Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Pc shuts off every 20 mins of BF3
Old
  (#1)
pavel101
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 560TI with Fan mod
Processor: Intel Core i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: G.SKILL 6GB (2GBx3) DDR3-
Soundcard:
PSU: LOGISYS 575W
Default Pc shuts off every 20 mins of BF3 - 04-19-2013, 21:27 | posts: 22 | Location: BRONX,NY

hi,i bought a whole new pc recently and im having this annoying issue of my pc shutting down every time i play battlefield 3 for 20 mins,People are telling me its the Gpu but that thing has 2 fans on it.

System specs

MB- Asus P6T Deluxe
CPU-Intel Core i7 920
GPU-EVGA NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti with Gelid Icy Vision Five VGA Cooler
Ram- G.SKILL 6GB (2GBx3) DDR3-1333
PSU-LOGISYS 575W
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 6870
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 04-19-2013, 23:44 | posts: 19,046 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Your power supply is likely the problem. Logisys don't make good PSUs.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
pavel101
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 560TI with Fan mod
Processor: Intel Core i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: G.SKILL 6GB (2GBx3) DDR3-
Soundcard:
PSU: LOGISYS 575W
Default 04-20-2013, 01:24 | posts: 22 | Location: BRONX,NY

hmm ill have to return this Power supply then but im no expert on PSU's so what should i get.also i added thermal paste to the cpu if that helps
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
pavel101
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 560TI with Fan mod
Processor: Intel Core i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: G.SKILL 6GB (2GBx3) DDR3-
Soundcard:
PSU: LOGISYS 575W
Default 04-20-2013, 01:28 | posts: 22 | Location: BRONX,NY

also is this strange?
Core 0 is at 45C
Core 1 is at 41C but the CPU is at 32
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 6870
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 04-20-2013, 01:29 | posts: 19,046 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Stick with: Antec, Corsair, Cooler Master, OCZ, PC Power & Cooling, Seasonic

Quote:
Originally Posted by pavel101 View Post
also is this strange?
Core 0 is at 45C
Core 1 is at 41C but the CPU is at 32
What cooler are you using and is that at idle or load?

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
pavel101
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 560TI with Fan mod
Processor: Intel Core i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: G.SKILL 6GB (2GBx3) DDR3-
Soundcard:
PSU: LOGISYS 575W
Default 04-20-2013, 01:34 | posts: 22 | Location: BRONX,NY

Its Idle and im using the stock cooler with the push pins.Im really starting to regret converting to intel now :/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 04-20-2013, 02:19 | posts: 25,762 | Location: Hampshire UK

those temperatures are fine, core temps usually vary from core to core and cpu temp is measured from a different spot (heatspreader iirc) so don't worry. and yeah, as said above, most likely the PSU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 04-20-2013, 02:25 | posts: 16,050 | Location: US East Coast

That Logisys PSU is only 450watts on a good day. It has a peak output of 575watts but a continuous output of only 450watts.... It only produces 300watts on the 12V rail which isn't enough to feed both a GTX560Ti and Core i7 920 adequately if both are heavily loaded...

At minimum, look for a Seasonic, Corsair or PC Power & Cooling branded power supply rated for at least 600-650watts. Units from these manufacturers are typically rated by their continuous power output and not their peak output like the Logisys units.



Last edited by sykozis; 04-20-2013 at 02:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
pavel101
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 560TI with Fan mod
Processor: Intel Core i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: G.SKILL 6GB (2GBx3) DDR3-
Soundcard:
PSU: LOGISYS 575W
Default 04-20-2013, 02:39 | posts: 22 | Location: BRONX,NY

so you guys think its the PSU damn now im gonna have to find some way to ship this back.but ill post a picture of my temps while playing Battlefield to see if that helps

http://imgur.com/soxPHtG
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 6870
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 04-20-2013, 02:46 | posts: 19,046 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by pavel101 View Post
Its Idle and im using the stock cooler with the push pins.Im really starting to regret converting to intel now :/
lol, just buy a new heatsink and get a new PSU and you should be golden. Get at least 650W in order to do it.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660SC SLI
Processor: Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze
Default 04-20-2013, 03:00 | posts: 16,050 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by pavel101 View Post
so you guys think its the PSU damn now im gonna have to find some way to ship this back.but ill post a picture of my temps while playing Battlefield to see if that helps

http://imgur.com/soxPHtG
GTX560Ti 384 core has a TDP of 170watts and the GTX560Ti 448 core has a TDP of 210watts
Core i7 920 has a TDP of 130watts
That's 300-340watts (plus or minus a bit). Add in your harddrive(s), system fans, motherboard, memory, optical drive(s) and you've exceeded the 300watts your power supply produces on it's 12v rail.

So, as deltatux said.... new heatsink and power supply and you're good to go.



Last edited by sykozis; 04-20-2013 at 03:04.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
pavel101
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 560TI with Fan mod
Processor: Intel Core i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: G.SKILL 6GB (2GBx3) DDR3-
Soundcard:
PSU: LOGISYS 575W
Default 04-20-2013, 04:29 | posts: 22 | Location: BRONX,NY

Thank you all for the Helpful Advice! but i have 1 more question whats a good heatsink for a i7 because im broke from spending all my money on this pc lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 6870
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 04-20-2013, 04:54 | posts: 19,046 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by pavel101 View Post
Thank you all for the Helpful Advice! but i have 1 more question whats a good heatsink for a i7 because im broke from spending all my money on this pc lol
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835103065

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
pavel101
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 560TI with Fan mod
Processor: Intel Core i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: G.SKILL 6GB (2GBx3) DDR3-
Soundcard:
PSU: LOGISYS 575W
Default 04-20-2013, 15:10 | posts: 22 | Location: BRONX,NY

Thanks Deltatux


Thank you all for helping me
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
pavel101
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 560TI with Fan mod
Processor: Intel Core i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: G.SKILL 6GB (2GBx3) DDR3-
Soundcard:
PSU: LOGISYS 575W
Default 04-20-2013, 18:23 | posts: 22 | Location: BRONX,NY

ok i won a Corsair TX650w is that good enough guys? im sorry for bugging you guys im just no expert at PC stuff
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 04-20-2013, 19:01 | posts: 3,089 | Location: Lebanon

That's an excellent power supply.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
pavel101
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 560TI with Fan mod
Processor: Intel Core i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: G.SKILL 6GB (2GBx3) DDR3-
Soundcard:
PSU: LOGISYS 575W
Default 04-20-2013, 20:23 | posts: 22 | Location: BRONX,NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
That's an excellent power supply.
Thank You!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Violentum
Banned
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX760 OC
Processor: i5 2500K@4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68V-PRO
Memory: 8GB Vengeance DDR3-1600
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DS+SENNHEISER
PSU: Antec EA500
Default 04-21-2013, 15:08 | posts: 326 | Location: CANADA

Quote:
Originally Posted by deltatux View Post
your power supply is likely the problem. Logisys don't make good psus.

Deltatux
+1.....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
airbud7
Ancient Guru
 
airbud7's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS HD 6870
Processor: I3-2120
Mainboard: ASRock H61icafe
Memory: 8GB G.SKILL DDR3 1333
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: PC Power&Cooling S61EPS
Default 04-21-2013, 15:54 | posts: 2,883 | Location: Evans Ga,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
that's an excellent power supply.
+1^...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-21-2013, 15:59 | posts: 17,812 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by pavel101 View Post
ok i won a Corsair TX650w is that good enough guys? im sorry for bugging you guys im just no expert at PC stuff
its a good psu, I would not go as far as saying excellent, will get the job done
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
lIqUI[]
Maha Guru
 
lIqUI[]'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 680DCU II OC
Processor: i7 930@3.8
Mainboard: eVGA X58 LE
Memory: 6 gig 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750tx
Default 04-21-2013, 16:03 | posts: 1,792 | Location: bleeding through.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pavel101 View Post
Its Idle and im using the stock cooler with the push pins.Im really starting to regret converting to intel now :/
Wait, so you're blaming Intel because your system has a crappy PSU? lol what.

The corsair is a good psu...I have a 650tx in one system, and 750 in the other.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
pavel101
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 560TI with Fan mod
Processor: Intel Core i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: G.SKILL 6GB (2GBx3) DDR3-
Soundcard:
PSU: LOGISYS 575W
Default 05-09-2013, 23:15 | posts: 22 | Location: BRONX,NY

got a corsair 750TX And the pc still shuts down lmao I give up im just gonna sell this junk
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
pavel101
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA 560TI with Fan mod
Processor: Intel Core i7 920
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: G.SKILL 6GB (2GBx3) DDR3-
Soundcard:
PSU: LOGISYS 575W
Default 05-10-2013, 05:43 | posts: 22 | Location: BRONX,NY

Anyone?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
SpdyRobi
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 7970 crossfire
Processor: 3930k @ 4.6
Mainboard: Rampage extreme IV
Memory: 16gb Ripjaws 2133mhz
Soundcard: Essence STX & AKG Q701
PSU: EVGA 1300W
Default 05-10-2013, 05:57 | posts: 85 | Location: Ontario, Canada

Run a cpu stress test like prime 95, intel burntest or linx and see if the pc shuts off

If not then run a gpu stress test like furmark and see if you can get the pc to shut off.

Keep stress testing components until you can get the comp to shut off like in game. Hopefully you can get it widowed down to the component causing the problem. Good luck
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 05-10-2013, 06:04 | posts: 8,843 | Location: The Zone

It's probably the motherboard.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.