Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Windows 8.1 will be a free upgrade
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Windows 8.1 will be a free upgrade - 05-14-2013, 18:15 | posts: 20,445 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Brandon LeBlanc from Microsoft wrote on the Windows Blog that Windows 8.1 (codenamed Windows Blue) will be available as a free update to all Windows 8 users. The update is expected to become available...

Windows 8.1 will be a free upgrade
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 780 OC Amp!Fan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.27V
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W|52A
Thumbs up 05-14-2013, 18:20 | posts: 6,837 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Nice, thanks for the info
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 6870
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 05-14-2013, 18:32 | posts: 19,046 | Location: Toronto, Canada

As it should be. Glad to see Microsoft thinking the same thing.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Major Melchett
Maha Guru
 
Major Melchett's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 480 - is a bit iffy.
Processor: AMD X3 450 @ X4 3.875ghz
Mainboard: GA-MA770T-UD3
Memory: 8GB Muskin 1666 CL9
Soundcard: Onboard Nvidia
PSU: High Power 1000w (100a)
Default 05-14-2013, 18:33 | posts: 2,275 | Location: Manchester, UK

I wonder how they're going to handle the update, will it be like a service pack (simply being able to just update a standard Windows 8 install), or will it be a complete OS type (meaning all Windows 8 users would require a complete OS install to get it).

God I hope we can just update to get it and not require a full re-install of the OS.

Last edited by Major Melchett; 05-14-2013 at 18:36.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
nicugoalkeper
Master Guru
 
nicugoalkeper's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Q6600 G0 @ 3600
Mainboard: Asus P5E
Memory: 4Gb DDR2 800 Geil Ultra
Soundcard: Soundmax
PSU: CoolMaster 620 Real Power
Default 05-14-2013, 18:40 | posts: 791 | Location: RO TM

Nice move from Microsoft !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Xtreme1979
Maha Guru
 
Xtreme1979's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680 2GB O/C
Processor: 2600K 4.4-4.7gHZ 1.30v
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43 B3
Memory: DDR3 Ripjaws Z 2133 4x4gb
Soundcard: X-Fi/Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
PSU: SeaSonic X650 Gold
Default 05-14-2013, 19:08 | posts: 1,256 | Location: Bay City, MI

Nice, move! Now I have to learn the old Start menu again. :facepalm:
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
volkov956
Ancient Guru
 
volkov956's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 HD GHZ
Processor: ES 4GHZ Six Core 12MB
Mainboard:
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB XFI Elite Custom
PSU: 750 EPS
Default 05-14-2013, 19:37 | posts: 5,985 | Location: Канад

I will await preview material before I make any judgements this came kinda outta place from previous MS info regarding Windows 8.1 before
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
chanw4
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 670 4GB GDDR5
Processor: Intel i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS V EXTREME
Memory: OCZ Platinum DDR3-1600 4G
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Platimax 600W
Default 05-14-2013, 19:45 | posts: 2,268 | Location: Hong Kong

FACTS: Windows Blue, Free upgrade
Rumour: all other stuff.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
angryblanket
Newbie
 
angryblanket's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 660ti 3GB SC+
Processor: i5 3570k @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte UD3H
Memory: G Skill Ripjaws 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Rosewill HIVE 650W
Default 05-14-2013, 20:09 | posts: 5 | Location: Texas

8.1 will have a start button, it won't, etc... I keep hearing different things. The fact that Windows has to notify users that it will be a free upgrade when they've admitted that 8 was a FAILURE bothers me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 680 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz/H220
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 05-14-2013, 20:09 | posts: 5,837 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Charms bar updated in what way? I honestly love that thing in Windows 8, can't really think of anything that should be added or removed to or from it. Also, very nice to see Windows 8.1 will be a free update to those who own Windows 8.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
JulesCools
Master Guru
 
JulesCools's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Sapphire R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD 8350 4.8ghz
Mainboard: MSi 990fxa
Memory: 8gb DD3 2133mhz
Soundcard: Sony usb wireless headset
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 05-14-2013, 20:12 | posts: 240 | Location: Southern Cal

They would be charging money if Windows 8 had been a success. It's not out of the goodness of their heart!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Kaleid
Maha Guru
 
Kaleid's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD HD7750
Processor: i3 530 @ 4.04
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D-E
Memory: 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-fi Extrememusic
PSU: Silver Power 750w
Default 05-14-2013, 20:22 | posts: 2,020 | Location: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by JulesCools View Post
They would be charging money if Windows 8 had been a success. It's not out of the goodness of their heart!
Exactly, undoing the bad PR. A quick service pack..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 680 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz/H220
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 05-14-2013, 20:25 | posts: 5,837 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Wonder if they'll bring back the ability change your account picture within the legacy UI, instead of having to go into metro, as sometimes browsing folders via metro doesn't work as well as it should.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
anticupidon
Maha Guru
 
anticupidon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD5850 Extreme
Processor: i7 860 3.6 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P7PP5D
Memory: 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: Via on-board
PSU: Corsair HX 750
Default 05-14-2013, 20:47 | posts: 2,063 | Location: far,far from home

Just what the doctor ordered.
Good .
Allowing a bit of tweaking of Metro will give us more "choice",so to speak.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Ryu5uzaku
Ancient Guru
 
Ryu5uzaku's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290X & 7950
Processor: 3770K & 2500K
Mainboard: GB Z77X-D3H / GB Z77-D3H
Memory: 16GB & 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Meridian 2G / xf-i fata
PSU: 1000W & 500W silverstone
Default 05-14-2013, 20:47 | posts: 3,880 | Location: Finland

If start menu makes an appearance i hope it won't be forced on my win8
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
StewieTech
Chuck Norris
 
StewieTech's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 270x [1200/6000]
Processor: i5 4670k [4.4]
Mainboard: AsRock z87 Extreme3
Memory: Kingston 8GB [1600]
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: OCZ ZT 550W
Default 05-14-2013, 20:56 | posts: 1,256 | Location: Portugal

Good move MS, iŽll get it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
LesserHellspawn
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte GTX660ti OC
Processor: Core i7 2600K 4.3 GHz
Mainboard: GA-P67A-UD7-B3
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill DDR3 1600 lv
Soundcard: Auzen X-Fi Prelude
PSU: Enermax Platimax 1,2 KW
Default 05-14-2013, 21:36 | posts: 296

The Charms Bar and the other sidebar features of Windows 8 are indeed the parts that I like about it. That's the one thing I left enabled when installing Start 8
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 680 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz/H220
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 05-14-2013, 21:38 | posts: 5,837 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryu5uzaku View Post
If start menu makes an appearance i hope it won't be forced on my win8
They've never said anything about bringing back the menu, just the start orb/button. If only they'd release a more final version so that we can see what they're really bringing. As it is now all the leaks only show what they've updated and changed with the start screen.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Solid_State
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 5870 VF3000A / GT430
Processor: i7 920 @ 4.135 1.28V
Mainboard: GAX58-USB3
Memory: 6GB Corsair XMS3 Platinum
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 05-14-2013, 21:39 | posts: 105 | Location: Canada "muddy waters"

Should I own a touch screen for Windows 8.1 ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
schmidtbag
Master Guru
 
schmidtbag's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x ATI HD5750
Processor: AMD FX-6300 @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: GA-890FXA-UD5 Rev 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek ALC889
PSU: 700W
Default 05-14-2013, 21:54 | posts: 353 | Location: MA, USA

I'm not really surprised this is free. MS knows they would piss off too many customers if they told them to pay after the short lifespan of 8, and they probably want to use 8.1 as a way to get people more inclined to try the Modern interface again. The way I see it, 8.1 is basically a service pack.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
scoter man1
Ancient Guru
 
scoter man1's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570/Korean 1440p
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark1
Memory: GSkill Trident X 2x4GB
Soundcard: Onboard/Superlux HD660
PSU: XIGMATEK 750w
Default 05-14-2013, 22:07 | posts: 4,173 | Location: MI, USA

"Windows 8.1 is rumored to bring back the Start button and boot-to-desktop..."

Faith in Microsoft somewhat restored.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 05-14-2013, 22:20 | posts: 7,491 | Location: GTA, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solid_State View Post
Should I own a touch screen for Windows 8.1 ?
IMO, yes. It's quite annoying on a laptop that has no touch screen. Others will disagree and say it's the best thing since sliced bread, but they're loud minority. I'm with the majority who think it's the dumbest concept in the history of operating systems.

Every time I start my laptop and see the Metro screen I think of this:


No on can deny it was made for touchscreen mobile devices and only forced on everyone to get people adjusted to it. That's why they strongarmed everything and removed any code from Winblows that would have allowed disabling Metro/Ribbon. I find Ribbon more annoying than Metro after using Win 8 for a while.

Microsoft know they're not Apple, they don't have a large cult following, they can't get away with charging for very small incremental updates.

Last edited by Neo Cyrus; 05-14-2013 at 22:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 05-14-2013, 23:26 | posts: 16,045 | Location: US East Coast

Sorry, even for free, don't want. I'll keep my Win8 how it is.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 780 OC Amp!Fan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.27V
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W|52A
Default 05-14-2013, 23:52 | posts: 6,837 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Sorry, even for free, don't want. I'll keep my Win8 how it is.
why u no want higher OS engine and WDDM 1.3?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
scoter man1
Ancient Guru
 
scoter man1's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570/Korean 1440p
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark1
Memory: GSkill Trident X 2x4GB
Soundcard: Onboard/Superlux HD660
PSU: XIGMATEK 750w
Default 05-15-2013, 00:55 | posts: 4,173 | Location: MI, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Sorry, even for free, don't want. I'll keep my Win8 how it is.
I'd put a few dollars on them having an option to keep it or not.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.