Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Gtx 680 performling like ****
Old
  (#1)
roller344
Newbie
 
Videocard: 680 oc msi
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 850w coolermaster
Default Gtx 680 performling like **** - 05-16-2013, 19:04 | posts: 1

My gtx 680 once performed really good. But lately it started performing like ****. I havent oc in voltager only in core clock mem and so on. gpu drivers are up to date and i cant see to find the reson why it performs bad. It was like after i tried one of my friends gtx 660ti in my system and put the 680 back in again it started, even tho i cleared drivers and reformatted. It still performes ****. In bf3 i get 30 fps in smoke and 45 in battle. In heaven i get like 931, when i use to get a really high score. The only thing i get good fps in is 3d mark 11. i get over the avrage there. But it seems to perform ****ty in every game. I tried everything, cant think of anything to fix this.

Please help and sry for bad english
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 05-16-2013, 19:06 | posts: 1,822

Older drivers are bad as well?

Maybe its time to use the warranty. lol (kind of joking)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
eagled1
Master Guru
 
eagled1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680 SLI 4GB
Processor: 2700k @4.9 on H2O
Mainboard: Asus Maximus IV Extreme Z
Memory: 16GB GSkill @ 1866 Sniper
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 05-17-2013, 04:56 | posts: 361

Might be downclocking. Check temps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Andrew Neilson
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 680 CU II
Processor: Intel I7-3770
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Formula
Memory: Corsair 2133 32 gig
Soundcard: Asus Phoebus
PSU: Corsair 1k
Default 05-17-2013, 13:45 | posts: 30 | Location: Tasmania

if its Asus GTX 680CUII, its quite normal, they are a POS card. Sadly I bought two of them. NEVER BUY NVIDIA..... I am going to throw mine in bin, literally, after 6 months I cant get mine to SLI ever.. When you try they crash the PC, among other things.If you have not bought them yet, I suggest buying ATI from now on. As they actually work.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Ade 1
Master Guru
 
Ade 1's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 690
Processor: Intel i7 920 @ 3.8ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-OC
Memory: 12gb OCZ DDR3
Soundcard: X-Fi Soundblaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 05-17-2013, 14:19 | posts: 601 | Location: Safe House

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Neilson View Post
if its Asus GTX 680CUII, its quite normal, they are a POS card. Sadly I bought two of them. NEVER BUY NVIDIA..... I am going to throw mine in bin, literally, after 6 months I cant get mine to SLI ever.. When you try they crash the PC, among other things.If you have not bought them yet, I suggest buying ATI from now on. As they actually work.
So one person's experience means Nvidia are crap! Never had a problem SLIing any nVidia cards so you clearly are doing something wrong or are just very, very unlucky.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
clawhamer
Maha Guru
 
clawhamer's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classy 1306MHz
Processor: i7 4770K 4.4GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero z87
Memory: Corsair Pt. 8GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 05-17-2013, 18:02 | posts: 2,415 | Location: canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Neilson View Post
if its Asus GTX 680CUII, its quite normal, they are a POS card. Sadly I bought two of them. NEVER BUY NVIDIA..... I am going to throw mine in bin, literally, after 6 months I cant get mine to SLI ever.. When you try they crash the PC, among other things.If you have not bought them yet, I suggest buying ATI from now on. As they actually work.
Sounds to me, like you have no idea what you're doing.


OP, have you tried reseating the card and checked power connections?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 05-17-2013, 18:05 | posts: 18,946 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Neilson View Post
if its Asus GTX 680CUII, its quite normal, they are a POS card. Sadly I bought two of them. NEVER BUY NVIDIA..... I am going to throw mine in bin, literally, after 6 months I cant get mine to SLI ever.. When you try they crash the PC, among other things.If you have not bought them yet, I suggest buying ATI from now on. As they actually work.
Strange sli worked out of the box for me guess I am lucky that way
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
clawhamer
Maha Guru
 
clawhamer's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classy 1306MHz
Processor: i7 4770K 4.4GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero z87
Memory: Corsair Pt. 8GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 05-17-2013, 18:08 | posts: 2,415 | Location: canada

Same here... literally plug in and play.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Ti3Kob
Master Guru
 
Ti3Kob's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX680 SLI@1398/7800 H2O
Processor: i7 2700K @ 5.26Ghz HT H2O
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus V GENE
Memory: 16GB G-Skill @2.2GHz CAS9
Soundcard: Asus Xonar crap
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 05-17-2013, 18:56 | posts: 638 | Location: France

Same for me, my SLi works like a charm.

I can't say the same for AMD about Xfire btw.. Single card has been nice though.

@ op : If you're running Heaven 4.0 @ max settings, your score looks about normal. Heaven 3.0 is less demanding and will give you more points/FPS.
About BF3, since a few updates it's running like crap compared to before, though it seems a bit low I do agree. What's you GPU usage on BF3 ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Turdhat
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Galaxy Gtx 680 @1306 Core
Processor: I7 2600k @4.7ghz 1.37v
Mainboard: MSI p67 GD55
Memory: 4 Gb Ripjaws 1600mhz 1T
Soundcard: Nvidia hdmi out 5.1 PCM
PSU: Antec 650w
Default 05-18-2013, 16:55 | posts: 178 | Location: Louisville

A bad power supply can cause this. It happened to me.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Andrew Neilson
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 680 CU II
Processor: Intel I7-3770
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Formula
Memory: Corsair 2133 32 gig
Soundcard: Asus Phoebus
PSU: Corsair 1k
Default 05-20-2013, 03:03 | posts: 30 | Location: Tasmania

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ade 1 View Post
So one person's experience means Nvidia are crap! Never had a problem SLIing any nVidia cards so you clearly are doing something wrong or are just very, very unlucky.
Not even remotly my fautl mate

For 6 months I worked with techs who do this crap for a living, costing me 110$ an hour, an the best they managed to do was get 1 monitor to display SLI, but second you tried to run any programs, it would instantly try an span all three screens an then crash the pC an do all sorts of things that meant I had to spend an hour fixing it an getting the PC running again.

Nvidia told me straight up "its my fault" an never responded to me again, Asus techs ignored me completely ($1700 in cards an another 1000$ in RoC gear, an I was completely ignored.
GPU Tweak, bricked both my cards because in middle of the install Vbios session the program crashes, an theres alot of evidence on that.
Nvidia told me that didn't happen, an I was "warned" on Asus forums not to say such things again

https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...-badly-please/

https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...orks-with-it-/

https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...on-my-gtx680s/

an thats just three of my posts. You get no support with their gear, so please dont tell me its my fault .

I dont jsut say things for sake of it mate, unless its true. I am a little old for such things. But I am really annoyed at just how second rate their support an gear is. Dont even get me started on RoC gear.... I will never buy asus again thats for sure an I make sure I tell everyone I know exactly what happened.
At that point its up to people to make their own choices an accept consequences of them. Yes some people dont have any issues, but more people do. You only need to look online for 30 seconds to find thousands of complaints about their stuff.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: EVGA 850w Supernova soon
Default 05-20-2013, 03:22 | posts: 7,098 | Location: Dubai

I've seen another user complain about SLI and multi-monitor and it happened only on Windows 8 in his case. Could you try with Windows 7?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Andrew Neilson
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 680 CU II
Processor: Intel I7-3770
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Formula
Memory: Corsair 2133 32 gig
Soundcard: Asus Phoebus
PSU: Corsair 1k
Default 05-20-2013, 03:46 | posts: 30 | Location: Tasmania

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
I've seen another user complain about SLI and multi-monitor and it happened only on Windows 8 in his case. Could you try with Windows 7?
Not really mate no, id have to delete everything, reinstall windows 7, an I noticed beforre when i tried windows 7 on the new system, it refused to reconize my HHD's an SSD's.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: EVGA 850w Supernova soon
Default 05-20-2013, 03:52 | posts: 7,098 | Location: Dubai

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Neilson View Post
Not really mate no, id have to delete everything, reinstall windows 7, an I noticed beforre when i tried windows 7 on the new system, it refused to reconize my HHD's an SSD's.
If you can get hold of a spare hdd you can disconnect your current drives and install 7 on the spare to verify if there is a compatibility problem with 8 and the drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 980 @ 1510/7800
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 05-20-2013, 05:44 | posts: 5,704 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Neilson View Post
Not really mate no, id have to delete everything, reinstall windows 7, an I noticed beforre when i tried windows 7 on the new system, it refused to reconize my HHD's an SSD's.
Hate to inform you, but Multi-Monitor is kinda screwed on Windows 8. If you want it to run properly with your SLI setup, you must use Win7 SP1.

Backup all important files and game saves, and install Win7 to do what you want.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: EVGA 850w Supernova soon
Default 05-20-2013, 06:13 | posts: 7,098 | Location: Dubai

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostXL View Post
Hate to inform you, but Multi-Monitor is kinda screwed on Windows 8. If you want it to run properly with your SLI setup, you must use Win7 SP1.

Backup all important files and game saves, and install Win7 to do what you want.
That settles it then.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Andrew Neilson
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 680 CU II
Processor: Intel I7-3770
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Formula
Memory: Corsair 2133 32 gig
Soundcard: Asus Phoebus
PSU: Corsair 1k
Default 05-21-2013, 03:44 | posts: 30 | Location: Tasmania

ahh oplk thanks guys, I jsut heard back form Asus Australia an they have flatly refused to honor the warranty saying there is nothing wrong with the cards. I would ahve to fight it out with them for months an in end I would prolly still lose. My store I bought it from want me to drop the PC off to them for a few days an see if they can fix it, but if its Windows 8 then screw it ...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Stompya
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GV-NTITANOC-6GD-
Processor: i7-2600k @ 4.4
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3R-B3
Memory: 16 GB Corsair DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Creative SB X-FI
PSU: Corsair HX 1050
Default 05-21-2013, 08:55 | posts: 12 | Location: Hobart,Tasmania.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Neilson View Post
if its Asus GTX 680CUII, its quite normal, they are a POS card. Sadly I bought two of them. NEVER BUY NVIDIA..... I am going to throw mine in bin, literally, after 6 months I cant get mine to SLI ever.. When you try they crash the PC, among other things.If you have not bought them yet, I suggest buying ATI from now on. As they actually work.
No such problem here, I think they are great cards
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Yopkin1
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus DirectCU II 680 2GB
Processor: Intel 2500k 4.5
Mainboard: Asus PZ77-V Deluxe
Memory: Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX850
Default 05-22-2013, 12:40 | posts: 10

Was reading. I have two questions. Roller334 when your in bf3 are you running something to monitor what your card was clocked at? I had this problem. I found that my card was not running at full power it was running at performance level 2 and not 3. I started to use NVidia inspector over msi afterburner and found that fixed my problems.

Andrew Neilson. Have your tried to run your videocards in pcix gen 2 and not 3. My friends 680sli was having the same problems with asus board in gen 3 mode.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
ReeO
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GeForce 680GTX 4GB
Processor: Intel(R) Core™ i5-3570K Q
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-G43 Intel Z77 Ch
Memory: 8GB PC17000 DDR3/2133mhz
Soundcard: Logitech Z-506 5.1
PSU: Corsair 750 Watts CX750
Default 05-24-2013, 02:39 | posts: 2 | Location: Uk

680GTX 4GB a good card yea?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bad performance, gpu, gtx 680, nvidia

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.