Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
installation RadeonPro how to
Old
  (#1)
Toine1
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD7970-3Gb reference
Processor: i5-2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 850W Corsair
Question installation RadeonPro how to - 04-21-2013, 20:57 | posts: 13

Just in case, before I make a mess of it, my steps of RadeonPro installation:

1] delete all the AMD video drivers by un-installing them.
2] running a reg cleaner to get rid of all of them in the registers
3] Installation of 13.3beta3 ATI display driver and Catalyst control center only.
4] Installation of RadeonPro.
5] Installation of additional software like MSIafterburner, HW64 and GPUz.
Is this OK or do I miss something???



Last edited by Toine1; 04-21-2013 at 21:47.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
sekta
Member Guru
 
sekta's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x HD7970 Tri-Fire
Processor: 4770k
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1. Sniper 5
Memory: GSkill TridentX 2133 32GB
Soundcard: Fiio E17->Corsair SP2500
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1000w
Default 04-21-2013, 21:09 | posts: 121 | Location: NZ

The order does not matter at all but it is ideal not to be running any GPU software when uninstalling and installing drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ 1100/1375 H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 16GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 04-21-2013, 21:09 | posts: 3,380 | Location: Lebanon

You should be alright. You probably did more than enough too. 3rd-party apps generally don't require a driver cleanup.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Acc7970 XL2420T @120Hz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 04-21-2013, 22:23 | posts: 1,679 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Quote:
Originally Posted by sekta View Post
The order does not matter at all but it is ideal not to be running any GPU software when uninstalling and installing drivers.
Learned that hard way long time ago. I simply had to see that game video on steam via HW accelerated flash player at same time I was installing new drivers
BSODed in middle.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 04-21-2013, 22:35 | posts: 4,232 | Location: Australia

What was the purpose of the screenshot? That is not only from a very old Catalyst driver version, but obviously not after uninstalling the old drivers either. Also, makes no sense not installing AMD's OpenCL (AMD APP SDK Runtime), and Advanced Video Transcoding. Not having them installed just means you can't make use of it if suitable.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Toine1
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD7970-3Gb reference
Processor: i5-2500k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 850W Corsair
Default 04-24-2013, 20:04 | posts: 13

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
What was the purpose of the screenshot? That is not only from a very old Catalyst driver version, but obviously not after uninstalling the old drivers either. Also, makes no sense not installing AMD's OpenCL (AMD APP SDK Runtime), and Advanced Video Transcoding. Not having them installed just means you can't make use of it if suitable.
So forum members could see what I mean by ATI display driver and Catalyst control center.

I was afraid some would give conflicts in RadeonPro.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
PF Prophet
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x7870 2gb Dual-X(short)
Processor: AMD FX-8350@4.6ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair V-Z
Memory: 4x8gb Gskill Ares 1866
Soundcard: CHV-Z + z5500
PSU: PCP&C turbo cool 1200w
Default 04-24-2013, 20:45 | posts: 157 | Location: Washington

radeon pro dosnt need fresh driver installs, it "just works" at least, every case of its use I have had(myself and dozens of clients/friends) its just worked
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.