Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
New GTX 670 FTW Firmware - Made my PC unusable
Old
  (#1)
SlackerITGuy
Master Guru
 
SlackerITGuy's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7970 GHz
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DS
PSU: Corsair TX950W
Default New GTX 670 FTW Firmware - Made my PC unusable - 04-22-2013, 06:29 | posts: 230

So I was browsing around EVGA's forums, and I noticed that just last week they had released a new Firmware for their entire GTX 670 lineup, so I thought updating would be a good idea since the last one went over so smoothly.

Bad idea...

Terrible firmware update for me.

Flashed my card using the instructions given by EVGA, everything went smoothly, rebooted, played around ~1hr of BF3, closed BF3, started reading some emails, opened a Youtube video then all of the sudden... Boom! monitor went black, sound froze so it must have been a hard lock/BSOD/etc (I didn't get a picture of the error because for some reason when using the DVI-D port of my GTX 670 FTW [My BenQ monitor runs at 144Hz] I get no signal from Windows BSODs, my motherboard's POST Screen, etc, but that's a different issue).

Either way, I pressed the reset button, went into Windows, and right when I was searching for Event Viewer to see what went on, I got the same thing, screen went black, PC crashed again, etc, this went on for about 2 more reboots.

I powered off the PC completely after that, 6 hours later (GF came by my house so I couldn't perform more tests right away), I booted my PC, Windows message showed up saying that Windows didn't close correctly blah blah, clicked Ok or something that made me restart the computer, and then boom, screen went black again, this time with a No Signal message from my Monitor.

So right after that, I decided to try the iGPU from my 2500K to see if this was related to the GTX 670 or something else.

Enabled the iGPU in the UEFI, switched the DVI-D cable to the onboard DVI output, rebooted, and then Windows booted up perfectly, It's been running for over ~1hr without an issue, resolution is crap but that's because I don't have any Intel HD drivers installed.

So my question is: How do I fix this? will I have to downgrade to the previous Firmware? (I've never done this before so I would need all the help as possible), RMA the card? what are my options here?

Thanks in advanced fellas.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
volkov956
Ancient Guru
 
volkov956's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 HD GHZ
Processor: ES 4GHZ Six Core 12MB
Mainboard:
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB XFI Elite Custom
PSU: 750 EPS
Default 04-22-2013, 06:55 | posts: 5,976 | Location: Канад

if u still ave the backed up firmware revert to it and see what happens
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 FTW
Processor: 3570k @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z77x up4
Memory: dominator gt @2400mhz
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: xfx 850
Default 04-22-2013, 09:12 | posts: 5,784 | Location: Sunny Scotland

You'll need to flash your card with a working bios.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
CSF90
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 670 (SLI) 1228 MHz
Processor: i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3P-B3
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1333MHz
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC889
PSU: Novatech 850W Black
Default 04-22-2013, 13:42 | posts: 172 | Location: Portsmouth, UK

Yeah, hopefully you made a backup of the original BIOS, and you'll just need to flash it back. If you didn't, you can probably find a copy on the internet - sorry I can't be more useful and give you a direct download link.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
harkinsteven
Maha Guru
 
harkinsteven's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 680 4GB SLI
Processor: I5 3570k @ 4.8Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77 MPOWER
Memory: 32gb Kingston Beast 2400
Soundcard: SoundBlasterZxR/EdifierC6
PSU: XFX PRO 750W
Default 04-22-2013, 13:56 | posts: 1,991 | Location: Ireland

Evga will provide you will a bios, just send support an email with your model number and they will email you the bios.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
brendanvista
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 480 SLI
Processor: AMD FX-8150 @4.5Ghz w/H2O
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3
Memory: DDR3 1866 16GB
Soundcard: Xonar D1
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 950W
Default 04-22-2013, 19:22 | posts: 217 | Location: Oregon

Thank goodness for your integrated GPU. So, with your monitor still plugged into the integrated, and the 670 in your mobo, flash an older/different bios the same way you did the one that messed up your PC. You may be able to get the older bios from EVGA. Or, you can grab it from techpowerup's gpu bios database, here:
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/i...CI-E&memSize=0

Just pick an older one with the correct FTW clocks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
DAWG1
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 sli
Processor: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 2 x 4Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Coolermaster 850 watt
Default 04-22-2013, 21:59 | posts: 44 | Location: Georgia, U.S.A

Slacker, can you post link to that firmware update? I looked all over evga's site and didn't see it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-22-2013, 22:36 | posts: 17,187 | Location: New Jersey, USA

http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.aspx?m=1703680
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Memorian
Maha Guru
 
Memorian's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX670 FTW
Processor: i5-3570K@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77x UD3H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill
Soundcard: SB Audigy
PSU: TT 750W
Default 04-23-2013, 12:46 | posts: 1,630 | Location: Beyond the coast

I just updated mine without problems.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Wanny
Ancient Guru
 
Wanny's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX670 FTW
Processor: i7 3770k 4.5GHz H100i
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X 1866mhz
Soundcard: Xonar DX w/ Z-5500
PSU: XFX PRO750W XXX
Default 04-23-2013, 12:56 | posts: 7,349 | Location: Canada, Quebec

Quote:
Originally Posted by Memorian View Post
I just updated mine without problems.
Is it worth it?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
nhlkoho
Ancient Guru
 
nhlkoho's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 4GB FTW
Processor: i7 4770k / H100i
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Plus
Memory: Veng. Pro 16GB DDR3-1866
Soundcard: SB X-FI Fatality
PSU: BFG 680 Watt
Default 04-23-2013, 13:27 | posts: 4,467 | Location: Washington DC

was there a specific reason you updated the firmware? or did you just see a new one and thought you should update it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Memorian
Maha Guru
 
Memorian's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX670 FTW
Processor: i5-3570K@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77x UD3H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill
Soundcard: SB Audigy
PSU: TT 750W
Default 04-23-2013, 13:30 | posts: 1,630 | Location: Beyond the coast

It seems that the new bios improved my O/C a bit..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Wanny
Ancient Guru
 
Wanny's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX670 FTW
Processor: i7 3770k 4.5GHz H100i
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X 1866mhz
Soundcard: Xonar DX w/ Z-5500
PSU: XFX PRO750W XXX
Default 04-23-2013, 13:36 | posts: 7,349 | Location: Canada, Quebec

Quote:
Originally Posted by Memorian View Post
It seems that the new bios improved my O/C a bit..
Well that interests me because I can only do 1189 MHz even if temperatures stays around 70C. Once it reaches 1200Mhz, it craps the hell out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
DAWG1
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 sli
Processor: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 2 x 4Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Coolermaster 850 watt
Default 04-23-2013, 15:17 | posts: 44 | Location: Georgia, U.S.A

Quote:
Originally Posted by Memorian View Post
It seems that the new bios improved my O/C a bit..
I'm interested too. I have one card that is oc'd to 1254 and +450 on memory. My other card is at 1215 and +450 even though settings are synced in AB. Cards have consecutive serial numbers also. Maybe this will fix the oc difference between the two. What are y'alls thoughts?

And thanks TK for the link.

Last edited by DAWG1; 04-23-2013 at 15:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 04-24-2013, 00:31 | posts: 2,916 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlackerITGuy View Post
So I was browsing around EVGA's forums, and I noticed that just last week they had released a new Firmware for their entire GTX 670 lineup, so I thought updating would be a good idea since the last one went over so smoothly.

Bad idea...

Terrible firmware update for me.

Flashed my card using the instructions given by EVGA, everything went smoothly, rebooted, played around ~1hr of BF3, closed BF3, started reading some emails, opened a Youtube video then all of the sudden... Boom! monitor went black, sound froze so it must have been a hard lock/BSOD/etc (I didn't get a picture of the error because for some reason when using the DVI-D port of my GTX 670 FTW [My BenQ monitor runs at 144Hz] I get no signal from Windows BSODs, my motherboard's POST Screen, etc, but that's a different issue).

Either way, I pressed the reset button, went into Windows, and right when I was searching for Event Viewer to see what went on, I got the same thing, screen went black, PC crashed again, etc, this went on for about 2 more reboots.

I powered off the PC completely after that, 6 hours later (GF came by my house so I couldn't perform more tests right away), I booted my PC, Windows message showed up saying that Windows didn't close correctly blah blah, clicked Ok or something that made me restart the computer, and then boom, screen went black again, this time with a No Signal message from my Monitor.

So right after that, I decided to try the iGPU from my 2500K to see if this was related to the GTX 670 or something else.

Enabled the iGPU in the UEFI, switched the DVI-D cable to the onboard DVI output, rebooted, and then Windows booted up perfectly, It's been running for over ~1hr without an issue, resolution is crap but that's because I don't have any Intel HD drivers installed.

So my question is: How do I fix this? will I have to downgrade to the previous Firmware? (I've never done this before so I would need all the help as possible), RMA the card? what are my options here?

Thanks in advanced fellas.

You should never update firmware on hardware if everything is working fine, if there is something wrong sure, but not if everything is working fine, Firmware update are not ment to be done frequently like updating software for reason.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Wanny
Ancient Guru
 
Wanny's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX670 FTW
Processor: i7 3770k 4.5GHz H100i
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X 1866mhz
Soundcard: Xonar DX w/ Z-5500
PSU: XFX PRO750W XXX
Default 04-25-2013, 13:02 | posts: 7,349 | Location: Canada, Quebec

I decided to flash mine as well. I'll report after some usage.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX 1215/1750
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 04-25-2013, 13:13 | posts: 22,523 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wanny View Post
I decided to flash mine as well. I'll report after some usage.
its been nice knowing you
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Wanny
Ancient Guru
 
Wanny's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX670 FTW
Processor: i7 3770k 4.5GHz H100i
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X 1866mhz
Soundcard: Xonar DX w/ Z-5500
PSU: XFX PRO750W XXX
Default 04-25-2013, 13:23 | posts: 7,349 | Location: Canada, Quebec

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
its been nice knowing you
It's okay so far. But it does mess with power usage more.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX 1215/1750
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 04-25-2013, 13:26 | posts: 22,523 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wanny View Post
It's okay so far. But it does mess with power usage more.
well maybe you can OC higher now ? would be great
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Wanny
Ancient Guru
 
Wanny's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX670 FTW
Processor: i7 3770k 4.5GHz H100i
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X 1866mhz
Soundcard: Xonar DX w/ Z-5500
PSU: XFX PRO750W XXX
Default 04-25-2013, 13:36 | posts: 7,349 | Location: Canada, Quebec

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
well maybe you can OC higher now ? would be great
That's what I want to figure out. I know that I couldn't do 1202Mhz core no matter what so let's see if it can stay stable at it for now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Wanny
Ancient Guru
 
Wanny's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX670 FTW
Processor: i7 3770k 4.5GHz H100i
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X 1866mhz
Soundcard: Xonar DX w/ Z-5500
PSU: XFX PRO750W XXX
Default 04-25-2013, 14:28 | posts: 7,349 | Location: Canada, Quebec

Meh don't listen to me. There's no magic happening here.

Last edited by Wanny; 04-25-2013 at 19:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
chad1073
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI X800LX
Processor: pentium 4 2.8
Mainboard: Intel
Memory: 1 gig
Soundcard: x-fi music
PSU:
Default 05-04-2013, 19:09 | posts: 12

yeah Installed that bios too .. I got gtx 670 ftw and had no problems
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.