Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
High End GPUs Benchmarked at 4K Resolutions
Old
  (#1)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: FX-8350@4.8 H60 Corsair
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default High End GPUs Benchmarked at 4K Resolutions - 05-02-2013, 02:30 | posts: 2,185 | Location: Canada

Nice write up and high resolution videos of game play.

But of course, never as good as a GURU3D review :-)

http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Graphic...4K-Resolutions

Last edited by Watcher; 05-02-2013 at 03:51.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Blackops_2
Master Guru
 
Blackops_2's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classified
Processor: 3770K stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3
Memory: 16GB GSkill Ripjaws 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic X-1250 Gold
Default 05-02-2013, 10:19 | posts: 317 | Location: Mississippi

As the review notes we're still a good ways away from gaming at 4k on a single GPU. There is also the fact that the only 4k monitor i've seen is the Sharp PN-K321 which is supposed to retail at 5,500$ lol. For 4000$ less i can get pretty close to the same pixel count in a multi-monitor setup. Sure i'll have to deal with bezels, multi-GPU setups, and expense but it still isn't in that range of expense.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
FULMTL
Ancient Guru
 
FULMTL's Avatar
 
Videocard: AOC 27"
Processor: Intel N2830 laptop :(
Mainboard: New build later
Memory: DEAD
Soundcard: ShureSRH940+ JDS Labs C5D
PSU: DEAD
Default 05-02-2013, 11:35 | posts: 6,735 | Location: Tokyo, Japan

Is 50" too big to sit in front of? It would definitely go above eye level. Maybe take the base off and lean it against the wall to be a little more comfortable.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
kanej2007
Ancient Guru
 
kanej2007's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 580 SLI 900/1800/4200
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-VPro
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Vengeance C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra 7.1
PSU: Fractal Design R2 1000W
Default 05-02-2013, 12:42 | posts: 7,058 | Location: Dubai, UAE / London, UK

Wow, even the 6Gb Titan gpu is brought to it's knees & is getting an average of 20fps when fully maxed.

Current generation cards are not sufficient for maxing titles such as Crysis 3 & Far Cry 3.

Even SLI/Crossfire struggles. Maybe next gen cards, maybe!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
bemaniac
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 295X2
Processor: 4930K @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth X79
Memory: 8gb Geil Corsa 2133mhz
Soundcard: ZXR>RXV1073>Q500+PB2000
PSU: Silentpro Gold 1200watt
Default 05-02-2013, 12:52 | posts: 72 | Location: Portsmouth

urgh that review made me realise how bad crossfire sucks compared to sli. I'm using crossfire and I do often see 50fps but feel 20fps...........God damn them frame time drivers for the 7990 are much needed for 7970 crossfire users right now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 05-02-2013, 20:50 | posts: 5,543 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

I think some people out there are getting a little to ahead of themselves, there isnt even a single gpu that can max C3 with a decent level of AA at 1080p, and somehow people have gotten the idea into their head that the current batch can push out 4K res even in multi-gpu configuration.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ 1100/1375 H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 05-02-2013, 21:09 | posts: 3,380 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by bemaniac View Post
urgh that review made me realise how bad crossfire sucks compared to sli. I'm using crossfire and I do often see 50fps but feel 20fps...........God damn them frame time drivers for the 7990 are much needed for 7970 crossfire users right now.
The drivers are coming in June.

Why don't you use VSync? It eliminates microstutter, you get smoother gameplay even if there was no microstutter (due to syncing), you would not overwork the cards if they ran over 60FPS (they'd be capped), and you don't dip below 60FPS (since multi-GPU AFR setups work inherently similar to Triple Buffering, which keeps up FPS).

Minimize input lag by capping FPS to 60FPS using an FPS cap with MSI Afterburner or RadeonPro, and there you go.

Win-win-win-win situation IMO.

If you're still worried about VSync-induced lag at this point (you should be facing VERY minimal lag at this point), then you should also know that any microstutter fixes, from AMD or Nvidia, add a frame of delay in order to smooth things out. This means that if you were thinking of running with VSync off and microstutter optimizations on, you will still get that frame of lag you were running away from with VSync. Limitations of AFR.

So try VSync and see how it goes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
MM10X
Ancient Guru
 
MM10X's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 970 SC | X270OC
Processor: I7 3770k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77
Memory: 10GB DDR3
Soundcard: Auzentech Forte + Z-5500
PSU: Corsair HX1000w
Default 05-03-2013, 00:07 | posts: 4,184 | Location: Oakland, CA, US

I wouldn't be interested in one until they can push 96-120 hz !!

I was chatting with my buddy about this topic, I hope display resolutions continue to evolve like this- I'd rather see higher resolution at this point than higher 3d quality. Optimization for more detail would be fantastic !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Krogtheclown
Maha Guru
 
Krogtheclown's Avatar
 
Videocard: Tri 780 6000x10
Processor: i5 3570k@4.6 water
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS V EXTREME
Memory: 12GB Corsair
Soundcard: Logitech surround
PSU: 1500watt Silver Stone
Default 05-03-2013, 00:23 | posts: 935 | Location: Illinois

I use radeon Pro and do not notice any micro stutter, that doesn't mean you wont but i dont notice it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 05-03-2013, 00:35 | posts: 3,661 | Location: USA

4k gaming or hell 4k standard is LONG WAYS AWAY for gaming never mind Consoles. I say 5 years at minimum maybe more before it becomes standard
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ 1100/1375 H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 05-03-2013, 00:38 | posts: 3,380 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krogtheclown View Post
I use radeon Pro and do not notice any micro stutter, that doesn't mean you wont but i dont notice it.
There is no microstutter when using RadeonPro with the proper configs. It's not about if one notices it or not; it just isn't there.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
warlord
Master Guru
 
warlord's Avatar
 
Videocard: amd 7850 cf
Processor: i7 3770k @4.8 HT
Mainboard: Msi Mpower Z77
Memory: 32gb ddr3 geil evo
Soundcard: creative
PSU: ax1200i corsair
Default 05-03-2013, 00:54 | posts: 497

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
There is no microstutter when using RadeonPro with the proper configs. It's not about if one notices it or not; it just isn't there.
And I play games on the moon all day and all night. Come' on here we are pro, microstutter whenever you like it or not there always was, still is and will be forever with mGPU+AFR. It's just reduced with RadeonPro and DFC+TP+Vsync
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
HeavyHemi
Ancient Guru
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI TITAN SC @ 1097/3105
Processor: i7 980x 4.3 Ghz 1.35 v
Mainboard: EVGA X58 E758
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Dom 2000
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 05-03-2013, 01:24 | posts: 3,614 | Location: Wooing whilst wearing only socks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
The drivers are coming in June.

Why don't you use VSync? It eliminates microstutter, you get smoother gameplay even if there was no microstutter (due to syncing), you would not overwork the cards if they ran over 60FPS (they'd be capped), and you don't dip below 60FPS (since multi-GPU AFR setups work inherently similar to Triple Buffering, which keeps up FPS).

Minimize input lag by capping FPS to 60FPS using an FPS cap with MSI Afterburner or RadeonPro, and there you go.

Win-win-win-win situation IMO.

If you're still worried about VSync-induced lag at this point (you should be facing VERY minimal lag at this point), then you should also know that any microstutter fixes, from AMD or Nvidia, add a frame of delay in order to smooth things out. This means that if you were thinking of running with VSync off and microstutter optimizations on, you will still get that frame of lag you were running away from with VSync. Limitations of AFR.

So try VSync and see how it goes.
Vsync doesn't eliminate microstutter.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 (SLI soon...)
Processor: i7 4770K@4.5GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z87-GD65
Memory: 16GB Kingston HyperX Fury
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W
Default 05-03-2013, 01:37 | posts: 6,129 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyHemi View Post
Vsync doesn't eliminate microstutter.
THANK YOU!!!

In some cases, maybe a lot more than people think Vsync (even with triple buffering) can make micro stutter even worse. As the game engine is trying to sync the frames but those "runt frames" are still there are at hardware AND driver level the cards just simply are not synced. Using dynamic frame rate control or capping frame rates, and increasing pre rendered frames can help but then once the stutter is gone you will get mouse lag more than likely. AMD need to adopt it into a hardware level like Nvidia has done.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ 1100/1375 H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 05-03-2013, 01:40 | posts: 3,380 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by warlord View Post
And I play games on the moon all day and all night. Come' on here we are pro, microstutter whenever you like it or not there always was, still is and will be forever with mGPU+AFR. It's just reduced with RadeonPro and DFC+TP+Vsync
I talk from a practical perspective and not from a theoretical one. If the frames are perfectly synced, with each card outputting a frame every 16.67ms, with the other card half-done with the next frame, how is there practical, let alone any theoretical microstutter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyHemi View Post
Vsync doesn't eliminate microstutter.
Yes it does.

I am at 60FPS with VSync off and there is immense microstutter. I enable VSync and it's completely smooth, as smooth as a single card. If I gave you a frametime graph, with FCAT, it would be a straight line, and there's no reason it wouldn't be.

I am below 60FPS with VSync, again, immense microstutter and observed FPS is below 30. I enable RadeonPro OSD and toggle VSync on. Suddenly, observed FPS matches raw FPS.

I'm not blind.

EDIT: CPC_RedDawn, that doesn't make sense. Runt frames don't work that way. Runt frames are a result of lack of frame pacing. They are real rendered frames, and this can be proved. A benchmark that runs at slightly higher than 60FPS and exhibits runt frames can be VSynced to a constant smooth 60FPS where no frames are dropped. The frames are displayed.

For anyone who disagrees, this is personal experience and extensive testing and others have verified it. So don't discuss it if you didn't try it.

Last edited by yasamoka; 05-03-2013 at 01:47.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
HeavyHemi
Ancient Guru
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI TITAN SC @ 1097/3105
Processor: i7 980x 4.3 Ghz 1.35 v
Mainboard: EVGA X58 E758
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Dom 2000
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 05-03-2013, 01:47 | posts: 3,614 | Location: Wooing whilst wearing only socks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Yes it does.

I am at 60FPS with VSync off and there is immense microstutter. I enable VSync and it's completely smooth, as smooth as a single card. If I gave you a frametime graph, with FCAT, it would be a straight line, and there's no reason it wouldn't be.

I am below 60FPS with VSync, again, immense microstutter and observed FPS is below 30. I enable RadeonPro OSD and toggle VSync on. Suddenly, observed FPS matches raw FPS.

I'm not blind.

EDIT: CPC_RedDawn, that doesn't make sense. Runt frames don't work that way. Runt frames are a result of lack of frame pacing. They are real rendered frames, and this can be proved. A benchmark that runs at slightly higher than 60FPS and exhibits runt frames can be VSynced to a constant smooth 60FPS where no frames are dropped. The frames are displayed.

For anyone who disagrees, this is personal experience and extensive testing and others have verified it. So don't discuss it if you didn't try it.
We'll discuss what ever we like. And that's great you believe personal experience somehow applies to everyone. Vsync does not eliminate microstutter. That is a fact. Frame rate capping can do a lot to minimize it. You can argue with Nvidia and AMD about it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ 1100/1375 H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 05-03-2013, 01:49 | posts: 3,380 | Location: Lebanon

I use both VSync and frame-capping. It applies to every single game.

I'm telling you I feel the microstutter with it off, then with it on I can't distinguish the feeling from a single card. Then you tell me "you believe personal experience somehow applies to everyone". So basically another person with the same setup as mine, using the same settings, will be getting microstutter?

Should I start writing peer-reviewed articles to please you?

EDIT: Frame rate capping reduces microstutter by reducing GPU usage. VSync does the same, above 60FPS.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
HeavyHemi
Ancient Guru
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI TITAN SC @ 1097/3105
Processor: i7 980x 4.3 Ghz 1.35 v
Mainboard: EVGA X58 E758
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Dom 2000
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200
Default 05-03-2013, 01:57 | posts: 3,614 | Location: Wooing whilst wearing only socks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
I use both VSync and frame-capping. It applies to every single game.

I'm telling you I feel the microstutter with it off, then with it on I can't distinguish the feeling from a single card. Then you tell me "you believe personal experience somehow applies to everyone". So basically another person with the same setup as mine, using the same settings, will be getting microstutter?

Should I start writing peer-reviewed articles to please you?

EDIT: Frame rate capping reduces microstutter by reducing GPU usage. VSync does the same, above 60FPS.
Indeed. Combined with frame rate capping. Vsync alone does not eliminate microstutter. That is what I took issue with.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ 1100/1375 H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 05-03-2013, 02:04 | posts: 3,380 | Location: Lebanon

Oh, fine. Maybe alone it doesn't. I always use a cap anyways.

However, I still get greatly reduced / eliminated microstutter below 60FPS, VSync on, while the FPS cap is at 60FPS.

Also, this article (that convinced me to go multi-GPU):
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...2,3329-11.html

Used Dynamic FRC for AMD cards, eliminates microstutter. No VSync involved (shouldn't they call it Dynamic FRC and not Dynamic VSync?)

Used Adaptive VSync for Nvidia cards, eliminates microstutter in the places where the GTX690 was achieving those 60FPS.

Wouldn't this imply that Vsync and FPS capping both have the same effect on microstutter, at least when FPS is above the FPS cap / refresh rate?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Krogtheclown
Maha Guru
 
Krogtheclown's Avatar
 
Videocard: Tri 780 6000x10
Processor: i5 3570k@4.6 water
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS V EXTREME
Memory: 12GB Corsair
Soundcard: Logitech surround
PSU: 1500watt Silver Stone
Default 05-03-2013, 03:59 | posts: 935 | Location: Illinois

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
I use both VSync and frame-capping. It applies to every single game.

I'm telling you I feel the microstutter with it off, then with it on I can't distinguish the feeling from a single card. Then you tell me "you believe personal experience somehow applies to everyone". So basically another person with the same setup as mine, using the same settings, will be getting microstutter?

Should I start writing peer-reviewed articles to please you?

EDIT: Frame rate capping reduces microstutter by reducing GPU usage. VSync does the same, above 60FPS.
I also use frame capping, but no matter what you say someone will see it differently...which is why I say I dont notice micro stutter i'm sure others will say its there.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.