Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Any chance of Steamroller NOT working on some AM3+ boards?
Old
  (#1)
DSparil
Ancient Guru
 
DSparil's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS 7870 IceQ GHz 2GB
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.3 w/YASYA
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97
Memory: 8GB G.Skill 1866
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Xtreme
PSU: TT Toughpower XT 675
Default Any chance of Steamroller NOT working on some AM3+ boards? - 05-27-2013, 01:07 | posts: 2,924 | Location: Tampa Bay, FL

This thread may not garnish many replies because its not a well known topic, but I have seen rumors and read instances of Piledriver "not working" on some older AM3+ socket boards. Now I dont know if this is because of user error, or a failure to flash to the latest BIOS but never the less, you will see reports of this on the net.

My concern is, has anyone here had this experience and if so, one would be led to believe Steamroller could be even worse as far as dated AM3+ board support goes! You can see I am running an earlier ASUS M5A97 board, not revision 2. The last thing I would want is to hold out for Steamroller and find out that I can't run it for some strange reason, even after a BIOS update.

Any info or leads on this topic would be appreciated

Last edited by DSparil; 07-23-2013 at 18:29.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 05-27-2013, 01:22 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

My old ASUS M3A AM2+ board doesn't technically support Phenom II (never had a BIOS revision that had official Phenom II support) yet it ran my Phenom II 810 beautifully before I went Intel. Sometimes even if it's not officially supported, it will still work.

However, to have guaranteed support, always check the CPU Supported List that every motherboard comes with. There could be a chance that Steamroller won't work on current boards but AMD has been pretty adamant on not constantly switching sockets unlike Intel.

Your ASUS M5A97 supports Piledriver through the 1605 UEFI update. Just check back when Steamroller-based FX CPUs come out. There's a chance that they're not supported not due to AMD but your board manufacturer for not releasing an update for your motherboard.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
DSparil
Ancient Guru
 
DSparil's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS 7870 IceQ GHz 2GB
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.3 w/YASYA
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97
Memory: 8GB G.Skill 1866
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Xtreme
PSU: TT Toughpower XT 675
Default 05-27-2013, 03:52 | posts: 2,924 | Location: Tampa Bay, FL

^ Thanks Delta, you make some good points. You are right on the issue mainly being mobo manufacturers not releasing BIOS updates to support the new hardware. I guess I can just hold onto hope that ASUS will continue to support their M5A97 r2 board, because I believe BIOS updates for those and for the first model would be backwards compatible. Would they not? In other words, if they only release further updates for the r2, I think I could use them for my board as well.

I'll hold out and see. Worst case scenario is I cannot get a proper update for Steamroller and will have to settle for a high end Piledriver like an 8320.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 05-27-2013, 05:43 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSparil View Post
^ Thanks Delta, you make some good points. You are right on the issue mainly being mobo manufacturers not releasing BIOS updates to support the new hardware. I guess I can just hold onto hope that ASUS will continue to support their M5A97 r2 board, because I believe BIOS updates for those and for the first model would be backwards compatible. Would they not? In other words, if they only release further updates for the r2, I think I could use them for my board as well.

I'll hold out and see. Worst case scenario is I cannot get a proper update for Steamroller and will have to settle for a high end Piledriver like an 8320.
R2 may have used components that R1 didn't have. You can't assume that R2 UEFI will work with R1 or that they will update for R1 either. Do not attempt to apply R2 UEFI revisions to R1 board. It's like with Gigabyte boards, you can't apply UEFI revisions for rev1.1 to rev1.0 boards even though they have the same model number without risking frying the board since they likely have changed something in the motherboard to make that distinction. I've had a friend who fried his board doing so.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-27-2013, 07:36 | posts: 24,543 | Location: NZ

Some boards are not fully BD/PD compatible because they are simply old chipsets with a new AM3+ socket slapped on.

They don't have dual power plane/2600mhz HT/APM/HPC/C6 etc etc.....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-27-2013, 07:39 | posts: 24,543 | Location: NZ

some good info here;

http://www.overclock.net/t/946407/am...-info-database
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 05-27-2013, 09:24 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Ye, a good chunk of the earlier boards had 890GX and 890FX chipsets be fitted with AM3+ sockets. Probably to offset any initial chipset shortage they may have had. What's been kinda disturbing is that motherboard manufacturers have been producing less AMD boards lately, especially AM3+ ones.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ 1050/1500
Processor: 980X @ 4.00 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1910 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 05-27-2013, 11:23 | posts: 4,979 | Location: London

Were there not rumours of AMD doing an Intel and sticking the NB in the next generation of FX chips?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-27-2013, 11:38 | posts: 24,543 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLEH! View Post
Were there not rumours of AMD doing an Intel and sticking the NB in the next generation of FX chips?
I haven't heard any rumours but that's not going to happen anyway since architecture is based on BD/PD.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6201/a...r-architecture

Maybe you're thinking of APU?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
DSparil
Ancient Guru
 
DSparil's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS 7870 IceQ GHz 2GB
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.3 w/YASYA
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97
Memory: 8GB G.Skill 1866
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Xtreme
PSU: TT Toughpower XT 675
Default 05-27-2013, 18:32 | posts: 2,924 | Location: Tampa Bay, FL

Quote:
Originally Posted by deltatux View Post
R2 may have used components that R1 didn't have. You can't assume that R2 UEFI will work with R1 or that they will update for R1 either. Do not attempt to apply R2 UEFI revisions to R1 board. It's like with Gigabyte boards, you can't apply UEFI revisions for rev1.1 to rev1.0 boards even though they have the same model number without risking frying the board since they likely have changed something in the motherboard to make that distinction. I've had a friend who fried his board doing so.

deltatux
Thats what worries me. Why would ASUS release a 2.0 so quickly after the first, and whos to say they will continue to support the latter? I have scoured the web and cannot find out the differences between the second revision and mine, and why they even bothered to release such a board. Its almost like they screwed up the first one and went "oops, better release a revision"! I have read nothing but good reviews on my board though and its been a performer thus far...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Some boards are not fully BD/PD compatible because they are simply old chipsets with a new AM3+ socket slapped on.

They don't have dual power plane/2600mhz HT/APM/HPC/C6 etc etc.....
That is some sh!t. Its like a Toyota Corolla with a Maserati shell slapped on and they call it a Maserati.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-27-2013, 19:22 | posts: 24,543 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSparil View Post
Thats what worries me. Why would ASUS release a 2.0 so quickly after the first, and whos to say they will continue to support the latter? I have scoured the web and cannot find out the differences between the second revision and mine, and why they even bothered to release such a board.
Why didn't you compare the boards on ASUS website? http://www.asus.com/au/Compare/

Btw R1 can't be flashed with R2 BIOS because they have different size flash ROM.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 05-29-2013 at 01:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
DSparil
Ancient Guru
 
DSparil's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS 7870 IceQ GHz 2GB
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.3 w/YASYA
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97
Memory: 8GB G.Skill 1866
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Xtreme
PSU: TT Toughpower XT 675
Default 05-27-2013, 19:34 | posts: 2,924 | Location: Tampa Bay, FL

^ haha, forgot all about that

They look virtually the same. The R2 just touts Windows 8 support and some additional BIOS features, with some stuff physically moved around the board a bit. Now I will just hold onto hope that they release new BIOS updates for both of them. I will probably pick up a Steamroller 6 or 8 core when they are released.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 05-27-2013, 19:38 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLEH! View Post
Were there not rumours of AMD doing an Intel and sticking the NB in the next generation of FX chips?
AMD did commit themselves to socket AM3+ through 2014 so I doubt that'll be why. Though, I'd be happy if they did as the northbridge is pretty much no longer needed these days as they could be integrated into the CPU itself. However, that may conflict with AMD's server market, FX chips are just the cutdown consumer server chips. While Intel designed their LGA1155 chips as mobile chips first and then scale them up as desktop chips. Different design philosophy.

I think after 2014, AMD might follow Intel and expand their APU roles to cover the enthusiast market and then the server market would be by itself.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ 1050/1500
Processor: 980X @ 4.00 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1910 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 05-27-2013, 19:56 | posts: 4,979 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by deltatux View Post
AMD did commit themselves to socket AM3+ through 2014 so I doubt that'll be why. Though, I'd be happy if they did as the northbridge is pretty much no longer needed these days as they could be integrated into the CPU itself. However, that may conflict with AMD's server market, FX chips are just the cutdown consumer server chips. While Intel designed their LGA1155 chips as mobile chips first and then scale them up as desktop chips. Different design philosophy.

I think after 2014, AMD might follow Intel and expand their APU roles to cover the enthusiast market and then the server market would be by itself.

deltatux
Seems reasonable. I do look forward to what Steamroller can bring.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-29-2013, 01:26 | posts: 24,543 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLEH! View Post
Seems reasonable. I do look forward to what Steamroller can bring.
AMD says it will address the L3 cache latency problem with Steamroller....it's pretty bad atm....worse than Phenom II

Last edited by Pill Monster; 05-29-2013 at 01:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 05-29-2013, 01:33 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
AMD says it will address the L3 cache latency problem with Steamroller....it's pretty bad atm....worse than Phenom II.
8 MB of 64-way set associative cache may be the problem lol. Phenom II had 6 MB of 48-way set associative cache and Ivy Bridge (for the 3570K) has 6 MB 12-way set associative cache or 8 MB of 16-way set associative cache. The lower the better (though it means more cache misses). In order to counteract the lower set associativity, you tend to put more cache space.

EDIT: Some bad news:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anandtech
Steamroller brings no significant reduction in L2/L3 cache latencies. According to AMD, they’ve isolated the reason for the unusually high L3 latency in the Bulldozer architecture, however fixing it isn’t a top priority. Given that most consumers (read: notebooks) will only see L3-less processors (e.g. Llano, Trinity), and many server workloads are less sensitive to latency, AMD’s stance makes sense.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6201/a...architecture/2

deltatux

Last edited by deltatux; 05-29-2013 at 01:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-29-2013, 01:49 | posts: 24,543 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by deltatux View Post
8 MB of 64-way set associative cache may be the problem lol. Phenom II had 6 MB of 48-way set associative cache and Ivy Bridge (for the 3570K) has 6 MB 12-way set associative cache or 8 MB of 16-way set associative cache. The lower the better (though it means more cache misses). In order to counteract the lower set associativity, you tend to put more cache space.

EDIT: Some bad news:

http://www.anandtech.com/show/6201/a...architecture/2

deltatux
Lol guess I was wrong. Dunno how I misread that

Here's a comparison of my FX & Phenom II fwiw...... 2600mhz vs 2800mhz CPU/NB.



No wonder HT speed has little impact. Even raising mine to 3Ghz made no difference in benchmark results. lol 2400 ram is a waste.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 05-29-2013 at 01:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 05-29-2013, 01:49 | posts: 8,525 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Some early SteamRoller FX9650 leaks, could be fake though. But atm it looks quite promising

Quote:
AMD Steamroller FX 9650 - 4.5 Ghz / 4.8 Ghz Turbo Benchmarks!

AMD Back in the High End
1090FX Entusiast


30% more Ops / Cycle = 20% IPC Benefit over Piledriver


Assuming 45% increase in performance vs Bulldozer (First Gen) and a 32% increase in performance vs Piledriver (Second Gen). This is taken directly from AMD!


source

IPC will lie somewhere between Nahelem and Sandy Bridge , falling behind Haswell by only 25-30%.


POV Ray 3.7 - Multithreaded Test Score

Intel

4C/8T - Intel i7 3770k : 1363

6C/12T - Intel i7 3970x : 1888

AMD

4M/8T - AMD FX 8350 : 1505

4M/8T - AMD FX 9450 : 1636

4M/8T - AMD FX 9650 : 1985

(determined with 32% increase in performance over the FX 8350)

source

Cinebench 11.5 Score - Single Core Test

Intel

4C/8T - Intel i7 3770k : 1.66

6C/12T - Intel i7 3970x : 1.62

AMD

4M/8T - AMD FX 8350 : 1.11

4M/8T - AMD FX 9450 : 1.21

4M/8T - AMD FX 9650 : 1.47


Cinebench 11.5 Score - Multi-core Test


Intel

4C/8T - Intel i7 3770k : 7.52

6C/12T - Intel i7 3970x : 10.84

AMD

4M/8T - AMD FX 8350 : 6.93

4M/8T - AMD FX 9450 : 7.55

4M/8T - AMD FX 9650 : 9.15

source

---

Due to the 20% difference in single core performance when compared to Haswell, the FX 9650 will perform on par with a 2nd gen intel i7 2600k in gaming, still falling behind the 4770k by a hair when paired with two high end graphics card solutions. For games, like Crysis 3, that take advantage of more than 4 cores, the FX 9650 will perform on par with its intel counter parts. The 32 % performance increase comes with a 20% increase in IPC (vs Piledriver) and around a 10% Clock boost.


The only downside with these chips is the overclockability. AMD generally pushes their stock clocks high enough to not leave any room for overclocking. Although AMD has put alot of effort into making these chips less power hungry, they only succeeded in allowing for higher clocks and typically higher overclock under the given TDP. The total power consumption is only 5-8% less than its FX 8350 counterpart. Unlike with the 4770k, which can handle a hefty +43% overclock from 3.5 Ghz to 5.0 Ghz , while the AMD FX 9650 will only handle a 20% overclock from 4.5 Ghz to 5.4 Ghz.

Note: It should deffinitly be noted that the intel processor overclocked to 5 Ghz will still use a whopping 40% less power than AMD's Steamroller Flagship.

The FX 9650 will lie somewhere between the 4770k and the 4960x in performance, and the price will reflect that. To directly compete with the 4770k, AMD will release a cheaper variant clocked at 3.8 Ghz with a 4.2 Ghz Turbo.

My Price estimate for AMD's flagship FX chip 4.5 Ghz with 4.8 Ghz Turbo is $449, with the lower model sporting a 3.8 Ghz / 4.2 Ghz Turbo Clock for $249. The FX 9650 will compete directly with the i7 4930k, while the FX 9450 will compete with the i7 4770k.

You Choose Who will be King!

Update: *Given AMD's flagship Kaveri APU will sport 3M/6T , (source) it wll be interesting to see if AMD releases a 6M/12T Centurian FX variant flagship in the 900-1000 USD range. (If not 4M/8T) Although this chip will be plagued with terrible overclockability, it will nevertheless give the 4960x a run for its money.
http://amdfx.blogspot.ca/2013/05/amd...hz-48-ghz.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-29-2013, 01:57 | posts: 24,543 | Location: NZ

Wow already...? I didn't expect to see any leaks till later this year....that's good news.



Edit:
Quote:
Assuming 45% increase in performance vs Bulldozer (First Gen) and a 32% increase in performance vs Piledriver (Second Gen). This is taken directly from AMD!
OK well we all know this is a load of bollocks because if these numbers were real it would mean an ~80% performance increase over 2 generation.
PD had 20% improvement over BD at the MOST ...and that's being generous.

I think Steamroller will be real competition for Haswell, but maybe not that much...lol

Btw the source info the blogger used was a VR Zone article dated August 2012.
http://vr-zone.com/articles/amd-push...ses/17088.html

Last edited by Pill Monster; 05-29-2013 at 04:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
DSparil
Ancient Guru
 
DSparil's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS 7870 IceQ GHz 2GB
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.3 w/YASYA
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97
Memory: 8GB G.Skill 1866
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Xtreme
PSU: TT Toughpower XT 675
Default 05-29-2013, 02:15 | posts: 2,924 | Location: Tampa Bay, FL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
AMD says it will address the L3 cache latency problem with Steamroller....it's pretty bad atm....worse than Phenom II
Quote:
Originally Posted by deltatux View Post
I don't see this as a huge issue at all. As long as AMD delivers, or at least comes close to delivering on the % performance boost and IPC over BD and PD, I don't think virtually anyone's going to give a rats turd about some cache latency. People are eating up Vishera, loving the 6 and 8 core chips, and if Steamroller delivers on its promise it will be no different.

I too look forward to what Steamroller will bring. Even if it flops a bit and only improves on Piledriver 15% or so, it will be a significant jump from Bulldozer!

Last edited by DSparil; 05-29-2013 at 02:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 05-29-2013, 03:27 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSparil View Post
I don't see this as a huge issue at all. As long as AMD delivers, or at least comes close to delivering on the % performance boost and IPC over BD and PD, I don't think virtually anyone's going to give a rats turd about some cache latency. People are eating up Vishera, loving the 6 and 8 core chips, and if Steamroller delivers on its promise it will be no different.

I too look forward to what Steamroller will bring. Even if it flops a bit and only improves on Piledriver 15% or so, it will be a significant jump from Bulldozer!
Issue is that gaming is a cache latency sensitive application. Many people buy these CPUs for gaming. Personally, I don't give a rat's ass since most of my load isn't gaming, it's VM work. They're not cache latency sensitive application.

Though it's kinda sad when you compare it to my 3570K's memory/cache benchmark. Hopefully even if AMD doesn't actually fix it, it'll still be improved.



As for the leaks, like all leaks, I take it with a grain of salt until release. Those numbers are likely EEs anyways so they might not represent the actual numbers that we'll see in Steamroller. The second problem is that Steamroller FX CPUs are not slated for 2013, last heard, AMD's releasing them Q1 2014 instead... we'll have to see if this is true or not. Hopefully they do release it in Q4 2013 but wouldn't be surprised otherwise.

deltatux

Last edited by deltatux; 05-29-2013 at 03:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-29-2013, 03:47 | posts: 24,543 | Location: NZ

Yeah, btw a new buld of AIDA64 Cache Benchmark will be released next month with proper multithreaded support.

This was apparently posted on XS forums earlier....yeah the latency sucks (only 4Ghz tho) but damn - dat bandwidth....

Well it looks good on paper at least. haha


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 05-29-2013, 03:51 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

You sure you're not taxing your cache right now? 10.1ns for L2 and 46.8ns for L3 looks very high for cache latency there eh?

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-29-2013, 04:13 | posts: 24,543 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by deltatux View Post
You sure you're not taxing your cache right now? 10.1ns for L2 and 46.8ns for L3 looks very high for cache latency there eh?

deltatux
LOL! that screenshot belongs to some dude over at XS, not me.

If I had results that bad I'd keep it to myself and not post on a public forum...


This is mine;


Last edited by Pill Monster; 05-29-2013 at 04:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 05-29-2013, 04:26 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

lol, that looks more like it. However for server load, that XS member would have the advantage since server loads aren't sensitive but benefits on pure bandwidth.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.