Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards Intel
Processors and motherboards Intel Is that Core 2 or i7 giving you a hard time? Enter this forum, this is all about Intel baby.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
My Processor Isn't Running Optimally
Old
  (#1)
JoshuaNickerson
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvdia Geoforce 9500 GT
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 800V
Default My Processor Isn't Running Optimally - 04-30-2013, 05:25 | posts: 4

Hello everyone, name's Joshua Nickerson.
Since I'm more of a straightforward person, I'll get straight into the problem I have.

My computer runs on an Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 2.66 GHz. However, I've noticed that my games, alongside other processes have become, well, rather terrible. Things that used to run quite well no longer do so, and so I've come to seek help for this situation.

Currently, my processor clocks at 1.6GHz, which is definitely not right in association with my processor's speed.

I've ran games that should have easily pushed the potential speeds of the processor, but alas, no dice.

The current motherboard I am using is a: MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO.,LTD and the system model is G31 TM-P21(MS-7529). CPU-Z states the socket of the processor is 775 LGA.

I have defragmented my hard drive, cleaned things that would have taken up processor space, and have even gone through registry cleaning. Yet my processor still clocks at 1.6GHz.

Trying to adjust core multipliers does not work for me as far as I can tell in BIOS. The minimum I can choose is 6, maximum being 8. I can over clock the amount of MHz from 200x8 to 210x8, and that's the least I can do. Anymore and overclocking fails for my processor.

So I'm wondering if any one of you could help get my computer back up to speed so my games actually work optimally. Any help is appreciated and I thank you in advance. (If anyone needs my DxDiag, I can post that).
*Edit* Few mistakes fixed.

Last edited by JoshuaNickerson; 04-30-2013 at 05:38.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
NAZ2222
Master Guru
 
NAZ2222's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 270X HAWK 2GB
Processor: Intel i5-3470@4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-LX
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GBDDR3
Soundcard: SB Z + Sennheiser HD558
PSU: XFX 750W Black Edition
Default 04-30-2013, 05:55 | posts: 341 | Location: Portugal

Hi Joshua.

Have you cheked what power plan does windows have active? (Maximum power/energy save)

You can see what is active in the control panel-energy plan or setting.

Maybe reset bios to optimal default migth help too
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
JoshuaNickerson
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvdia Geoforce 9500 GT
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 800V
Default 04-30-2013, 05:59 | posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by NAZ2222 View Post
Have you cheked what power plan does windows have active? (Maximum power/energy save)
Currently I have my windows running at Always On.

*Edit* I should also note BIOS is at optimal default because of how flustered I got from trying to solve the problem via BIOS lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
NAZ2222
Master Guru
 
NAZ2222's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 270X HAWK 2GB
Processor: Intel i5-3470@4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-LX
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GBDDR3
Soundcard: SB Z + Sennheiser HD558
PSU: XFX 750W Black Edition
Default 04-30-2013, 06:11 | posts: 341 | Location: Portugal

Do you have "speedstep" enable in bios? if so, disable.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
must_kill_ati
Maha Guru
 
must_kill_ati's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi Gaming 780 Oc
Processor: I5 3570k @4.2
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DSX
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default 04-30-2013, 06:14 | posts: 1,255 | Location: Iowa

What operating system are you using (xp - vista - win7)? How long has it been since a clean install of an os?

Have you blown the inside of the case out recently?

What games, in paticular, are causing issues?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
JoshuaNickerson
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvdia Geoforce 9500 GT
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 800V
Default 04-30-2013, 06:31 | posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by NAZ2222 View Post
Do you have "speedstep" enable in bios? if so, disable.
EIST in Bios is disabled. Still clocked at 1.6MHz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by must_kill_ati View Post
What operating system are you using (xp - vista - win7)? How long has it been since a clean install of an os?
Windows XP Service Pack 3, more specifically Windows XP Home Edition 5.1, build 2600. Been maybe about three years since I've installed it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by must_kill_ati View Post
Have you blown the inside of the case out recently?
I'll power off my computer and try that right now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by must_kill_ati View Post
What games, in paticular, are causing issues?
League of Legends, Team Fortress 2, Garry's Mod.
These three games used to run at 40+ frames constantly but now have trouble reaching 25. League has only released new character reworks alongside new characters, and not much has changed to the source engine for a complete overhaul of my system to my knowledge.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
JoshuaNickerson
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvdia Geoforce 9500 GT
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 800V
Default 04-30-2013, 07:41 | posts: 4

I went about the process of cleaning out my PC, sounds like it's running a lot better, but my processor's still clocked at 1.6 GHz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
must_kill_ati
Maha Guru
 
must_kill_ati's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi Gaming 780 Oc
Processor: I5 3570k @4.2
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DSX
PSU: Corsair 850w
Default 04-30-2013, 15:31 | posts: 1,255 | Location: Iowa

My guess is that your processor is functioning properly, that is, by downclocking when it's not being used to max capacity.
Check to see what cpu-z says when you're doing something that would tax the processor.

In your original post when you said "got slower over time", that rang a mental bell. Really old operating installs get messed up. Registries get terribly clunky, old files everywhere, etc... leading to the "slowing over time" effect.
Heat can affect the processor - it can go into a downclocked mode to save itself.

In your bios make sure you've disabled C1E and HPET.

To overclock a socket 775, if I remember correctly, you need to increase your FSB, not your cpu multiplier. Set your memory multiplier to 1:1 and increase your FrontSideBus in increments of 10-20Mhz with saves and reboots in between attempts to raise.

Please, check to make sure your processor isn't just downclocking when it's not being utilized fully before you do any major changes.

A must have - http://www.techpowerup.com/realtemp/

Last edited by must_kill_ati; 04-30-2013 at 15:35.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
intel help

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.