Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
What's the Radeon experience in BF3?
Old
  (#1)
SlackerITGuy
Master Guru
 
SlackerITGuy's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7970 GHz
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DS
PSU: Corsair TX950W
Default What's the Radeon experience in BF3? - 05-22-2013, 05:17 | posts: 241

So guys what's the general consensus here regarding HD 79xx cards and BF3? Do they suffer from any kind of issue(s) like NVIDIA cards do? or is the experience pretty much flawless? (no stuttering, etc, etc)

I'm asking because I'm currently contemplating switching sides. The HD 7970 would be my top choice of course, but I could get down to a HD 7950.

Thanks in advanced!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
CoMa666
Master Guru
 
CoMa666's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7970 Dual-x Boost
Processor: i7 3770
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: ddr3 8 giga corsair 1600
Soundcard: Realtek on board
PSU: corsair AX 750w
Default 05-22-2013, 08:46 | posts: 376 | Location: Italy-Bari

i switched, and really AMD now it's the best... i use 13.5 b2 and i play all games with 0 problems.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
warlord
Master Guru
 
warlord's Avatar
 
Videocard: amd 7850 cf
Processor: i7 3770k @4.8 HT
Mainboard: Msi Mpower Z77
Memory: 32gb ddr3 geil evo
Soundcard: creative
PSU: ax1200i corsair
Default 05-22-2013, 09:22 | posts: 495

smooth as butter, no, beyond smoothlike bf3 here and tons of frames. stuttering is unknown on this game on ultra
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.6ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3
Memory: Patriot Signature 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Tt Toughpower XT 775W
Default 05-22-2013, 09:56 | posts: 3,975 | Location: Serbia, NS

I think it favors AMD cards.

Great performance even on a laptop.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
slickric21
Maha Guru
 
slickric21's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 SC ACX
Processor: 4770k 4.4ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z87 DG65
Memory: 16Gb Crucial BLX 1600mhz
Soundcard: Realtek 1150
PSU: Corsait GS 800
Default 05-22-2013, 10:13 | posts: 1,943 | Location: U.K

Had a Kfa2 gtx 680 @ 1280/6500

Now got a 7970 @ 1268/6000

The 7970 is about 10-15 fps better on crucial min fps.

Its basically the difference between x2 msaa on the 680 vs x4 msaa on the 7970 for smooth vsyncd gameplay
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-22-2013, 16:02 | posts: 25,799 | Location: Hampshire UK

all maxed here with 4xmsaa you see 70+fps most of the time. with 2xmsaa it's over 85. drops sometimes, but so does on nvidia. great performance.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
PNeV
Maha Guru
 
PNeV's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7950 @ 1150/1650
Processor: 3570K @ 4.4GHZ
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme4 Z77
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Antec HCG M 620W
Default 05-22-2013, 16:12 | posts: 1,714 | Location: Northampton, United Kingdom

Smooth as butter. Ultra at 1080p with FXAA as I am not too bothered about MSAA. Can even Vsync it to 60fps and not have a single drop.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
flow
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7970 1125/1525
Processor: i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 V gen3
Memory: Corsair DDR3 8GB C7 1600M
Soundcard: SoundBlaster xfi
PSU: Coolermaster 700watt pro
Default 05-22-2013, 17:51 | posts: 804 | Location: Holland

Quite frankly, and without making the actual fps important, my 7970 make it seem like bf3 is an old title. It's that smooth.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
BIGGRIMTIM
Newbie
 
BIGGRIMTIM's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus R9290-DC2OC-4GD5 X 2
Processor: AMD FX8350 @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair V Formula-Z
Memory: 16GB DDR3 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 05-22-2013, 18:53 | posts: 43

Runs great for me since the alpha. Very happy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
crz
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2 x R9 290 Gigabyte WF3
Processor: Intel i7 4770
Mainboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Memory: 2 x 8 GB DDR3 1600 GEIL
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair TX750 V2
Default 05-22-2013, 19:23 | posts: 53 | Location: Bucharest

Some people here claim they play with VSync on, yet when I enable VSync or any form of frame limiting with RadeonPro I get noticeable input lag with every combination of renderahead/triplebuffer. It really feels like what is being displayed is behind what I would expect with VSync off.

Once VSync is off it really a smooth ride, minimal tearing, barley noticeable. I get a minimum of around ~50 fps in some areas of some maps but well over 60 fps in 90% of the cases. The worst case seem to be the Back to Karkand maps, sometimes the minimum fps is around 40 but I think it has to do more with my ancient i7 870 at stock frequencies. I don't use MSAA and the settings are a mixture of medium/high/ultra as I prefer a minimum framerate as close as possible to 60 fps.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
slickric21
Maha Guru
 
slickric21's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 SC ACX
Processor: 4770k 4.4ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z87 DG65
Memory: 16Gb Crucial BLX 1600mhz
Soundcard: Realtek 1150
PSU: Corsait GS 800
Default 05-22-2013, 20:14 | posts: 1,943 | Location: U.K

Yeah your cpu may be holding you back there., 40 fps is very very low.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-22-2013, 20:34 | posts: 25,799 | Location: Hampshire UK

yeah, that cpu @stock will hold you back in BF3. The OP has a 2500k so he shouldn't have any problems.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 05-22-2013, 23:10 | posts: 3,095 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by crz View Post
Some people here claim they play with VSync on, yet when I enable VSync or any form of frame limiting with RadeonPro I get noticeable input lag with every combination of renderahead/triplebuffer. It really feels like what is being displayed is behind what I would expect with VSync off.
I know what you mean, try to cap FPS at refresh rate (60Hz?), you will directly feel the VSync-induced input lag greatly reduced. Render Ahead, keep to 0 or 1, and Triple Buffering enabled. Use RadeonPro for these as it allows you to enable and disable those features with hotkeys. Useful for performing direct comparisons on vs. off.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
SlackerITGuy
Master Guru
 
SlackerITGuy's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7970 GHz
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DS
PSU: Corsair TX950W
Default 05-23-2013, 01:23 | posts: 241

Excellent feedback all around you guys thanks!.

So I guess going red this time around is the right move.

NVIDIA is having some serious issues with certain games right now. More frustrating is that none of their reps are even acknowledging that these issues even exist.

Again thanks for your feedback, hopefully I'll be hanging out with you guys sooner rather than later with a brand new 79xx card in my rig.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 05-23-2013, 01:30 | posts: 3,095 | Location: Lebanon

Be sure to avoid voltage locked 7970s, Gigabyte and XFX. There might be some others too. Go for MSI, Sapphire, or reference Diamond (preferably one of the first two).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
slickric21
Maha Guru
 
slickric21's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 SC ACX
Processor: 4770k 4.4ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z87 DG65
Memory: 16Gb Crucial BLX 1600mhz
Soundcard: Realtek 1150
PSU: Corsait GS 800
Default 05-23-2013, 09:28 | posts: 1,943 | Location: U.K

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlackerITGuy View Post
Excellent feedback all around you guys thanks!.

So I guess going red this time around is the right move.

NVIDIA is having some serious issues with certain games right now. More frustrating is that none of their reps are even acknowledging that these issues even exist.

Again thanks for your feedback, hopefully I'll be hanging out with you guys sooner rather than later with a brand new 79xx card in my rig.
Errr few little points.

Ati users have our fair share of issues aswell.

I wouldnt bother getting a 7950 if you already have a 670 ftw.
Go for a 7970 and one which isnt voltage locked, these cards come alive at > 1200mhz

Good luck !!

Also
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.