Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Asus Z87 motherboards
Old
  (#1)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default Asus Z87 motherboards - 05-04-2013, 23:27 | posts: 8,523 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Asus posted some z87 motherboards at facebook and it looks delicious


few pics

Deluxe


Pro


Sabertooth


Maximus Extreme




Hero




Maximus




Im set for Asus z87 deluxe, although I dont fancy that gold stuff much, but it has everything i want from a mobo - good passive cooling, lots of features and quality parts and hopefully not to pricy
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 05-04-2013, 23:31 | posts: 1,822

It looks we are buying more of the same, i think SB will serve me for a long time.

They sure look nice.

Last edited by 3dPlayer; 05-04-2013 at 23:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
qwwwizx
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 680SO
Processor: Intel 2600K (5.2ghz)
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus IV Extreme
Memory: DDR3-2133, 8GB
Soundcard: Gravis Ultrasound
PSU: Enermax MaxRevo 1500
Default 05-05-2013, 01:34 | posts: 124 | Location: Copenhagen

I got a mive and an mve, and now I cant wait to get my hands on a mvie, though I am/was considering Gigabyte this time. Crappy bios on the mve was really a problem for a long time on the mve board. With latest bios it rocks.

And the Asus ROG team should also brush up the ai suite. Its just useless crap that nobody deserves be annoyed with. It really sucks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Blackops_2
Master Guru
 
Blackops_2's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classified
Processor: 3770K stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3
Memory: 16GB GSkill Ripjaws 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic X-1250 Gold
Default 05-05-2013, 02:40 | posts: 317 | Location: Mississippi

Asus and yellow eh? Interesting. If i upgrade to haswell i'll be going with the Extreme i just hope it's not 450$. If they make a maximus Formula variant this time they better include the PLX chip on it, being set with 3 PCIe slots and having to run x8/x4/x4 is BS for 300$.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-05-2013, 02:59 | posts: 24,527 | Location: NZ

Nice to see 10 SATA ports.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackops_2 View Post
Asus and yellow eh? Interesting. If i upgrade to haswell i'll be going with the Extreme i just hope it's not 450$. If they make a maximus Formula variant this time they better include the PLX chip on it, being set with 3 PCIe slots and having to run x8/x4/x4 is BS for 300$.
Why would you waste money on TriFire? Also howcome it says DDR3 2000 in your specs?

Last edited by Pill Monster; 05-05-2013 at 03:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Blackops_2
Master Guru
 
Blackops_2's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classified
Processor: 3770K stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3
Memory: 16GB GSkill Ripjaws 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic X-1250 Gold
Default 05-05-2013, 03:52 | posts: 317 | Location: Mississippi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Nice to see 10 SATA ports.

Why would you waste money on TriFire? Also howcome it says DDR3 2000 in your specs?
Technically they are Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000 sticks though they're running at 1600 7-10-8-27 i didn't know if i had the space to say that..and Denebs IMC is limited to that

As for Trifire/quadfire because I can't afford Tri/Quad Titan SLi, already have two 7970s (one of which is complete ****: XFX), and a tri/quadfire setup will run games at 3240x1920 with usually high settings (excluding Crysis 3) and maintain a 120fps for a triple portrait setup

I have a 3570k and a 800D sitting in my room for the new build coming up. Will be the biggest build i've ever attempted. But i've been wanting to do something in the realm of extreme for a couple of years. Something i can appreciate as my own. Not just another Generic build i guess. I'm holding off on the GPUs until we clarify what the 780 is. Because if it is Titan LE and i'm wrong about it being priced high and it's 599$ i'll be getting three for sure over the next 4 months.

By the end of may i hope to have these specs completed.

3570k @ 4.5ghz or better
16gb of Gskill Trident DDR3 2400 CL 9
2 Diamond 7970s @ 1200/1700. I know the one i have will do it i just don't have the cooling to contain that kind of heat right now.
BenQ XL2420T
800D
Haven't fully decided on PSU yet thinking the Seasonic platinum 1000W but if i were to get a fourth GPU down the road (i doubt it i can't hardly find reference versions now) i would need more.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
PhazeDelta1
Moderator
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 980 Gaming
Processor: Intel i7 4790k
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
Default 05-05-2013, 03:52 | posts: 13,906 | Location: USA

I thought Haswell has integrated VRMs. Why am I seeing that ugly ass heatsink next to the CPU socket?

Last edited by PhazeDelta1; 05-05-2013 at 03:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.7GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: EVGA 850w Supernova G2
Default 05-05-2013, 04:11 | posts: 7,221 | Location: Dubai

The deluxe has inbuilt wifi? Nice!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-05-2013, 04:14 | posts: 24,527 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackops_2 View Post
Technically they are Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000 sticks though they're running at 1600 7-10-8-27 i didn't know if i had the space to say that..and Denebs IMC is limited to that

As for Trifire/quadfire because I can't afford Tri/Quad Titan SLi, already have two 7970s (one of which is complete ****: XFX), and a tri/quadfire setup will run games at 3240x1920 with usually high settings (excluding Crysis 3) and maintain a 120fps for a triple portrait setup
OK, only reason I'm asking is that Tri/Quad scaling sucks and many games don't even support it.

2 GPU's would offer the best cost/performance ratio.........surely Titan SLI could handle 3 displays? Entirely up to you of course.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 05-05-2013 at 04:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Blackops_2
Master Guru
 
Blackops_2's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classified
Processor: 3770K stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3
Memory: 16GB GSkill Ripjaws 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic X-1250 Gold
Default 05-05-2013, 04:31 | posts: 317 | Location: Mississippi

Depends on the game but yeah i imagine the setup is going to be a hassle but it's something i've really wanted to try. Going to have to take my precious time with it too because it will be my first loop as well.

SLi Titans surely can but i can't afford 2000$ worth of GPUs i mean i guess i could if i saved but by the time i got that kind of money we'd be on the horizon of maxwell. I wont be buying 3-4 7970s at once i have one that works and i'm hoping XFX will give me a reference version because i'm on my fourth card from them. Frankly i'm going to demand a reference version or my money back their DD is pure crap. I've had 3 of them and they all run at the wrong clocks speeds like they're using the Black Edition Bios or something. They're supposed to be 925/1375 yet they're running at 1000/1425 sure i can downclock them but i got artifacts on all three at stock clocks. Hell the last one i got was the worst passed some benchmarks then i fired up Crysis 3 and it was horrible then i got artifacts while idling at the desktop. The DDs also don't cool the VRMs well at all. Think i learned my lesson though...stick with reference from now on.

I think for a multi-monitor 120hz setup though it would require 3 or more Titans to maintain the refresh rate, though i guess it depends on how you look at it. I know that come next December (with the launch of new consoles) the setup i build wont be maxing games at 3240x1920 but as of right now 60fps on a 75hz display isn't bad for me, it's not flawless and i still get some tearing/sutter and motion blur, but it doesn't really hinder my performance. That said anything above 75fps my monitor isn't actually displaying cause of the refresh rate, so i figured either way 120hz will be beneficial.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 05-05-2013, 06:26 | posts: 5,488 | Location: FLA,USA

The Hero looks interesting but I will be skiping haswell as I did with IB.

Last edited by Loophole35; 05-06-2013 at 01:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
ESlik
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2 EVGA Titans SLI
Processor: i7 4930K @4.4ghz.
Mainboard: Asus x79 RIVE
Memory: 16 gigs ddr3 @ 2400
Soundcard: ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 05-05-2013, 14:58 | posts: 2,069 | Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ont. CA

How does this compare to x79? I just bought the Rampage 4 Extreme,and a 3930K but I can rma it no problem if this new board is any better.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980/290X
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 05-05-2013, 15:24 | posts: 3,083 | Location: Canada

It will probably be the Pro for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Top3s
Newbie
 
Top3s's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 ACX 2 SC SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: G.Skill 4X4Gb 2400Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1000
Default 05-05-2013, 15:26 | posts: 40

Quote:
Originally Posted by ESlik View Post
How does this compare to x79? I just bought the Rampage 4 Extreme,and a 3930K but I can rma it no problem if this new board is any better.
Stick with what you've already got.X79 will serve those Titan's much better.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
ESlik
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2 EVGA Titans SLI
Processor: i7 4930K @4.4ghz.
Mainboard: Asus x79 RIVE
Memory: 16 gigs ddr3 @ 2400
Soundcard: ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 05-05-2013, 15:58 | posts: 2,069 | Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ont. CA

I'm leaning more and more to going with x79 and the 3930k. Any others here with comments? I have until Monday to decide. I want to make sure Haswell and z87 are no better for a gaming rig. Thanks guys.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-05-2013, 16:15 | posts: 24,527 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by ESlik View Post
I'm leaning more and more to going with x79 and the 3930k. Any others here with comments? I have until Monday to decide. I want to make sure Haswell and z87 are no better for a gaming rig. Thanks guys.
It's like Bulldozer vs Phenom II all over again....lol


Last edited by Pill Monster; 05-05-2013 at 16:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 05-05-2013, 16:54 | posts: 8,523 | Location: Urban`Jungle

^
This bench doesnt tell much that makes you wanna jump to any conclusions, just like that leaked Sisoft sandra (older version not supported for Haswell yet)


You will see its true power when it goes retail, I bet my left limb on that xD

Quote:
Originally Posted by rflair View Post
It will probably be the Pro for me.
Yeah me too either Deluxe or Pro, but I want better passive cooling and that extended radiator on Deluxe looks more interesting
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
ESlik
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2 EVGA Titans SLI
Processor: i7 4930K @4.4ghz.
Mainboard: Asus x79 RIVE
Memory: 16 gigs ddr3 @ 2400
Soundcard: ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 05-06-2013, 00:33 | posts: 2,069 | Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ont. CA

I would really appreciate more input,and suggestions from you guys. It's going to cost me to RMA my Rampage 4 Extreme mobo,and the 3930K. Ram too. Should I keep that configuration? Is Z87 and Haswell the way to go? Remember,I use this PC for gaming only. Thanks a ton people!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 05-06-2013, 00:50 | posts: 8,523 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Quote:
Originally Posted by ESlik View Post
I would really appreciate more input,and suggestions from you guys. It's going to cost me to RMA my Rampage 4 Extreme mobo,and the 3930K. Ram too. Should I keep that configuration? Is Z87 and Haswell the way to go? Remember,I use this PC for gaming only. Thanks a ton people!!
New buffers, with 7way execution units vs 5way with any Intel cpu atm since conroe days
bigger registers,
bigger L1 and L2,
improved HT,
improved single threaded executions because of bigger register and 7-way unit engine
new AVX2 and faster SSE executions
better multicore operation because of all the above
higher OC 5.4Ghz+

http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2013/...ok-at-haswell/

Now you decide if worth having 2 extra old cores, imo its not
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 05-06-2013, 00:51 | posts: 4,229 | Location: Australia

It's hard to say what gaming performance will be like on Haswell, but it will most likely be similar or fractionally better than Ivy at the same clockspeed. Of course, ideally get the i7 since games are beginning to be more multithreaded (and the fact that the next gen consoles have 8 logical processors, so ported games will likely to benefit from it). It should overclock better than Ivy as well, maybe some people could reach 5Ghz on water (just guessing here). Ivy also brings in AVX2 which could be beneficial for driver optimisations, if/when implemented, and even more if implemented in the games (unlikely, at least for now).

If your current system is the i7-3770k in your sig, then changing over to the i7-3930 should bring little benefit, likewise changing to Haswell will only bring small benefit as well. Those on i5-2500K or i5-3570K will get some benefit from going to an i7-4770k but it is very much a cost/benefit thing.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 (SLI soon...)
Processor: i7 4770K@4.5GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z87-GD65
Memory: 16GB Kingston HyperX Fury
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W
Default 05-06-2013, 01:08 | posts: 6,129 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
New buffers, with 7way execution units vs 5way with any Intel cpu atm since conroe days
bigger registers,
bigger L1 and L2,
improved HT,
improved single threaded executions because of bigger register and 7-way unit engine
new AVX2 and faster SSE executions
better multicore operation because of all the above
higher OC 5.4Ghz+

http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2013/...ok-at-haswell/

Now you decide if worth having 2 extra old cores, imo its not
This just gave me a slight boner
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
ESlik
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2 EVGA Titans SLI
Processor: i7 4930K @4.4ghz.
Mainboard: Asus x79 RIVE
Memory: 16 gigs ddr3 @ 2400
Soundcard: ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 05-06-2013, 01:22 | posts: 2,069 | Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ont. CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
This just gave me a slight boner
Gave me a headache. Now I'm more unsure what the hell to do.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
PhazeDelta1
Moderator
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 980 Gaming
Processor: Intel i7 4790k
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
Default 05-06-2013, 01:28 | posts: 13,906 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ESlik View Post
Gave me a headache. Now I'm more unsure what the hell to do.
Flip a coin

Heads: keep what you got
Tails: go with the Haswell

It's that simple.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
ESlik
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2 EVGA Titans SLI
Processor: i7 4930K @4.4ghz.
Mainboard: Asus x79 RIVE
Memory: 16 gigs ddr3 @ 2400
Soundcard: ROG Xonar Phoebus
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 05-06-2013, 02:08 | posts: 2,069 | Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ont. CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
Flip a coin

Heads: keep what you got
Tails: go with the Haswell

It's that simple.
That's exactly what I just did. I'm keeping x79. Thank you very much. It really was that easy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 05-06-2013, 02:22 | posts: 7,512 | Location: GTA, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Nice to see 10 SATA ports.

Why would you waste money on TriFire? Also howcome it says DDR3 2000 in your specs?
Indeed, 10 should be standard on all high-end motherboards. He has the same problem I do, he can't get the full 2000 out of it, I use 182x22 so my RAM can either be set to 1820 or 2184. It isn't stable with the same low voltage if I set it to 200x20 or 191x21 to get the full 2000 or 1910 out of the RAM.

I seriously doubt I'm going to go anything aside from Gigabyte unless Asrock manages to spit out something amazing for the price like they apparently did last gen. Even if they do I'd be still hesitant, I've never had a Gigabyte board die and they always OC well. I have had Asrock boards die, but at the time it was from the batches of exploding electrolytic caps, they were owned by Asus at the time.

Last edited by Neo Cyrus; 05-06-2013 at 02:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.