Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Windows 8.1 will be a free upgrade
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Windows 8.1 will be a free upgrade - 05-14-2013, 19:15 | posts: 26,933 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Brandon LeBlanc from Microsoft wrote on the Windows Blog that Windows 8.1 (codenamed Windows Blue) will be available as a free update to all Windows 8 users. The update is expected to become available...

Windows 8.1 will be a free upgrade
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 980Ti hybrid OC
Processor: Intel i7 4770K hybrid OC
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: DDR3 G.skill 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD @Bose A5
PSU: Nitro88+ 650W 52A
Thumbs up 05-14-2013, 19:20 | posts: 12,907 | Location: Proxima \/82

Nice, thanks for the info
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA B1 750W
Default 05-14-2013, 19:32 | posts: 19,047 | Location: Toronto, Canada

As it should be. Glad to see Microsoft thinking the same thing.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Major Melchett
Maha Guru
 
Major Melchett's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X @ 1100/1500
Processor: AMD PII X6 1090T @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formulaz
Memory: 8GB Muskin CL9 1666
Soundcard: Onboard AMD
PSU: High Power 1000w (100a)
Default 05-14-2013, 19:33 | posts: 2,456 | Location: United Kingdom - Manchester

I wonder how they're going to handle the update, will it be like a service pack (simply being able to just update a standard Windows 8 install), or will it be a complete OS type (meaning all Windows 8 users would require a complete OS install to get it).

God I hope we can just update to get it and not require a full re-install of the OS.

Last edited by Major Melchett; 05-14-2013 at 19:36.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
nicugoalkeper
Maha Guru
 
nicugoalkeper's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Q6600 G0 @ 3600
Mainboard: Asus P5E
Memory: 4Gb DDR2 800 Geil Ultra
Soundcard: Soundmax
PSU: CoolMaster 620 Real Power
Default 05-14-2013, 19:40 | posts: 820 | Location: RO TM

Nice move from Microsoft !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Xtreme1979
Maha Guru
 
Xtreme1979's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680 2GB O/C
Processor: 2600K 4.4-4.7gHZ 1.30v
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43 B3
Memory: DDR3 Ripjaws Z 2133 4x4gb
Soundcard: X-Fi/Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
PSU: SeaSonic X650 Gold
Default 05-14-2013, 20:08 | posts: 1,265 | Location: Bay City, MI

Nice, move! Now I have to learn the old Start menu again. :facepalm:
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
volkov956
Ancient Guru
 
volkov956's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290X
Processor: Xeon 6 Core 3.47ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 12GB DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Asus Esscense STX
PSU: 1100W Custom PSU
Default 05-14-2013, 20:37 | posts: 6,056 | Location: BC Canada

I will await preview material before I make any judgements this came kinda outta place from previous MS info regarding Windows 8.1 before
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
chanw4
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 670 4GB GDDR5
Processor: Intel i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS V EXTREME
Memory: OCZ Platinum DDR3-1600 4G
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Platimax 600W
Default 05-14-2013, 20:45 | posts: 2,292 | Location: Hong Kong

FACTS: Windows Blue, Free upgrade
Rumour: all other stuff.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
angryblanket
Newbie
 
angryblanket's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 660ti 3GB SC+
Processor: i5 3570k @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte UD3H
Memory: G Skill Ripjaws 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Rosewill HIVE 650W
Default 05-14-2013, 21:09 | posts: 5 | Location: Texas

8.1 will have a start button, it won't, etc... I keep hearing different things. The fact that Windows has to notify users that it will be a free upgrade when they've admitted that 8 was a FAILURE bothers me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 05-14-2013, 21:09 | posts: 6,516 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Charms bar updated in what way? I honestly love that thing in Windows 8, can't really think of anything that should be added or removed to or from it. Also, very nice to see Windows 8.1 will be a free update to those who own Windows 8.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
JulesCools
Banned
 
Videocard: Titan Black SLI
Processor: AMD 8350 4.8ghz
Mainboard: MSi 990fxa
Memory: 32 gab DDR3 2133mhz
Soundcard: Sony usb wireless headset
PSU: Corsair 1200w
Default 05-14-2013, 21:12 | posts: 282 | Location: Southern Cal

They would be charging money if Windows 8 had been a success. It's not out of the goodness of their heart!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Kaleid
Maha Guru
 
Kaleid's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD HD7750
Processor: i3 530 @ 4.04
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D-E
Memory: 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-fi Extrememusic
PSU: Silver Power 750w
Default 05-14-2013, 21:22 | posts: 2,016 | Location: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by JulesCools View Post
They would be charging money if Windows 8 had been a success. It's not out of the goodness of their heart!
Exactly, undoing the bad PR. A quick service pack..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 05-14-2013, 21:25 | posts: 6,516 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Wonder if they'll bring back the ability change your account picture within the legacy UI, instead of having to go into metro, as sometimes browsing folders via metro doesn't work as well as it should.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
anticupidon
Maha Guru
 
anticupidon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Intel® HD Graphics 530
Processor: i5 6600K / Liqmax II 240
Mainboard: Maximus Extreme VIII
Memory: 16 GB GSkill Z DDR4 3000
Soundcard: ROG SupremeFX
PSU: EVGA 750 W G2
Default 05-14-2013, 21:47 | posts: 2,680 | Location: far,far from home

Just what the doctor ordered.
Good .
Allowing a bit of tweaking of Metro will give us more "choice",so to speak.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Ryu5uzaku
Ancient Guru
 
Ryu5uzaku's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980ti gaming 1490/7700
Processor: 3770K @ 4.4 stock voltage
Mainboard: z68 crap
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: Meridian 2G
PSU: 850W SF platinum
Default 05-14-2013, 21:47 | posts: 6,217 | Location: Finland

If start menu makes an appearance i hope it won't be forced on my win8
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
StewieTech
Maha Guru
 
StewieTech's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI gtx 960 Gaming
Processor: i5 4670k [4.4]
Mainboard: AsRock z87 extreme3
Memory: Gskill Ripjaws 8gb [2133]
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: OCZ ZT 550W
Default 05-14-2013, 21:56 | posts: 1,755 | Location: Portugal

Good move MS, i´ll get it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
LesserHellspawn
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 3x Gigabyte GTX980ti
Processor: Core i7 5960X
Mainboard: ASUS X99-E WS
Memory: 4x4GB Corsair DDR4 3200
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek 7.1
PSU: Enermax Platimax 1,7 KW
Default 05-14-2013, 22:36 | posts: 527

The Charms Bar and the other sidebar features of Windows 8 are indeed the parts that I like about it. That's the one thing I left enabled when installing Start 8
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 05-14-2013, 22:38 | posts: 6,516 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryu5uzaku View Post
If start menu makes an appearance i hope it won't be forced on my win8
They've never said anything about bringing back the menu, just the start orb/button. If only they'd release a more final version so that we can see what they're really bringing. As it is now all the leaks only show what they've updated and changed with the start screen.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Solid_State
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 5870 VF3000A / GT430
Processor: i7 920 @ 4.135 1.28V
Mainboard: GAX58-USB3
Memory: 6GB Corsair XMS3 Platinum
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 05-14-2013, 22:39 | posts: 105 | Location: Canada "muddy waters"

Should I own a touch screen for Windows 8.1 ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
schmidtbag
Maha Guru
 
schmidtbag's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS R9 290
Processor: AMD FX-6300 @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: GA-890FXA-UD5 Rev 2.0
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek ALC889
PSU: Apevia 700W
Default 05-14-2013, 22:54 | posts: 1,047 | Location: MA, USA

I'm not really surprised this is free. MS knows they would piss off too many customers if they told them to pay after the short lifespan of 8, and they probably want to use 8.1 as a way to get people more inclined to try the Modern interface again. The way I see it, 8.1 is basically a service pack.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
scoter man1
Ancient Guru
 
scoter man1's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi GTX 970/Korean 1440p
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark1
Memory: GSkill Trident X 4x4GB
Soundcard: Onboard/ATH-A900x
PSU: XIGMATEK 750w
Default 05-14-2013, 23:07 | posts: 4,524 | Location: MI, USA

"Windows 8.1 is rumored to bring back the Start button and boot-to-desktop..."

Faith in Microsoft somewhat restored.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 970 G1
Processor: i7-4770K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z97 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB 2400 10-12-12-31
Soundcard: ZxR + Beyerdynamic DT 990
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 05-14-2013, 23:20 | posts: 8,238 | Location: GTA, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solid_State View Post
Should I own a touch screen for Windows 8.1 ?
IMO, yes. It's quite annoying on a laptop that has no touch screen. Others will disagree and say it's the best thing since sliced bread, but they're loud minority. I'm with the majority who think it's the dumbest concept in the history of operating systems.

Every time I start my laptop and see the Metro screen I think of this:


No on can deny it was made for touchscreen mobile devices and only forced on everyone to get people adjusted to it. That's why they strongarmed everything and removed any code from Winblows that would have allowed disabling Metro/Ribbon. I find Ribbon more annoying than Metro after using Win 8 for a while.

Microsoft know they're not Apple, they don't have a large cult following, they can't get away with charging for very small incremental updates.

Last edited by Neo Cyrus; 05-14-2013 at 23:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX RX 470
Processor: Core i5 6600K
Mainboard: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro
Memory: Corsair DDR4-2666
Soundcard: Creative SB-Z
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 05-15-2013, 00:26 | posts: 19,632 | Location: US East Coast

Sorry, even for free, don't want. I'll keep my Win8 how it is.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 980Ti hybrid OC
Processor: Intel i7 4770K hybrid OC
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: DDR3 G.skill 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD @Bose A5
PSU: Nitro88+ 650W 52A
Default 05-15-2013, 00:52 | posts: 12,907 | Location: Proxima \/82

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Sorry, even for free, don't want. I'll keep my Win8 how it is.
why u no want higher OS engine and WDDM 1.3?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
scoter man1
Ancient Guru
 
scoter man1's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi GTX 970/Korean 1440p
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark1
Memory: GSkill Trident X 4x4GB
Soundcard: Onboard/ATH-A900x
PSU: XIGMATEK 750w
Default 05-15-2013, 01:55 | posts: 4,524 | Location: MI, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
Sorry, even for free, don't want. I'll keep my Win8 how it is.
I'd put a few dollars on them having an option to keep it or not.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.