Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards Intel
Processors and motherboards Intel Is that Core 2 or i7 giving you a hard time? Enter this forum, this is all about Intel baby.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Q6600 ---> i7 950?
Old
  (#1)
EyesLikeSkies
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 4GB
Processor: i7-940 @ 3.52 GHz
Mainboard: EVGA x58 SLI
Memory: Corsair XMS3 9 GB
Soundcard: Asus DG-X PCI-e
PSU: Corsair 1000W
Default Q6600 ---> i7 950? - 05-01-2013, 23:36 | posts: 238 | Location: United States

So my media center PC is still running a trusty Q6600 OC'd to 3.0 GHz with an GTX 580 Lightning (yes I have 3 - 2 main rig 1 seperate haha) GPU. It also has 6 gigs of 800 MHz RAM on a Foxconn x38a mobo. I have the opportunity to buy an i7 950, 9 gigs of 1333 RAM on an EVGA x58 LE mobo for $250. This PC is somewhat used for gaming (LAN DotA/SC, Bioshock Inifite here and there, etc) will it be worth the 250 to upgrade?

*Side note: I have a buyer for the Q6600 system for $350*
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 05-01-2013, 23:55 | posts: 1,822

You have a buyer for your 775 q6600 system, cpu, ram and board for 350$?Sir you have sinned. LOL

With 350$ i would go with 2500k, 8GB ram and z77 all on ebay(auctions).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 05-01-2013, 23:56 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

I'd say no at $250, but as you have a buyer for your kit for $350, its a no brainer.

I would add a bit and get Ivybridge or Haswell.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 05-02-2013, 00:02 | posts: 5,982 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Yep 100% agreed with the others. For the price you are getting your Q6600 build I would go with a 2500K for cheapness, get a decent overclocking board which is literally any of them now. A Z77 board from Asrock will do nicely as they overclock well and are pretty cheap. Throw in 8GB 1600MHz RAM (no need for higher speeds really as with higher speeds you put more stress on the memory controller in the CPU limiting your overclock). Also 9GB RAM on an x58 platform is a no go, it means you wont be using triple channel as you can only have 3>6>12>24GB unless you are mixing RAM sticks and I generally say no to that as well unless they are in different channel slots. But still you have to make sure they are set to same timings/speed/voltages.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
EyesLikeSkies
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 4GB
Processor: i7-940 @ 3.52 GHz
Mainboard: EVGA x58 SLI
Memory: Corsair XMS3 9 GB
Soundcard: Asus DG-X PCI-e
PSU: Corsair 1000W
Default 05-02-2013, 00:03 | posts: 238 | Location: United States

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.noob View Post
You have a buyer for your 775 q6600 system, cpu, ram and board for 350$?Sir you have sinned. LOL

With 350$ i would go with 2500k, 8GB ram and z77 all on ebay(auctions).
Haha it's more than that. It includes a PSU, case, and GPU. She wants to play LoL on it (I about died). As for the 250, that's not a terrible price seeing as I can OC that and smoke that 2500k right?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 05-02-2013, 00:04 | posts: 1,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by EyesLikeSkies View Post
Haha it's more than that. It includes a PSU, case, and GPU. She wants to play LoL on it (I about died). As for the 250, that's not a terrible price seeing as I can OC that and smoke that 2500k right?
Wrong, cuz the 2500k can fly easily up to 4.8ghz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 05-02-2013, 00:07 | posts: 5,982 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by EyesLikeSkies View Post
Haha it's more than that. It includes a PSU, case, and GPU. She wants to play LoL on it (I about died). As for the 250, that's not a terrible price seeing as I can OC that and smoke that 2500k right?
Yes but a 2500K runs cooler, and overclocks more than a 950. Also going with a z77 platform you have the option to upgrade to a 3570k or a 3770k down the line).

The 950 being a 130w TDP and the 2500K being a 95W TDP. Lower vcore will be needed to get that chip to a high speed. Don't be fooled by the triple channel memory either it really does not help much over dual channel. Your getting a new more efficient chip, cooler chip, better overclocker, and more upgrade options as sadly the x58 platform is completely dead now. Me going from a 960 D0 to a 990X would be a complete and utter waste of money. If you get a 2500K and a decent cooler you could get upwards of 4.5GHz+ on it easily. Bear in mind the silicon lottery though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
EyesLikeSkies
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 4GB
Processor: i7-940 @ 3.52 GHz
Mainboard: EVGA x58 SLI
Memory: Corsair XMS3 9 GB
Soundcard: Asus DG-X PCI-e
PSU: Corsair 1000W
Default 05-02-2013, 00:13 | posts: 238 | Location: United States

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.noob View Post
Wrong, cuz the 2500k can fly easily up to 4.8ghz.
Yes, but can I get a 2500k setup for 250? I have plans for that extra cash (the gf is getting a shiny rock while I get a new PC )
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 05-02-2013, 00:24 | posts: 1,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by EyesLikeSkies View Post
Yes, but can I get a 2500k setup for 250? I have plans for that extra cash (the gf is getting a shiny rock while I get a new PC )
2500k, z77, 8gb, case and psu(good one) for 250$?Hmm, probably not.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
EyesLikeSkies
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 4GB
Processor: i7-940 @ 3.52 GHz
Mainboard: EVGA x58 SLI
Memory: Corsair XMS3 9 GB
Soundcard: Asus DG-X PCI-e
PSU: Corsair 1000W
Default 05-02-2013, 03:29 | posts: 238 | Location: United States

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.noob View Post
2500k, z77, 8gb, case and psu(good one) for 250$?Hmm, probably not.
I have a good case (Antec Lanboy Air) and a good PSU (Cougar 1000W) so all I need is mobo/cpu/ram. Still not doable with 250 and any extra money is going to that shiny rock like I said
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 05-02-2013, 03:36 | posts: 7,512 | Location: GTA, Canada

Keep in mind that a lot of 950s are poor binned ones that were saved until the price was cut from $600 to $300 then those were unleashed on the unsuspecting public (such as myself). I bought a Xeon just to avoid those bad batches after I bought a 950 that couldn't overclock for **** in comparison to older i7 900s which OC a lot on this board. Old 920s and 930s would max out at around 4.2-4.4GHz with my setup, the 950 couldn't reach 4GHz no matter what I did, in fact it may have not have been stable at even 3.6GHz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
EyesLikeSkies
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 4GB
Processor: i7-940 @ 3.52 GHz
Mainboard: EVGA x58 SLI
Memory: Corsair XMS3 9 GB
Soundcard: Asus DG-X PCI-e
PSU: Corsair 1000W
Default 05-02-2013, 04:01 | posts: 238 | Location: United States

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo Cyrus View Post
Keep in mind that a lot of 950s are poor binned ones that were saved until the price was cut from $600 to $300 then those were unleashed on the unsuspecting public (such as myself). I bought a Xeon just to avoid those bad batches after I bought a 950 that couldn't overclock for **** in comparison to older i7 900s which OC a lot on this board. Old 920s and 930s would max out at around 4.2-4.4GHz with my setup, the 950 couldn't reach 4GHz no matter what I did, in fact it may have not have been stable at even 3.6GHz.
The guy that has this now (a buddy of mine) has this one at 4.4 Ghz on water. I will be using an Antec Kuhler 920 on it, so I should be good. My main question is price. Also, I will be buying better ram and running 12gigs on it, so I will be using tri channel.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 05-02-2013, 14:09 | posts: 10,620 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by EyesLikeSkies View Post
The guy that has this now (a buddy of mine) has this one at 4.4 Ghz on water. I will be using an Antec Kuhler 920 on it, so I should be good. My main question is price. Also, I will be buying better ram and running 12gigs on it, so I will be using tri channel.
Just because its at 4.4, 4.6 or 5.0 ghz does not mean its stable. The only way to know is stability test it properly using stability tests.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
EyesLikeSkies
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 4GB
Processor: i7-940 @ 3.52 GHz
Mainboard: EVGA x58 SLI
Memory: Corsair XMS3 9 GB
Soundcard: Asus DG-X PCI-e
PSU: Corsair 1000W
Default 05-02-2013, 15:37 | posts: 238 | Location: United States

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Just because its at 4.4, 4.6 or 5.0 ghz does not mean its stable. The only way to know is stability test it properly using stability tests.
He runs 20 loops ultra Intel Burn Test haha...he knows his stuff pretty well So if I decide to do this, will I see a performance jump? That was my main question. For getting an upgrade and extra cash, I'm liking this deal.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
airbud7
Ancient Guru
 
airbud7's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS HD 6870
Processor: I3-2120
Mainboard: ASRock H61icafe
Memory: 8GB G.SKILL DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: PC Power&Cooling S61EPS
Default 05-02-2013, 19:45 | posts: 2,881 | Location: Evans Ga,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by EyesLikeSkies View Post
(the gf is getting a shiny rock while I get a new PC )
I would go with a Cubic Zirconia for GF and i7 3770/GTX Titan for you...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
EyesLikeSkies
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 4GB
Processor: i7-940 @ 3.52 GHz
Mainboard: EVGA x58 SLI
Memory: Corsair XMS3 9 GB
Soundcard: Asus DG-X PCI-e
PSU: Corsair 1000W
Default 05-02-2013, 20:09 | posts: 238 | Location: United States

Quote:
Originally Posted by airbud7 View Post
I would go with a Cubic Zirconia for GF and i7 3770/GTX Titan for you...
Yea because that would go over really well But everybody seems to be avoiding the question at hand. Will there be a noticeable improvement between the Q6600 and the 950?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 05-02-2013, 20:20 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

When clocked it will be a good improvement.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
airbud7
Ancient Guru
 
airbud7's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS HD 6870
Processor: I3-2120
Mainboard: ASRock H61icafe
Memory: 8GB G.SKILL DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: PC Power&Cooling S61EPS
Default 05-02-2013, 20:55 | posts: 2,881 | Location: Evans Ga,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by EyesLikeSkies View Post
Yea because that would go over really well But everybody seems to be avoiding the question at hand. Will there be a noticeable improvement between the Q6600 and the 950?
Yes...> http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/53?vs=100

Are you keeping the gtx580 from the Q6600 Rig?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 05-03-2013, 00:13 | posts: 10,620 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by EyesLikeSkies View Post
He runs 20 loops ultra Intel Burn Test haha...he knows his stuff pretty well So if I decide to do this, will I see a performance jump? That was my main question. For getting an upgrade and extra cash, I'm liking this deal.
I wouldnt call 20 passes of IBT a stable system as its dead easy to pass on X58 compared to Linx, Occt and Prime which ive stated many times on Guru3D in the past but hey each to there own. The x58 compared to your 6600 will be a massive upgrade although there really is no way forward from that cpu tbh. The socket is dead but what it does do it does it very well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
EyesLikeSkies
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 4GB
Processor: i7-940 @ 3.52 GHz
Mainboard: EVGA x58 SLI
Memory: Corsair XMS3 9 GB
Soundcard: Asus DG-X PCI-e
PSU: Corsair 1000W
Default 05-03-2013, 04:12 | posts: 238 | Location: United States

Quote:
Originally Posted by airbud7 View Post
Yes...> http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/53?vs=100

Are you keeping the gtx580 from the Q6600 Rig?
I planned on it. Why do you ask?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
airbud7
Ancient Guru
 
airbud7's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS HD 6870
Processor: I3-2120
Mainboard: ASRock H61icafe
Memory: 8GB G.SKILL DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: PC Power&Cooling S61EPS
Default 05-03-2013, 06:42 | posts: 2,881 | Location: Evans Ga,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by EyesLikeSkies View Post
I planned on it. Why do you ask?

You asked!...Not me!...

Yes an i7 950/GTX 580 is BETTER!!! than a Q6600/GTX 580 setup....

Anything else you need to know?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 05-03-2013, 07:11 | posts: 4,061 | Location: Australia

$250 is pretty much the maximum you would want to pay going by the prices on Ebay.

I'd try bargaining that price down slightly if you can.

EDIT: You're in luck, how easy is this:

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/eVGA-X58-...item1e7a46b3e7
Note: Has 12GB of DDR3-1600, so more and better RAM, and has an EVGA Extreme, not LE motherboard, so again is better./ i7-950 CPU

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/INTEL-i7-...item35c7176cfc
Note: Exact MB you are looking at, lesser CPU though, i7-930, 6GB of DDR3-1600 (not DDR3-133) but also with a Nvidia GTX260 GPU and a TItan Fenrir CPU Fan

Keep an eye on those two.

Last edited by thatguy91; 05-03-2013 at 07:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.