Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards Intel
Processors and motherboards Intel Is that Core 2 or i7 giving you a hard time? Enter this forum, this is all about Intel baby.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
i7 940 Overclock Help
Old
  (#1)
Punisher64
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 580 Lightning
Processor: i7 940 C0/C1 @ 2.93GHz
Mainboard: EVGA x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair 1333Mhz
Soundcard: Asus DG-X PCI-E
PSU: Cougar MX 1000
Default i7 940 Overclock Help - 05-21-2013, 04:22 | posts: 29 | Location: Indiana

So I am having trouble overclocking this 940 of mine...I haven't overclocked this chipset before. I have an EVGA x58 board with a C0/C1 940. Anyone have similar with settings that I can try? Or a guide to overclocking this guy? I am on air by the way.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ Stock
Processor: 980X @ 4 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1866 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 05-21-2013, 10:51 | posts: 4,824 | Location: London

For starters, turn hyperthreading off, it's not necessary. You can probably top 3.8 GHz with your chip/stepping. Up voltage to 1.3, set RAM at 1066 MHz, 9-9-9-24 and slowly up the BCLOCK at 5 MHz intervals, stress testing with intelburntest (10 passes on max) and prime 95 (blend for a few hours), until it starts BSODing or coming up with errors.

This might help: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=108526
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Punisher64
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 580 Lightning
Processor: i7 940 C0/C1 @ 2.93GHz
Mainboard: EVGA x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair 1333Mhz
Soundcard: Asus DG-X PCI-E
PSU: Cougar MX 1000
Default 05-21-2013, 21:12 | posts: 29 | Location: Indiana

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLEH! View Post
For starters, turn hyperthreading off, it's not necessary. You can probably top 3.8 GHz with your chip/stepping. Up voltage to 1.3, set RAM at 1066 MHz, 9-9-9-24 and slowly up the BCLOCK at 5 MHz intervals, stress testing with intelburntest (10 passes on max) and prime 95 (blend for a few hours), until it starts BSODing or coming up with errors.

This might help: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=108526
Why is hyperthreading not necessary? That's the main reason I upgraded from my Q6600 setup.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 05-21-2013, 21:18 | posts: 5,817 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Punisher64 View Post
Why is hyperthreading not necessary? That's the main reason I upgraded from my Q6600 setup.
Its needed if you do a lot of video encoding, but games wont really use more than 4 cores at the moment. I have tested BF3 with it on and off and I get no difference in fps at all. That game is pretty heavily threaded as well. It just adds more heat as its stresses the cores more having to run two threads each. You should be able to overclock more with it OFF. I have it ON because I am getting more into video editing as it helps when encoding.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Punisher64
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 580 Lightning
Processor: i7 940 C0/C1 @ 2.93GHz
Mainboard: EVGA x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair 1333Mhz
Soundcard: Asus DG-X PCI-E
PSU: Cougar MX 1000
Default 05-21-2013, 21:24 | posts: 29 | Location: Indiana

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLEH! View Post
For starters, turn hyperthreading off, it's not necessary. You can probably top 3.8 GHz with your chip/stepping. Up voltage to 1.3, set RAM at 1066 MHz, 9-9-9-24 and slowly up the BCLOCK at 5 MHz intervals, stress testing with intelburntest (10 passes on max) and prime 95 (blend for a few hours), until it starts BSODing or coming up with errors.

This might help: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=108526
I have also heard to bump the multi down to 21x since they work better on odd multipliers. Is this true?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 05-21-2013, 22:08 | posts: 10,414 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Punisher64 View Post
I have also heard to bump the multi down to 21x since they work better on odd multipliers. Is this true?
Yes it is true, i have tested this theory with a 920 and a 930 and its fact.
Dont know why but thats just the way it is.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Punisher64
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 580 Lightning
Processor: i7 940 C0/C1 @ 2.93GHz
Mainboard: EVGA x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair 1333Mhz
Soundcard: Asus DG-X PCI-E
PSU: Cougar MX 1000
Default 05-22-2013, 05:05 | posts: 29 | Location: Indiana

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Yes it is true, i have tested this theory with a 920 and a 930 and its fact.
Dont know why but thats just the way it is.
So I should bump it down to 21x then? Also, I should disable my VDROOP right?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 05-22-2013, 09:14 | posts: 10,414 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Punisher64 View Post
So I should bump it down to 21x then? Also, I should disable my VDROOP right?
No leave vdroop on as it is the same as load line calibration and can provide stability by just adding a small boost in voltage when it needs it. If i turn LLC/vdroop off on my board im unstable at 4.4.

Overclocking is all about trial and error, you need to try everything.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Punisher64
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 580 Lightning
Processor: i7 940 C0/C1 @ 2.93GHz
Mainboard: EVGA x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair 1333Mhz
Soundcard: Asus DG-X PCI-E
PSU: Cougar MX 1000
Default 05-22-2013, 20:26 | posts: 29 | Location: Indiana

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
No leave vdroop on as it is the same as load line calibration and can provide stability by just adding a small boost in voltage when it needs it. If i turn LLC/vdroop off on my board im unstable at 4.4.

Overclocking is all about trial and error, you need to try everything.
True that. So I am going to try this tonight. Also, just as an update, I have ordered an Antec Kuhler 920 to replace my stock fans. Just one last question, I should keep the 23 multi if possible right? Or should I just drop down to the 21?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
EyesLikeSkies
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 4GB
Processor: i7-940 @ 3.52 GHz
Mainboard: EVGA x58 SLI
Memory: Corsair Platinum 12GB
Soundcard: Asus DG-X PCI-e
PSU: Corsair 1000W
Default 05-22-2013, 20:28 | posts: 194 | Location: United States

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLEH! View Post
For starters, turn hyperthreading off, it's not necessary. You can probably top 3.8 GHz with your chip/stepping. Up voltage to 1.3, set RAM at 1066 MHz, 9-9-9-24 and slowly up the BCLOCK at 5 MHz intervals, stress testing with intelburntest (10 passes on max) and prime 95 (blend for a few hours), until it starts BSODing or coming up with errors.

This might help: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=108526
Is 1.3V safe for that chipset? I thought that was a little high.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ Stock
Processor: 980X @ 4 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1866 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 05-22-2013, 21:06 | posts: 4,824 | Location: London

If you have a locked multi, better to use high FSB/lower multi.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 05-22-2013, 22:30 | posts: 10,414 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Punisher64 View Post
Just one last question, I should keep the 23 multi if possible right? Or should I just drop down to the 21?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Overclocking is all about trial and error, you need to try everything.
This
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 05-22-2013, 23:27 | posts: 3,246 | Location: Lebanon

Veteran is agreeing with himself. I mean, Veteran, Veteran makes sense, right?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
EyesLikeSkies
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 4GB
Processor: i7-940 @ 3.52 GHz
Mainboard: EVGA x58 SLI
Memory: Corsair Platinum 12GB
Soundcard: Asus DG-X PCI-e
PSU: Corsair 1000W
Default 05-22-2013, 23:32 | posts: 194 | Location: United States

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Veteran is agreeing with himself. I mean, Veteran, Veteran makes sense, right?
Haha this part made me laugh. Nice call on the Kuhler by the way, very nice cooler. But nobody has answered my question trying to spare this guy his chip...is 1.3V a safe voltage for that chip?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 05-22-2013, 23:37 | posts: 3,246 | Location: Lebanon

1.37500V is the max safe voltage for those first gen i7 CPUs as specified by Intel.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 05-23-2013, 08:43 | posts: 10,414 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Veteran is agreeing with himself. I mean, Veteran, Veteran makes sense, right?
Look at the quote that i made alittle closer. He asked wether he should use a multiplier of 19 or 21 so i quoted myself in a previous post with the same answer that i would have given.

Overclocking is all about trial and error, you need to try everything.

Hence the bit in bold which answers his question if read correctly.
Next time ill make it nice and basic like A, B, C, 1, 2, 3 etc lol.

Also if we all listened to Nvidia about safe volts etc none of use would ever oc. The fact is if you want more power you have to push more energy into it, in this case its volts. Just use some common sense and dont use a silly amount.

My cpu has been running at 4.4 on the same loop since April 2010 and it still flys.

The person who has my old 920 c0 still has it running at 3.8 rock solid in all stability tests.

If i followed Intels recommended guide then i would not have an oc on the 920 or 930.

Some people are just scared and do not understand how overclocking works so they keep volts to a minimum which is ok but i like to go a little further.

Last edited by Veteran; 05-23-2013 at 08:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.