Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Hard Drive help
Old
  (#1)
Cartman372
Maha Guru
 
Cartman372's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 680 FTW+ 1280/7200
Processor: i5-3570K TR TRUE Black
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: mushkin 32GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Onboard + Creative 2.1
PSU: Corsair TX850W
Default Hard Drive help - 04-28-2013, 22:08 | posts: 977 | Location: Newton, NJ

Long story short, was trying to use one of my externals in a Windows 2000 virtual machine in VirtualBox and I removed it from VirtualBox without safely removing from Windows 2000.

Now when I try to use the drive on my Windows 7 machine it tells me that I need to format the drive before I can use it.

No files were moved/transferred and the drive was only in use on VirtualBox for less than a minute.

Any ideas?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
alanm
Ancient Guru
 
alanm's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI TF GTX 770
Processor: i5-3570k
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Zx
PSU: XFX Pro 750w
Default 04-29-2013, 00:37 | posts: 5,591

USB connected? With some external drives it may be USB glitches, ie, poor connectivity or glitchy drivers (esp USB3) and may tell you it needs formatting but in actuality doesnt. Happened a couple times to me with a USB3 drive. Have you tried it in other ports, ie, USB2? Do you have another PC or laptop to plug into to see if you get the same formatting message?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 04-29-2013, 00:39 | posts: 24,251 | Location: NZ

Is it USB drive? They have a tendency to do that and there's not much you can do..... Windows will tell you it was unable to complete the format even if you try.

What sort of drive is it?

Last edited by Pill Monster; 04-29-2013 at 00:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Cartman372
Maha Guru
 
Cartman372's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 680 FTW+ 1280/7200
Processor: i5-3570K TR TRUE Black
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: mushkin 32GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Onboard + Creative 2.1
PSU: Corsair TX850W
Default 04-29-2013, 00:43 | posts: 977 | Location: Newton, NJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanm View Post
USB connected? With some external drives it may be USB glitches, ie, poor connectivity or glitchy drivers (esp USB3) and may tell you it needs formatting but in actuality doesnt. Happened a couple times to me with a USB3 drive. Have you tried it in other ports, ie, USB2? Do you have another PC or laptop to plug into to see if you get the same formatting message?
It's USB 2. I'll try a different computer and see what happens.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Is it USB drive? They have a tendency to do that and there's not much you can do.....

What sort of drive is it?
Yeah it's USB, also has Firewire and eSATA ports I can use if that makes a difference. It's a Western Digital 1TB My Book.

This drive has a lot of important data on it, stuff that needs to be recovered.

Last edited by Cartman372; 04-29-2013 at 00:46.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
anticupidon
Maha Guru
 
anticupidon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD5850 Extreme
Processor: i7 860 3.6 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P7PP5D
Memory: 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: Via on-board
PSU: Corsair HX 750
Default 04-29-2013, 00:51 | posts: 2,151 | Location: far,far from home

for the data inside the WD no worries.it is still there.
acces it from a computer running live GNU/Linux like Parted Magic ,execute TestDisk choose your drive say yes press P : there is your data.
Now,to make it work again you can use some tools or some tricks,but as is remeber there is a nifty tool from Hiren Boot who will check the drive/partition and fix whatever issues it has.
good luck and keep us informed!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 04-29-2013, 00:52 | posts: 24,251 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cartman372 View Post
It's USB 2. I'll try a different computer and see what happens.



Yeah it's USB, also has Firewire and eSATA ports I can use if that makes a difference. It's a Western Digital 1TB My Book.

This drive has a lot of important data on it, stuff that needs to be recovered.
Try eSATA.
I'm surprised you're using USB connection if the drive and your board both have eSATA....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Cartman372
Maha Guru
 
Cartman372's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 680 FTW+ 1280/7200
Processor: i5-3570K TR TRUE Black
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: mushkin 32GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Onboard + Creative 2.1
PSU: Corsair TX850W
Default 04-29-2013, 00:55 | posts: 977 | Location: Newton, NJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by anticupidon View Post
for the data inside the WD no worries.it is still there.
acces it from a computer running live GNU/Linux like Parted Magic ,execute TestDisk choose your drive say yes press P : there is your data.
Now,to make it work again you can use some tools or some tricks,but as is remeber there is a nifty tool from Hiren Boot who will check the drive/partition and fix whatever issues it has.
good luck and keep us informed!
I didn't even think of using Hirens Boot CDs, I'll try that and see what happens.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Try eSATA.
I'm surprised you're using USB connection if the drive and your board both have eSATA....
I had issues years back with boot times while using eSATA so I just resorted back to using USB. Guess after I fix the partition on the drive I'll give eSATA a try again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 04-29-2013, 05:30 | posts: 24,251 | Location: NZ

OK, I take it your specs are out of date since I'm quite sure the M3A doesn't have eSATA

If it's something simple like a corrupt boot record recovering the data should be pretty straight forward.

If Hiren's doesn't do the job there's also UBCD which has some really good low level format/partition recovery tools. Just in case Windows can't access the drive.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 04-29-2013 at 05:35.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Cartman372
Maha Guru
 
Cartman372's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 680 FTW+ 1280/7200
Processor: i5-3570K TR TRUE Black
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: mushkin 32GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Onboard + Creative 2.1
PSU: Corsair TX850W
Default 04-29-2013, 05:35 | posts: 977 | Location: Newton, NJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
OK, I take it your specs are out of date since I'm quite sure the M3A doesn't have eSATA

If it's something like a corrupt MBR recovering the data should be pretty straight forward.
If Hiren's doesn't do the job there's also UBCD which has some really good low level format/partition recovery tools. Just in case Windows can't access the drive.
I haven't even started messing with the hard drive as I had a research paper to do, but this board does indeed have eSATA, albeit only one.

Now that I'm done with the paper I can try to get the hard drive back.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 04-29-2013, 05:42 | posts: 24,251 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cartman372 View Post
I haven't even started messing with the hard drive as I had a research paper to do, but this board does indeed have eSATA, albeit only one.
That's handy, must have been a decent board in it's day to have eSATA.
It's much faster than USB2 for hard drives....
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Cartman372
Maha Guru
 
Cartman372's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 680 FTW+ 1280/7200
Processor: i5-3570K TR TRUE Black
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: mushkin 32GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Onboard + Creative 2.1
PSU: Corsair TX850W
Default 04-29-2013, 06:20 | posts: 977 | Location: Newton, NJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
That's handy, must have been a decent board in it's day to have eSATA.
It's much faster than USB2 for hard drives....
I'm pretty sure it was the best AM2+ board available at the time.

If I can find my eSATA cables I'll try it again and see what happens.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Cartman372
Maha Guru
 
Cartman372's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 680 FTW+ 1280/7200
Processor: i5-3570K TR TRUE Black
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: mushkin 32GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Onboard + Creative 2.1
PSU: Corsair TX850W
Default 04-30-2013, 03:04 | posts: 977 | Location: Newton, NJ

Alright, connected with eSATA and windows ran checkdisk by itself and repaired the format. Windows now recognizes the drive as NTFS and I can sort of access it.

Here's the error message I get when I try to open the drive to view my files.



I tried changing the security/permissions on the drive, and while it appeared to change the permissions, I still have no access to it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
chinobino
Master Guru
 
chinobino's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX580 SLI
Processor: 3770K @ 4.5 GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Fatal1ty Pro
Memory: 2x4GB Corsair DDR3-2666
Soundcard: Creative Tactic3D Alpha
PSU: ENERMAX REVO 85+ 1250W
Default 04-30-2013, 07:04 | posts: 737

It looks like the MBR (Master Boot record) and/or partition structure may have been damaged.

When I have had this problem I used testdisk to fix it.

I would strongly suggest that you clone the drive in its damaged state before you attempt to fix it.

Another option is to do a sector-by-sector raw read of the data on your drive using a program such as Active Partition Recovery or Recuva to retrieve the files you want and then attempt to format the drive.

I have heard horror stories about trying to retrieve data from WD My Book Essesntials due to the hardware encryption - not sure which version you have but I would contact WD support directly for help.

You may also want to read this thread on the WD Community forums.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Cartman372
Maha Guru
 
Cartman372's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 680 FTW+ 1280/7200
Processor: i5-3570K TR TRUE Black
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: mushkin 32GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Onboard + Creative 2.1
PSU: Corsair TX850W
Default 05-01-2013, 02:25 | posts: 977 | Location: Newton, NJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by chinobino View Post
It looks like the MBR (Master Boot record) and/or partition structure may have been damaged.

When I have had this problem I used testdisk to fix it.

I would strongly suggest that you clone the drive in its damaged state before you attempt to fix it.

Another option is to do a sector-by-sector raw read of the data on your drive using a program such as Active Partition Recovery or Recuva to retrieve the files you want and then attempt to format the drive.

I have heard horror stories about trying to retrieve data from WD My Book Essesntials due to the hardware encryption - not sure which version you have but I would contact WD support directly for help.

You may also want to read this thread on the WD Community forums.
Well I definitely cannot clone the drive as I have nowhere near the space needed for that.

What are the chances of the data disappearing and being unrecoverable?

EDIT: What's the chance of losing data through TestDisk?

EDIT2: Nevermind, I'm running Recuva and it sees all my files, recovering it all now.

Last edited by Cartman372; 05-01-2013 at 02:55.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
chinobino
Master Guru
 
chinobino's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX580 SLI
Processor: 3770K @ 4.5 GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Fatal1ty Pro
Memory: 2x4GB Corsair DDR3-2666
Soundcard: Creative Tactic3D Alpha
PSU: ENERMAX REVO 85+ 1250W
Default 05-01-2013, 03:18 | posts: 737

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cartman372 View Post
Well I definitely cannot clone the drive as I have nowhere near the space needed for that.

What are the chances of the data disappearing and being unrecoverable
Anytime you modify the disk in any way you are risking losing your data.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cartman372 View Post
EDIT: What's the chance of losing data through TestDisk?
If testdisk finds an older or incomplete backup of the MBR (and/or MFT if formatted with NTFS) it may only partially restore the partition and the files - it depends on what specifically went wrong in the first place.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cartman372 View Post
EDIT2: Nevermind, I'm running Recuva and it sees all my files, recovering it all now.
Glad to hear - this is probably your best chance to get everything back, as long as you have room to store your files somewhere.

Once you have recovered everything you need from the drive (and are 100% sure you have everything) then I would plug the drive in using the USB port and try to format it.

If it refuses to format you may have a damaged USB bridge card (converts from USB to SATA) - hopefully this is not the case.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Cartman372
Maha Guru
 
Cartman372's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 680 FTW+ 1280/7200
Processor: i5-3570K TR TRUE Black
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: mushkin 32GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Onboard + Creative 2.1
PSU: Corsair TX850W
Default 05-03-2013, 00:44 | posts: 977 | Location: Newton, NJ

After two attempts at recovery, managed to get everything recovered. Hard drive formatted successfully, now its a matter of moving everything back.

Thanks everyone!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
chinobino
Master Guru
 
chinobino's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX580 SLI
Processor: 3770K @ 4.5 GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Fatal1ty Pro
Memory: 2x4GB Corsair DDR3-2666
Soundcard: Creative Tactic3D Alpha
PSU: ENERMAX REVO 85+ 1250W
Default 05-04-2013, 07:37 | posts: 737

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cartman372 View Post
After two attempts at recovery, managed to get everything recovered. Hard drive formatted successfully, now its a matter of moving everything back.

Thanks everyone!
Good job!

Glad to hear you had a positive outcome and you didn't have to pay outrageous prices for a technician to do it for you, it can be really expensive.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.