Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Someone explain AA flags to me
Old
  (#1)
Rapyer
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 680
Processor: 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z68P8 VLX
Memory: 8GB Corsair DD3 1600hz
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default Someone explain AA flags to me - 04-06-2013, 13:46 | posts: 159

so i know x004 is for 4x AA, what are the next 6 numbers for, including C0 C1 or simply numbers?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Sajittarius
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX970 G1 Gaming
Processor: Core I7 4790k
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO
Memory: 16GB Crucial Ballistix
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium
PSU: 850W Corsair
Default 04-06-2013, 14:50 | posts: 231 | Location: New York, USA

are you talking about AA compatibility flags, AA behavior flags, the AA override mode, or the actual AA setting flag?

If you just mean the actual AA flag, 0x004 is not 4xAA, on my computer its showing as hex 0x10 for 4x, which is actually 16 in decimal form.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Rapyer
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 680
Processor: 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z68P8 VLX
Memory: 8GB Corsair DD3 1600hz
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-06-2013, 17:19 | posts: 159

AA behavior flags. some are better than others, others give twice as much performance for same quality, others are jerky or look crap.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
BetA
Ancient Guru
 
BetA's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 PEOC@1350Mhz
Processor: Q9550@3,8Ghz@Vendetta2
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Ketīs mBIOS :)
Memory: 4x2048 OCZ-REAPER 1080Mhz
Soundcard: CreativeX-FI X-tremeGamer
PSU: Corsair VX550W 550 Watt
Default 04-06-2013, 19:55 | posts: 3,790 | Location: outside the Box...

erm, hy there...

im not shure what u mean, but i guess teh FLAGS to override aa in some games..
Heres a screen of what i mean:



ok, i try to explain it...

1 = The actuall FLAG/Bits to Force SGSSAA, SSAA, etc on Games..
2 = There u set the amount of AA u want to set. Example --> 2xMSAA+2xSGSSAA (thats why i need those FLAGS on number "1"...
3 = IF u use sgssaa, u wanna set a Neg LOD, so the Picture stays Sharp and nice..

The Number of the FLAG (1) has nothing to do with teh amount of aa, its only there to let the driver know, wich Code/Flag/Bits it is supposed to use with this game so it can Force better or alternate AA options..
The Amount of aa u set in the section "2"...


I hope that did explain it a bit...

Greetz BEtA

Edit.. heres a littel tutorial in English for NVInspector..maybe it will explain a bit more

also, heres somewhat Main Thread for those Bits atm...
Its german , but they also post english..
Its a good list with screens etc..


Last edited by BetA; 04-06-2013 at 20:06.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Rapyer
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 680
Processor: 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z68P8 VLX
Memory: 8GB Corsair DD3 1600hz
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-07-2013, 06:29 | posts: 159

thanx, that explains a fair bit, but sorry i meant compatibility

for exmaple, in warframe, i set up 4xmultisampling and 4xSGSSAA and the only flags that turn on AA are the x004xxxxxx ones (most of them anyway)


i can you flags from dibalo 3, from dust, darksdiers, dead space, and they all five me slightly different results in terms of blurringness, fps, sharpness, distance drawn ,etc

i assume x004 is because i set up 4xAA flag, but what are the numbers after it mean?

0x004000c1 for example, what are those numbers? this is a fast AA flag with some weird transaprency blood floayting in air

or in 0x004412C1 (Diablo III) which gives fantastic quality aa but is slow as hell

Last edited by Rapyer; 04-07-2013 at 08:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Sajittarius
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX970 G1 Gaming
Processor: Core I7 4790k
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO
Memory: 16GB Crucial Ballistix
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium
PSU: 850W Corsair
Default 04-07-2013, 15:16 | posts: 231 | Location: New York, USA

no im pretty sure the 0x004xx isnt for 4x. You could use it for 2x or 8x and it would still work.

Each bit in that 0xXXXXXXX corresponds to a different engine or way of rendering. It lets the graphics card know that the game uses a certain type of shading or depth buffer, so it knows how to apply the AA more efficiently. That's why when you use the same bit in different games, some are more blurry than others.

The 4 could mean anything.. If you click Show Bit Values in Nvidia Inspector (its in the toolbar next to the magnifying glass), it will show you what bits Nvidia has mapped for each game). Alot of the flags posted are from people experimenting with flags from similar games or games that use the same engine.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.