.
I haven't read them in a bit, so I just don't know what's going on in that regard.

-scheherazade

Last edited by scheherazade; 06-12-2013 at 03:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 06-12-2013, 03:45 | posts: 9,136 | Location: Toledo

Current ATI hardware can't increase the pixel clock past 500, which generally means a 100Hz limit. This is the same for Nvidia SLI, and anything pre 500 series.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
scheherazade
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: (.) an
Processor: sb-e water
Mainboard: p9x79 ws
Memory: 32 gig
Soundcard: spdif 4x12" driver towers
PSU: dual 1000w
Default 06-12-2013, 03:59 | posts: 2,037 | Location: NOVA

AFAIK: 500mhz is what you need to hit 120hz refresh, and the problems were from limits below 500.

The SLI limit has been patched out - but only for 600 series and up.
http://direct.120hz.net/showthread.p...Limit-Unlocked!

Check this patch to go 120hz with ati:
http://www2.120hz.net/showthread.php...-refresh-rates
http://www.monitortests.com/forum/Th...-Clock-Patcher

From reading that ATI thread, there seem to be mixed results. Some 90+hz early in the thread, and some 120+hz later in the thread. Not terribly consistent chatter.

-scheherazade

Last edited by scheherazade; 06-12-2013 at 04:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 06-12-2013, 04:15 | posts: 9,136 | Location: Toledo

I thought 500 was too low for a 2560x1440 panel for 120Hz, but I don't remember.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.