Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
High End gaming setup help needed please
Old
  (#1)
LeVarren
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7990 and 7970
Processor: i7 4470k
Mainboard: gigabyte z87 sniper g1
Memory: Dominator 2 x 8gb 2400
Soundcard: logitech 7.1 headphones
PSU: Seasonic 1350 gold
Default High End gaming setup help needed please - 05-07-2013, 05:07 | posts: 19 | Location: WA

Hi
I recently became hooked on Battlefield 3, and as i have always been an eyecandy freak
I don't drink or smoke so i splashed out on a new Sapphire 7970 vapor x 6gb and 3 x 27 inch monitors which are the hi res so im running 7680 x 1440.

I now need more power ! so i will be crossfireing another 7970 6gb to take advantage of the hi res monitors. (which currently set at medium graphics quality in BF3 multiplayer, of course i can go higher but this setting at this res allows me 50-60 fps)
But i would like to set the in game settings to at least high.
So i think that extra ram does come in handy when running eyefinity.

The help i need is what mother board and coolerf or chip set to buy to really enhance these two cards in crossfire.

Im considering Gigabyte Z77X-UP7 Motherboard
But im not entirely certain if this board will accomodate two 7970 vapor x s as they take up 3 standard slots each !
with the new i7 oced to 4.6 ? correct ?
also can someone recommend a chip cooler ?

Any thoughts and suggestion swould be much appreciated.

Last edited by LeVarren; 05-07-2013 at 05:14.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 05-07-2013, 05:16 | posts: 3,741 | Location: Australia

Update your sig It helps to know the rest of your system so recommendations can be made elsewhere if required. Obviously your video card isn't a 920 @ 3.6Ghz, and that can't be your CPU either since you have a Z77 board!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
LeVarren
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7990 and 7970
Processor: i7 4470k
Mainboard: gigabyte z87 sniper g1
Memory: Dominator 2 x 8gb 2400
Soundcard: logitech 7.1 headphones
PSU: Seasonic 1350 gold
Default 05-07-2013, 06:04 | posts: 19 | Location: WA

oh bugger ! thanks will do ..i dont have a z77 mobo i have a gigabyte udp x58 i think !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Ji1986
Maha Guru
 
Ji1986's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX670 OC SLI
Processor: Intel I7 3930K @4.6ghz
Mainboard: ASUS X79 PRO
Memory: G-Skill RipjawZ 16G
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: Silverstone 1000W
Default 05-07-2013, 06:56 | posts: 855 | Location: Australia

Need to know which cpu your are using, is it for the X58 board or the Z77.
how much ram are you running?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
LeVarren
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7990 and 7970
Processor: i7 4470k
Mainboard: gigabyte z87 sniper g1
Memory: Dominator 2 x 8gb 2400
Soundcard: logitech 7.1 headphones
PSU: Seasonic 1350 gold
Default 05-07-2013, 08:21 | posts: 19 | Location: WA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ji1986 View Post
Need to know which cpu your are using, is it for the X58 board or the Z77.
how much ram are you running?
as i need to upgrade my mobo to accomodate two 7970 i thought i may as well upgrade my chip ....pointless?
If i could somehow get the cards to fit on my x58 i woould probably do that but the one card covers the last PCI slot
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 05-07-2013, 13:18 | posts: 3,741 | Location: Australia

If you can't fit the cards you will need to upgrade! Thing is, now is a bad time to upgrade to Ivy, I would definitely wait until Haswell comes out and upgrade to that instead (better overclocking, supposedly, AVX2).

1333 RAM will be detrimental to performance to a small extent, if you want to upgrade the motherboard sell you 1333 RAM and try and get 2133 RAM instead. Not sure how Haswell will respond to different RAM speeds, but Ivy 'works best' with 2133. It doesn't affect framerates too much in normal gaming, but future games once the Xbox ports come out may have advantage if their memory use is heavier. For BF3 and other games in the foreseeable future, 16gb (2x8gb) of at least ddr3-2133 RAM would be more advantageous than 32GB of 1333 RAM.

Since you are talking about BF3, and most likely BF4 later on, the i7-4770K Haswell (or whatever the equivalent of the i7-3770K is) will give you advantage over an i5-3570K due to the threading optimisation.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
LeVarren
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7990 and 7970
Processor: i7 4470k
Mainboard: gigabyte z87 sniper g1
Memory: Dominator 2 x 8gb 2400
Soundcard: logitech 7.1 headphones
PSU: Seasonic 1350 gold
Default 05-08-2013, 02:05 | posts: 19 | Location: WA

Thanks ThatGuy91 awseome information.
do we know when the release dat efor this Haswell ? what mother board will it require ? the x78 or z77 ...i guessi could google these things ..but where is teh fun and personality in that ?
Thanks again !

Just read a little about the HAswell chip, it sounds like its got better on board graphics capabilities and better power consumption (idela for lappies), which when i have 2 x 7970 seems a bit redundant ?

Perhaps teh Ivy bridge with the lower price tag will still be a more viable option.?

Last edited by LeVarren; 05-08-2013 at 02:19. Reason: more info
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 05-08-2013, 10:02 | posts: 3,741 | Location: Australia

Ivy is unlikely to drop too much in price.

Haswell CPU's fit into a new socket called 'Socket 1150', and require new motherboards.These motherboards are z87. Some pics have been posted in the last couple of days on this forum of a couple of the Asus z87 boards and of the Asrock z87 boards.

The onboard graphics will by no means come close to one HD7970, let alone two! So certainly won't make 2xHD7970s redundant. If Lucid MVP actually worked reliably, and is available on z87 boards, then the new Intel graphics may be of benefit even with your HD7970's, but like I said it hasn't had the best track record. Good principle, less than good execution! It all comes down to your budget. If you had to budget for either Haswell i7-4770k+z87 board+2x8gb DDR3-2133 RAM or a new HD7970, Haswell would be the way to go! Of course, you could then sell your existing hardware and put that towards a second HD7970. I believe that even if you could run 2xHD7970 cards you won't get the full benefit of 2xHD7970's in Crossfire using your current system.

BTW, Ivy's typically get around 4.4Ghz (I believe) reliably, although some people have been unlucky and only been able to get 4.2Ghz or even less :S. Running 4.6Ghz is actually significantly harder to get due to voltages and heat.

All depends on how much you can spend, what Haswell actually costs, and what you can get for your existing hardware.

Last edited by thatguy91; 05-08-2013 at 10:13.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
LeVarren
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7990 and 7970
Processor: i7 4470k
Mainboard: gigabyte z87 sniper g1
Memory: Dominator 2 x 8gb 2400
Soundcard: logitech 7.1 headphones
PSU: Seasonic 1350 gold
Default 05-08-2013, 10:07 | posts: 19 | Location: WA

any idea what the Haswell and this new mother board is going to cost ?
There is a ceiling to my build im thinking $1500 that including the second 7970 which on mwav i can get for 600
so $900 for new chip, cooler, and mother board....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 05-08-2013, 10:16 | posts: 3,741 | Location: Australia

Excuse my language, but you should be able to sh!t it in! with a couple of hundred or so to spare (even when considering 2x8GB DDR3-2133 RAM).

Leaked prices of the i7-4770k suggests around $368, although some places maybe a bit cheaper than that on release. Motherboard will probably be $180 for a good one (although you can get enthusiast boards that cost a lot more), and DDR-2133 $139. Haswell may benefit from even faster RAM, but DDR3-2133 is most likely still the 'sweet spot'. 2x8gb DDR3-2400 RAM is $154.

So, even if you went $240 for a high end board, and DDR3-2400, it still comes to $762 with the CPU included. If you add a high end cooler to that, you still come under $900.

Last edited by thatguy91; 05-08-2013 at 10:22.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-08-2013, 11:56 | posts: 25,819 | Location: Hampshire UK

I would suggest you get a soundcard. All this money spent on gear and you are neglecting sound output completely.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 05-08-2013, 12:52 | posts: 3,741 | Location: Australia

If he gets for instance, an Asrock z87 Extreme 6 board that has the 'purity sound' on it, probably won't need an additional sound card. Sure, a good sound card would still be better, but you have to justify the cost. Apparently with the new EM shielding, new codec, new headphone amplifier, and new circuit design it's supposed to be superior to current onboard sound solutions.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-08-2013, 14:17 | posts: 25,819 | Location: Hampshire UK

Yeah, but he's building a monster rig. Soundcard would be justified.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 05-08-2013, 17:26 | posts: 17,857 | Location: New Jersey, USA

On board sound sucks the big one and swallows too. Yuck
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 05-08-2013, 17:32 | posts: 25,819 | Location: Hampshire UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
On board sound sucks the big one and swallows too. Yuck
yeah. in a cheap budget build it's ok but I hate seeing monster rigs with onboard sound.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
kens30
Maha Guru
 
kens30's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus DC2-OC 2gb GTX770
Processor: 2700K 4.7 HT / H100
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe
Memory: Corsair 1866 16gb
Soundcard: Optical out+Sony amp 5.1
PSU: Corsair AX860 Platinum
Default 05-08-2013, 19:06 | posts: 867 | Location: Greece/Australia

Just a question regarding buying a sound card for his new build..I am using onboard sound but i have it connected through the optical output on my mobo directly to my amplifier with good quality home theater speakers and the sound quality is awesome.My question is if you have your mobo sound connected like that doesn't that bypass the onboard sound chips and sends the audio signal directly to the amp which does all the processing? So a good sound card connected directly to speakers makes the quality difference. Am i wrong???
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
LeVarren
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7990 and 7970
Processor: i7 4470k
Mainboard: gigabyte z87 sniper g1
Memory: Dominator 2 x 8gb 2400
Soundcard: logitech 7.1 headphones
PSU: Seasonic 1350 gold
Default 05-09-2013, 02:10 | posts: 19 | Location: WA

great comments guys ! thanks =)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
LeVarren
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7990 and 7970
Processor: i7 4470k
Mainboard: gigabyte z87 sniper g1
Memory: Dominator 2 x 8gb 2400
Soundcard: logitech 7.1 headphones
PSU: Seasonic 1350 gold
Default 05-09-2013, 03:10 | posts: 19 | Location: WA

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
I would suggest you get a soundcard. All this money spent on gear and you are neglecting sound output completely.
Can you recommend a sound card ?
I am using mainly 7.1 headset namely logitech g920

ta !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
sverek
Maha Guru
 
sverek's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Ven. 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 05-09-2013, 03:45 | posts: 1,428 | Location: Japan, Soka

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeVarren View Post
Can you recommend a sound card ?
I am using mainly 7.1 headset namely logitech g920

ta !
you don't need soundcard for a headset, since headset has it own prebuilt soundcard. That why its using USB port to receive digital signal.

You need soundcard to output high quality analog signal. Good headphones (not headset) will justify good soundcard.

From personal experience, good headphones paired with good soundcard by far superior than any given headsets. 5.1 or 7.1 headsets become just a joke.



Last edited by sverek; 05-09-2013 at 03:55.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
sverek
Maha Guru
 
sverek's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Ven. 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 05-09-2013, 03:55 | posts: 1,428 | Location: Japan, Soka

Quote:
Originally Posted by kens30 View Post
Just a question regarding buying a sound card for his new build..I am using onboard sound but i have it connected through the optical output on my mobo directly to my amplifier with good quality home theater speakers and the sound quality is awesome.My question is if you have your mobo sound connected like that doesn't that bypass the onboard sound chips and sends the audio signal directly to the amp which does all the processing? So a good sound card connected directly to speakers makes the quality difference. Am i wrong???
Soundcard can't drive speakers alone, you will need amplifier to boost signal. If your amplifier can receive analog signal from soundcard, just amplify it and pass it to speakers, you might have better audio quality.

However it you already have a good DAC in your amplifier, I don't think it will be worth it.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
mikeysg
Maha Guru
 
mikeysg's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x Sapp R9 290X CF H20
Processor: i7 3960X + Corsair H100
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 4x 4GB Corsair DP 2133mhz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZX/Z-5500
PSU: Seasonic X-1250
Default 05-09-2013, 04:12 | posts: 1,838 | Location: Babylon 5

I don't think a soundcard is necessary in light of modern onboard audio, which can deliver on the sound front. I used to be one of those who'd feel a system is incomplete w/o a soundcard, I've since changed my mind with the boards I am using now. My Crosshair V Formula comes with SB X-Fi MB2, and it sounds pretty good to me, but then, I'm really pushing it 5.1 wise as I have it hooked up to my Klipsch PM2.1, it sounds pretty darn good.....to me anyway, though I don't profess to be an audio guy. The 5.1 (up to 7.1 HD Audio) support on my Rampage IV Extreme is pretty good, for games and movies in 5.1 (using a Z-5500) and audio in 2.1. Although my 3rd rig has decent onboard audio as well, Maximus II Formula with SB X-Fi MB, I've replaced it with my old Auzen X-Fi Forte because I need the coax digital output to hook it up to my Z-5500 for DTS Connect 5.1 gaming and movies.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Corrupt^
Ancient Guru
 
Corrupt^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX770 - G2773HS
Processor: Core i7 2600K 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67-UD4-B3
Memory: Corsair DDR3 16GB 1600
Soundcard: Essence ST - Sennh. HD650
PSU: Antec Truepower 850W
Default 05-09-2013, 04:13 | posts: 5,328 | Location: Belgium

But if you ever do plan on getting a soundcard with a main focus on headphones... ASUS Essence soundcards are the way to go.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
LeVarren
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7990 and 7970
Processor: i7 4470k
Mainboard: gigabyte z87 sniper g1
Memory: Dominator 2 x 8gb 2400
Soundcard: logitech 7.1 headphones
PSU: Seasonic 1350 gold
Default 05-09-2013, 07:02 | posts: 19 | Location: WA

sweet thanks, just thought i would mention my my g920 sound awesome ...but hat mayeb becuase i have no direct comparison. However the virtual surround is pretty damn good i can hear wheer the tanks ae and when they pass..i can generally hear footsteps and be looking in the right direction when the dude appears.


Thinking about it do you reckon im going to need to ugrade my 850Watt Corsair PSU ? ..i hope not ! its brand new !

Last edited by LeVarren; 05-09-2013 at 07:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
mikeysg
Maha Guru
 
mikeysg's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x Sapp R9 290X CF H20
Processor: i7 3960X + Corsair H100
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 4x 4GB Corsair DP 2133mhz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZX/Z-5500
PSU: Seasonic X-1250
Default 05-09-2013, 09:16 | posts: 1,838 | Location: Babylon 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeVarren View Post
Thinking about it do you reckon im going to need to ugrade my 850Watt Corsair PSU ? ..i hope not ! its brand new !
I believe your Corsair 850W PSU is up to the challenge. Let me put it this way, I had a HX1050 powering the rig you see in my profile, it was dealing with the load but did vent pretty warm air from the back. Though there was no indication that the PSU couldn't handle it, I'd decided to err on the side of safety by going X-1250. That 850W Corsair unit should have no problem handling 2x HD7970's.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 05-09-2013, 09:36 | posts: 3,741 | Location: Australia

No! The 850W PSU will be fine
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.