Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The HTPC, HDTV & High Definition section
The HTPC, HDTV & High Definition section Home Theater PC Enthusiasts or want to talk in High-Definition ? This is Guru3Ds Premier Community of HD and HTPC.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
PowerDVD
Old
  (#1)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default PowerDVD - 05-18-2013, 18:17 | posts: 16,278 | Location: US East Coast

Just out of curiousity...

Every year Cyberlink releases a new version of PowerDVD. It seems, for me anyway, that every year around the time Cyberlink releases a new version, my copy mysteriously become corrupted. Is this just a freakishly coincidental issue that only affects me or do others experience this as well?


   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
N0sferatU
Maha Guru
 
N0sferatU's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 5570
Processor: Intel Core i5 (3.5Ghz)
Mainboard: MSI P55-GD65
Memory: 4GB G.Skill DDR3 2060
Soundcard: X-Meridian/ Denon AHD7000
PSU: Corsiar TX-7000
Default 05-20-2013, 21:32 | posts: 1,470 | Location: United States

coincidental...plus I stopped using that software years ago. Bloated slow and unreliable IMO.

Use XBMC (it'll play all DVDs and most Blurays). For what it doesn't TMT5 is what I use (appears that TMT6 is out now).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 05-20-2013, 23:14 | posts: 16,278 | Location: US East Coast

Unreliable is an understatement....lol. Seems with every release it gets more unstable. It's also becoming more intrusive...

If you look at the prices.... I can get
PowerDVD 13 Ultra for $46.95
TMT6 for $99.99
Corel WinDVD Pro for $49.99

From a cost perspective, it's kind of hard to walk away from media software once you've bought into it.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 05-20-2013, 23:27 | posts: 19,055 | Location: Toronto, Canada

I'm using PowerDVD 10 that came with my LG Bluray drive and works just fine....

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 05-21-2013, 01:42 | posts: 16,278 | Location: US East Coast

I had issues with PowerDVD 10 crashing in Windows8....and had already bought PowerDVD12, which is complete garbage. Whether in Vista, Win7 or Win8...PowerDVD12 freezes or crashes every time I try to watch a Blu-ray movie. Takes several attempts before it will finally play the damn movie. Works fine for DVD though... Of course, 2 days ago, the install became corrupt....


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 05-21-2013, 04:01 | posts: 19,055 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
I had issues with PowerDVD 10 crashing in Windows8....and had already bought PowerDVD12, which is complete garbage. Whether in Vista, Win7 or Win8...PowerDVD12 freezes or crashes every time I try to watch a Blu-ray movie. Takes several attempts before it will finally play the damn movie. Works fine for DVD though... Of course, 2 days ago, the install became corrupt....
PowerDVD 10 works fine on Windows 8 here on this hardware: http://kwokinator.com/computer-specs/#htpc

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
automaticman
Master Guru
 
automaticman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Vapor-X
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3
Memory: 16GB Mushkin DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB ZxR/Onkyo/Polk
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 06-12-2013, 23:20 | posts: 798 | Location: Orange County, CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by N0sferatU View Post
Use XBMC (it'll play all DVDs and most Blurays). For what it doesn't TMT5 is what I use (appears that TMT6 is out now).
Does XBMC play Bluray menus? Can it bitstream HD audio over a GPUs HDMI output?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
N0sferatU
Maha Guru
 
N0sferatU's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon HD 5570
Processor: Intel Core i5 (3.5Ghz)
Mainboard: MSI P55-GD65
Memory: 4GB G.Skill DDR3 2060
Soundcard: X-Meridian/ Denon AHD7000
PSU: Corsiar TX-7000
Default 06-15-2013, 06:47 | posts: 1,470 | Location: United States

Quote:
Originally Posted by automaticman View Post
Does XBMC play Bluray menus? Can it bitstream HD audio over a GPUs HDMI output?
menu - no
bitstream HD audio streams via GPU HDMI - yes, it's what I do
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 06-15-2013, 06:55 | posts: 23,873 | Location: NZ

PDVD was OK till v9 then it became infested with bloatware like that Movie Live crap. Fuk Cyberlink.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
pogostickio
Master Guru
 
pogostickio's Avatar
 
Videocard: Hallryu's HIS 5850 GPU
Processor: AMD Phenom II 550 @3.6ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P
Memory: Corsair Dominator 8gb
Soundcard: Asus DS optical - Bose sp
PSU: no name 750w
Default 07-20-2013, 21:02 | posts: 741 | Location: Manchester, UK

Some time last year ago I had a similar thing happen with version 9. I can't remember what went wrong but when I tried to fix or update it I was re-directed to download version 10 for free. So you might be right sykozis.

edit - I just found this on Wikipedia. And it does explain why I had to upgrade when some blu ray discs would play but a new one would throw up an error. But aside from all of this I am a fan of PowerDVD. Works fine for me, although I do like to disable all of the un-necessary stuff that starts on boot up with Autoruns.


Cyberlink supports PowerDVD for only two years after its release, which means customers wanting to watch a Blu-ray disc mastered after the date their version of PowerDVD went EOL (end of life) might be unable to do so until they have upgraded. Although since version 9, the software provides notification when it reaches EOL, and when inserting an unplayable disc.

Users are prompted by the software to upgrade, and on clicking are taken to the CyberLink website to buy a copy of the current version at a discount. This requirement to buy the new version every other year for continued Blu-ray capability led to many complaints about incompatibility from users of PowerDVD 9 (and earlier) when Star Wars was released on Blu-ray.

Last edited by pogostickio; 07-20-2013 at 21:26.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.