Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
gtx 680 dcu2 top crash with Far Cry 3
Old
  (#1)
evohan
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus DCU2 GTX670 4GB SLI
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: MSI G45 Gaming
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX 760i
Default gtx 680 dcu2 top crash with Far Cry 3 - 04-07-2013, 20:13 | posts: 178

Iam using gamer mode , 1221 boost / 6048 mem. / 110 pow. target

but playing far cry 3 crash game and my gpu down clock from 1241 mhz to 1228 mhz

my driver 314.22 / win7 64bit ultimate sp1

and Iam taking this crash with gtx 670 dcu2
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 980 @ 1510/7800
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 04-08-2013, 00:05 | posts: 5,673 | Location: PA, USA

DCUII TOP has major BIOS issues and is known to crash. Very unstable.

Downclock your Core and memory by 15-25mhz intervals at a time to see if it will stop crashing.

I know a few people who had to do this on these cards.

I know you say you downclocked the memory, but I'm betting you need to take that core down to 1150-1180.

Last edited by GhostXL; 04-08-2013 at 05:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-08-2013, 00:11 | posts: 18,715 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by evohan View Post
Iam using gamer mode , 1221 boost / 6048 mem. / 110 pow. target

but playing far cry 3 crash game and my gpu down clock from 1241 mhz to 1228 mhz

my driver 314.22 / win7 64bit ultimate sp1

and Iam taking this crash with gtx 670 dcu2
max out your power target to about 130%, I have mine set to 140% myself
and what do you have a 670 or 680?

Last edited by ---TK---; 04-08-2013 at 00:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 04-08-2013, 02:34 | posts: 9,163 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostXL View Post
DCUII TOP has major BIOS issues and is known to crash. Very unstable.

Downlock your Core and memory by 15-25mhz intervals at a time to see if it will stop crashing.

I know a few people who had to do this on these cards.

I know you say you downclocked the memory, but I'm betting you need to take that core down to 1150-1180.
ASUS's top tier cards are just a mess this generation for some reason...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 04-08-2013, 03:49 | posts: 5,417 | Location: FLA,USA

TOP strikes again damn you ASUS why you no make stable card. As others have states the top cards tend to be unstable for some reason or anothe my suggestion is RMA it for a standard DCU2 680 and overclock yourself.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
yosef019
Maha Guru
 
yosef019's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX770 4gb @1250mhz
Processor: i5 3570k 4.6 1.2v NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: 8GB 2133 ARES CL9 2T
Soundcard: SB Recon3D Pro Fatality
PSU: Crosair 860i
Default 04-08-2013, 04:00 | posts: 1,746 | Location: Israel - Haifa

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostXL View Post
DCUII TOP has major BIOS issues and is known to crash. Very unstable.

Downlock your Core and memory by 15-25mhz intervals at a time to see if it will stop crashing.

I know a few people who had to do this on these cards.

I know you say you downclocked the memory, but I'm betting you need to take that core down to 1150-1180.
Wow i thoth this card beter than gigabyte one
Im rocking @1267 (+85) on my gpu
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 980 @ 1510/7800
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 04-08-2013, 05:06 | posts: 5,673 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by yosef019 View Post
Wow i thoth this card beter than gigabyte one
Im rocking @1267 (+85) on my gpu
As weird as it is, the standard and OC models can reach 1300+. It's just something with the DCUII TOP BIOS.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
CSF90
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 670 (SLI) 1228 MHz
Processor: i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3P-B3
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1333MHz
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC889
PSU: Novatech 850W Black
Default 04-08-2013, 14:58 | posts: 178 | Location: Portsmouth, UK

Far Cry 3 always crashes for me if I overclock the GPU even just a little bit. I have to revert it to stock clocks for crash-free gameplay. Having said that, I haven't tried it with the latest patch (from a few weeks back) which may have fixed that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 04-08-2013, 15:25 | posts: 24,209 | Location: NZ

Yeah the TOP has a bad reputation....best to avoid.

There was a BIOS update released last year that supposedly helped, might wanna check it out.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 04-08-2013 at 15:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
pbvider
Master Guru
 
pbvider's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 G1
Processor: Intel
Mainboard: ---
Memory: ---
Soundcard: ---
PSU: ---
Default 04-08-2013, 16:02 | posts: 437

Well,I have Asus GTX 680 DCII Top and never had a single problem...must be something u`r doing wrong.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 04-08-2013, 16:45 | posts: 24,209 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by pbvider View Post
Well,I have Asus GTX 680 DCII Top and never had a single problem...must be something u`r doing wrong.
Well of course, you make a valid point.
You've
never had a problem with your card so obviously this qualifies you to speak on behalf of everyone who has issues with the TOP.

You should tell that to ASUS too since they definitely did it wrong with the TOP.


Last edited by Pill Monster; 04-08-2013 at 16:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Mike V
Master Guru
 
Mike V's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Gaming
Processor: i5 2500K@4.6 H100i
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme 6
Memory: 8GB Vengeance LP 1600
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 04-08-2013, 17:26 | posts: 278 | Location: Belgium

The 680 TOP doesn't have these problems as far as i know. Only the 670.

I know a few people with the 680 and they don't have issues.

Thread title says 680 but this is about the 670 right?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
CSF90
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 670 (SLI) 1228 MHz
Processor: i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3P-B3
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1333MHz
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC889
PSU: Novatech 850W Black
Default 04-08-2013, 17:30 | posts: 178 | Location: Portsmouth, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Well of course, you make a valid point.
You've
never had a problem with your card so obviously this qualifies you to speak on behalf of everyone who has issues with the TOP.

You should tell that to ASUS too since they definitely did it wrong with the TOP.

I'm not really sure what point that screenshot is trying to make. You could enter those search terms for any card and get results - that's the whole point of a search engine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 04-08-2013, 17:34 | posts: 24,209 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike V View Post
The 680 TOP doesn't have these problems as far as i know. Only the 670.

I know a few people with the 680 and they don't have issues.

Thread title says 680 but this is about the 670 right?
Yep, the 670....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 04-08-2013, 17:50 | posts: 5,417 | Location: FLA,USA

The 7970 TOP has the same stability problems as well I have first hand experience with it. OP if the card is unstable as factory default it is a faulty unit RMA it for either a replacement or refund and get a non-TOP model.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 980 @ 1510/7800
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 04-09-2013, 21:47 | posts: 5,673 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike V View Post
The 680 TOP doesn't have these problems as far as i know. Only the 670.

I know a few people with the 680 and they don't have issues.

Thread title says 680 but this is about the 670 right?
It does, just not as widespread as the 670.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-09-2013, 21:49 | posts: 18,715 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
The 7970 TOP has the same stability problems as well I have first hand experience with it. OP if the card is unstable as factory default it is a faulty unit RMA it for either a replacement or refund and get a non-TOP model.
what kind of problems did you have with the 7970?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 04-13-2013, 13:58 | posts: 5,417 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
what kind of problems did you have with the 7970?
Just pure instability out of the box would driver crash in Battlefield 3 at default and looping heaven had to lower clocks. The voltage is locked so I could not add a few mV to gain stability. Here's the best part when I pulled the BIOS off the card with GPU-z it was labeled something along the lines of test bois or the likes I tried to flash a normal DCU2 BOIS on the card but my motherboard does not like mismatched device IDs so it would not display. In the end I sent it back for a refund and the rest is history.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-13-2013, 14:42 | posts: 18,715 | Location: New Jersey, USA

so top is unstable in both nvidia and amd. dont know what asus was thinking with the top bios, trying to get out the fastest oc cards out to increase sales maybe? without caring about stability
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Supertribble
Master Guru
 
Supertribble's Avatar
 
Videocard: too many to list :P
Processor: 2600K@4.5 NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: 16GB Mushkin Redline 2133
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: various
Default 04-13-2013, 15:20 | posts: 319 | Location: Earth

Asus released a BIOS update shortly after launch that seemed to help. My card was stable but I applied the update anyway but then wished I hadn't bothered. :/

Before banging on about the 670 Top being problematic do some research to see if the BIOS update helped people out.

Oh and by the way a lot of people experiencing red screen problems finally pinned the issue on the Asus OC software and not the actual card.

Last edited by Supertribble; 04-13-2013 at 15:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF H2O @ Qnix 110Hz
Processor: 5820K @4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 04-13-2013, 16:10 | posts: 3,306 | Location: Lebanon

I've been looking at the DCUII models for the 7970 since their release. They've earned a very very bad reputation for VRM overheating due to the cooler applying insufficient pressure. I've seen a few die due to that too, I think.

ASUS didn't comment on the issues that they had with those batches. They might have remedied the problems at some point in time, but what's done is done.

I thought all along they did the DCUII Nvidia cards right? And that they only messed up on the AMD cards?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-13-2013, 16:38 | posts: 18,715 | Location: New Jersey, USA

I would shy away from any brand top be it amd or nvidia
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
turrican9
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x ASUS GTX 670 DC II 2GB
Processor: Intel I7 2600K
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 PRO B3
Memory: 16GB Vengeance 1600MHz
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: Corsair TX 750W
Default 04-23-2013, 13:46 | posts: 25 | Location: Norway

This is the reason I bought 2x ASUS GTX 670 DCII 'Non TOP'. As others said, their GTX 670/680 TOP cards had some problems. They released bioses to fix these issues. These bioses downclocks the TOP models a bit. So a very cheap solution from ASUS. However, as long as a little bit of downclocking works, I wouldn't bother to RMA.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.