Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 2000, XP or Vista giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Linux ?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Bad frame rate on all games since installing windows 8
Old
  (#1)
dmakinde
Newbie
 
Videocard: radeon 6950 2GB
Processor: i7-2600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68 XP UD3P
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 700
Default Bad frame rate on all games since installing windows 8 - 05-17-2013, 15:47 | posts: 5

Hi guys,

I've been trying to find the solution to this problem everywhere, consulting numerous forums but to no avail. I have windows 8 and windows 7 installed as a dual boot. My windows 7 partition runs games perfectly while windows 8 runs games at less than 10 frames per second usually. Many solutions have revolved around disabling the hyper-v feature, but such a feature was already off by default for me so that was of no help.

I have tried installing the latest drivers and running in compatibility mode, but that also has done nothing. People have suggested that the problem lies with the motherboard, which is plausible because I have been told to try updating my chipset drivers, however when I try to do so with the links provided on gigabyte's official support page, one of the drivers install, while the other one (INFUpdate) does not open, despite multiple attempts. Sometimes it will open and get to the set up page, but after clicking next and accepting the terms and conditions it will simply close and nothing more will happen.

I was close to giving up when a friend of mine found a forum post here with someone who had a fairly similar issue, but he claimed that it was due to the fact that his system had low GPU usage. I installed Gigabye's easy tune 6 utility and compared the readouts with my windows 7 partition and found the following results:



Is there anything that can be done to rectify this? I really like the windows 8 OS but obviously not being able to play any of my games presents an issue.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
S_IV
Member Guru
 
S_IV's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX770 Windforce/660 phsx
Processor: Intel Core i5-3570K
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB
Soundcard: Philips HTR-9900 7+1 HT
PSU: Seasonic 620W
Default 05-18-2013, 13:12 | posts: 131 | Location: Istanbul

Oh no.. easytune... get rid of it if you want to have a stable system. 2d/3d clock problem and low gpu usage is usually because of a driver, usually. you don't need to disable any of the cpu/memory/motherboard features by default unless there is a bios problem releated to the mobo. By the way have you tried afterburner to force 3d clock and checked the games if it works ? I don't think it's an OS problem but you can (and should) install all the available updates for win8 though it will probably not solve anything.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
dmakinde
Newbie
 
Videocard: radeon 6950 2GB
Processor: i7-2600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68 XP UD3P
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 700
Default 05-23-2013, 20:57 | posts: 5

I've installed all the drivers I can find, yet my games still lag horribly. Also, whenever I try to install my chipset drivers, like I mentioned in my opening post, the setup gets to a certain place and stops, so I resorted to installing driver update software that would scan my drivers and install them accordingly, which it did, but to no avail as my games still lag. I am running out of options here but there must be something I am doing wrong. Is there anything more I can do?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 780
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX Pro B.E. 850W
Default 05-25-2013, 22:01 | posts: 11,624 | Location: England

I've found that I have to install chipset drivers with Administrator privilleges (Run as Admin) and use the -overall command in order to install them on my Windows Pro 64-bit. I had a very similar issue with bad performance when I first installed Windows 8 from memory and I'm pretty sure I fixed it by force installing the chipset drivers using the -overall command and admin rights.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
dmakinde
Newbie
 
Videocard: radeon 6950 2GB
Processor: i7-2600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68 XP UD3P
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 700
Default 05-25-2013, 23:50 | posts: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
I've found that I have to install chipset drivers with Administrator privilleges (Run as Admin) and use the -overall command in order to install them on my Windows Pro 64-bit. I had a very similar issue with bad performance when I first installed Windows 8 from memory and I'm pretty sure I fixed it by force installing the chipset drivers using the -overall command and admin rights.
I will attempt this as soon as time permits, but what do you mean by the -overall command?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
dmakinde
Newbie
 
Videocard: radeon 6950 2GB
Processor: i7-2600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68 XP UD3P
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 700
Default 05-26-2013, 10:44 | posts: 5

never mind, I figured it out. What I tried was creating a shortcut to the setup and then adding -overall in the target line after .exe. Unfortunately it did the same thing. The setup wouldn't even open. I tried again in safe mode and while the setup opened there, it did the same thing as before; I clicked yes, then accepted the terms and conditions, then the setup closed with nothing else happening does windows 8 just hate me? lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
xodius80
Master Guru
 
xodius80's Avatar
 
Videocard: GWF3 7950 1100/1250
Processor: i7 920@4.2 (21*200blck)
Mainboard: FOXCONN Flaming Blade GTI
Memory: Corsair CM3X2G1600C9 6GB
Soundcard: Essence ST@Koss PortaPro
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 05-26-2013, 11:46 | posts: 538 | Location: Ecuador

you might need to disable dynamic tics for proc sched here do this on an admin cmd:

bcdedit /set disabledynamictick yes

also disable core parking so info gets smoothout across the procs

http://www.coderbag.com/Programming-...arking-Utility

those are my main tweaks on win7 and 8 to get decent performance.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
pjokerxp
Master Guru
 
pjokerxp's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GeForce GTX 680 2GB
Processor: Ivy I7-3770K @ 4.5 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe
Memory: G.Skill 2x 8GB 2400MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX760i Platinum
Default 05-26-2013, 13:28 | posts: 609 | Location: Saudi Arabia

Quote:
Originally Posted by xodius80 View Post
you might need to disable dynamic tics for proc sched here do this on an admin cmd:

bcdedit /set disabledynamictick yes

also disable core parking so info gets smoothout across the procs

http://www.coderbag.com/Programming-...arking-Utility

those are my main tweaks on win7 and 8 to get decent performance.
interesting!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
dmakinde
Newbie
 
Videocard: radeon 6950 2GB
Processor: i7-2600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68 XP UD3P
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 700
Default 05-26-2013, 17:22 | posts: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by xodius80 View Post
you might need to disable dynamic tics for proc sched here do this on an admin cmd:

bcdedit /set disabledynamictick yes

also disable core parking so info gets smoothout across the procs

http://www.coderbag.com/Programming-...arking-Utility

those are my main tweaks on win7 and 8 to get decent performance.
Tried with no joy I did the first thing with no problem, but my games still ran slowly. With the core parking issue however, the software you linked me to did not work properly, it just scanned my registry perpetually. I tried various other means and ended up manually changing the registry key values myself. After restarting my system and trying to run guild wars 2, the result was the same as ever... the frame rate is still low I still haven't been able to install the chipset driver due to the issues I mentioned in earlier posts, could there be a connection?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Corrupt^
Ancient Guru
 
Corrupt^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX770 - G2773HS
Processor: Core i7 2600K 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67-UD4-B3
Memory: Corsair DDR3 16GB 1600
Soundcard: Essence ST - Sennh. HD650
PSU: Antec Truepower 850W
Default 07-17-2013, 23:06 | posts: 5,322 | Location: Belgium

Get the inf update utility from the intel site, Gigabyte is often not that up to date.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 07-18-2013, 04:34 | posts: 8,849 | Location: The Zone

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corrupt^ View Post
Get the inf update utility from the intel site, Gigabyte is often not that up to date.
The inf update likely has nothing to do with the problem given it just adds proper names and descriptions for all Intel related devices under device manager.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
dsbig
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 780 classified
Processor: Intel i7 3770k @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 16gb 1920mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: Kingwin 850 watts
Default 07-18-2013, 04:43 | posts: 2,528 | Location: in your closet

Have the same problem, old games running way slow on windows 8 but in windows7, the games run way too fast.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
mbk1969
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce 780 GTX
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard+NuForce Icon HDP
PSU: 1000 W
Default 07-18-2013, 09:24 | posts: 1,297 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Have you checked DPC latencies with latencymon? There could be driver(s) which causes slowdown.
It is worth to download chipset drivers directly from Intel site. Have you installed Intel RST drivers (for SATA controller)?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Corrupt^
Ancient Guru
 
Corrupt^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX770 - G2773HS
Processor: Core i7 2600K 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67-UD4-B3
Memory: Corsair DDR3 16GB 1600
Soundcard: Essence ST - Sennh. HD650
PSU: Antec Truepower 850W
Default 07-19-2013, 01:15 | posts: 5,322 | Location: Belgium

Quote:
Originally Posted by IcE View Post
The inf update likely has nothing to do with the problem given it just adds proper names and descriptions for all Intel related devices under device manager.
True, but just putting it out there. I'd personally ditch that EasyTune software as well though. Overclocking with that is... not really the right way.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
claudesp33d
Newbie
 
claudesp33d's Avatar
 
Videocard: nvidia 450 GTS
Processor: intel E7300@3GHZ
Mainboard: elitegroupe
Memory: 4gb ddr2
Soundcard: sony subwoofers
PSU: 450 watt
Default 08-25-2013, 00:51 | posts: 24 | Location: mediterranean sea

u better downgrade to windows 7
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
dsbig
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 780 classified
Processor: Intel i7 3770k @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 16gb 1920mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: Kingwin 850 watts
Default 08-25-2013, 07:02 | posts: 2,528 | Location: in your closet

some command and conquer games. ini buffer fix just causes the game to run way to fast. windows 7 runs the games with no problems.

myst games. delay in starting and slower fps on windows 8 compare to windows 7

rune classic. slow menu and slow fps. keeps wanting to run in border window mode. changing advance options is a nightmare, as there is massive lag when switching screens.

dosbox emulation seems to be slower. system shock sounds lags along with some other games having speed issues.

nolf 1 and 2 slower fps in windows 8. nolf 2 is locked at 30fps

there are more to this list.

games that work better in windows 8

blairwitch games.
nocturne
4x4 evo 1 and 2



Im starting to think I have way to much time on my hands

and to people that say update drivers. stop saying THAT. it insulting to people that are gamers and such.

Last edited by dsbig; 08-25-2013 at 07:07.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 08-25-2013, 09:02 | posts: 23,226 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

I find it weird that in windows 8 easytune is raising the blk as well for the oc profiles.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
dsbig
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 780 classified
Processor: Intel i7 3770k @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 16gb 1920mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: Kingwin 850 watts
Default 08-25-2013, 13:44 | posts: 2,528 | Location: in your closet

did some directx 7 - 9 benchmark testing

nvidia setting are default, windows powerplan set to performance

3dmark99 max. installer and program have to be set to windows 98 compatibility mode to run



windows 7

game 1 race= 60+fps
game 2 first person=60+fps


windows 8

game 1 race=10-30fps

game 2 first person =10-15fps


and 3dmark 2000 - compatibility mode xp needed


windows 7

helicopter high detail=60fps

Adventure high detail=60fps


windows 8

helicopter high detail=20fps

Adventure high detail=20fps


3dmark06

windows 7

return to proxycon=70-250fps


windows 8

return to proxycon=40-55fps

wtf

Last edited by dsbig; 08-25-2013 at 14:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
slickric21
Maha Guru
 
slickric21's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 SC ACX
Processor: 4770k 4.4ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z87 DG65
Memory: 16Gb Crucial BLX 1600mhz
Soundcard: Realtek 1150
PSU: Corsait GS 800
Default 08-30-2013, 08:20 | posts: 1,943 | Location: U.K

Are you on a clean install ?

I remember having the same issue when I first went Win8.

My problem was chipset drivers not being installed correctly.
I went through "system" area in device manager, right clicked and manually pdated drivers that I could.

Also had to manually install direct x from the redist installer.

Dont know if you already did this ??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
dsbig
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 780 classified
Processor: Intel i7 3770k @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 16gb 1920mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: Kingwin 850 watts
Default 09-04-2013, 12:17 | posts: 2,528 | Location: in your closet

some things seems to point compatibility not being as good as it was with windows 7.

putting the game in win 98 compatibility does speed the game up in window 8, but still not as good fps in windows 7.

vsync is also causing issue with the older games. when it enabled the games run really bad and glitch. when disabled, game runs fine but then has tearing.
I tried triple buffering, but didnt have an effect


but this should be expected as new operation comes out through the future. compatibility is thrown out the door.


16bit compatibility is a good example. through out new releases of operating systems. 16bit compatibility is worse because some code in newer windows was removed or changed. 16bit installers not working in windows vista 32bit and up complaining missing files or registry keys.

Last edited by dsbig; 09-04-2013 at 12:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
moab600
Ancient Guru
 
moab600's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 AMP 1267/7300MHZ
Processor: Core I7 2700K 5.12GHZ
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD4H F2K Bios
Memory: 8GB DDRIII 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX II Z906
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 650W 85+Br
Default 09-04-2013, 12:21 | posts: 4,295 | Location: Israel

My griff with 8 is that Borderlands 2 works with awesome fps drops, and PPSSPP emulator although 60fps steady at tekken 6, does seems a bit hitchy at times, NONE of those happen of 7(tried many driver, inf updates, bios stuff etc... borderlands 2 is problematic game but too good to give up
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
dsbig
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 780 classified
Processor: Intel i7 3770k @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 16gb 1920mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: Kingwin 850 watts
Default 09-06-2013, 09:35 | posts: 2,528 | Location: in your closet

Found something interesting and depressing.

in windows 8 dwm.exe is forced to run all the TIME and this is causing issue with games.

dwm has always been a problem with games. but with windows 7, dwm will change to work with games.

games that use ddraw need dwm to change in order to run correctly. and windows 8 dwm doesnt change.

I got this info from some devs that are having problems with programming code that use ddraw and having bad performance and they are getting told to recode the game for directx instead.

there is also some problems with framework code being slower on windows 8.

which in turn could be effecting games. including borderlands.

in windows 7 is was noticed when a game wasnt compatible with dwm, that aero would disable. but the dwm code was changed so much, that now it doesnt switch for games. even though aero is not there. it still has to change it running mode.

Last edited by dsbig; 09-07-2013 at 12:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.