Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Arma 3 Alpha
Old
  (#1)
chad1073
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI X800LX
Processor: pentium 4 2.8
Mainboard: Intel
Memory: 1 gig
Soundcard: x-fi music
PSU:
Default Arma 3 Alpha - 05-02-2013, 21:14 | posts: 12

Anyone know if theres any good drivers for this game? Im using a gtx 670 Evga ftw and getting anywhere fomr 70 to 15 fps.. I know its a alpha but what setting is everyone using with the card i have and what drivers?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-850
Default 05-02-2013, 21:20 | posts: 13,453 | Location: USA

you'd have better luck posting your questions THIS thread.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
chad1073
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI X800LX
Processor: pentium 4 2.8
Mainboard: Intel
Memory: 1 gig
Soundcard: x-fi music
PSU:
Smile 05-02-2013, 21:35 | posts: 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
you'd have better luck posting your questions THIS thread.
But this is a driver question! I dont see you asking ppl to go too battlefield 3 stickys when they got a question about drivers on there game! So please dont be trying to my post has no bussiness here.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 05-02-2013, 21:46 | posts: 3,995 | Location: Australia

No, the ARMA 3 thread is where you should have posted this like PhazeDelta1 said. If everyone made a new thread asking about drivers it creates forum clutter. The other issue is that a better thread title should have been used!

Anyways to answer your question, not only is ARMA 3 in alpha/beta testing, but the drivers haven't been optimised (if required) yet for the game either. This will happen once Nvidia (and AMD) have access to the finalised game.

Graphics performance is only as good as the weakest link, so posting the rest of the system you are using, which obviously is not the one in your sig, would help greatly in people assisting you in regards to performance issues.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
angmar
Maha Guru
 
angmar's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290X Tri-X
Processor: i7 3770k@ 4.7ghz h20
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Mushkin DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: OCZ 600 Watt 80 Plus
Default 05-02-2013, 22:20 | posts: 1,131 | Location: Monmouth County, NJ

Drivers really wont help much in Arma 3 reguardless of which version you use. I have a fairly high overclocked 3770k and my gtx 680 still sits around 30-50 percent usage on max settings due to horrible cpu bottle neck with my cpu barely being used to capacity at a meager 25 percent usage. Arma engine is in dire need of better multi core processor support and alpha or not it is essentially the same engine they have been using for years with some minor tweaks so I wouldn't count on it happening this round either.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Rapyer
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 680
Processor: 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z68P8 VLX
Memory: 8GB Corsair DD3 1600hz
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 05-03-2013, 02:34 | posts: 159

arma 3 has such horrible performance i stopped playing on my pc

and if you lower settings to playable, game looks like **** with constant rendering.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Dr.Chocolate
Member Guru
 
Dr.Chocolate's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 660 OC
Processor: AMD FX-8350
Mainboard: Asrock 970 extreme3
Memory: 8gb ddr3 1333
Soundcard: 5.1 Vigoole Creative Z
PSU: Fortron Aurum Gold
Default 05-03-2013, 03:11 | posts: 143

One thing you can do is - turn of your vsync. For me it was the last drivers + turning off vsync and a different server. If the host has bad network, your game lags. If he has a faster connection it works much better. If the showcases lag, well, then you have to wait as its still alpha build. I installed the latest nvidia drivers and turned off vsync, shadows and it is ~ 25 - 60 fps, but not stable. I dont think its the main objective of the game right now to concentrate on graphics performance. Its all kinds of stuff Just have patience and wait. When you payed you did apply for participation in alpha and full game after that. So just wait
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 05-03-2013, 04:10 | posts: 3,995 | Location: Australia

I guess if there are any concerns relating to performance (like single-threadness etc), then posting the issues on the Arma III forum would be good. The whole purpose of releasing the alpha was for this purpose. Don't go asking about drivers etc, because the answer is there are no ideal drivers at the moment! The best suggestion would be to use the later driver, and use that as the basis of your discussions on their threads (in the appropriate section).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
andressergio
Maha Guru
 
andressergio's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x SLI GALAXY GTX780HOF
Processor: I4770K@48HT
Mainboard: ASUS M6E
Memory: 2x8GB TeamX 2666CL11
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic P-1000
Default 05-03-2013, 05:02 | posts: 848 | Location: Montevideo-Uruguay

I will never enter the forum of arma again i was warned cauz i was saying the truth game sux and performance no matter what pc u have is horrible when u edit the map u get 44fps...so for saying this i received a warning too many fanboys i should have put my money on BF4
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.