Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
How's the prformance with AMD cards?
Old
  (#1)
kens30
Maha Guru
 
kens30's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus DC2-OC 2gb GTX770
Processor: 2700K 4.7 HT / H100
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe
Memory: Corsair 1866 16gb
Soundcard: Optical out+Sony amp 5.1
PSU: Corsair AX860 Platinum
Default How's the prformance with AMD cards? - 05-17-2013, 21:40 | posts: 916 | Location: Greece/Australia

Well this is the first time ever i am considering upgrading to an AMD GPU.
As i have never owned one ever,always had Nvidia cards mostly due to hearing about how bad the drivers are for AMD/ATI gpus.Anyway lately i have been hearing really good words about how AMD drivers have improved by a lot compared to the past + AMD offers better value for money (Nvidia has gone nuts lately selling cards at $1000) i will most likely be upgrading near the end of the year when the new GPU's will be released.
So anyone with a 7970 (single gpu not crossfire) would you mind sharing your experience with your card and if your happy with how current drivers have improved and generally if your happy with your purchase or regretted that you didn't go for Nvidia?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
TechnikL
Master Guru
 
Videocard: AMD HD7970 1100/1500
Processor: AMD 8350FX @ 4.62
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: Kingston DDR3 16GB @ 1600
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Fatality
PSU: Thermaltake TP 750W
Default 05-17-2013, 22:01 | posts: 191 | Location: BC, Canada

Hey Ken,

I can't say enough good things about my 7970, best card I have ever owned, have owned many from both sides.

I never did experience all the problems people were saying about AMD drivers, even in the past, but they have steadily gotten faster and faster for me.

Using 13.5 beta 2 right now, the 7970 has turned out to be quite a bit faster than a 680 for most games I play. (BF3, TombRaider, TF2, etc.)

and the 3GB frame buffer rocks , I run 3840X1024 res, and this sucker is fast enough for every game I play on the highest settings.

The new 8970 should kick some ass for its price, AMD has always been pretty good at that.

Good Luck
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Deathchild
Maha Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950CFX+Qnix2710
Processor: 3770K@4.8GHz delid
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H 1.1
Memory: C Vengeance 8GB 1866
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760W
Default 05-17-2013, 22:52 | posts: 2,126 | Location: Estonia

Yeah I can add to that.. This 7950 does a hell of a job OCing and everything, for it's price it's a killer.

If you're interested I can show you what a good 7950 3dmark11(or 2013) score looks like. You'll get an idea of what the card does at this price.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Hugo Sanchez
Banned
 
Videocard: AMD/nVidia
Processor: AMD/Intel
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 420W
Default 05-17-2013, 22:53 | posts: 87 | Location: US

Nothing but positive experience for me with AMD/ATI in quite a long period of time.

Same goes with NVidia, I did regretted going to NVidia few times, but it turns out that all major problems was not on NVidia side, but specific brand. I can't say for ATI/AMD the same, because I never had GPU from s**y brand on that side.

Make sure you buy quality product, no matter if is NVidia or AMD.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
kens30
Maha Guru
 
kens30's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus DC2-OC 2gb GTX770
Processor: 2700K 4.7 HT / H100
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe
Memory: Corsair 1866 16gb
Soundcard: Optical out+Sony amp 5.1
PSU: Corsair AX860 Platinum
Default 05-17-2013, 23:39 | posts: 916 | Location: Greece/Australia

Thanks for your feedback i have my eyes set on the new 8970 that is arriving late this year and as of Nvidia they have some good cards too but a bit overpriced compared to what AMD has to offer and to be honest i don't care about loosing physx at all it has been nothing but a gimmick for me and AMD's GCN architecture seems very promising i mean look at the 7970 released almost 2 years ago and with latest drivers giving it a great performance boost that is equal and surpasses the GTX 680 in some games and i love that AMD is helping game developers with their Gaming Evolved program to optimize games for their hardware..Not to mention that next gen consoles will both have AMD hardware..which might give AMD a slight edge to performance in upcoming titles..

Last edited by kens30; 05-17-2013 at 23:41.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ 1050/1500
Processor: 980X @ 4.00 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1910 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 05-18-2013, 00:23 | posts: 4,962 | Location: London

Love my 7970 CF, rocks 2560 x 1440 no problem. OCs nicely to 1000 MHz/1500 MHz core/ram, even up to 1050 with a slight voltage bump. Generally much better value for money than nvid cards as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Blackops_2
Master Guru
 
Blackops_2's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classified
Processor: 3770K stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3
Memory: 16GB GSkill Ripjaws 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic X-1250 Gold
Default 05-18-2013, 00:47 | posts: 317 | Location: Mississippi

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechnikL View Post
Hey Ken,

I can't say enough good things about my 7970, best card I have ever owned, have owned many from both sides.

I never did experience all the problems people were saying about AMD drivers, even in the past, but they have steadily gotten faster and faster for me.

Using 13.5 beta 2 right now, the 7970 has turned out to be quite a bit faster than a 680 for most games I play. (BF3, TombRaider, TF2, etc.)

and the 3GB frame buffer rocks , I run 3840X1024 res, and this sucker is fast enough for every game I play on the highest settings.

The new 8970 should kick some ass for its price, AMD has always been pretty good at that.

Good Luck
Seconded except i have only had two AMD GPUs a 4890 and my 7970. Make sure if you go with a 7970 you go reference so you can adjust voltage. Though you can adjust voltage on the Ghz editions it's not worth another 100$. The 7970 is the fastest single GPU clock for clock under Titan, albeit not that much ahead of a 680. But it's cheaper and usually OCs better, it's also to note that more memory and the larger bus width come in handy at higher res. If you OC it just gets better because most will do 1125/1575 with little no voltage. I love mine and can't wait to test it on water when i can build this new rig.

I'll put it this way my Phenom 955 is severely bottlenecking my 7970, i'm only getting 50-60% usage on large multiplayer games yet i'm still getting around 50-60fps average.

Last edited by Blackops_2; 05-18-2013 at 00:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 05-18-2013, 00:51 | posts: 18,957 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by kens30 View Post
Thanks for your feedback i have my eyes set on the new 8970 that is arriving late this year and as of Nvidia they have some good cards too but a bit overpriced compared to what AMD has to offer and to be honest i don't care about loosing physx at all it has been nothing but a gimmick for me and AMD's GCN architecture seems very promising i mean look at the 7970 released almost 2 years ago and with latest drivers giving it a great performance boost that is equal and surpasses the GTX 680 in some games and i love that AMD is helping game developers with their Gaming Evolved program to optimize games for their hardware..Not to mention that next gen consoles will both have AMD hardware..which might give AMD a slight edge to performance in upcoming titles..
If your psu can handle it use your 480 as physx, If you are just getting a single and card you will be fine
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
kens30
Maha Guru
 
kens30's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus DC2-OC 2gb GTX770
Processor: 2700K 4.7 HT / H100
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe
Memory: Corsair 1866 16gb
Soundcard: Optical out+Sony amp 5.1
PSU: Corsair AX860 Platinum
Default 05-18-2013, 21:02 | posts: 916 | Location: Greece/Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
If your psu can handle it use your 480 as physx, If you are just getting a single and card you will be fine
I will be getting a single card either the 8970 when it is released or if a can't wait so long even a 7970 is an excellent upgrade from my GTX480.Do you mean using the 480 for physx if i go with a Nvidia card?Or can i use the GTX480 as dedicated Physx card with an AMD 7970 as my main card?Have things changed and i haven't noticed?I thought and still think that you need a Nvidia gpu as your main card to be able to use my GTX480 for physx, is that even possible with an AMD gpu as your main card?have i missed anything?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Blackops_2
Master Guru
 
Blackops_2's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classified
Processor: 3770K stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3
Memory: 16GB GSkill Ripjaws 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic X-1250 Gold
Default 05-18-2013, 21:19 | posts: 317 | Location: Mississippi

Pretty sure you can use the 480 as a dedicated Phsyx card and your 7970 as your main.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
warlord
Master Guru
 
warlord's Avatar
 
Videocard: amd 7850 cf
Processor: i7 3770k @4.8 HT
Mainboard: Msi Mpower Z77
Memory: 32gb ddr3 geil evo
Soundcard: creative
PSU: ax1200i corsair
Default 05-18-2013, 21:41 | posts: 497

i think you can easily go for a gtx7XX and use your 480 as physx card...that's the best choice of all...personally i will never stay red again even on movies nvidia is better in image quality (CUDA with LAV and MADVR, it's so epic)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ 1100/1375 H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 05-18-2013, 22:04 | posts: 3,358 | Location: Lebanon

7970 here is an incredible performer. Bulldozes through everything.

Between 8 people I know personally who have 79xx cards, none are disappointed. They're all happy with their card(s).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-18-2013, 22:14 | posts: 26,817 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Not a 7970 owner here, but my gpu is overclocked past 7970 performance and its a great card. Recommended.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-18-2013, 22:34 | posts: 24,427 | Location: NZ

I haven't been this happy since my 8800GTX.....

Getting around 85fps in FarCry 3 DX9 1600x1200. Can't run DX11 sadly because my vrm temps hit 105c.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 05-18-2013 at 22:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 05-18-2013, 23:04 | posts: 18,957 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by kens30 View Post
I will be getting a single card either the 8970 when it is released or if a can't wait so long even a 7970 is an excellent upgrade from my GTX480.Do you mean using the 480 for physx if i go with a Nvidia card?Or can i use the GTX480 as dedicated Physx card with an AMD 7970 as my main card?Have things changed and i haven't noticed?I thought and still think that you need a Nvidia gpu as your main card to be able to use my GTX480 for physx, is that even possible with an AMD gpu as your main card?have i missed anything?
You can run an amd and nvidia card as physx. Is that 480 a reference one?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
IcE
Don Snow
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 05-19-2013, 00:13 | posts: 9,311 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
I haven't been this happy since my 8800GTX.....

Getting around 85fps in FarCry 3 DX9 1600x1200. Can't run DX11 sadly because my vrm temps hit 105c.
Lol? You should probably fix that or clock lower. Also, I originally had a 7970, but for my usage it didn't fit the bill. Bad OpenGL performance (still), and not having something equivalent to Nvidia inspector is just balls.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 05-19-2013, 00:27 | posts: 18,957 | Location: New Jersey, USA

I had vrm tepts hitting near 100c on my 295 running furmark. They are designed to handle high temperaturs. That card was still alive and I recently sold it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
flow
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7970 1125/1525
Processor: i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 V gen3
Memory: Corsair DDR3 8GB C7 1600M
Soundcard: SoundBlaster xfi
PSU: Coolermaster 700watt pro
Default 05-19-2013, 00:45 | posts: 805 | Location: Holland

I'm pleased with my card. I need to set the power limit at +20% though, or else it will throttle when running farcry at ultra settings dx11@1920x1080.
Can't clock it higher than 1140 on the core and 1600 on the memory, or else it will crash. Not a great overclocker compared to some 7950 cards that can clock higher.
But I get around 70 fps in farcry3 with those settings, so that's good enough for me.

Latest beta drivers are pretty decent, though still some issues with shadows in certain games. Apparently they changed some settings in previous drivers, making them run faster overall, but also creating instability and throttling, forcing users to lower their clocks somewhat. The latest beta drivers are better in that respect.

I would say the 7970Ghz cards are first choice if you have to decide between those and GTX680 cards from nvidia, due to pricing. In games they are about the same performance wise.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-19-2013, 01:01 | posts: 24,427 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by IcE View Post
Lol? You should probably fix that or clock lower. Also, I originally had a 7970, but for my usage it didn't fit the bill. Bad OpenGL performance (still), and not having something equivalent to Nvidia inspector is just balls.
Well we have RP, not quite as good as Inspector but it's improving.....



Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
I had vrm tepts hitting near 100c on my 295 running furmark. They are designed to handle high temperaturs. That card was still alive and I recently sold it
Maybe your 280 didn't have OTP....? 8228 vrm on this card throttles GPU at 108c that's why I can't use DX11.

Well DX11 maxed out at least....there's some graphics option that really stresses out the GPU but not sure what it is.....any idea?

My wattmeter sits at 1100W during FC and doesn't change.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 05-19-2013 at 01:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 05-19-2013, 01:40 | posts: 6,883 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
I haven't been this happy since my 8800GTX.....

Getting around 85fps in FarCry 3 DX9 1600x1200. Can't run DX11 sadly because my vrm temps hit 105c.
Uhm i wouldnt be happy at all with that.. Id get something different or at least a new cooling solution. You probably should lower your oc, and if temps are high even at stock well tbh that card has really terrible cooling. hell back then my 8800gt that had the worst single slot cooler ever, vrm temps didnt get that high either..

Quote:
Well DX11 maxed out at least....there's some graphics option that really stresses out the GPU but not sure what it is.....any idea?
DX11 engine is designed to be better threaded and use resources more efficiently(if coded correctly). DX9 mode your cpu is probably getting more pegged than your gpu. I bet your card would fry in metro last light maxed out, not good.

Last edited by Agent-A01; 05-19-2013 at 01:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 05-19-2013, 01:45 | posts: 18,957 | Location: New Jersey, USA

If I couldnt use my card as advertised, I would dump it. or at least lower the oc a bit and see if that helps
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Hugo Sanchez
Banned
 
Videocard: AMD/nVidia
Processor: AMD/Intel
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 420W
Default 05-19-2013, 01:58 | posts: 87 | Location: US

Nvidia inspector and radeon pro are not necessary. You shouldn't base your purchase on 3rd party applications that are useless for general use, and, in most cases, not very helpful for troubleshooting (but they could be).

Both NVidia and AMD have those functionalities on driver level and via control panels etc. And I found even profiles to be useless except maybe in SLI/CFX configurations.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-19-2013, 02:49 | posts: 24,427 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
Uhm i wouldnt be happy at all with that.. Id get something different or at least a new cooling solution. You probably should lower your oc, and if temps are high even at stock well tbh that card has really terrible cooling. hell back then my 8800gt that had the worst single slot cooler ever, vrm temps didnt get that high either..

DX11 engine is designed to be better threaded and use resources more efficiently(if coded correctly). DX9 mode your cpu is probably getting more pegged than your gpu. I bet your card would fry in metro last light maxed out, not good.
Yeah I totally agree.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
If I couldnt use my card as advertised, I would dump it. or at least lower the oc a bit and see if that helps
Agreed but I've never used card "as advertised".....Has 300Mhz GPU OC, 350mhz vram OC, mem volts raised from 1.5v to 1.6v and Vgpu from 0.98v to 1.2v from day 1.

It's not the overclock heating up vrm though, the increased GPU volts does it. Up to 1.18v the vrm hits ~85c even under heavy GPU load (like DX11 maxed), but at 1.2v makes vrm temps skyrocket.
Unfortunately 1.2v is minimum I can use for stable overclock.

Obvious solution is lower OC for DX11 but it's against my principles. I'd rather use DX9 max instead lol.

The really stupid thing is VaporX (v2) has 8+8 pin plugs meaning it can theoretically draw 375W....completely useless when the vrm can't even handle higher voltage. Doesn't make sense.

I added extra thermal tape to the FET's but made no difference to temperatures. I don't what else to do other than waterblock which is more hassle than it's worth I think.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 05-19-2013 at 02:55.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 05-19-2013, 02:56 | posts: 18,957 | Location: New Jersey, USA

undervolt and underclock until you can play all your games in dx11 mode. if that doesnt work, sell the card or buy a new hsf. whats the point in having a hefty oc playing in dx9?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 05-19-2013, 03:10 | posts: 6,883 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
I added extra thermal tape to the FET's but made no difference to temperatures. I don't what else to do other than waterblock which is more hassle than it's worth I think.
thermal tape sucks. maybe see if you can find some fujipoly(best thermal pad out there with high conductivity) i swapped my mobos vrm pads with these and it dropped 8c. http://www.frozencpu.com/products/17...y_170_WmK.html

there is also the the lessor ultra thats 12w/mk iirc but much cheaper, and if you cant find that maybe look at phobya pads.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.