Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
FX-8320 low physics score 3DMark 11
Old
  (#1)
DarkReign
Master Guru
 
DarkReign's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC SLI
Processor: i5 4670k @ 4.8GHz @ 1.33v
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 8GB G.SkillTridentX@2400
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default FX-8320 low physics score 3DMark 11 - 04-03-2013, 20:48 | posts: 204 | Location: Port Coquitlam, BC

Hey guys, I've noticed that my 3dmark 11 physics scores have dropped. They're normally around 8200-8400 and now it's going as low as 7300.

http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6326701

Any ideas?

Right now it's oc'd to 4.6GHz @ 1.488 v on full load. I've tried different configurations and no matter the clock the physics score is in the same range.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 295X2 8GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 04-03-2013, 20:54 | posts: 6,997 | Location: 127.0.0.1

I'm getting 5356 with my 965
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
DarkReign
Master Guru
 
DarkReign's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC SLI
Processor: i5 4670k @ 4.8GHz @ 1.33v
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 8GB G.SkillTridentX@2400
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 04-03-2013, 20:57 | posts: 204 | Location: Port Coquitlam, BC

http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/5511975

Those are my previous scores at the same cpu clock. It's down 600 points. I know...it's not much...but I'm a freak. I wonder if this is due a recent update of 3DMark?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 295X2 8GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 04-03-2013, 21:05 | posts: 6,997 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Yea could be an update, check the same CPUs and clocks running the same version in the results to compare
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 04-03-2013, 21:11 | posts: 13,544 | Location: USA

check and see if you have the KB2670838 update installed. If you do, uninstall it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
DarkReign
Master Guru
 
DarkReign's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC SLI
Processor: i5 4670k @ 4.8GHz @ 1.33v
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 8GB G.SkillTridentX@2400
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 04-03-2013, 21:30 | posts: 204 | Location: Port Coquitlam, BC

I did have that update installed. After uninstalling the update and installing an older version of 3dmark....I still get the same scores lol. Comparing my physics, and even my graphics scores, I'm considerably lower than most. Could it be the latest nvidia drivers?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 04-03-2013, 21:33 | posts: 13,544 | Location: USA

no because the physics test is calculated from cpu.


EDIT:

Let me rephrase that. The frist physics test is calculated from the cpu. The second physics test uses calculation from cpu and GPU (DirectCompute)

Last edited by PhazeDelta1; 04-03-2013 at 22:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
DarkReign
Master Guru
 
DarkReign's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC SLI
Processor: i5 4670k @ 4.8GHz @ 1.33v
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 8GB G.SkillTridentX@2400
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 04-03-2013, 21:38 | posts: 204 | Location: Port Coquitlam, BC

Good point. Time to check the bios.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 04-03-2013, 22:02 | posts: 13,544 | Location: USA

What bios version do you have installed?


Give me a few and ill post a 3dmark run to see where im at.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
DarkReign
Master Guru
 
DarkReign's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC SLI
Processor: i5 4670k @ 4.8GHz @ 1.33v
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 8GB G.SkillTridentX@2400
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 04-03-2013, 22:04 | posts: 204 | Location: Port Coquitlam, BC

I'm using bios version 1302.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 04-03-2013, 22:22 | posts: 13,544 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkReign View Post
I'm using bios version 1302.
Try updating to 15.03


here's my run
http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6327275
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
DarkReign
Master Guru
 
DarkReign's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC SLI
Processor: i5 4670k @ 4.8GHz @ 1.33v
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 8GB G.SkillTridentX@2400
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 04-03-2013, 23:22 | posts: 204 | Location: Port Coquitlam, BC

Well I just updated to 1503 and reworked the OC settings. Then I flashed my video card with a newer rom and OC'd. Results are much better.

http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6327578

Thanks for your help Phaze. Now I'm going to try and squeeze out a little more of my GTX 670.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Taint3dBulge
Maha Guru
 
Taint3dBulge's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti Classy 1333/8000
Processor: FX8350 5Ghz H100iPushPull
Mainboard: Asus Crosshair V FormulaZ
Memory: Trident X 2400 mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: EVGA G2 1300
Default 04-03-2013, 23:38 | posts: 1,069 | Location: South Dakota

What do you have your NB HT set at? Also Pcie frequency?

NB should be no lower then 2400mhz imo
HT you can shoot for 3200mhz+ that helps quite a bit

Pcie set that at 110 to 112 helps with overclocking imo.. Im still playing around with that.. If you go to high it starts to mess with my soundcard... I do think (maybe its placebo) it makes things feel smoother too, game wise...


There was a thread about it afew years ago and a way you can test it. From the test itself, you would see a big difference from 100 to 110.... But i do not have the time to dig that up. Maybe later..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
DarkReign
Master Guru
 
DarkReign's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC SLI
Processor: i5 4670k @ 4.8GHz @ 1.33v
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 8GB G.SkillTridentX@2400
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 04-03-2013, 23:44 | posts: 204 | Location: Port Coquitlam, BC

I have NB set to 2400 and HT at 2600. 2600 is the max for HT on my board. NB I can take up to 3200. I've adjusted the pcie frequency. I'll see what that does.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 04-03-2013, 23:47 | posts: 13,544 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taint3dBulge View Post
What do you have your NB HT set at? Also Pcie frequency?

NB should be no lower then 2400mhz imo
HT you can shoot for 3200mhz+ that helps quite a bit

Pcie set that at 110 to 112 helps with overclocking imo.. Im still playing around with that.. If you go to high it starts to mess with my soundcard... I do think (maybe its placebo) it makes things feel smoother too, game wise...


There was a thread about it afew years ago and a way you can test it. From the test itself, you would see a big difference from 100 to 110.... But i do not have the time to dig that up. Maybe later..
I'm not sure how it is with this architecture, but with Denab and Thuban, overclocking the HT had little to no performance gains. Overclocking the northbridge would be more beneficial.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
DarkReign
Master Guru
 
DarkReign's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC SLI
Processor: i5 4670k @ 4.8GHz @ 1.33v
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 8GB G.SkillTridentX@2400
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 04-04-2013, 02:04 | posts: 204 | Location: Port Coquitlam, BC

From what I've read HT provides more performance gains when overclocking. I still can't help but feel my card is somewhat under performing. Just comparing that to other scores I'm seeing.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Taint3dBulge
Maha Guru
 
Taint3dBulge's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti Classy 1333/8000
Processor: FX8350 5Ghz H100iPushPull
Mainboard: Asus Crosshair V FormulaZ
Memory: Trident X 2400 mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: EVGA G2 1300
Default 04-04-2013, 16:41 | posts: 1,069 | Location: South Dakota

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkReign View Post
From what I've read HT provides more performance gains when overclocking. I still can't help but feel my card is somewhat under performing. Just comparing that to other scores I'm seeing.
There is something thats just not right... we will help you figure it out.

Lower your mult. to 19 x try 250 to start with see if you can get it to boot up and run.. My cpu offset is normaly at 1.32ish you might want to mess with that... also cp/nb is less.. I was tryin to get back to a 5.2ghz oc but just cant get it back up there with my ram clocked that high..


look at this might help..
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread....68#post4568568http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread....68#post4568568

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
I'm not sure how it is with this architecture, but with Denab and Thuban, overclocking the HT had little to no performance gains. Overclocking the northbridge would be more beneficial.
For bulldozer its opposite.. HT has more effect over NB.

Last edited by Taint3dBulge; 04-04-2013 at 16:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
DarkReign
Master Guru
 
DarkReign's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC SLI
Processor: i5 4670k @ 4.8GHz @ 1.33v
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 8GB G.SkillTridentX@2400
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 04-04-2013, 18:44 | posts: 204 | Location: Port Coquitlam, BC

I just tried it out with a multi of 19 and FSB of 245. I dropped NB to 2240 and kept HT to 3130. I'm leaving my ram around 1600mhz as it just doesn't do well past that. I'm still scoring in the low 8100 BUT, it's a huge leap from the mid 7600 that I was originally at.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Taint3dBulge
Maha Guru
 
Taint3dBulge's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti Classy 1333/8000
Processor: FX8350 5Ghz H100iPushPull
Mainboard: Asus Crosshair V FormulaZ
Memory: Trident X 2400 mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: EVGA G2 1300
Default 04-04-2013, 20:04 | posts: 1,069 | Location: South Dakota

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkReign View Post
I just tried it out with a multi of 19 and FSB of 245. I dropped NB to 2240 and kept HT to 3130. I'm leaving my ram around 1600mhz as it just doesn't do well past that. I'm still scoring in the low 8100 BUT, it's a huge leap from the mid 7600 that I was originally at.
So whats happening, blue screen of death, computer freezing, or just not able to boot?

Try running prime 95 and see what happens... Run it for 10 min see if you get any errors... Im sure we can get you back up... Who knows maybe your ram is startting to fizzle, or maybe its your psu... This is the stuff i hate/love about computers.. Figuring out whats wrong with things...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
DarkReign
Master Guru
 
DarkReign's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC SLI
Processor: i5 4670k @ 4.8GHz @ 1.33v
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 8GB G.SkillTridentX@2400
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 04-04-2013, 20:21 | posts: 204 | Location: Port Coquitlam, BC

Well it looks like it may not be the ram after all. I had two bsods. I just checked the dump files and apparently its a windows issue that there is a hotfix for. Makes some sense. I was running p95 with no issues. The bsods were completely random and only happened twice. I ran occt mainly to check my PSU and the lines are perfectly stable. I'm going to try higher ram timings when I get home. What should I have my nb set at?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
DarkReign
Master Guru
 
DarkReign's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC SLI
Processor: i5 4670k @ 4.8GHz @ 1.33v
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 8GB G.SkillTridentX@2400
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 04-04-2013, 21:50 | posts: 204 | Location: Port Coquitlam, BC

I've been thinking of doing a little ram upgrade. I'm looking at some G Skill Ripjaws @ 1866. Not sure if it would be worth it, in terms of gains in OC'ing. Any opinions?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Taint3dBulge
Maha Guru
 
Taint3dBulge's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti Classy 1333/8000
Processor: FX8350 5Ghz H100iPushPull
Mainboard: Asus Crosshair V FormulaZ
Memory: Trident X 2400 mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: EVGA G2 1300
Default 04-05-2013, 03:49 | posts: 1,069 | Location: South Dakota

Ya make sure you have all the hotfixes and the FX patch

FX patch

http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=238

HotFix rollups

http://download.windowsupdate.com/ms...ba773eb13e.msu
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
DarkReign
Master Guru
 
DarkReign's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC SLI
Processor: i5 4670k @ 4.8GHz @ 1.33v
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 8GB G.SkillTridentX@2400
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 04-05-2013, 05:09 | posts: 204 | Location: Port Coquitlam, BC

I installed the rollup. Also, I'm running my ram @ 2006 MHz. I haven't encountered any instability while running p95, Sandra or OCCT. Here are my most recent results from 3D Mark 2011.

http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6335591

Quite a bit better! Thanks for all your help Taint3d. I'm going to keep working and see what else I can push out this cpu and gpu.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 04-05-2013, 05:26 | posts: 24,205 | Location: NZ

^What are your BIOS settings? What BSOD code?

About the ram, 1600 should be plenty...

Last edited by Pill Monster; 04-05-2013 at 05:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
DarkReign
Master Guru
 
DarkReign's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC SLI
Processor: i5 4670k @ 4.8GHz @ 1.33v
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 8GB G.SkillTridentX@2400
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 04-05-2013, 05:31 | posts: 204 | Location: Port Coquitlam, BC

http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6335653

Finally broke 10k for graphics.

Mutli @ 18.5 FSB @ 250
Vcore @ 1.488 on full load
CPU LLC @ Ultra High CPU/NB LLC @ High
CPU Current @ 120% CPU/NB Current @ 120%
CPU power phase @ optimized

Turbo is disabled, C1E is disabled, CnQ is disabled, SVW is disabled....pretty much everything in that menu is disabled. I would post a SS from bios but I have no idea where my thumb drive is.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.