Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats
Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats A cracking SoundBlaster ? Got new Speakers ? Be heard in here !


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
5.1 Wiring Help
Old
  (#1)
TekkMarine
Maha Guru
 
TekkMarine's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 6950 Direct CU II
Processor: Intel Core 2 Conroe 3ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q3 Deluxe
Memory: Corsair 6GB
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Elite Pro 7
PSU: Jeantech 800w Storm
Default 5.1 Wiring Help - 05-17-2013, 21:44 | posts: 886 | Location: United Kingdom

Sup!

I'm going to wire these audio monsters up on the weekend.

VideoLogic DigiTheatre DTS: The Ferrari of Sound is here

I ordered 20m of Bandridge speaker cable and am wondering how many meter cuts I should give to each of the four speakers. The cable is black polarity marked so getting it in phase shouldn't be a problem.

I'm also connecting it to my rig using a SPDIF cable which I hope works.

Another question is can I change the huge audio controller for something better? It looks kinda ancient.

- Tekk
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
nhlkoho
Ancient Guru
 
nhlkoho's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 4GB FTW
Processor: i7 4770k / H100i
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Plus
Memory: Veng. Pro 16GB DDR3-1866
Soundcard: SB X-FI Fatality
PSU: BFG 680 Watt
Default 05-17-2013, 21:52 | posts: 4,460 | Location: Washington DC

How far away are the speakers? That should tell you how long to make each cut
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
TekkMarine
Maha Guru
 
TekkMarine's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 6950 Direct CU II
Processor: Intel Core 2 Conroe 3ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q3 Deluxe
Memory: Corsair 6GB
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Elite Pro 7
PSU: Jeantech 800w Storm
Default 05-17-2013, 21:58 | posts: 886 | Location: United Kingdom

There going in my bedroom. I'm considering doing 5m cuts for each speaker but I only really need to have about 2.5m max for the front two. The back two need less than 1m because the Sub is situated at the back of me rather than the front.

Does the center speaker actually have to be in the center?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
TekkMarine
Maha Guru
 
TekkMarine's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 6950 Direct CU II
Processor: Intel Core 2 Conroe 3ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q3 Deluxe
Memory: Corsair 6GB
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Elite Pro 7
PSU: Jeantech 800w Storm
Default 05-17-2013, 22:04 | posts: 886 | Location: United Kingdom

Another question what sample rate and bit depth should I have?
I'e pretty much left it untouched my entire life at 16bit 44100hz

Someone explain what this guy is saying?
I'm sure it doesn't apply to me.

Quote:
The only knock against them, for those of you thinking of attaching them to a PC, is that they lack a rear input. I.E. you can either take a stereo input and apply a Hall/Sound field effect or Dolby Prologic...or you can take a digital coax or S/PDIF input and do Dolby Digital or DTS. So no 4 speaker 3d gaming sound...no 5.1 gaming sound...unless you happen to pick up an NForce motherboard which can encode a dolby digital signal to send out to the speakers. Also, if you want boomy bass you'll have to look elsewhere...though I believe they have a preamp out on the back to attach another sub if you want more than the system can put out.

Last edited by TekkMarine; 05-17-2013 at 22:16.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
TekkMarine
Maha Guru
 
TekkMarine's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 6950 Direct CU II
Processor: Intel Core 2 Conroe 3ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q3 Deluxe
Memory: Corsair 6GB
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Elite Pro 7
PSU: Jeantech 800w Storm
Default 05-21-2013, 21:03 | posts: 886 | Location: United Kingdom

Not as great as I thought they are.


I can't seem to get them to work in 5.1 on my motherboard via SPDIF, only receiving 3 Channels. No support from Asus either. Downloaded newest drivers from Realtek.

Quote:
I cannot seem to output 5.1 audio through SPDIF, without using Dolby Digital. For example, in the Audio CP for Windows, if I do a speaker test, I can only hear audio from Front Left and Right. If I do the speaker test with DD, I can hear all my speakers in my 5.1 setup just fine.
Same Problem

Asus Support Forum P5Q3 SPDIF Question

Other Guru3D Thread With Answers
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamerk2 View Post
SPDIF can only carry three types of signals:

1: 2.0/2.1 Stereo PCM
2: 5.1 Dolby Digital
3: 5.1 DTS

If the signal you are sending over SPDIF is not encoded to either dolby or DTS format, you will always output 2.0/2.1 PCM. The only way to take a 5.1 PCM signal and output it over SPDIF is to first convert it to Dolby/DTS using a realtime encoder, which most motherboards are not supplied with; you need a soundcard for that.

So if you pop in a DVD with a DD/DTS track, 5.1 will output fine. If you try to play a game though, you'll only get 2.0/2.1 Thats normal, and how SPDIF is supposed to work.
This really sucks!
/End Thread
- Tekk
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.