Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Intel confirms Haswell chipset USB bug
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Intel confirms Haswell chipset USB bug - 04-06-2013, 06:50 | posts: 21,306 | Location: Guru3D testlab

In a Product Change Notification bulletin from Intel confirmed that the current Lynx Point 8-series and C220 chipsets for Haswell have a bug that causes USB 3.0 devices to disappear after entering S3 ...

Intel confirms Haswell chipset USB bug
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 04-06-2013, 10:20 | posts: 3,814 | Location: The Netherlands

I never sleep mode anyways, PC is either On or Off.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Chillin
Ancient Guru
 
Chillin's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 560 930/2300
Processor: i5-2500K@4.4GHz 1.2v H60
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: G.Skill 2X4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer+Z506 5.1
PSU: Corsair TX 750w v2
Default 04-06-2013, 10:25 | posts: 6,440 | Location: Chilling

Is there going to be a software workaround for the earlier revisions?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 04-06-2013, 11:31 | posts: 3,814 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chillin View Post
Is there going to be a software workaround for the earlier revisions?
No, there will be a new stepping. It can't be fixed by Firmware/Software.

So if you use sleepmode you need to wait a couple of months, just like the Sandy Bridge SATA Bug.

Maybe some brands will allow a swap to the C2 Stepping free of charge, but this is just a minor bug unlike the SATA controller.

PHP Code:
Desktop-pch     C1-stepping S-Spec     C2-stepping S-Spec

DH82Q87         SR137                  SR173 
DH82Q85         SR138                  SR174 
DH82H87         SR139                  SR175 
DH82Z87         SR13A                  SR176 
DH82B85         SR13C                  SR178 

Laptop
-pch      C1-stepping S-Spec     C2-stepping S-Spec

DH82QM87        SR13G                  SR17C 
DH82HM87        SR13H                  SR17D 
DH82HM86        SR13J                  SR17E 

Last edited by Svarog; 04-06-2013 at 11:37.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
alanm
Ancient Guru
 
alanm's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI TF GTX 770
Processor: i5-3570k
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Zx
PSU: XFX Pro 750w
Default 04-06-2013, 12:50 | posts: 5,588

This wouldnt hold me back. I use S3 sleep, but dont have always on USB 3 devices for it to matter.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
The_Fool
Maha Guru
 
The_Fool's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGIGABYTE Windforce 7950
Processor: Haswell-E 5930k
Mainboard: GA-X99-UD4 LGA 2011v3
Memory: 16GB DDR4 @ 2800MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair Pro. HX850
Default 04-06-2013, 15:56 | posts: 1,019 | Location: Tiny Town in USA

Does it only affect USB 3.0 devices plugged into a USB 3.0 port or will it also happen with USB 2.0 devices plugged into the USB 3.0 port?

I want to buy a Haswell ultrabook when they come out and I'll be using sleep mode. I usually unplug external drives from my computers before putting a computer to sleep anyway. However, this sleep bug will cause a problem when booting from an external USB drive and the computer falls asleep. I'll just have to disable sleep if I need to boot from a USB drive.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.6GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2133 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 04-06-2013, 16:53 | posts: 11,376 | Location: England

Oh dear.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 04-06-2013, 18:28 | posts: 3,814 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by hallryu View Post
Oh dear.
Sleepmode is far impatient people anyways
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.6GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2133 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 04-06-2013, 18:50 | posts: 11,376 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadKillNL View Post
Sleepmode is far impatient people anyways
I suppose
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 04-06-2013, 18:56 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadKillNL View Post
Sleepmode is far impatient people anyways
Well, it's not important for desktops but definitely important for laptops, that's for sure. Intel hasn't really disclose the entirety of the bug publicly it seems but a lot of laptop users don't turn off their laptops when they're on the go inside a company. They need to unplug, pack, go to another room or board room and deploy. Sometimes not enough time to wait for the system to go through the boot cycle again.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 04-06-2013, 19:01 | posts: 3,503 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadKillNL View Post
I never sleep mode anyways, PC is either On or Off.
This wouldnt effect me either, seeing I have never used sleep more or hibernation on any of pc ever, nor will i ever for that mater. My pc's are either On or Off. Only standby feature I use it for the monitor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by deltatux View Post
Well, it's not important for desktops but definitely important for laptops, that's for sure. Intel hasn't really disclose the entirety of the bug publicly it seems but a lot of laptop users don't turn off their laptops when they're on the go inside a company. They need to unplug, pack, go to another room or board room and deploy. Sometimes not enough time to wait for the system to go through the boot cycle again.

deltatux
Far as i concerned it for laptops, Desktops are not ment to be lower power devices laptops are. Power saving features something desktops useless imo, Stoves,Microwaves, Washers,dryers AC, Etc and alot of othe appliances use way more power. and power a desktop draws a month is gona nothing close compared to the other stuff.

Last edited by tsunami231; 04-06-2013 at 19:07.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
MadGizmo
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HD7970 CF (2560*1440)
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus V Formula
Memory: 32GB 1600CL9 Vengeance LP
Soundcard: SupremeFX IV/Tiamat 7.1
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 04-06-2013, 19:28 | posts: 1,315

The chip is definitely broken. Unlike minor defects (which all steppings have), this one cannot be fixed. Responses like some of the above mean that Intel can get away with selling crap.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 04-06-2013, 19:40 | posts: 5,417 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadKillNL View Post
Sleepmode is far impatient people anyways
That don't save or have SSD's.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
The_Fool
Maha Guru
 
The_Fool's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGIGABYTE Windforce 7950
Processor: Haswell-E 5930k
Mainboard: GA-X99-UD4 LGA 2011v3
Memory: 16GB DDR4 @ 2800MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair Pro. HX850
Default 04-06-2013, 19:44 | posts: 1,019 | Location: Tiny Town in USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadGizmo View Post
The chip is definitely broken. Unlike minor defects (which all steppings have), this one cannot be fixed. Responses like some of the above mean that Intel can get away with selling crap.
Can't be fixed? Intel will release a new stepping that will fix it. A disconnected USB device after resuming from sleep doesn't break the chip.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 04-06-2013, 19:45 | posts: 8,012 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Common hurry up!

I wantz my haswell already
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 04-06-2013, 20:11 | posts: 7,512 | Location: GTA, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
That don't save or have SSD's.
An SSD doesn't save me from my motherboard doing a check of every port of every controller one by one. I have about 9001 controllers on this thing.

Gah, I wanted to buy a Haswell system as soon as the parts were available.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
IPlayNaked
Banned
 
Videocard: XFire 7950 1200/1850
Processor: Intel i5 2500k 5 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: 8GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Logitech G930
PSU: Corsair 650w
Default 04-06-2013, 22:43 | posts: 6,559

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Fool View Post
Can't be fixed? Intel will release a new stepping that will fix it. A disconnected USB device after resuming from sleep doesn't break the chip.
A new stepping to resolve the issue is their admission that it breaks the chip. It breaks the chip so much they have to fix it...with a new stepping. If it didn't break the chip, they would just sell the chip.

Rocket science.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 04-06-2013, 22:52 | posts: 19,054 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
Far as i concerned it for laptops, Desktops are not ment to be lower power devices laptops are. Power saving features something desktops useless imo, Stoves,Microwaves, Washers,dryers AC, Etc and alot of othe appliances use way more power. and power a desktop draws a month is gona nothing close compared to the other stuff.
Huh? I did say that this is more of an issue for laptops, not desktop. What are you saying? lol

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 04-06-2013, 23:29 | posts: 5,417 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo Cyrus View Post
An SSD doesn't save me from my motherboard doing a check of every port of every controller one by one. I have about 9001 controllers on this thing.

Gah, I wanted to buy a Haswell system as soon as the parts were available.
Both of my rigs my main on the Z68 and my Z77 don't take but about 10 seconds to go through its post dance the Z77 takes even less I have to start spamming delete as I'm pressing the power button to go into the BIOS. Have tried disabling everything your not using on your board?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
JohnMaclane
Ancient Guru
 
JohnMaclane's Avatar
 
Videocard: 8800GTS 640mb
Processor: E6400
Mainboard: Gigabyte P35
Memory: 4Gb Corsair 800mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
PSU: OCZ Modsteam 450watt
Default 04-06-2013, 23:38 | posts: 4,830 | Location: Malta

Quote:
Originally Posted by IPlayNaked View Post
A new stepping to resolve the issue is their admission that it breaks the chip. It breaks the chip so much they have to fix it...with a new stepping. If it didn't break the chip, they would just sell the chip.

Rocket science.
Breaks the chip? If only you knew what other IC companies sell. It is definitely a mishap but not a deal breaker. Most of the time the decision boils down to OEM and market pressure (Time to market being a priority), it is better to have a chip with documented and avoidable problems, than to waste fab time running them under capacity.

Plus consumer market standards allow chipmakers to sell chips with these problems, otherwise half the products people want would take years more to reach the market. For example like for automotive MCUs which have 5 year long product cycle (sometimes longer) with strict guidelines for mission critical applications.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Exodite
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 6950 2GB @ Stock
Processor: Intel i7 2600K @ 1.15V
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Pro B3
Memory: 8GB Kingston PC10600
Soundcard: Realtek 892
PSU: Seasonic SS-460FL
Default 04-07-2013, 00:05 | posts: 1,652 | Location: LuleŚ, Sweden

Not that this particular bug would bother me personally but I find it interesting that so few people use sleep mode on their desktops.

I don't turn my desktop off, ever.

The power draw in sleep mode is less than my watt-meter can reliably measure and it sleeps/wakes in a few seconds rather than having to go through the whole minute-long boot process.

I reboot something like once or twice a month, with the monthly Windows updates and if some other software requires it to update correctly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
BarryB
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Palit Super Jetstream 780
Processor: i7 4770K + Kraken X60
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH-Z87 1405
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200w
Default 04-07-2013, 01:06 | posts: 830

I wonder if all those initial 'broken' chips sent to retail will have the issue mentioned when ordering or even displayed online?

Looks like I'll be waiting for the new stepping regardless of the fact I use sleep but don't have any USB 3.0 devices permanently plugged in.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 04-07-2013, 01:41 | posts: 7,512 | Location: GTA, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
Both of my rigs my main on the Z68 and my Z77 don't take but about 10 seconds to go through its post dance the Z77 takes even less I have to start spamming delete as I'm pressing the power button to go into the BIOS. Have tried disabling everything your not using on your board?
Unfortunately just about every controller is in use except for the one for external SATA. It's been a long time since I've really even looked through the BIOS, I'm unsure if they can even be disabled. Either way disabling that particular one won't save anything more than a second. I don't even remember how many controllers this thing has, but needless to say it's a lot.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
warlord
Master Guru
 
warlord's Avatar
 
Videocard: amd 7850 cf
Processor: i7 3770k @4.8 HT
Mainboard: Msi Mpower Z77
Memory: 32gb ddr3 geil evo
Soundcard: creative
PSU: ax1200i corsair
Default 04-07-2013, 04:13 | posts: 497

sleep is pointless now with ssd a fresh shutdown or restart is better for the health/stability.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
sverek
Maha Guru
 
sverek's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Ven. 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 04-07-2013, 10:46 | posts: 1,420 | Location: Japan, Soka

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
That don't save or have SSD's.
Sleeping mode doesn't have anything to do with SSD or other storages. It keeps feeding (refreshing) memory, so when you wake it up, everything you had on memory still there. Therefore no drastic access to storage on wake.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.