Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Random Frame Drops In All Games
Old
  (#1)
FiRe_TeMpLaR
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Gtx 650 Ti 1GB
Processor: AMD fx-6100
Mainboard: ASUS M5A78l-M/USB3
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard:
PSU: CX500
Unhappy Random Frame Drops In All Games - 05-07-2013, 15:19 | posts: 11 | Location: London

Basically I have been playing games and from time to time my frames will drop to half of what they already are or even less, I wanted to know if you could help me to solve this problem i dont know what it is that is affecting my system so much any suggestions on how I can find out what is affecting it and how to fix it.
anyways i wanted to ask
Should I upgrade my motherboard and GPU ? I have a 500 budget to upgrade

Last edited by FiRe_TeMpLaR; 05-07-2013 at 15:23.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
StealBalls
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI 280x CrossFire
Processor: Intel 4670K@ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1866Mhz CL9
Soundcard: AMD HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM Series 850W
Default 05-07-2013, 16:02 | posts: 649 | Location: W.A.K.T

What games and at what settings are you playing at? (resolution, details etc)

First thing you need to try and eliminate potential causes of frame rate drops.

Try MSI Afterburner and monitor GPU usage, this will help to eliminate if said frame rate drops are caused by hitting 99% GPU usage.

As for your system, it is AMD and I know fully NOTHING about AMD systems.

Oh and when you say half of what they already are, what are they? lol also are you using VSYNC and what are you using to monitor FPS?

g0g0g0! Diagnostic strength of 8 bears

Last edited by StealBalls; 05-07-2013 at 16:04.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
FiRe_TeMpLaR
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Gtx 650 Ti 1GB
Processor: AMD fx-6100
Mainboard: ASUS M5A78l-M/USB3
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard:
PSU: CX500
Default 05-07-2013, 16:47 | posts: 11 | Location: London

BF3: 1360x768 Medium settings normally 60 to 70 fps no vsync then framerate randomly drops to 25 to 20 unplayable.
crysis 3 : 1360 x 768 Medium settings normally 55 to 60 no vsync then drops to 20 to 25 sometimes even 15.
Darksiders 2 : 1360 x 768 cannot change quality normally 120 to 140 fps still drops to 20 to 25.
Same thing with all games it will just drop to about 20 or 25
I monitor framerate with fraps.
Also potential causes for framedrops only thing running in the background is origin,steam,skype and google chrome
I shall start doing the stress tests back at 5
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
FiRe_TeMpLaR
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Gtx 650 Ti 1GB
Processor: AMD fx-6100
Mainboard: ASUS M5A78l-M/USB3
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard:
PSU: CX500
Default 05-07-2013, 17:02 | posts: 11 | Location: London

Gpu usage is not going over 65%
Temperature always 52
so i don't think it is my GPU
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
StealBalls
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI 280x CrossFire
Processor: Intel 4670K@ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1866Mhz CL9
Soundcard: AMD HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM Series 850W
Default 05-07-2013, 17:04 | posts: 649 | Location: W.A.K.T

Do these drops happen in the same places or randomly? for example, if you load up a bf3 map on an empty server have you tried standing in the middle randomly and not touching mouse/keyboard/controller and seeing if it drops?

Or does it only happen when you are moving around
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 580 (Agua)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 05-07-2013, 17:18 | posts: 7,999 | Location: UK

cpu temps? (stock cooler?) overclocking your cpu might help out with your min framerates.

run the res evil 5 bench, (variable test with 4xaa 16xaf, no motion blur). report back..should run butter smooth at least around 60fps...

http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/...k_utility.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
FiRe_TeMpLaR
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Gtx 650 Ti 1GB
Processor: AMD fx-6100
Mainboard: ASUS M5A78l-M/USB3
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard:
PSU: CX500
Default 05-07-2013, 17:24 | posts: 11 | Location: London

I will try a empty server and yes i have a stock cooler, never tried overclocking that might help a bit
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
FiRe_TeMpLaR
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Gtx 650 Ti 1GB
Processor: AMD fx-6100
Mainboard: ASUS M5A78l-M/USB3
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard:
PSU: CX500
Default 05-07-2013, 17:26 | posts: 11 | Location: London

it even happens when im standing still in a empty server
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 580 (Agua)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 05-07-2013, 17:33 | posts: 7,999 | Location: UK

well overclocking on a stock cooler is a no-no really. try the res evil 5 bench with no internet. (not one of those games u listed).

it's a pretty well optimised bench that should run smooth (i.e no big framerate dips like you mentioned), i use it quite a bit to make sure have no pc niggles (well other tests as well).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
FiRe_TeMpLaR
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Gtx 650 Ti 1GB
Processor: AMD fx-6100
Mainboard: ASUS M5A78l-M/USB3
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard:
PSU: CX500
Default 05-07-2013, 18:04 | posts: 11 | Location: London

here is a link to my results from the benchmark 4x aa and 16x af
https://www.dropbox.com/s/mvollak2xi...8-00-21-30.jpg
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7 @ 1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 05-07-2013, 18:12 | posts: 7,635 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Yeah there looks to be some werid interval that makes these fps drops., maybe gpu downclocking?


Did you try to force prefer max performance in nvidia control panel game profile by each game that's causing it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
FiRe_TeMpLaR
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Gtx 650 Ti 1GB
Processor: AMD fx-6100
Mainboard: ASUS M5A78l-M/USB3
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard:
PSU: CX500
Default 05-07-2013, 18:23 | posts: 11 | Location: London

no haven't tried that yet
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
FiRe_TeMpLaR
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Gtx 650 Ti 1GB
Processor: AMD fx-6100
Mainboard: ASUS M5A78l-M/USB3
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard:
PSU: CX500
Default 05-07-2013, 19:11 | posts: 11 | Location: London

tried putting it on max performance still no difference tried in all games
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
FiRe_TeMpLaR
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Gtx 650 Ti 1GB
Processor: AMD fx-6100
Mainboard: ASUS M5A78l-M/USB3
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard:
PSU: CX500
Default 05-07-2013, 19:13 | posts: 11 | Location: London

could it be my CPU ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 580 (Agua)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 05-07-2013, 20:06 | posts: 7,999 | Location: UK

you could check you have the latest mobo(bios)+chipset drivers.

also is there a feature in bios re power saving features i.e a setting that will stop the cpu from running in a low power state (gen means lower cpu speed when the pc is in idle). generally these are on by default and unless u change them might still be working.

i.e mine i turned off something called eist/c1e (i think, cant rem) which means i run at 4ghz 24/7.

worth running an hd checking tool as well.

http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/hd_tune_2_50.html

Last edited by mitzi76; 05-07-2013 at 20:09.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
ricardonuno1980
Ancient Guru
 
ricardonuno1980's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 3GB :D
Processor: i5-2500K@4.5GHz CM212EVO
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 REV 3.0
Memory: HyperX 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: NOX 1000W
Default 05-07-2013, 22:40 | posts: 4,084 | Location: Carvalhos (Gaia)

Heavily explosion and/or smoke may cause fps dropped on GPU only or multiplayer on CPU only.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
ricardonuno1980
Ancient Guru
 
ricardonuno1980's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 3GB :D
Processor: i5-2500K@4.5GHz CM212EVO
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 REV 3.0
Memory: HyperX 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: NOX 1000W
Default 05-07-2013, 22:44 | posts: 4,084 | Location: Carvalhos (Gaia)

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Did you try to force prefer max performance in nvidia control panel game profile by each game that's causing it?
I always use adaptive performance (AP) to be fine because AP doesn't have any fail.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
The General
Ancient Guru
 
The General's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNYGTX 5501GB
Processor: Intel Q6600
Mainboard: HP Cheap
Memory: DDR2 4GB
Soundcard: Headphones
PSU: 550W
Default 05-08-2013, 04:58 | posts: 2,940 | Location: MD/CA

Wait a min, you have a six core and a 650 and you play games at medium settings at that resolution? I have a Q6600 and 550 ti and i can play games at 1600x900 max.

Fire, why do you have all those programs running when gaming, make sure nothing is running in the background, that sounds like the problem you're having.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
FiRe_TeMpLaR
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Gtx 650 Ti 1GB
Processor: AMD fx-6100
Mainboard: ASUS M5A78l-M/USB3
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard:
PSU: CX500
Default 05-08-2013, 07:26 | posts: 11 | Location: London

I need origin to run the game otherwise it doesnt work because it is BF3
Closed all programs framerate doesnt drop as much
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
ricardonuno1980
Ancient Guru
 
ricardonuno1980's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 3GB :D
Processor: i5-2500K@4.5GHz CM212EVO
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 REV 3.0
Memory: HyperX 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: NOX 1000W
Default 05-08-2013, 12:49 | posts: 4,084 | Location: Carvalhos (Gaia)

Do you not appear explosion and/or smoke when frame rate is dropping??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Hugo Sanchez
Banned
 
Videocard: AMD/nVidia
Processor: AMD/Intel
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 420W
Default 05-08-2013, 13:07 | posts: 87 | Location: US

Quote:
Originally Posted by FiRe_TeMpLaR View Post
could it be my CPU ?
No, that is not even remotely close to behavior your system should have even on highest settings at that resolution.

It is most probably caused by software/drivers you have.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Unyonface
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 SC ACX
Processor: Phenom II X4 955BE@3.5GHz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: 6 Gigs DDR3@1333MHz
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek 7.1
PSU: Antec 650
Default 05-08-2013, 17:50 | posts: 71 | Location: Houston

Quote:
Originally Posted by FiRe_TeMpLaR View Post
Gpu usage is not going over 65%
Temperature always 52
so i don't think it is my GPU
What about your GPU downclocking, did you see that happen on MSI Afterburner?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
The General
Ancient Guru
 
The General's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNYGTX 5501GB
Processor: Intel Q6600
Mainboard: HP Cheap
Memory: DDR2 4GB
Soundcard: Headphones
PSU: 550W
Default 05-08-2013, 19:27 | posts: 2,940 | Location: MD/CA

Well he said the frame rate doesn't drop as much, but i am curious to why he is playing games with those specs at such low settings. He's playing BF3 at medium settings at 1360?I am playing BF3 at Ultra max at 1366x768, i can even play the game at 1600x900 if i wanted at ultra settings with no AA. and get 40-60 frames. With this specs he should be playing BF3 at 1600x900 ultra with AA without any issues.

So i am a bit confused to what is going on with his rig. Unless its the GPU that is bottlenecking that CPU or something or the other way around. Also make sure nothing is bottlenecking your computer, like controllers or anything else.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7 @ 1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 05-08-2013, 19:44 | posts: 7,635 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricardonuno1980 View Post
I always use adaptive performance (AP) to be fine because AP doesn't have any fail.
Fail like what?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-08-2013, 19:49 | posts: 26,209 | Location: Hampshire UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by The General View Post
Wait a min, you have a six core and a 650 and you play games at medium settings at that resolution? I have a Q6600 and 550 ti and i can play games at 1600x900 max.
Of course you can
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
framedrops, gpu, stuttering, upgrading

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.