Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards Intel
Processors and motherboards Intel Is that Core 2 or i7 giving you a hard time? Enter this forum, this is all about Intel baby.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Overclocking 2700K and Hyperthreading?
Old
  (#1)
StealBalls
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI 280x CrossFire
Processor: Intel 4670K@ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1866Mhz CL9
Soundcard: AMD HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM Series 850W
Exclamation Overclocking 2700K and Hyperthreading? - 04-27-2013, 11:20 | posts: 649 | Location: W.A.K.T

Hi, does it make a difference?

I decided to give it a go with HT off as quite frankly all I do is game.




Really any advice would be awesome as I am brand new to Sandy Bridge also this is my first ever chip with HT, I am currently testing 4.9@1.355vcore in BIOS

Cheers.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
moab600
Ancient Guru
 
moab600's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 AMP 1267/7300MHZ
Processor: Core I7 4790K 4.6GHZ DC
Mainboard: Asus Z97 PRO 1204
Memory: 8GB DDRIII 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX II Z906
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 650W 85+Br
Default 04-27-2013, 11:24 | posts: 4,658 | Location: Israel

HT on can give better performance for apps that use multithreaded engine, xvid video encoder, multitasking, streaming 1080p+playing etc...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
StealBalls
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI 280x CrossFire
Processor: Intel 4670K@ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1866Mhz CL9
Soundcard: AMD HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM Series 850W
Default 04-27-2013, 11:32 | posts: 649 | Location: W.A.K.T

Quote:
Originally Posted by moab600 View Post
HT on can give better performance for apps that use multithreaded engine, xvid video encoder, multitasking, streaming 1080p+playing etc...
I am sorry, I was more wondering what affect if any HT has on overclocking.

Cheers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
moab600
Ancient Guru
 
moab600's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 AMP 1267/7300MHZ
Processor: Core I7 4790K 4.6GHZ DC
Mainboard: Asus Z97 PRO 1204
Memory: 8GB DDRIII 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX II Z906
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 650W 85+Br
Default 04-27-2013, 11:43 | posts: 4,658 | Location: Israel

very little. my chip can OC to 5.0 with HT or without it, though my mobo need higher voltages than normal to do it
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
spajdrik
Maha Guru
 
spajdrik's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Geforce 770 TF 2GD5
Processor: Intel i5-4670K
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax NAXN 500W
Default 04-27-2013, 11:46 | posts: 1,114 | Location: Czech Republic

With HT on, you mostly need higher vcore voltage, without HT enabled it should need less voltage.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
StealBalls
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI 280x CrossFire
Processor: Intel 4670K@ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1866Mhz CL9
Soundcard: AMD HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM Series 850W
Default 04-27-2013, 11:58 | posts: 649 | Location: W.A.K.T

Many thanks guys.


Quote:
Originally Posted by moab600 View Post
very little. my chip can OC to 5.0 with HT or without it, though my mobo need higher voltages than normal to do it
May I ask, what vcore do you set in BIOS to get 5.0Ghz?

cheers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
moab600
Ancient Guru
 
moab600's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 AMP 1267/7300MHZ
Processor: Core I7 4790K 4.6GHZ DC
Mainboard: Asus Z97 PRO 1204
Memory: 8GB DDRIII 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX II Z906
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 650W 85+Br
Default 04-27-2013, 12:05 | posts: 4,658 | Location: Israel

i had to set 1.47 i think but that is way too much, 2700k can do it with 1.4 mostly. 5.2 can be achieved with 1.45v mostly but that is the highest limit if u do 24/7. i actually would advise stay up to 1.4v
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
StealBalls
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI 280x CrossFire
Processor: Intel 4670K@ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1866Mhz CL9
Soundcard: AMD HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM Series 850W
Default 04-27-2013, 12:09 | posts: 649 | Location: W.A.K.T

Many thanks and absolutely I will not go above 1.4v as this is for 24/7 gaming rig.

I decided to give it a go.



If I can get 5.0 under 1.4 that will be amazing for me, however if not, I will be happy to settle for 4.9Ghz well under 1.4vcore.

For this I set BIOS vcore to 1.370v

CPU-Z says it's 1.384 though, dunno why - either way I refuse to go above 1.4 under any circumstances.

And if HT means I need to up vcore then I would much MUCH rather turn it off and go with a higher clock and lower vcore - like I said, gaming rig, 99.9% of games have no need for HT specially with a 4 core at 4.8+Ghz

Last edited by StealBalls; 04-27-2013 at 12:33.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
moab600
Ancient Guru
 
moab600's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 AMP 1267/7300MHZ
Processor: Core I7 4790K 4.6GHZ DC
Mainboard: Asus Z97 PRO 1204
Memory: 8GB DDRIII 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX II Z906
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 650W 85+Br
Default 04-27-2013, 13:22 | posts: 4,658 | Location: Israel

u gonna need HT if u up to lot of multitasking, it proves useful. if not u may cancel it, also note that some games might have stuttering issue with HT, if u want keep it on u should google disable core parking in windows. it will make windows use HT cores as well, and not let them "sleep".


Also please test how much voltage u need for 5.0ghz, i might get new motherboard(or maybe haswell).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
StealBalls
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI 280x CrossFire
Processor: Intel 4670K@ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1866Mhz CL9
Soundcard: AMD HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM Series 850W
Default 04-27-2013, 14:05 | posts: 649 | Location: W.A.K.T

Quote:
Originally Posted by moab600 View Post
Also please test how much voltage u need for 5.0ghz

I am doing mate.

Seems good at 1.375vcore in BIOS, of course if I encounter any instability I will bump a small amount but, as it seems so far, if I do need to bump vcore, it is not going to be by much as I have been playing BF3 all morning with no problems and prime ran small FFT for an hour OK as well, so I cannot be FAR off to be honest, temps are fine, playing BF3 MP in oman 64 player server and highest temps were 58 57 57 58.

This is of course with HT disabled as I really have no need for it, and if information in this thread is correct HT OFF should keep vcore a touch lower and also temps as such I am MORE than happy with 4 cores at 5Ghz.

Last edited by StealBalls; 04-27-2013 at 14:20.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 04-27-2013, 14:21 | posts: 10,934 | Location: United kingdom

HT produces much more heat than with HT off, about 10 degrees more for my cpu.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
moab600
Ancient Guru
 
moab600's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 AMP 1267/7300MHZ
Processor: Core I7 4790K 4.6GHZ DC
Mainboard: Asus Z97 PRO 1204
Memory: 8GB DDRIII 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX II Z906
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 650W 85+Br
Default 04-27-2013, 14:30 | posts: 4,658 | Location: Israel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
HT produces much more heat than with HT off, about 10 degrees more for my cpu.
ya it put more load on cpu, but i noticed a bit more heat like 5c at max compared to non HT.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 04-27-2013, 15:39 | posts: 10,934 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by moab600 View Post
ya it put more load on cpu, but i noticed a bit more heat like 5c at max compared to non HT.
Sorry i meant to say it produces 10 degrees more on my cpu when i stability test, otherwise its about the same as you at around 5 degrees while desktop,gaming,etc.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
jbmcmillan
Maha Guru
 
jbmcmillan's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7870 OC 2 GB
Processor: i5 2500k@4.4 GHZ.
Mainboard: MSI P67A-GD53
Memory: Gskill 2x4GB 1600 DDR3
Soundcard: Onboard realtek
PSU: OCZ 1000 watt Z series
Default 04-27-2013, 16:27 | posts: 1,343 | Location: Langley,B.C. Canada

Unless you got a deal for the 2700k why not just buy a 2500k and be done with it?If you don't need HT why did you buy it?Perhaps I'm missing something?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
ceesay
Master Guru
 
ceesay's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX-980 -SLI iChill Ultra
Processor: Intel 5960X -H20 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus X99 Deluxe Intel X99
Memory: Corsair 16GB @ 3000 Mhz
Soundcard: Asus Crystal Sound 2
PSU: Corsair AX1200i Digital
Default 04-27-2013, 18:05 | posts: 304 | Location: liverpool uk

yep nice oc .....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
moab600
Ancient Guru
 
moab600's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 AMP 1267/7300MHZ
Processor: Core I7 4790K 4.6GHZ DC
Mainboard: Asus Z97 PRO 1204
Memory: 8GB DDRIII 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX II Z906
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 650W 85+Br
Default 04-27-2013, 23:46 | posts: 4,658 | Location: Israel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Sorry i meant to say it produces 10 degrees more on my cpu when i stability test, otherwise its about the same as you at around 5 degrees while desktop,gaming,etc.
ye 2700k is my sweetest deal, cause i got it as a gift from friend, or 1 of many gifts
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 SLI OC+ASUS Swift
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 05-05-2013, 12:06 | posts: 3,696 | Location: UK

http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2274887

The conclusion seems to be that for older games there might be a down turn in performance but it does not matter as they are easy to run anyway.

Crysis 3 benefits but I can't tell with BF3. Anyone?

Newer games do benefit by the looks. I have actually noticed performance go down on Guild Wars 2.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-05-2013, 12:24 | posts: 24,527 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by HonoredShadow View Post
http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2274887

The conclusion seems to be that for older games there might be a down turn in performance but it does not matter as they are easy to run anyway.

Crysis 3 benefits but I can't tell with BF3. Anyone?

Newer games do benefit by the looks. I have actually noticed performance go down on Guild Wars 2.
Any game that can use all cores will run better with HT enabled, BF3 included.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 SLI OC+ASUS Swift
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 05-05-2013, 12:25 | posts: 3,696 | Location: UK

Battlefield 3 Revisited
Just having a read through now...
http://chipreviews.com/cpu/battlefield-3-revisited/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
StealBalls
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI 280x CrossFire
Processor: Intel 4670K@ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Pro
Memory: 8GB Corsair 1866Mhz CL9
Soundcard: AMD HD Audio
PSU: Corsair RM Series 850W
Default 05-06-2013, 18:31 | posts: 649 | Location: W.A.K.T

So to conclude with BF3 I am pretty safe to roll with 4.9-5.0Ghz HT OFF.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
moab600
Ancient Guru
 
moab600's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 AMP 1267/7300MHZ
Processor: Core I7 4790K 4.6GHZ DC
Mainboard: Asus Z97 PRO 1204
Memory: 8GB DDRIII 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX II Z906
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 650W 85+Br
Default 05-06-2013, 18:38 | posts: 4,658 | Location: Israel

what point of 2700k without HT? u can use disable core parking and leave HT on.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-06-2013, 18:47 | posts: 24,527 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by StealBalls View Post
So to conclude with BF3 I am pretty safe to roll with 4.9-5.0Ghz HT OFF.
You should've just bought a 2500K then. Great way to waste money.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 SLI OC+ASUS Swift
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 05-06-2013, 18:51 | posts: 3,696 | Location: UK

I have 4.8 with HT on. I noticed a benefit in BF3, even if it was slight. Definitely shows usage across the 8. Also a benefit in Guild Wars 2.

I had a 2500k @ 4.5 and the 2700k is way smoother like for like.

Last edited by HonoredShadow; 05-06-2013 at 18:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 05-06-2013, 18:53 | posts: 24,527 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by HonoredShadow View Post
I have 4.8 with HT on. I noticed a benefit in BF3, even if it was slight. Definitely shows usage across the 8.
I don't know why he starts these threads because he never listens to anything people tell him.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
HonoredShadow
Ancient Guru
 
HonoredShadow's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 970 SLI OC+ASUS Swift
Processor: 2700k@4.8 Noctua NH-U12P
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1866mhz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX PCI-E
PSU: 1300W EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 05-06-2013, 18:55 | posts: 3,696 | Location: UK

Oh I see. Like that is it!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.