Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications 
Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications  Want to overclock that processor, videocard or even mainboard ? Wanna tweak the best out of your piece of hardware or have the means to design a killer case ? Get in here and pimp that rig man.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Need help ocing
Old
  (#1)
bloodfx
Member Guru
 
bloodfx's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA gtx760 4g ftw acx
Processor: Intel i7 2600k@4.6ghz-h2o
Mainboard: p8z68 deluxe bios 3603
Memory: 16gb corsair veng 1866mhz
Soundcard: soundblaster z
PSU: corsair hx1050
Default Need help ocing - 05-04-2013, 13:00 | posts: 108 | Location: plymouth

Hi is there anyone here with a p8z68 deluxe motherboard who can help me oc my i7 2600k?
I have been trying for 2 days to oc my processor with no luck, the best I can get is 3.8ghz with turbo enabled, other than that my cpu will stay at 34x and will not budge no matter what I do.
I would really appreciate some help.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
FatBoyNL
Maha Guru
 
FatBoyNL's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 TF Gaming
Processor: i7-2600K 45x100 Mugen2B
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe 3603
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill Sr-F3 1866C9
Soundcard: ZxR|RX-A1020 DT880|MT-60D
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 800W
Default 05-04-2013, 14:01 | posts: 1,308 | Location: The Netherlands

Hi there, it should not be that difficult. Could be a BIOS issue as I've seen before with a Gen3 version of the board. Resetting everything worked.

I would first reset the current BIOS to defaults, save & reboot, flash to the latest BIOS available, save and reboot and reset the BIOS to defaults again.

Reboot once more and see if CPU behaves properly now. The Deluxe should run all 4 cores of your 2600K at 3.8GHz by default (with the compliments of ASUS). If all seems well, you can start to overclock.

Wat OS are you using and what software tools to check for speeds, temps, volts and such?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
bloodfx
Member Guru
 
bloodfx's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA gtx760 4g ftw acx
Processor: Intel i7 2600k@4.6ghz-h2o
Mainboard: p8z68 deluxe bios 3603
Memory: 16gb corsair veng 1866mhz
Soundcard: soundblaster z
PSU: corsair hx1050
Default 05-04-2013, 14:10 | posts: 108 | Location: plymouth

yea i can run at 3.8ghz no problem thats the default turbo settings, my problem is getting the cpu to go faster than 3.8, it just won't do it.

I,ve adjust cpu ratio to 40x and turbo ratio, it just seems they do nothing, even though it shows the speed inside the bios it should be going at.

I,m using ai suite 2 and cpu-z, along with prime95 and intelburntest.

Running windows 8 x64 pro, 16gb corsair vengance, corsair hx1050 psu, bios 3603.

Yea I've reflashed bios and reset several times, but still does the same.

Last edited by bloodfx; 05-04-2013 at 14:16.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
FatBoyNL
Maha Guru
 
FatBoyNL's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 TF Gaming
Processor: i7-2600K 45x100 Mugen2B
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe 3603
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill Sr-F3 1866C9
Soundcard: ZxR|RX-A1020 DT880|MT-60D
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 800W
Default 05-04-2013, 14:32 | posts: 1,308 | Location: The Netherlands

Could be that AI suite is playing tricks by reverting BIOS OC to defaults again after it starts automatically with windows. I used only BIOS settings to OC and installed only Fan Xpert from the suite installation options at first.

Where did you find a proper AI Suite II for your mobo? I ask that as ASUS didn't release a new AI Suite II lately for that particular mobo.

EDIT: for a minor OC of 40x100 you only need to adjust the "By All Cores (Can Adjust in OS)" setting from "Auto" to "40" in BIOS after setting "AI Overclock Tuner" to "Manual" or better yet "XMP". Nothing else is needed iirc.

Last edited by FatBoyNL; 05-04-2013 at 14:37.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
bloodfx
Member Guru
 
bloodfx's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA gtx760 4g ftw acx
Processor: Intel i7 2600k@4.6ghz-h2o
Mainboard: p8z68 deluxe bios 3603
Memory: 16gb corsair veng 1866mhz
Soundcard: soundblaster z
PSU: corsair hx1050
Default 05-04-2013, 14:45 | posts: 108 | Location: plymouth

Sorry my fault for lack of info, I used ai suite 2 fan expert and cpu temp/frequency senors only.

I did the all the ocing from bios only and I did what you said with ratios yesterday it does not work.
I also read you can oc k's with turbo disabled which is what i want to do, but like I said the cpu multiplier will not go past 34x and when I say it won't go past 34x I mean it shows as 34x 24/7 in cpu-z even though its set to 40x in the bios.

Just noticed something odd, when i do fresh restart and run cpu-z it shows my cpu at 4.3ghz for a couple of seconds then goes down to 3.4ghz.
It stays like that even if i run prime 95 or ibt at 100% cpu load.

Weird huh ? throttling issue?

Last edited by bloodfx; 05-04-2013 at 15:02.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
FatBoyNL
Maha Guru
 
FatBoyNL's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 TF Gaming
Processor: i7-2600K 45x100 Mugen2B
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe 3603
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill Sr-F3 1866C9
Soundcard: ZxR|RX-A1020 DT880|MT-60D
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 800W
Default 05-04-2013, 15:05 | posts: 1,308 | Location: The Netherlands

Did you change anything in the BIOS CPU configuration? I mean speedstep, C-states, etc.

EDIT: oh and tbh, there is absolutely no need to disable Turbo and such. You should just leave it on.

Last edited by FatBoyNL; 05-04-2013 at 15:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
bloodfx
Member Guru
 
bloodfx's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA gtx760 4g ftw acx
Processor: Intel i7 2600k@4.6ghz-h2o
Mainboard: p8z68 deluxe bios 3603
Memory: 16gb corsair veng 1866mhz
Soundcard: soundblaster z
PSU: corsair hx1050
Default 05-04-2013, 15:11 | posts: 108 | Location: plymouth

No I changed nothing, after reading a few guides the say to leave cstates on, on asus boards. I have speedstep on, c1 on, c3/c6 on.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
FatBoyNL
Maha Guru
 
FatBoyNL's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 TF Gaming
Processor: i7-2600K 45x100 Mugen2B
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe 3603
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill Sr-F3 1866C9
Soundcard: ZxR|RX-A1020 DT880|MT-60D
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 800W
Default 05-04-2013, 15:19 | posts: 1,308 | Location: The Netherlands

Do you have RealTemp installed btw? Just found this: http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/...g-5ghz-voltage

EDIT: it seems as like some program is resetting Turbo to CPU defaults on your setup. On that mobo, it should show 38x as default Turbo, not 34x.

Last edited by FatBoyNL; 05-04-2013 at 15:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
bloodfx
Member Guru
 
bloodfx's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA gtx760 4g ftw acx
Processor: Intel i7 2600k@4.6ghz-h2o
Mainboard: p8z68 deluxe bios 3603
Memory: 16gb corsair veng 1866mhz
Soundcard: soundblaster z
PSU: corsair hx1050
Default 05-04-2013, 15:28 | posts: 108 | Location: plymouth

Haha wtf, your a diamond mate. Thanks alot buddy.
So realtemp is throttling my cpu?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
FatBoyNL
Maha Guru
 
FatBoyNL's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 TF Gaming
Processor: i7-2600K 45x100 Mugen2B
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe 3603
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill Sr-F3 1866C9
Soundcard: ZxR|RX-A1020 DT880|MT-60D
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 800W
Default 05-04-2013, 15:55 | posts: 1,308 | Location: The Netherlands

Ur welcome
Glad you found the culprit. Just read the thread I posted. It should be somewhere in the settings configuration of RealTemp

Does it work properly now? You should probably get a custom CPU cooler to get over 40x100 safely. If you already got one, you can go up to 44x100 without changing anything in BIOS except for the multiplier.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
bloodfx
Member Guru
 
bloodfx's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA gtx760 4g ftw acx
Processor: Intel i7 2600k@4.6ghz-h2o
Mainboard: p8z68 deluxe bios 3603
Memory: 16gb corsair veng 1866mhz
Soundcard: soundblaster z
PSU: corsair hx1050
Default 05-04-2013, 18:59 | posts: 108 | Location: plymouth

Yea its working ok now, I,m testing 4.3ghz but failing. ><
I have a artic cooling freezer 13 with arctic silver paste, is that ok?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
FatBoyNL
Maha Guru
 
FatBoyNL's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 TF Gaming
Processor: i7-2600K 45x100 Mugen2B
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe 3603
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill Sr-F3 1866C9
Soundcard: ZxR|RX-A1020 DT880|MT-60D
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 800W
Default 05-05-2013, 00:02 | posts: 1,308 | Location: The Netherlands

Then I'd settle with 'just' 42x for now
Bummer, but it seems to be a sweet spot then. If you can confirm 42x is stable anyway :S

After a few days (or maybe even weeks) you'll find out if it's completely stable (for your likings anyway). Try lots of games and other demanding stuff like 3Dmark and other test tools. IntelBurnTest is OK for stability checks and more important imho, temp checks.

So I'd set a stable baseline and go from there.
Good luck!

EDIT: I'm sorry I'm not familiar with that specific cooler. It should be OK though even after the BS Hardocp review I just read

Last edited by FatBoyNL; 05-05-2013 at 00:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
bloodfx
Member Guru
 
bloodfx's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA gtx760 4g ftw acx
Processor: Intel i7 2600k@4.6ghz-h2o
Mainboard: p8z68 deluxe bios 3603
Memory: 16gb corsair veng 1866mhz
Soundcard: soundblaster z
PSU: corsair hx1050
Default 05-05-2013, 10:22 | posts: 108 | Location: plymouth

Well I am testing 4.4 now at 1.256 to 1.275v stable offset mode with 3 hours blend 3 hours fft and 2 hours ibt at maximum, also temps reached 68c to 71 max.

Is that ok?
Sorry I read voltage wrong its 1.334 to 1.344, but I,m lower the offset voltage by 0.05 increments till it crashes, so i can keep heat low as possible. ><

Last edited by bloodfx; 05-05-2013 at 13:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
angmar
Maha Guru
 
angmar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X Tri-X
Processor: i7 3770k@ 4.7ghz h20
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Mushkin DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: OCZ 600 Watt 80 Plus
Default 05-05-2013, 20:54 | posts: 1,136 | Location: Monmouth County, NJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by bloodfx View Post
Well I am testing 4.4 now at 1.256 to 1.275v stable offset mode with 3 hours blend 3 hours fft and 2 hours ibt at maximum, also temps reached 68c to 71 max.

Is that ok?
Sorry I read voltage wrong its 1.334 to 1.344, but I,m lower the offset voltage by 0.05 increments till it crashes, so i can keep heat low as possible. ><
Sandybridge is perfectly safe up to 1.4 as long as your temps are not high. I.E. less then 80c if your temps are from 75c or lower the safer it is to run voltages around that. If your already running 80+c don't add more voltage even though it wont break the cpu it will start to reduce its lifespan slightly although even still you will most likely have replaced it long before its ever in danger of failing. I had a 2500k that was oc'd with 1.4v that was a pc running 24/7 as a gaming/folding main pc although my temps were always no more then in the 60s at peak.

I had pretty much the same moherboard as you so I can really help you tweak that if you want add me on skype and I can get on the horn with you and really get you setup good. Add me on skype my username is Angmarr3

Last edited by angmar; 05-05-2013 at 20:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
bloodfx
Member Guru
 
bloodfx's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA gtx760 4g ftw acx
Processor: Intel i7 2600k@4.6ghz-h2o
Mainboard: p8z68 deluxe bios 3603
Memory: 16gb corsair veng 1866mhz
Soundcard: soundblaster z
PSU: corsair hx1050
Default 05-07-2013, 13:57 | posts: 108 | Location: plymouth

Just bought a corsair h110 and some ic diamond 24 paste, that should help the oc now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
bloodfx
Member Guru
 
bloodfx's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA gtx760 4g ftw acx
Processor: Intel i7 2600k@4.6ghz-h2o
Mainboard: p8z68 deluxe bios 3603
Memory: 16gb corsair veng 1866mhz
Soundcard: soundblaster z
PSU: corsair hx1050
Default 05-07-2013, 16:20 | posts: 108 | Location: plymouth

Quote:
Originally Posted by angmar View Post
Sandybridge is perfectly safe up to 1.4 as long as your temps are not high. I.E. less then 80c if your temps are from 75c or lower the safer it is to run voltages around that. If your already running 80+c don't add more voltage even though it wont break the cpu it will start to reduce its lifespan slightly although even still you will most likely have replaced it long before its ever in danger of failing. I had a 2500k that was oc'd with 1.4v that was a pc running 24/7 as a gaming/folding main pc although my temps were always no more then in the 60s at peak.

I had pretty much the same moherboard as you so I can really help you tweak that if you want add me on skype and I can get on the horn with you and really get you setup good. Add me on skype my username is Angmarr3
I added you to skype btw.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.