Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
PC won't post
Old
  (#1)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default PC won't post - 05-14-2013, 11:24 | posts: 26,639 | Location: Hampshire UK

Ok, this is weird. I was browsing the net this morning, checking up on latest news etc. Then I had to go to work, so I went to shut down the PC via start/shut down. Off i go to brush my teeth. When I came back to my room, the pc was still running, but the monitor was in standby. Thought it was weird, never happened before. So I hold down the power button on the case to shut it down. Held it for about 20 seconds, nothing. So I flicked the switch on the psu, also unplugged the psu. Left it for 5 minutes. Then I plugged it back in and flicked the psu on. PC started booting straight away, without me touching the power on button on the case.

It didn't post though. Just a black screen, monitor in standby. All the fans are spinning etc. Neither of my monitors came on. Tried to power it all off via the power switch on the case, nothing.

I'm thinking the power button is stuck open? Would that prevent it from posting? Can someone try to power on their pc and keep holding down the power button and see if it posts? I hope it's nothing serious
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ Stock
Processor: 980X @ 4 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1866 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 05-14-2013, 11:28 | posts: 4,899 | Location: London

I've had this issue before once or twice. You tried resetting CMOS?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-14-2013, 11:29 | posts: 26,639 | Location: Hampshire UK

Not yet, had to go to work. I'll try that later. Did that fix it for you? My rig has been rock solid until this happened. Do I just take the battery out for a few minutes?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sverek
Maha Guru
 
sverek's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Ven. 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 05-14-2013, 11:32 | posts: 1,420 | Location: Japan, Soka

turn off PSU switch and unplug cable. Leave it for 10 seconds.
stick cable back, turn PSU switch on. See if PC starts by itself.

If yes, you might want to unplug power button from mobo "SWT" pins.
Try again with button disabled.

(real man starts his PC with screwier driver)


   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-14-2013, 11:39 | posts: 26,639 | Location: Hampshire UK

I already tried that sverek, it started booting as soon as a flicked the psu switch. Could be the motherboard piwer switch circuit, that means I will have to live with turning on the pc via psu switch or get a new motherboard.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Mraz
Master Guru
 
Mraz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX TITAN@1202
Processor: FX-6300 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1.6Ghz C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair GS 800Watt series
Default 05-14-2013, 11:42 | posts: 624 | Location: Croatia

Well I guess thats your punishment for being such a good person in my thread the other day.

Anyway CMOS reset did the trick for me when it happened once before, it was like the system is hanging, and my research pointed me out to OC'ing not "posting" as it should have.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-14-2013, 11:44 | posts: 26,639 | Location: Hampshire UK

I was nice just wanted proof lol. Karma is a b1tch I guess lol. I hate being at work when I should be troubleshooting my PC!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Mraz
Master Guru
 
Mraz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX TITAN@1202
Processor: FX-6300 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1.6Ghz C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair GS 800Watt series
Default 05-14-2013, 11:47 | posts: 624 | Location: Croatia

Goto BIOS set everything to stock settings and try once again before pulling battery out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-14-2013, 11:52 | posts: 26,639 | Location: Hampshire UK

Can't get to bios at all.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Mraz
Master Guru
 
Mraz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX TITAN@1202
Processor: FX-6300 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1.6Ghz C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair GS 800Watt series
Default 05-14-2013, 11:56 | posts: 624 | Location: Croatia

Try CMOS if it doesnt work, unplug everything and plug it back if its still fighting you then test components one by one.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-14-2013, 12:47 | posts: 24,206 | Location: NZ

It's the latest 13.2 drivers doing it, the PC goes into standby and won't wake up.

Same thing happens to me - used to be an issue with 13.1 and now it's back.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-14-2013, 13:04 | posts: 26,639 | Location: Hampshire UK

I'm using 13.4 mate. Did it boot for you? I can't even get into Windows so can't change drivers. I'm also beginning to suspect usb ports
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-14-2013, 13:28 | posts: 24,206 | Location: NZ

Oh sorry I misread your post.

Pull out the power on/reset connectors from the motherboard then jump it with a screwdriver, if it boots normally the PSU is faulty.

If it still happens unplug the 4/8pin CPU plug from the board - if it only boots when CPU power plug is unplugged your vrm's are fried (remember what I said to you the other day...?).

Most likely the PSU is bad.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 05-14-2013 at 13:33.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-14-2013, 13:48 | posts: 26,639 | Location: Hampshire UK

If it boots with power/reset headers pulled off how is it a psu issue? Shouldn't that mean the motherboard is bad?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
jbmcmillan
Maha Guru
 
jbmcmillan's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7870 OC 2 GB
Processor: i5 2500k@4.4 GHZ.
Mainboard: MSI P67A-GD53
Memory: Gskill 2x4GB 1600 DDR3
Soundcard: Onboard realtek
PSU: OCZ 1000 watt Z series
Default 05-14-2013, 13:49 | posts: 1,271 | Location: Langley,B.C. Canada

If disconnecting the case switch and starting it by shorting the pins doesn't solve it I'd have to agree with Pill probably power supply.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-14-2013, 13:56 | posts: 26,639 | Location: Hampshire UK

He said that if it does jump starts without power/reset plugged in then it's the psu, which didn't make sense to me. Because if that works it's clearly a motherboard/pin issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-14-2013, 14:02 | posts: 24,206 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
He said that if it does jump starts without power/reset plugged in then it's the psu, which didn't make sense to me. Because if that works it's clearly a motherboard/pin issue.
Not at all. It means the PSU power switch is stuck on.

In fact if it only boots when you turn the PSU off then on again that's exactly what the problem is.
Those Corsair's aren't what they used to be, I've seen a few fail...prob 3 or 4 in the last 6mths....dunno if they have a new OEM or what...?

Maybe it was just a bad batch...seems to be the TX series mostly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-14-2013, 14:09 | posts: 26,639 | Location: Hampshire UK

Mine is 3 years old. Couldn't it be the power connector on the motherboard being stuck open rather than the psu? And it does boot via power button on the case, but the monitor is in standby. I also can't power it off via the power on button on the case.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1228/6502
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 05-14-2013, 14:10 | posts: 618 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
...Then I plugged it back in and flicked the psu on. PC started booting straight away, without me touching the power on button on the case. It didn't post though. Just a black screen, monitor in standby. All the fans are spinning etc. Neither of my monitors came on. Tried to power it all off via the power switch on the case, nothing.

Not looking good, probably PSU or MB, I hope it's PSU because it's less pain in the a$$ to change it with some other to do a test. So try with some other PSU. You can use some "normal" 400-500W PSU for that but first remove Radeon 7950 and use integrated graphic.

Try this to determine if maybe MB is causing a problem... Turn off PSU on it's switch, remove all RAM's and then turn on PSU and try to start that rig: if you hear some beep codes from MB about RAM error (if case beeper is connected to MB) then there is a chance that MB is alive but if there is no error sounds from MB maybe MB is dead.

I said maybe so try this also... Remove graphic card, all RAM's and other stuff from PCIEx & PCI slots, clean their contacts and then reseat it in their slots. Try to turn on rig now... If that doesn't help then remove graphic card and try to start rig using MB's integrated graphic card (HDMI, DVI or D-Sub on MB). If that doesn't help then probably that MB is dead.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1228/6502
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 05-14-2013, 14:14 | posts: 618 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
He said that if it does jump starts without power/reset plugged in then it's the psu, which didn't make sense to me. Because if that works it's clearly a motherboard/pin issue.

Maybe +3.3V or +5V rail on that PSU is dead. In that case all fans (case fans, CPU fan, GPU fan... on +12V rail) will be spining but you're not going to see any POST.
All rails on PSU can be easily tested with some analog or digital PSU ATX tester.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-14-2013, 14:16 | posts: 24,206 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
Mine is 3 years old. Couldn't it be the power connector on the motherboard being stuck open rather than the psu?
No it doesn't work like that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
And it does boot via power button on the case, but the monitor is in standby. I also can't power it off via the power on button on the case.
Doesn't sound to me like it's booting...did you try what I suggested?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-14-2013, 14:37 | posts: 26,639 | Location: Hampshire UK

not yet, still at work, will be home in 20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-14-2013, 14:43 | posts: 24,206 | Location: NZ

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 05-14-2013, 14:49 | posts: 5,945 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Sounds like its the PSU mate.

I have a 900W Tagan modular PSU handy that should work if you want it, would give you the standard G3D Accient Guru Members Discount obviously

That's if it does turn out to be the PSU that is.

Hope you figure it out mate, its a bitch when things like this happens. Just take not of PillMonster, he knows what hes talking about (as I'm sure you know).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF H2O @ Qnix 110Hz
Processor: 5820K @4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 05-14-2013, 15:00 | posts: 3,291 | Location: Lebanon

Seems PSU, 12V is always on and can't turn off when the mobo asks it to.

Do you have a multi-meter? Some voltage measurements on a molex connector or PCI-E power connector with the system on / off might be helpful.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.