Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Gigabyte 2GB Radeon HD 7790 Graphics Card
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Gigabyte 2GB Radeon HD 7790 Graphics Card - 04-09-2013, 07:43 | posts: 21,323 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Gigabyte finally has released their 2GB version of its Radeon HD 7790 graphics card. Codenamed GV-R779OC-2GD, the card sports 896 shader Cores, a 128-bit memory interface, a core clock of 1075MHz and a ...

Gigabyte 2GB Radeon HD 7790 Graphics Card
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
RaXelliX
Master Guru
 
RaXelliX's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon 7870 Tahiti LE
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS SaberTooth P67
Memory: 4x4GB DDR3 @1867Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek ALC-892 Int.
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 04-09-2013, 09:58 | posts: 164 | Location: Tallinn

AMD now uses CUDA cores too. LOL
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 04-09-2013, 10:04 | posts: 3,714

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaXelliX View Post
AMD now uses CUDA cores too. LOL
Well, they do have to compete with 650 Ti Boost.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X
Processor: i5 @ 4.8Ghz
Mainboard: -
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 04-09-2013, 10:10 | posts: 4,274 | Location: Serbia, NS

Strange, it should be shader cores...

Anyway kinda expensive, you can get a 7850 for that money.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
chaotic1
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: PowercolorHD6970 2GB dead
Processor: PHENOM II 1100T X6 @4Ghz
Mainboard: CrosshairIV Formula 890FX
Memory: RipJawX PC3-12800C9 2x4gb
Soundcard: OnBoard
PSU: CM Silent Pro M1000W
Default 04-09-2013, 13:14 | posts: 2,853

you can also get it from scan for a little over 142 , but the eta is overdue lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
RaXelliX
Master Guru
 
RaXelliX's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon 7870 Tahiti LE
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS SaberTooth P67
Memory: 4x4GB DDR3 @1867Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek ALC-892 Int.
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 04-09-2013, 15:50 | posts: 164 | Location: Tallinn

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undying View Post
Strange, it should be shader cores...

Anyway kinda expensive, you can get a 7850 for that money.
7850 is more expensive in my region - 172 is the cheapest Sapphire variant.
7790 2GB should end up in the 160 region and its newer than 7850.

Actually i waited for 7790 2GB to come out as i would never buy a 1GB card anymore at this time and day. I just hope more AIB-s come out with the 2GB option because i really dislike Gigabutt.

Still would like this card tested and put trough the hoops.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
chaotic1
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: PowercolorHD6970 2GB dead
Processor: PHENOM II 1100T X6 @4Ghz
Mainboard: CrosshairIV Formula 890FX
Memory: RipJawX PC3-12800C9 2x4gb
Soundcard: OnBoard
PSU: CM Silent Pro M1000W
Default 04-09-2013, 15:54 | posts: 2,853

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaXelliX View Post
Still would like this card tested and put trough the hoops.
indeed and to see if it can compare to the gtx 650 ti boost
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X
Processor: i5 @ 4.8Ghz
Mainboard: -
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 04-09-2013, 16:08 | posts: 4,274 | Location: Serbia, NS

Quote:
Originally Posted by chaotic1 View Post
indeed and to see if it can compare to the gtx 650 ti boost
Pricing between GT650 Ti boost vs GTX660 or HD 7790 vs HD 7850 is almost not noticeable so i would suggest you people just listen.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
ubronan
Newbie
 
Videocard: sapphire 7970 OC 3 Gb x 2
Processor: intel i7 3770k
Mainboard: msi z77a gd80
Memory: 16 GB 1866 Mhz DDR3
Soundcard: realtek Hd audio
PSU: NZXT 1000 - 90+
Default 04-09-2013, 16:40 | posts: 8 | Location: netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaXelliX View Post
AMD now uses CUDA cores too. LOL
Actually no they do not have cuda core and never will.

But they made the card perfect for certain calculations in which amd beats nvidia big time, both have their own way in which they handle memory and sub processors and both have their own strengths.
I was one of the first people involved in using amd gpu's for certain project calculations but the cost of the energy bills made me stop this costly hobby.

On topic i do not see a need for 2 Gb memory with this card. most people have a single screen which is not even larger then 1920x1080 so still not really need more then 1 Gb.
Ofcourse if you have more screens then this starts tio be an issue.
Second the price of this card is well above the 7850 which in my view is still better then this model.
So i agree fully on Undying his statement

Last edited by ubronan; 04-09-2013 at 16:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
chaotic1
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: PowercolorHD6970 2GB dead
Processor: PHENOM II 1100T X6 @4Ghz
Mainboard: CrosshairIV Formula 890FX
Memory: RipJawX PC3-12800C9 2x4gb
Soundcard: OnBoard
PSU: CM Silent Pro M1000W
Default 04-09-2013, 16:45 | posts: 2,853

Quote:
Originally Posted by ubronan View Post
Actually no they do not have cuda core and never will.

But they made the card perfect for certain calculations in which amd beats nvidia big time, both have their own way in which they handle memory and sub processors and both have their own strengths.
I was one of the first people involved in using amd gpu's for certain project calculations but the cost of the energy bills made me stop this costly hobby.

On topic i do not see a need for 2 Gb memory with this card. most people ave a single screen which is not even larger then 1920x1080 so still not really need more then 1 Gb.
Ofcourse if you have more screens then this starts tio be an issue.
Second the price of this card is well above the 7850 which in my view is still better then this model.
no need for 2 gb ? , what you smoking ? . I play on a 1080p monitor and see loads of games use more than 1 gb
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
ubronan
Newbie
 
Videocard: sapphire 7970 OC 3 Gb x 2
Processor: intel i7 3770k
Mainboard: msi z77a gd80
Memory: 16 GB 1866 Mhz DDR3
Soundcard: realtek Hd audio
PSU: NZXT 1000 - 90+
Default 04-09-2013, 16:47 | posts: 8 | Location: netherlands

you are smoking what ? need more then 1 Gb really since when dude .....
I would like to test your so much using games and my 512 Mb old videocard and see if it runs or not ....

Last edited by ubronan; 04-09-2013 at 16:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
RaXelliX
Master Guru
 
RaXelliX's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon 7870 Tahiti LE
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS SaberTooth P67
Memory: 4x4GB DDR3 @1867Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek ALC-892 Int.
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 04-09-2013, 17:00 | posts: 164 | Location: Tallinn

Ofcourse it runs on 512MB too. Hell i even have a 320MB card and it still runs. Exept for DX11 exclusive like Crysis 3 ofcourse. The difference being how much AA you can enable on 1080p. With 320-512 i cant use any AA whatsoever becuse the buffer is always full. Besides i use a lot of high res texture mods (hey its PC gaming after all) and those consume quite a bit of VRAM too. My buddy has managed nearly 3GB VRAM usage on Skyrim with mods...on a single 1080p LCD.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
chaotic1
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: PowercolorHD6970 2GB dead
Processor: PHENOM II 1100T X6 @4Ghz
Mainboard: CrosshairIV Formula 890FX
Memory: RipJawX PC3-12800C9 2x4gb
Soundcard: OnBoard
PSU: CM Silent Pro M1000W
Default 04-09-2013, 17:07 | posts: 2,853

take bioshock infinite for instance @ 1080p on the very high settings it uses over 1.5gb for me , try it at the ultra settings it uses over 1.85gb for me but if you want to play games on low to med settings go ahead and use a 1gb card if needs must .
but look at the cards you have 2x 7970's with 3gb each what are you on
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Agonist
Maha Guru
 
Agonist's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x7950 Eyefinity
Processor: i7 950 @ 4.1 HT H100
Mainboard: MSI X58A-GD45
Memory: Corsair XMS3 12GB 1600
Soundcard: XFI Extreme Audio + X-540
PSU: OCZ Fata1ty 1000w
Default 04-09-2013, 17:21 | posts: 1,047 | Location: Tennessee

Quote:
Originally Posted by chaotic1 View Post
take bioshock infinite for instance @ 1080p on the very high settings it uses over 1.5gb for me , try it at the ultra settings it uses over 1.85gb for me but if you want to play games on low to med settings go ahead and use a 1gb card if needs must .
but look at the cards you have 2x 7970's with 3gb each what are you on
yea im trying to understand his logic. Not working and feeling face palm ready. Newer dx11 titles have eaten my 1gb vram up. 2gb is tbh the new sweet spot.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
k1net1cs
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
Processor: Intel Core i5-520M 2.4GHz
Mainboard: Sony VAIO VPCEA16FG
Memory: 2x4GB CMSO4GX3M1A1333C9
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar U3
PSU: n/a
Default 04-09-2013, 19:05 | posts: 3,714

Quote:
Originally Posted by ubronan View Post
Actually no they do not have cuda core and never will.
Actually he was referring to the typo on the article before it was corrected.




Interested in folding with fellow gurus? Click here to get you started!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.