Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD Richland Desktop APUs Photo's, launch in June
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default AMD Richland Desktop APUs Photo's, launch in June - 05-03-2013, 09:10 | posts: 21,687 | Location: Guru3D testlab

June is going to be a busy timeframe for technology websites as AMD is to launch theirĀ*AMD "Richland" APUs based on the the socket FM2 package. There will be three of the first models to ...

AMD Richland Desktop APUs Photo's, launch in June
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 05-05-2013, 06:23 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

AMD should have just skipped Richland and just go directly to a Steamroller APU. Richland is just a tweaked Piledriver CPU with GCN graphics...

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 05-05-2013, 11:50 | posts: 4,216 | Location: Australia

I agree, although it does seem the Steamroller APU's were bought forward (obviously something just 'clicked' with them in terms of development). I would have thought it be easy to change to Richland, due to it being just a tweaked Piledriver (you could consider it a stepping in some ways), and the graphics is something that just comes easy too (they're 7000 GCN series graphics, under the 8000 label).

Apparently AMD reckons the 8000 series is labelled as such due to the year of introduction, not the technology base, although I believe doing this, like with the OEM HD8000 series (rebadged HD7000 series), will just create confusion. This is especially true if they call the next desktop release GPU's as the HD8000 series, simply because a HD8970 (OEM) has nothing to do with a HD8970, which you may get in an OEM computer!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.