Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Malwarebytes update deletes legitimate system files
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Malwarebytes update deletes legitimate system files - 04-19-2013, 08:17 | posts: 21,693 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Whoops ? The popular Malwarebytes rolled out a faulty update earlier this week that flagged legitimate system files as malware. The security firm confessed to the mistake in a blog post on Tuesday, an...

Malwarebytes update deletes legitimate system files
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
nick0323
Master Guru
 
nick0323's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX970 Jetstream OC
Processor: i5 2500k / 4.5GHz @1.275v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro Gen 3
Memory: Corsair Ven 2x4GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: Recon3D Fatal1ty Pro
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 04-19-2013, 11:07 | posts: 579 | Location: Old England

I stopped using this piece of trash 4 years ago. Products like Kaspersky automatically uninstall it due to incompatibility.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
mackintosh
Member Guru
 
mackintosh's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 3-way SLI
Processor: i7 950 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA X58 Classified E760
Memory: Dominator 2133 12GB
Soundcard: AVR-1911 & HD 650s
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1250W
Default 04-19-2013, 13:16 | posts: 132 | Location: Warsaw, Poland

My PC must've slept through this particular update. Fortunately, I've never had anything like this happen to me over the years, but then again, I never allow any security suite to do anything automatically without my consent - and if it did, it'd be off my drive in an instant.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Veeshush
Maha Guru
 
Veeshush's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 680 Lightning
Processor: Phenom II X6 1100T @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-MA790X-UD4P
Memory: CorsairDominator 4GB DDR2
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: ENERMAX REVOLUTION85+
Default 04-19-2013, 14:02 | posts: 985

At least include the forum message that describes the steps to fix the issues rather than just reporting the screwup...

Affected users go here:
http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index...owtopic=125136

I wouldn't use Malwarebytes as a full time, always on scanner, but they're still one of the better scanners out for the quick scan.

Last edited by Veeshush; 04-19-2013 at 14:06.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
jbmcmillan
Maha Guru
 
jbmcmillan's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7870 OC 2 GB
Processor: i5 2500k@4.4 GHZ.
Mainboard: MSI P67A-GD53
Memory: Gskill 2x4GB 1600 DDR3
Soundcard: Onboard realtek
PSU: OCZ 1000 watt Z series
Default 04-19-2013, 14:17 | posts: 1,343 | Location: Langley,B.C. Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by nick0323 View Post
I stopped using this piece of trash 4 years ago. Products like Kaspersky automatically uninstall it due to incompatibility.
Kapersky is hardly the last word in security.Version 9 made my system Bluescreen. While this isn't a reason to ditch it completely neither is this mistake by Malwarebytes. Mistakes happen and the update was only live for about 8 minutes and they removed it.It is still a good tool to have along with others as no one thing fixes everything.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1228/6502
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 04-19-2013, 14:21 | posts: 690 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Quote:
Originally Posted by nick0323 View Post
I stopped using this piece of trash 4 years ago. Products like Kaspersky automatically uninstall it due to incompatibility.

It's not a trash, i'ts quite good anti-malware program actualy, it's Chameleon is very nice anti-malware program for removing all sorts of malware on highly infected systems.
I'm also using Kaspersky Internet Security and Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (free version, without real-time protection) for years now at my home computers (never had less than 4 computers at home, currently I have 5 PC's, all of them are using KAV/KIS + MBAM) and never had any problems with MBAM. But if you use it with it's real-time protection + virus real-time protection (Kaspersky or any other) then you can expect problems, both of them are trying to do a same real-time protection jobs in the same time witch is obviously disaster waiting to happen...

You probably had forgotten about problems with Kaspersky update some 2 months ago when few milion users worldwide were left without internet on their Windows XP PC's: http://www.panarmenian.net/eng/news/144699/ One of my computers at work had that problem, detailed uninstalling and reinstalling of KIS 2013 solved a problem. But that small problem with KIS back then didn't shake my faith in Kaspersky, that could happen even to the best so don't judge about MBAM badly just because you don't use it more than 4 years. At least their reaction was fast and they offered a quick solution for problem for their customers.

Last edited by CrazY_Milojko; 04-19-2013 at 14:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 04-19-2013, 14:26 | posts: 7,883 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by nick0323 View Post
I stopped using this piece of trash 4 years ago. Products like Kaspersky automatically uninstall it due to incompatibility.
1. Malwarebytes is great
2. Kaspersky does not automatically uninstall it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Andrés
Ancient Guru
 
Andrés's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 6950 2Gb
Processor: Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5E
Memory: 4x1Gb Kingston DDR2 667
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium
PSU: CM Silent Pro M700
Default 04-19-2013, 14:39 | posts: 4,536 | Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

How can they roll out a definition file without testing it first?. Someone obviously missed that step.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1228/6502
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 04-19-2013, 14:48 | posts: 690 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrés View Post
How can they roll out a definition file without testing it first?. Someone obviously missed that step.
That problematic update didn't affected all users of MBAM. Different OS's with different combination of programs, there is no way anyone can predict such thing like this problem. None of my computers with installed MBAM were not affected with this, also I don't know anyone here (believe me, I know a LOT of people here who are using MBAM) who had a problem with MBAM and that problematic update and here in Serbia MBAM is very popular piece of software.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
kapu
Ancient Guru
 
kapu's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte HD7970 GHz TOP
Processor: Intel i5 750 @ 4.0 /1.38v
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D
Memory: GoodRAM 8GB , 1600 MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Gamer|Siberia V2
PSU: Be Quiet! E9 680W
Default 04-19-2013, 15:36 | posts: 3,642 | Location: Poland

How come i dont use antivirus for over 5 yeras now and i don't have any viruses ? ( tested last week with 2 online scanners )


I find them totally unnecessary for me.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
jbmcmillan
Maha Guru
 
jbmcmillan's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7870 OC 2 GB
Processor: i5 2500k@4.4 GHZ.
Mainboard: MSI P67A-GD53
Memory: Gskill 2x4GB 1600 DDR3
Soundcard: Onboard realtek
PSU: OCZ 1000 watt Z series
Default 04-19-2013, 15:38 | posts: 1,343 | Location: Langley,B.C. Canada

Careful and lucky would be my guess lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Agonist
Maha Guru
 
Agonist's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x7950 Eyefinity
Processor: Xeon X5650 @ 4.2 HT
Mainboard: MSI X58A-GD45
Memory: Corsair XMS3 12GB 1600
Soundcard: XFI Extreme Audio + X-540
PSU: OCZ Fata1ty 1000w
Default 04-19-2013, 16:22 | posts: 1,076 | Location: Tennessee

Same here. No virus protection or anything here since vista beta 2. Just windows firewall. And I use my cell phone for internet right now as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 04-19-2013, 16:25 | posts: 24,492 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by nick0323 View Post
I stopped using this piece of trash 4 years ago. Products like Kaspersky automatically uninstall it due to incompatibility.
Malwarebytes is awesome.

However I haven't used an active AntiVirus in years, only MWB to scan dodgy files.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Agonist View Post
Same here. No virus protection or anything here since vista beta 2. Just windows firewall. And I use my cell phone for internet right now as well.
Why bother with a firewall? Are you expecting someone to hack your PC....?

Last edited by Pill Monster; 04-19-2013 at 16:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1228/6502
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 04-19-2013, 16:42 | posts: 690 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbmcmillan View Post
Careful and lucky would be my guess lol.

^^^this

But even if they don't want to pay for some commercial AV and anty-spyware/malware software there is no reason not to use some descent and free AV and anti-spyware/malware software like Microsoft Security Essentials, Malwarebyte Anti-Malware, SuperAntiSpyware...etc. Something is always better than nothing, not using an AV is like thinking: "...I always check with who I'm going to bed..." or: "I don't need a safe-belt in my car, I drive slow..." ...until one moment and then it will be to late for regret.

I also don't remember when I stumbled on some virus or any kind of malware in past 5 years when I was surfing on internet. But today when almost any device has an storage space inside like mobile phones, tablets, MP3/MP4 players... not to mention USB flash-driver, USB hard-drives...etc ...you can stumble anytime on some fool who has one full of "autorun-type" od viruses waiting for some other fool to hook it on their PC, laptop and to spread themselfs to that device and do some damage.

So people, don't be "smart", use some descent AV even if it's a free one. Think safe, be safe...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1228/6502
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 04-19-2013, 16:54 | posts: 690 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Malwarebytes is awesome.

However I haven't used an active AntiVirus in years, only MWB to scan dodgy files.


Why bother with a firewall? Are you expecting someone to hack your PC....?
Descent firewall is almost a must nowadays, besides preventing unwanted inbound communications coming from internet to your PC descent firewall is also capable to prevent outbound sorts of "dirty communications" from your PC to some remote location on internet. Many types of malware located on some infected rig can use such outbound communications to make a "welcome" for other types of malware and to open them a backdoor for entering into infected rig and then in most cases carnage of OS will happen in a matter of minutes, hours, days.... Believe me man, I've seen that many, many, many times...
Using a descent firewall program is not a stupid thing, for example install and use for a while some program like PeerBlock, don't open any other program for browsing internet for example and you'll see how much unwanted internet traffic is happening in the background and you are not even aware of that.

Last edited by CrazY_Milojko; 04-19-2013 at 17:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Doug
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: JetStream GTX 970
Processor: i7 4790K
Mainboard: GA-Z97M-D3H
Memory: 8GB Ballistix Tactical
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair HX620
Default 04-19-2013, 16:59 | posts: 4,957 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by kapu View Post
How come i dont use antivirus for over 5 yeras now and i don't have any viruses ? ( tested last week with 2 online scanners )


I find them totally unnecessary for me.
Likewise, and on the rare occasion I suspect something bad has found its way in I always go straight to Malwarebytes and usually sorts it out

I remember I once went in a PC repair shop asking for a job and his first question 'If you had to remove a virus from a PC what software would you use first?'
'Er.. Malwarebytes'
'Perfect' the guy said, lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1228/6502
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 04-19-2013, 17:10 | posts: 690 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug View Post
Likewise, and on the rare occasion I suspect something bad has found its way in I always go straight to Malwarebytes and usually sorts it out
Difference between "preventing" and "suspecting" in case of though malware can be like difference between:

"...OK, my anti-virus has just blocked that malware from entering my rig.." and

"...god damit, my OS as acting weird, some kind of malware is preventing me to run or install any kind of anti-malware software, this OS is unusable now, now I have to find some time that maybe I don't have to reinstall OS, drivers, programs..."

Because of such stupid thinking coming from I-don't-need-protection people I'm making a money for living, I've build my company on it, driving a expensive car... ...how can people be so naive thinking that they are safe in "minefield" if they are walking slowly lol

Last edited by CrazY_Milojko; 04-19-2013 at 17:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
warlord
Master Guru
 
warlord's Avatar
 
Videocard: amd 7850 cf
Processor: i7 3770k @4.8 HT
Mainboard: Msi Mpower Z77
Memory: 32gb ddr3 geil evo
Soundcard: creative
PSU: ax1200i corsair
Default 04-19-2013, 17:22 | posts: 497

those saying antivirus not needed when they will scan their system with a proper quality full time antivirus it is gonna find more than 100 viruses, good luck profs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Doug
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: JetStream GTX 970
Processor: i7 4790K
Mainboard: GA-Z97M-D3H
Memory: 8GB Ballistix Tactical
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair HX620
Default 04-19-2013, 17:32 | posts: 4,957 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazY_Milojko View Post
Difference between "preventing" and "suspecting" in case of though malware can be like difference between:

"...OK, my anti-virus has just blocked that malware from entering my rig.." and

"...god damit, my OS as acting weird, some kind of malware is preventing me to run or install any kind of anti-malware software, this OS is unusable now, now I have to find some time that maybe I don't have to reinstall OS, drivers, programs..."

Because of such stupid thinking coming from I-don't-need-protection people I'm making a money for living, I've build my company on it, driving a expensive car... ...how can people be so naive thinking that they are safe in "minefield" if they are walking slowly lol
Nobody is ever making any money out of me because of trojans or silly malware.. I never click an add, I never click a 'trap' download banner/button or anything similar, I read comments on all torrents to make sure they're fine, I reinstall windows whenever I get bored, so it really really isn't a problem

I have just never ever had anything so serious as you are making it sound.. Not since Limewire/Kazaa days, lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
nick0323
Master Guru
 
nick0323's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX970 Jetstream OC
Processor: i5 2500k / 4.5GHz @1.275v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 V-Pro Gen 3
Memory: Corsair Ven 2x4GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: Recon3D Fatal1ty Pro
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 04-19-2013, 17:41 | posts: 579 | Location: Old England

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbmcmillan View Post
Kapersky is hardly the last word in security.Version 9 made my system Bluescreen. While this isn't a reason to ditch it completely neither is this mistake by Malwarebytes. Mistakes happen and the update was only live for about 8 minutes and they removed it.It is still a good tool to have along with others as no one thing fixes everything.
I didn't say Kaspersky way any good either...search "Kaspersky" on the BBC News website and you'll see the mess up they made recently for Windows XP users.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazY_Milojko View Post
It's not a trash, i'ts quite good anti-malware program actualy, it's Chameleon is very nice anti-malware program for removing all sorts of malware on highly infected systems.
I'm also using Kaspersky Internet Security and Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (free version, without real-time protection) for years now at my home computers (never had less than 4 computers at home, currently I have 5 PC's, all of them are using KAV/KIS + MBAM) and never had any problems with MBAM. But if you use it with it's real-time protection + virus real-time protection (Kaspersky or any other) then you can expect problems, both of them are trying to do a same real-time protection jobs in the same time witch is obviously disaster waiting to happen...

You probably had forgotten about problems with Kaspersky update some 2 months ago when few milion users worldwide were left without internet on their Windows XP PC's: http://www.panarmenian.net/eng/news/144699/ One of my computers at work had that problem, detailed uninstalling and reinstalling of KIS 2013 solved a problem. But that small problem with KIS back then didn't shake my faith in Kaspersky, that could happen even to the best so don't judge about MBAM badly just because you don't use it more than 4 years. At least their reaction was fast and they offered a quick solution for problem for their customers.
Nope I haven't forgotten about Kaspersky issues, have a look at the Kaspersky thread right here on Page 2 of Frontpage News on this very forum. You will see that I had a right dig at Kaspersky. I'll quote it to save you time...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nick0323 View Post
I don't know how much faith I have left in there products. I personally have never had an issue since v6.0 back in the day and today I'm using KAV 2013. But you only have to look at some of the threads to see what's occuring in the background. For example...

KIS2013 crashing with IE10 - Recommended solution...uninstall IE10 (Personal comment - this isn't a solution but a work around, fix it.

Poor boot-up and shut down times - Recommended solution...wait for patch G to be released in 7 days time (Personal comment - little too late as this has been occuring since day 1 of release and now your working on KIS/KAV2014)

As I say I don't suffer from any issue at present but you only have to read there forums to quickly see somethings not right. Kaspersky are quickly turning in to Bitdefender, the one and only time I used Bitdefender was 2010 which crashed endlessly and it took them a whole year to fix it.

Rant over, I do like Kaspersky and I've never had an issue but I'm bound to hit one at this rate.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
1. Malwarebytes is great
2. Kaspersky does not automatically uninstall it
I didn't say Kaspersky was any better or worse though, see my comments above and the Kaspersky thread on page 2 of Frontpage News.

KAV 2013 does automatically uninstall incompatible products. Malwarebytes is one of them. So my theory is that it's automatically uninstalled. If it doesn't than another issue for Kaspersky to fix haha.

Last edited by nick0323; 04-19-2013 at 17:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1228/6502
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 04-19-2013, 17:49 | posts: 690 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Quote:
Originally Posted by warlord View Post
those saying antivirus not needed when they will scan their system with a proper quality full time antivirus it is gonna find more than 100 viruses, good luck profs.

It can be but also there can always be an exeptions. I've seen few rigs connected to internet and used for about a year, two, some of them even more without any kind of anti-virus or anti-spyware/malware software: just simple Windows XP Firewall. Owners of those rigs brought them to us to do some hardware upgrade and I was shocked by the fact thet they are not using anything to protect their valuable things on that rigs: business documents, personal photos and videos...
We did a though scan of those rigs with:
Combofix
Hijackthis
Kaspersky Rescue Disk 10
latest Kaspersky Anti-Virus or Kaspersky Internet Security
Malwarebytes Anti-Malware
SuperAntiSpyware

...and found: nothing! OS was working perfect for years withous any protection (except Windows XP Firewall)! For internet browsing most of them were using just stupid Internet Explorer 8.0, Outlook Express for e-mail... I've seen that with my own eyes, I know it's hard to believe but it was real.
On our question: "...people, what kind of internet sites are you visiting daily, are you downloading something from internet...etc?" ...most of them answered with: "...we are visiting few sites with news, watch some Youtube's..." ...and most of them were older than 40, 50...maybe that fact explains everything.

Last edited by CrazY_Milojko; 04-19-2013 at 17:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 04-19-2013, 17:57 | posts: 7,883 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by nick0323 View Post

I didn't say Kaspersky was any better or worse though, see my comments above and the Kaspersky thread on page 2 of Frontpage News.

KAV 2013 does automatically uninstall incompatible products. Malwarebytes is one of them. So my theory is that it's automatically uninstalled. If it doesn't than another issue for Kaspersky to fix haha.
No idea if Kaspersky is any good or not, I'm giving it a shot as I got a free license

You said MB was crap, its not
You said Kaspersky would automatically uninstall it, it doesn't

I'm running KAV2013 & MB together absolutely fine

NOD32 is my favourite AV, but decided to give some others a trial atm
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
AbjectBlitz
Ancient Guru
 
AbjectBlitz's Avatar
 
Videocard: R290 PColorPCS+ 1250/1620
Processor: i7 2700k @ 5Ghz H80
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68-V Gen3
Memory: 8gb RipJaws @ 2133 mhz
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty pro
PSU: Crosair TX 750W
Default 04-19-2013, 18:11 | posts: 3,380 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by warlord View Post
those saying antivirus not needed when they will scan their system with a proper quality full time antivirus it is gonna find more than 100 viruses, good luck profs.
Rubbish, I have not used one full time for atleast 5 years or more. My brain is the best anti virus.

I have done the odd 1 scan a year and remove AV again, every time NO virus.

The way I see it AV is best suited for computer illiterate users, the careless and downright idiots. Obviously if one has sensitive data on their PC then you also need it as a precaution. My gaming rig? hell no.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1228/6502
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 04-19-2013, 18:18 | posts: 690 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Quote:
Originally Posted by nick0323 View Post

KAV 2013 does automatically uninstall incompatible products. Malwarebytes is one of them. So my theory is that it's automatically uninstalled. If it doesn't than another issue for Kaspersky to fix haha.
In most cases if you are installing KAV/KIS/PURE after some other previously installed anti-malware software like MBAM or SAS (even if you arent using their real-time protection) then most likely KAV/KIS/PURE will ask you to first remove that anti-malware software just in case it will collide with their real-time protection sometimes in the future. This is so logic, two programs trying to do a same protecting job in the same time interfering eachother in their job will likely cause troubles to OS and installed programs, like two woman trying to be No.1 in one house with one man, almost impossible...

But this "trick" is a simple solution: first install KAV/KIS/PURE and after that install MalwareByte Anti-Malware, SuperAntiSpyware or other anti-malware software but don't turn on their real-time protection, use them just for simple scaning every few days, weeks or so. This "install rule" can be applyed to almost any kind of anti-virus software with active real-time protection + anti-spyware/malware program without active real-time protection. I'm using that "rule" for years: latest KAV or KIS real-time + MBAM Free & SAS Free
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
CrazY_Milojko
Master Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: AsusGTX760DC2OC 1228/6502
Processor: i7-920C0@4.01HT@H70CorePP
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-EX58-DS4
Memory: 24GB Patriot/1866/1.5VCL9
Soundcard: integr.Realtek ALC888
PSU: Recom 750W RC-PE750Plus
Default 04-19-2013, 18:37 | posts: 690 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Quote:
Originally Posted by AbjectBlitz View Post
My brain is the best anti virus.

lol man, with that statement you just cured my cancer... LMFAO

I agree common sense is a half of the solution for protecting your rig but in years behind me I've seen so many people saying this (and later they had eaten their word after OS colapsed because of the damage produced by all sorts od malware) that I just can't believe out there still exist people thinking like that.
I know on some old and slow 10 years old single-CPU rigs with 512MB of RAM anti-virus software with active real-time protection can be an resource hog but today most of us even on smart mobile phones have an dual-core CPU, not to mention fast desktop CPU-s with 4, 6 or 8 cores... on those fast rigs (with fast SSD's especially) you can hardly notice real-time protection of AV software is working in a background.
On almost every decent AV software you can always find a so called: Game Mode ...and with it AV software will not bother CPU of your gaming rig with uneccesary jobs offering you a maximum performanse with exelent protection.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.