Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Driver issue? Anti-Aliasing only way to get 99% GPU usuage in BF3
Old
  (#1)
Cameltotem
Newbie
 
Videocard: 7970 1230/1750 1.28V
Processor: I7 2600k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W
Default Driver issue? Anti-Aliasing only way to get 99% GPU usuage in BF3 - 04-19-2013, 23:39 | posts: 10

I got this really annoying issue in Battlefield 3.

When i gaze in open parts of the map with MSAA off i get around 75% GPU usage but when i turn it to 4X MSAA i get 99% GPU usage

I want to have it turned off to get more fps but i do not want my card to run on low usage!

Is it driver issue?
Can i fix this in Catalyst control center?
MSI Afterburner settings?
In game settings?

Help me out here because im driving myself nuts.

I have i7 and 7970 overclocked.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ 1100/1375 H2O
Processor: 5820K @ 4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 04-19-2013, 23:51 | posts: 3,360 | Location: Lebanon

More info. What drivers are you using, SP or MP, any OCs, resolution, other settings?

Have you tried stock? Especially mem?

And finally, why do you want higher FPS when gazing at the sky? Aren't you getting 120FPS already? Do you have a 120Hz monitor?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Cameltotem
Newbie
 
Videocard: 7970 1230/1750 1.28V
Processor: I7 2600k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W
Default 04-20-2013, 00:10 | posts: 10

Im trying this out on dead multiplayer servers. 7970 at 1200 mhz. I7 at 4.46ghz.

1680x1050.

Well if i change to 925 mhz i get like 98% usage. But less fps so whats point of that. Tried the different memory clocks but made no difference.

I got 60hz monitor. I meant out in the opens where people fight. But if i look down at the floor etc i get 99% usage.

It's that freaking MSAA that gives me usage.

Really annoying this problem
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 04-20-2013, 00:35 | posts: 6,067 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cameltotem View Post
I got this really annoying issue in Battlefield 3.

When i gaze in open parts of the map with MSAA off i get around 75% GPU usage but when i turn it to 4X MSAA i get 99% GPU usage

I want to have it turned off to get more fps but i do not want my card to run on low usage!

Is it driver issue?
Can i fix this in Catalyst control center?
MSI Afterburner settings?
In game settings?

Help me out here because im driving myself nuts.

I have i7 and 7970 overclocked.

Really???

Maybe its because the game does not require 99% usage when you turn off AA.

Not every game will use 99% usage, this is common knowledge. I will run a test to show you your not the only one because this is totally normal (it also depends on drivers used and the map as well) if your playing single player then it 100% wont use all your GPU.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
shankly1985
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 GE Crossfire
Processor: i7 2600k @4.5
Mainboard: Asus P8z77 WS
Memory: Kingston HyperX 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X - Roccat
PSU: SuperFlower 1000w Platium
Default 04-20-2013, 01:07 | posts: 383 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
Really???

Maybe its because the game does not require 99% usage when you turn off AA.

Not every game will use 99% usage, this is common knowledge. I will run a test to show you your not the only one because this is totally normal (it also depends on drivers used and the map as well) if your playing single player then it 100% wont use all your GPU.
This...
If you have vsync on for example your GPU wont use 99%, if you really want 100% turn off vsync.

But whats the point? you have a 60hz display so you can only see 60FPS. Your GPU not running at 99% is a good sign not a bad sign lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
velocityx
Master Guru
 
velocityx's Avatar
 
Videocard: CF R9 290
Processor: i7 4790K
Mainboard: Maximus 7 Hero
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16gb
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus+AKG K550
PSU: XFX 850 Gold+
Default 04-20-2013, 08:13 | posts: 214 | Location: Szczecin

Quote:
Originally Posted by shankly1985 View Post
This...
If you have vsync on for example your GPU wont use 99%, if you really want 100% turn off vsync.

But whats the point? you have a 60hz display so you can only see 60FPS. Your GPU not running at 99% is a good sign not a bad sign lol

It doesnt matter what he can or can not see. It's the comfort you get with high fps and that you simply feel, you dont have to see it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 04-20-2013, 08:19 | posts: 1,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by velocityx View Post
It doesnt matter what he can or can not see. It's the comfort you get with high fps and that you simply feel, you dont have to see it.
This.

Try to play BF3 Multiplayer with 60fps v-synced and 100 not v-synced, 100fps will improve your aim a lot by reducing the input lag and of course because of v-sync being disabled.

Well, if he is only playing on the Single-Player then 60 is enough yeah.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
sekta
Member Guru
 
sekta's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x HD7970 Tri-Fire
Processor: 4770k
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1. Sniper 5
Memory: GSkill TridentX 2133 32GB
Soundcard: Fiio E17->Corsair SP2500
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1000w
Default 04-20-2013, 08:42 | posts: 117 | Location: NZ

Comfort is probably from the frametimes. Higher frames per second equals lower frame times. 60fps is like 16ms frametime and 120fps is like 8ms.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Cameltotem
Newbie
 
Videocard: 7970 1230/1750 1.28V
Processor: I7 2600k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W
Default 04-20-2013, 10:46 | posts: 10

Thing is we are not talking about 60 fps. Sometimes it can dip to 50 fps, but it's usually around 70 fps. At 75% usage.

Before i reinstalled windows with all drivers etc i usually always had 99% usage everywhere. I got 90-100 fps in the big areas with tanks and infantry.

So yeah i want it to go to 99% usage.

I tried reinstalling windows 7 and i use 12.11 beta 8 without catalyst now.

I had catalyst installed last try.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
shankly1985
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 GE Crossfire
Processor: i7 2600k @4.5
Mainboard: Asus P8z77 WS
Memory: Kingston HyperX 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X - Roccat
PSU: SuperFlower 1000w Platium
Default 04-20-2013, 11:02 | posts: 383 | Location: England

On my setup I notice no difference vsync or not but get horrible screen tear if I don't. I get zero input lag I think why people get input lag is based on the display response time rather then vsync itself, my display response time is 2ms
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
DummyPLUG
Member Guru
 
Videocard: BBA 7970 with GHz rom
Processor: 3930K C2
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth x79
Memory: DDR3-1600 64GB 1.5v
Soundcard: Optical out, Pioneer AMP
PSU: Corsair 850W
Default 04-20-2013, 11:26 | posts: 83 | Location: Hong Kong

don't forget the usb poll rate is rather slow if you don't mod it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
J-man
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD 7850
Processor: i5 760
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: SS 550
Default 04-20-2013, 15:21 | posts: 13

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
Really???
Not every game will use 99% usage, this is common knowledge.
This is radeon driver bug, imo. Only excuse for not running at 99% - if CPU at 99% instead. Thats how it works on nvidia, and thats why sometimes they gets better performance.

Cameltotem Take a look if your CPU is fully loaded, it might explain your issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 04-20-2013, 15:53 | posts: 6,067 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-man View Post
This is radeon driver bug, imo. Only excuse for not running at 99% - if CPU at 99% instead. Thats how it works on nvidia, and thats why sometimes they gets better performance.

Cameltotem Take a look if your CPU is fully loaded, it might explain your issue.
I have had both Nvidia and AMD cards and my GTX480 only hit 99% usage with v-sync off, throwing tons of AA, and at a higher resolutions. My 4870x2 did the same, and my 7970 does the same too.

It depends on the game engine, the driver your using, and the settings you have set. I remember playing Oblivion with hi res texture pack, a very stressful enb, grass mods, tree mods, and armour mods. On my GTX480 I would get 99% usage with vsync off, with vsync on I would get 65% and still have 60fps. My 7970 gets around 120fps in BF3 multiplayer with Ultra and No AA and only 75% usage. Turning on AA it shoots up and hoovers around 95-100%.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Acc7970 XL2420T @120Hz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 04-21-2013, 00:45 | posts: 1,623 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-man View Post
This is radeon driver bug, imo. Only excuse for not running at 99% - if CPU at 99% instead. Thats how it works on nvidia, and thats why sometimes they gets better performance.

Cameltotem Take a look if your CPU is fully loaded, it might explain your issue.
This. Can't. Be. Farther. From. Truth.
Single threaded application may use 1 core at 100%, but unless oyu bound it just to one core, it will be pushed around all available cores.
And even task manager graphs will show you that usage is fraction based on number of cores.

In other words single threaded app may look like it's pushing 25% in average from all 4 cores.

As for BF3, single-player does not need multicore CPU, while multi-player requires it.

Thing is there are different methods of syncing threads and simple one which is mostly used is still limited by main thread performance.
So if main thread uses all available resources from it's core, overall performance is degraded even while all other threads have a lot of spare cycles on their relative cores.

And to utilization nV vs AMD, they works exactly same in matter of DirectX standard calls. Difference is that nV gets actually bigger hit on weak CPUs since their drivers use more cycles for some stuff. (Which is not issue here since OP has powerful CPU)

My advice would be as always same. Turn everything to lowest.
Increase one thing after another and find what settings is taking your performance.

Thing is, that before you reinstalled you had old config files, which may have preserved some settings through updates.
BF3 have internal fps limiter, so check that too.

And as for drivers, yes those old drivers you use gave boost to performance, but miss quite a few fixes.
After 13.2b3/b7 I would not go back to them, since they improved experience in many games.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Cameltotem
Newbie
 
Videocard: 7970 1230/1750 1.28V
Processor: I7 2600k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W
Default 04-21-2013, 22:06 | posts: 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox2232 View Post
This. Can't. Be. Farther. From. Truth.
Single threaded application may use 1 core at 100%, but unless oyu bound it just to one core, it will be pushed around all available cores.
And even task manager graphs will show you that usage is fraction based on number of cores.

In other words single threaded app may look like it's pushing 25% in average from all 4 cores.

As for BF3, single-player does not need multicore CPU, while multi-player requires it.

Thing is there are different methods of syncing threads and simple one which is mostly used is still limited by main thread performance.
So if main thread uses all available resources from it's core, overall performance is degraded even while all other threads have a lot of spare cycles on their relative cores.

And to utilization nV vs AMD, they works exactly same in matter of DirectX standard calls. Difference is that nV gets actually bigger hit on weak CPUs since their drivers use more cycles for some stuff. (Which is not issue here since OP has powerful CPU)

My advice would be as always same. Turn everything to lowest.
Increase one thing after another and find what settings is taking your performance.

Thing is, that before you reinstalled you had old config files, which may have preserved some settings through updates.
BF3 have internal fps limiter, so check that too.

And as for drivers, yes those old drivers you use gave boost to performance, but miss quite a few fixes.
After 13.2b3/b7 I would not go back to them, since they improved experience in many games.


Well seemed like i might have made it better or maybe its just placebo effect.

Windows 7 energy saving options. Changed it to "high performance" feels like i get more usage now. Also changed my memory clock from 1650 to 1500 mhz.

So feels better but not sure yet. Had a lot of Bsod on my windows 7 from driver sweeper, windows updates and black screens start up caused by the ATI drivers

If you get an ATI card be sure to know how computers work lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Acc7970 XL2420T @120Hz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 04-21-2013, 22:20 | posts: 1,623 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cameltotem View Post
Well seemed like i might have made it better or maybe its just placebo effect.

Windows 7 energy saving options. Changed it to "high performance" feels like i get more usage now. Also changed my memory clock from 1650 to 1500 mhz.

So feels better but not sure yet. Had a lot of Bsod on my windows 7 from driver sweeper, windows updates and black screens start up caused by the ATI drivers

If you get an ATI card be sure to know how computers work lol
You're right, tho it's not only one sided on AMD side, realtek soundcards/network adapters gives ppl headaches with performance and sometimes bsods.
Some Marvell sata controllers are unable to even boot.
Unless you go clean intel platform without anything around like vga you have to use experience to avoid issues and know where to pull and what to push.

Power Saving on desktops is too just to give you headache.
On win 7 you can use hpet dpc latency test to check if there is still something lurking behind curtain.

You can try some radeonPro optimizations too.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Cameltotem
Newbie
 
Videocard: 7970 1230/1750 1.28V
Processor: I7 2600k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750W
Default 04-21-2013, 22:53 | posts: 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox2232 View Post
You're right, tho it's not only one sided on AMD side, realtek soundcards/network adapters gives ppl headaches with performance and sometimes bsods.
Some Marvell sata controllers are unable to even boot.
Unless you go clean intel platform without anything around like vga you have to use experience to avoid issues and know where to pull and what to push.

Power Saving on desktops is too just to give you headache.
On win 7 you can use hpet dpc latency test to check if there is still something lurking behind curtain.

You can try some radeonPro optimizations too.
Yeah the realtek driver is just **** it seems like. Had a lot of boot problems etc, but updated intel chipset drivers.

Wow! powersavings don't get me started on that, the **** almost fried my damn card. Freaking fan just went off, came back to see my card at 90 degrees...

But will try Raedonpro.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.