Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
If you have Tribes ascend and an AMD card
Old
  (#1)
Zarich
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Galaxy GC 670
Processor: q9550 @ 3.4
Mainboard: p5q se
Memory: 6gigs DDR2 Sync
Soundcard: Xtreme Gamer
PSU: antec trupower 750
Default If you have Tribes ascend and an AMD card - 04-16-2013, 17:21 | posts: 158

I just upgraded from a 5850.
I am having horrible texture and shadow pop in on Tribes ascend.
I have been playing this game on medium settings for over a year now.

Fraytown is an arena map that I play on I have uploaded a video to show the pop in:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lqb9R...ature=youtu.be

If you have an 7950 or 7970 and this game can you see if this happens to you as well?

The game ran beautifully on my 5850. I am very frustrated at this point because it is ruining my gaming experience.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
defcoms
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI-7970ghz Bios Trifire
Processor: I7 3960X @ 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Rampage 4 extreme
Memory: 16 GB ven. @ 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair ax1200
Default 04-17-2013, 06:32 | posts: 100 | Location: Florida

Game work fine for me. No issues with textures or shadows running max settings.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Zarich
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Galaxy GC 670
Processor: q9550 @ 3.4
Mainboard: p5q se
Memory: 6gigs DDR2 Sync
Soundcard: Xtreme Gamer
PSU: antec trupower 750
Default 04-17-2013, 06:58 | posts: 158

Can you check fray town and compare that to my video and see if you see the same.. This seems to be the map that is giving me grief.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Accelero7970 1125/1500MHz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 04-18-2013, 05:47 | posts: 1,162 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Reset your game config, drivers can hide geometry, but game controls LOD of geometry based on distance.
This is clearly incorrect game settings.

And one advice. After you remove your configs, set everything to lowest in game and increase one at time to max to find what has highest negative impact on fps while not providing visual upgrade.

Then use those low cost stuff at max/high while keeping performance eater on low/off.
Because my tribes are running 120+ fps @120Hz close to max settings at one HD7970 1050/1500MHz, so gtx670 should not have problems to run 60+ fps at all times.

In fast game like this fps matters a lot, but popping geometry even at 120fps would be extremely distracting.

Edit: But Fray Town map has broken LOD settings. So everyone has it unless override is done via cfg. Have not played that map as I don't do arenas... Like objective based gameplay.

Last edited by Fox2232; 04-18-2013 at 06:21.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1398/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 04-18-2013, 06:10 | posts: 6,143 | Location: USA

I now have 2 different people confirming that they have the same LOD pop in on arx novena, both with AMD GPUs. 5850 and 7870. It has nothing to do with graphics cards, youre just now noticing it. Its always been like that for arx novena
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 04-18-2013, 06:44 | posts: 1,824

That looks just ridiculous...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
ArgonV
Master Guru
 
Videocard: AMD XFX 7970 Ghz Edition
Processor: Intel i7 920 @ 3.5 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R
Memory: 12GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Sound Blaster ZxR, 5.1
PSU: Thermaltake 700W
Default 04-18-2013, 14:27 | posts: 280 | Location: Texas, USA

Yeah I have some of the same, both with my 5870 Eyefinity 6 and 7970 Ghz Edition. It's the map, not the drivers or detail settings.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Zarich
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Galaxy GC 670
Processor: q9550 @ 3.4
Mainboard: p5q se
Memory: 6gigs DDR2 Sync
Soundcard: Xtreme Gamer
PSU: antec trupower 750
Default 04-18-2013, 16:50 | posts: 158

I figured it out. The setting that is causing me issues
The setting is called
DirectionLightMaps and it is found in the tribes config in the my games/tribes folder

On my new card it causes all kinds of craziness.

I am unsure if it just wasn't used on my 5850 or if Nvidia has a serious driver bug with this feature.

Here are the videos
DirectionalLightMaps True:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X632W...ature=youtu.be
DirectionalLightMaps False:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=njjjf...ature=youtu.be
DirectionalLIghtMap True:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lqb9R...ature=youtu.be
DirectionalLightMap False:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bDqbM1JQ3s4

So, pop in still exists, but at a normal level.. this lightmap thing is the issue that has been driving me crazy.

I did not have this on my 5850.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.