Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
GTX 660 sucks?
Old
  (#1)
greg1993
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 660
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quard Q8300
Mainboard: G41MT-D3V
Memory: DDR3/1333 Mhz/8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: SL-8500BTX
Angry GTX 660 sucks? - 05-12-2013, 23:11 | posts: 15

Hello guys, i recently bought an MSI N660 TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 660. I used to roll with an ATI 5570 and i was hoping for some massive improvements on gaming which they are not massive sadly. I have 2 games available right now GTA IV and TDU2 and i can't get them to work on ultra settings with playable fps... I really don't understand why is this happening they are both old games they should work like a charm on the highest settings with this card but NO!!! Is there anything i can do to increase my card's performance? i think i have just thrown 200$ out of the window and this is killing me...

My other specs:
cpu: Core 2 Quad Q8300
RAM: 8 GB 1333 Mhz
Windows 8 x64.

Last edited by greg1993; 05-12-2013 at 23:14.
   
 
Old
  (#2)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 05-12-2013, 23:14 | posts: 1,822

3dmark11 performance score?
Those games prefer a good cpu if not mistaken so you are probably being bottlenecked by it.
What is your PSU brand, model?
   
Old
  (#3)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 05-12-2013, 23:15 | posts: 7,801

The problem is probably more your system as a whole. Upgrading your graphics card doesn't instantly make your computer more capable of playing games. GTA4 is badly optimised and quite CPU hungry, TDU I can't speak for. However - the issue is as much from the fact you're using old gen tech which could very well be bottlenecking your 660 to some extent, coupled with the fact some games favour the CPU. Try other games and get back to us.
   
Old
  (#4)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 05-12-2013, 23:19 | posts: 6,888 | Location: Dubai

GTA 4 is rubbish, don't use that to measure the performance of any hardware. Any other GPU dependent games? Crysis series maybe or something like Unigine Heaven benchmark?
   
 
Old
  (#5)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 05-12-2013, 23:23 | posts: 18,715 | Location: New Jersey, USA

lol I got a qx9650 at 4ghz and it bottlnecked every single card I had in it, 295, 480, and currently a single 580. GTA likes good cpu`s more than gpu`s
   
Old
  (#6)
RodsterPS360
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 780 w/ACX Cooling
Processor: i5 - 3570K
Mainboard: AS Rock Z77 Extreme 4
Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 2133
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek Audio
PSU: Antec 750W Gamers Edition
Default 05-12-2013, 23:26 | posts: 238

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkest View Post
The problem is probably more your system as a whole. Upgrading your graphics card doesn't instantly make your computer more capable of playing games. GTA4 is badly optimised and quite CPU hungry, TDU I can't speak for. However - the issue is as much from the fact you're using old gen tech which could very well be bottlenecking your 660 to some extent, coupled with the fact some games favour the CPU. Try other games and get back to us.
Rockstar games are notorious for being poorly optimized. GTA IV and LA Noire were two of the biggest offenders. They brought nicely spec'd systems to their knees. Both those games are almost direct console ports. I have no knowledge of TDU2 for the PC but I had it for the XBOX 360 and it would not surprise me if that too was a poorly optimized console port.
   
Old
  (#7)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 05-12-2013, 23:27 | posts: 1,822

If you are being bottlencked by your cpu it does not mean the 660 has been a waste of money because you are using less gpu power, therefore less energy.

On the other hand, in games like Crysis 3 you will be asking for more horsepower depending on your image quality preferences and resolution.

After all this being said you probably can return the card no?Maybe upgrading for Haswell 1st would be a better option.
   
Old
  (#8)
greg1993
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 660
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quard Q8300
Mainboard: G41MT-D3V
Memory: DDR3/1333 Mhz/8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: SL-8500BTX
Default 05-12-2013, 23:30 | posts: 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.noob View Post
3dmark11 performance score?
Those games prefer a good cpu if not mistaken so you are probably being bottlenecked by it.
What is your PSU brand, model?
dmak what???
i opened the case, the psu is a "SL-8500BTX"
   
Old
  (#9)
greg1993
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 660
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quard Q8300
Mainboard: G41MT-D3V
Memory: DDR3/1333 Mhz/8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: SL-8500BTX
Default 05-12-2013, 23:33 | posts: 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkest View Post
The problem is probably more your system as a whole. Upgrading your graphics card doesn't instantly make your computer more capable of playing games. GTA4 is badly optimised and quite CPU hungry, TDU I can't speak for. However - the issue is as much from the fact you're using old gen tech which could very well be bottlenecking your 660 to some extent, coupled with the fact some games favour the CPU. Try other games and get back to us.
i ve checked here:http://www.game-debate.com/games/ind...0unlimited%202 and here:http://www.game-debate.com/games/ind...ft%20Auto%20IV and my cpu is better than the ones in the "Recommended Requirements".
   
Old
  (#10)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF H2O @ Qnix 110Hz
Processor: 5820K @4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 05-12-2013, 23:36 | posts: 3,306 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by greg1993 View Post
dmak what???
i opened the case, the psu is a "SL-8500BTX"
"3DMark". He wants to know what you score running 3DMark.

GTA IV is the worst game you could pick to judge performance; it dips to 20FPS on my 7970 and likes to stutter everywhere. I've never been able to play it on my 7970.

Try other games, but don't be surprised if they don't perform as well as you think. Your CPU can easily hold your GPU back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by greg1993 View Post
i ve checked here:http://www.game-debate.com/games/ind...0unlimited%202 and here:http://www.game-debate.com/games/ind...ft%20Auto%20IV and my cpu is better than the ones in the "Recommended Requirements".
Don't go by "recommended system requirements". They mean nothing generally.
   
 
Old
  (#11)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 05-12-2013, 23:38 | posts: 1,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by greg1993 View Post
dmak what???
i opened the case, the psu is a "SL-8500BTX"
3DMARK11
http://www.3dmark.com/3dmark11/download

Are you using a cheap PSU in that machine?I would consider changing it to a more reliable one like the Corsair gx600.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/NEW-QUIET-...-/281094721757
   
Old
  (#12)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 05-12-2013, 23:41 | posts: 9,163 | Location: Toledo

TDU2 is just as much of a joke optimization wise as GTA 4. The game was never finished properly, and Eden Games should be ashamed of themselves. It's also been completely abandoned.
   
Old
  (#13)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-12-2013, 23:46 | posts: 26,663 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Massive cpu bottleneck
   
Old
  (#14)
greg1993
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 660
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quard Q8300
Mainboard: G41MT-D3V
Memory: DDR3/1333 Mhz/8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: SL-8500BTX
Default 05-12-2013, 23:48 | posts: 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.noob View Post
3DMARK11
http://www.3dmark.com/3dmark11/download

Are you using a cheap PSU in that machine?I would consider changing it to a more reliable one like the Corsair gx600.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/NEW-QUIET-...-/281094721757
well this is the psu my pc had when i bought it, since it is compatible with the card i didn't replace it but how is this important?
   
Old
  (#15)
greg1993
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 660
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quard Q8300
Mainboard: G41MT-D3V
Memory: DDR3/1333 Mhz/8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: SL-8500BTX
Default 05-13-2013, 00:13 | posts: 15

Let me ask something else, will a bottlenecking cpu or a cheap psu effect my card's health? if so i don't want to risk ruining it.
   
Old
  (#16)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 05-13-2013, 00:17 | posts: 1,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by greg1993 View Post
Let me ask something else, will a bottlenecking cpu or a cheap psu effect my card's health? if so i don't want to risk ruining it.
I would change the PSU asap, yes it may even blow up and destroy all the components inside your case.Think the PSU as your heart.

About the bottleneck, for example, instead of having 100fps you will have only like 40.This will happen in games like the ones you are using or simulators and other similar engines like the one used on Counter Strike Source and Company of Heroes.
   
Old
  (#17)
greg1993
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 660
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quard Q8300
Mainboard: G41MT-D3V
Memory: DDR3/1333 Mhz/8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: SL-8500BTX
Default 05-13-2013, 00:32 | posts: 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.noob View Post
I would change the PSU asap, yes it may even blow up and destroy all the components inside your case.Think the PSU as your heart.

About the bottleneck, for example, instead of having 100fps you will have only like 40.This will happen in games like the ones you are using or simulators and other similar engines like the one used on Counter Strike Source and Company of Heroes.
i didn't know things can get so ugly , well thanks for warning me i ll buy a decent psu with the first chance i ll get
   
Old
  (#18)
MM10X
Ancient Guru
 
MM10X's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 970 SC | X270OC
Processor: I7 3770k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77
Memory: 10GB DDR3
Soundcard: Auzentech Forte + Z-5500
PSU: Corsair HX1000w
Default 05-13-2013, 01:08 | posts: 4,178 | Location: Oakland, CA, US

Quote:
Originally Posted by greg1993 View Post
Hello guys, i recently bought an MSI N660 TF 2GD5/OC GeForce GTX 660. I used to roll with an ATI 5570 and i was hoping for some massive improvements on gaming which they are not massive sadly. I have 2 games available right now GTA IV and TDU2 and i can't get them to work on ultra settings with playable fps... I really don't understand why is this happening they are both old games they should work like a charm on the highest settings with this card but NO!!! Is there anything i can do to increase my card's performance? i think i have just thrown 200$ out of the window and this is killing me...

My other specs:
cpu: Core 2 Quad Q8300
RAM: 8 GB 1333 Mhz
Windows 8 x64.

What Nvidia drivers are you running, AND did you completely remove the ATI driver and run driver sweeper before installing ?


Cant run those games at ultra setting ? I don't even run TDU2 ant ultra settings- but I am playing a a very high res.
   
Old
  (#19)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 260M 1GB GDDR3
Processor: Intel Mobile Q9000 2.0GHz
Mainboard: Intel PM45
Memory: 4GB DDR3 1066
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: 150W
Default 05-13-2013, 02:27 | posts: 5,162 | Location: Netherlands

I don't think that PSU is terrible for a single GTX 660, i'm running 2 off a 500w PSU.
   
Old
  (#20)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 05-13-2013, 02:45 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by signex View Post
I don't think that PSU is terrible for a single GTX 660, i'm running 2 off a 500w PSU.
You're proud of what?


Op, dont take game specs literally, that is just to get them to run.
As pointed out, your CPU is a bottleneck and cheap PSUs are a risk.
If you overclock your CPU, you will get a bit better performance, but a CPU (and PSU) upgrade is required if you want to max your gfx card.
   
Old
  (#21)
flexy
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Riva 128
Processor: Q6600@3.6
Mainboard: Rampage X48
Memory: 4gb OCZ XTC Plats 2
Soundcard: audigy 2 value/realtek OB
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower
Default 05-13-2013, 03:01 | posts: 132 | Location: in the matrix

GTA IV is a ****ty console port which will even run badly on high end hardware. I am running GTA IV ENB mods here and get hardly 25-30 FPS while sometimes the 660 TI is only used 60%-70%.

Forget it. 660TI is a good card, especially overclocked.
   
Old
  (#22)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 05-13-2013, 03:07 | posts: 1,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by flexy View Post
GTA IV is a ****ty console port which will even run badly on high end hardware. I am running GTA IV ENB mods here and get hardly 25-30 FPS while sometimes the 660 TI is only used 60%-70%.
Forget it. 660TI is a good card, especially overclocked.
It only uses that amount of resources because it's a cpu bound game, you will get limited by your cpu in some areas, while in another where you have more textures etc you will eventually get to 100% of the gpu.

If you change that q6600 3.6 to 4770k OC you will have a pretty big improvent and it will use a lot more of the gpu as the bottleneck will be lower.

Last edited by 3dPlayer; 05-13-2013 at 03:11.
   
Old
  (#23)
mahanddeem
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX680 Lightning 2GB
Processor: i7-3770K@3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe
Memory: Mushkin DDR3 1600MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 05-13-2013, 03:24 | posts: 112 | Location: USA

1.Your CPU sucks , I used to have a Q8200 and it's a joke when it comes to recent games titles ...
2.If you were aiming at games like GTA 4 , which also sucks big time , you should have considered a 670/680 ... 660 is a budget card (with its 196 bit vram) , accept it or not !
3.I use i7 3770k / msi 680GTX oc and wasn't even happy with some games like Max Payne 3 !!! = bad games optimization (garbage console ports)...

Return it if you can , and aim for a 670 oc or 680...Make sure you have a good PSU
   
Old
  (#24)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 05-13-2013, 03:33 | posts: 1,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahanddeem View Post
1.Your CPU sucks , I used to have a Q8200 and it's a joke when it comes to recent games titles ...
2.If you were aiming at games like GTA 4 , which also sucks big time , you should have considered a 670/680 ... 660 is a budget card (with its 196 bit vram) , accept it or not !
3.I use i7 3770k / msi 680GTX oc and wasn't even happy with some games like Max Payne 3 !!! = bad games optimization (garbage console ports)...

Return it if you can , and aim for a 670 oc or 680...Make sure you have a good PSU
What?So, you are saying his cpu is bad but you advise him to buy a better gpu?!No comments.

His next step should be going for Haswell, 4570K and overclock the hell of it and of course a good PSU.
   
Old
  (#25)
Crash
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 560 OC 1024 MB
Processor: AMD FX 8350 4.6GHz 1.38v
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 1666
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone 650W
Default 05-13-2013, 03:42 | posts: 66 | Location: Asia Pacific

i've ran GTA IV before, it was good. however you have to download the latest patch to fix the graphics problem. Otherwise you'll get terrible experience.

Last time, i ran it on x3 455 3.3 Ghz and 9800 GTX 1GB DDDR3 smoothly. Considering my hardware are old school, yours should run better.

Last edited by Crash; 05-13-2013 at 03:47.
   
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.