Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Sandisk Extreme II 120 - 240 and 480 GB SSD get tested [Guru3D.com]
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Sandisk Extreme II 120 - 240 and 480 GB SSD get tested [Guru3D.com] - 06-03-2013, 20:25 | posts: 19,599 | Location: Guru3D testlab

We review the all new Sandisk Extreme II 120 - 240 and 480 GB SSDs. Fast an affordable seems to be what SanDisk is aiming for. These SSDs are made 90% by SanDisk themselves including the PCB design ...

Sandisk Extreme II 120 - 240 and 480 GB SSD get tested
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 06-03-2013, 21:22 | posts: 9,776 | Location: UK

Wow, they look really good!
A bit let down on write speed, but as you said, at that speed it matters little for most uses, and read speeds are top notch.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
scoter man1
Ancient Guru
 
scoter man1's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570
Processor: Intel Q6600 @ 3.2ghz G0
Mainboard: EVGA 750i SLI FTW
Memory: Corsair XMS2 xtreme 1GBx4
Soundcard: XONAR DG/Superlux HD660
PSU: XIGMATEK 750w
Default 06-03-2013, 22:04 | posts: 3,876 | Location: MI, USA

I'm sorry if I missed an explanation, but why exactly does the 120GB struggle with write speeds?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
S3nt3nc3
Master Guru
 
S3nt3nc3's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 @ 1270/1680
Processor: 2500k
Mainboard: GA-Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: DDR3 8GB CorsairVengeance
Soundcard: ATH A900 + Xtreme Gamer
PSU: Corsair 850W
Default 06-03-2013, 22:25 | posts: 254 | Location: far away from u

^ it reaches "only" 340MB/s while others do 500+
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 06-03-2013, 22:32 | posts: 9,776 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoter man1 View Post
I'm sorry if I missed an explanation, but why exactly does the 120GB struggle with write speeds?
Because 1/2 the output elements gives half the bandwidth.
There is almost no difference between 240GB and 480GB because the bus is already saturated at 240GB.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
scoter man1
Ancient Guru
 
scoter man1's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570
Processor: Intel Q6600 @ 3.2ghz G0
Mainboard: EVGA 750i SLI FTW
Memory: Corsair XMS2 xtreme 1GBx4
Soundcard: XONAR DG/Superlux HD660
PSU: XIGMATEK 750w
Default 06-03-2013, 22:37 | posts: 3,876 | Location: MI, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
Because 1/2 the output elements gives half the bandwidth.
There is almost no difference between 240GB and 480GB because the bus is already saturated at 240GB.
Aha, I figured that was what it was, but wasn't sure. I don't remember seeing other 120's do so heavily so that's why I asked.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Pale Rider
Newbie
 
Pale Rider's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA TITAN Black
Processor: Intel i7-3930K
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair 4x4GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative/Corsair SP 2500
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 06-03-2013, 23:48 | posts: 31 | Location: Holly Ridge, NC USA

I just checked my SSD and found indexing was enabled. Thanks for the heads-up!
Should compression be enabled? It isn't on mine.
Is it safe to use Disk Cleanup?
I've used several different brands of SSD's, including SanDisk, and have never actually sensed any difference in their operating speeds.
It kind of makes me wonder why anyone except reviewers benchmark their drives.
Unless, of course, you think something is wrong with one.
Even then I'd be more interested in copying the info to another drive before I wasted any time benchmarking it.
Right?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
xkche
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus HD7850 DCII 2GB
Processor: Phenom II X4 965
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-870A-USB3
Memory: 12GB DDR3 1600 Mhz
Soundcard: OnBoard
PSU: Corsair VX550
Default 06-04-2013, 00:40 | posts: 2 | Location: Costa Rica

Hi!

last Friday I install my first SSD on my PC and activate de ACHI mode was a nightmare.

After 3 hours of installation (Win7-Win8), many BSOD because AHCI... I found the correct regedit code to activate AHCI on Win8:

"HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servi ces\storahci\"

Hope help somebody!.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
MadGizmo
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD7970 CF (2560*1440)
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Formula
Memory: 32GB 1600CL9 Vengeance LP
Soundcard: SupremeFX IV/Tiamat 7.1
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 06-04-2013, 09:59 | posts: 1,295

Nice review, Hilbert. Good to see some solid competition.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.