Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Seagate 4TB HDD has 1 TB per platter
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Seagate 4TB HDD has 1 TB per platter - 04-03-2013, 14:46 | posts: 21,292 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Seagate is now shipping the first 4TB HDD that uses 1TB platters. The disk can be found online under $199. To put that kind of storage space in perspective, Seagate says its 4TB drive is nearly 800,00...

Seagate 4TB HDD has 1 TB per platter
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 04-03-2013, 14:51 | posts: 7,512 | Location: GTA, Canada

I miss the days of $70 2TB drives. Prices still seem artificially bloated.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
sdamaged99
Maha Guru
 
sdamaged99's Avatar
 
Videocard: 295x2 XPSC Full block
Processor: i7 4960X @ 4.7 H20
Mainboard: Rampage Extreme IV
Memory: 32GB Samsung 2400mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar HDAV1.3
PSU: 1000W Coolermaster Pro
Default 04-03-2013, 15:11 | posts: 1,945 | Location: Isle of Man

4 TB drives have been out for ages now, yet they are still far too expensive

I'm interested when they are sub 80
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Stukov
Ancient Guru
 
Stukov's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6970 UL / 4870X2 (dead)
Processor: Intel i5 3570k 4.2-4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Professional
Memory: 16GB Gskill 1866Mhz
Soundcard: Audigy
PSU: Corsair 850watt
Default 04-03-2013, 15:17 | posts: 4,876 | Location: South Dakota

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo Cyrus View Post
I miss the days of $70 2TB drives. Prices still seem artificially bloated.
Yeah no kidding. Also miss the days that Samsung Spinpoint F4 was actually made by Samsung and was a great 2TB drive for $70. I finally broke down and bought 2x3TB Toshiba's for 140 retail w/ 3yr warranty. Seen some other drives cheaper now and again but they just dont have the reliability or warranties like they used to. Seriously sounds like market collusion.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Tripkebab
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 680
Processor: I7 2600K @ 4.5
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Delux
Memory: Corsair 16gb @ 1600mhz
Soundcard: Logitech Z5500 / Built In
PSU: 1000W Corsair HX
Default 04-03-2013, 16:00 | posts: 64

How many/what size platters does a regular 4tb hdd use. More than 4? Does that mean we will see 5 and 6tb hdd's hitting the market iminently?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
alanm
Ancient Guru
 
alanm's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI TF GTX 770
Processor: i5-3570k
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Zx
PSU: XFX Pro 750w
Default 04-03-2013, 16:40 | posts: 5,587

4tb is a lot of data to trust one drive to hold. More platters = less reliability imo as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
proFits
Ancient Guru
 
proFits's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680
Processor: Intel i7 950
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D PREMIUM
Memory: Corsair 2x8GB 1600MHZ
Soundcard: Turtle Beach Headphones
PSU: Thermaltake 850W modular
Default 04-03-2013, 16:56 | posts: 5,857 | Location: Montreal

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanm View Post
4tb is a lot of data to trust one drive to hold. More platters = less reliability imo as well.
Buy 2 and raid that sh**. Don't be lazy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
vidra
Maha Guru
 
vidra's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670OC@26"Samsung
Processor: Core i5 750 @3.6GHz/1.26V
Mainboard: EVGA P55 LE
Memory: 8GB Kingston DDR3
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Chieftec 750W
Default 04-03-2013, 22:20 | posts: 2,456 | Location: Novi Sad, Serbia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo Cyrus View Post
I miss the days of $70 2TB drives. Prices still seem artificially bloated.
Agreed. I think that the Trade Commission needs to investigate this as it absolutely smacks of price fixing and some heavy fines need to be handed out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Tripkebab
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 680
Processor: I7 2600K @ 4.5
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Delux
Memory: Corsair 16gb @ 1600mhz
Soundcard: Logitech Z5500 / Built In
PSU: 1000W Corsair HX
Default 04-04-2013, 12:19 | posts: 64

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanm View Post
4tb is a lot of data to trust one drive to hold. More platters = less reliability imo as well.
Well you should always have backups..

I currently ahve 2x3tb in my HTPC and they will be full in less than 60 days, I need 6tb drives to make it worth the upgrade and fast!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 04-04-2013, 12:34 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo Cyrus View Post
I miss the days of $70 2TB drives. Prices still seem artificially bloated.
They've been around that price for a while now.
See this 2TB drive for 65
http://www.ebuyer.com/319641-seagate...ve-st2000dm001
Take the UK VAT off (for US prices) and thats 54.

I bought my external USB 4TB drive for 125.
Its now 136, but still pretty good value.
http://www.ebuyer.com/339426-hitachi...-drive-0s03400

Even better, this 3TB is 90
http://www.ebuyer.com/319640-seagate...ve-st3000dm001

Last edited by Mufflore; 04-04-2013 at 12:36.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
ScoobyDooby
Ancient Guru
 
ScoobyDooby's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX970 G1 SLI & Qnix 27"
Processor: 2600K @ 4.6ghz w/ H100
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 8GB Viper Xtreme @ 1866
Soundcard: Focusrite Saffire LE FW
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 04-04-2013, 17:44 | posts: 5,618 | Location: BC, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripkebab View Post
Well you should always have backups..

I currently ahve 2x3tb in my HTPC and they will be full in less than 60 days, I need 6tb drives to make it worth the upgrade and fast!
What on earth are some of you guys downloading that you require so much space.. I've had 1TB now for years and am still not even half full on it.
Are you recording hd tv or movies or something?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Tripkebab
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 680
Processor: I7 2600K @ 4.5
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Delux
Memory: Corsair 16gb @ 1600mhz
Soundcard: Logitech Z5500 / Built In
PSU: 1000W Corsair HX
Default 04-04-2013, 18:47 | posts: 64

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoobyDooby View Post
What on earth are some of you guys downloading that you require so much space.. I've had 1TB now for years and am still not even half full on it.
Are you recording hd tv or movies or something?
720p and 1080p movies and shows take up a large amount of space, 1080p movie can range from 8 to 20 gigs.

Lossless flac audio is also 20 megs per track and adds up fast.

Then you have digital camera pics and movies which add up fast, I can easily fill up a 32gb card on my SLR on one trip.

Not to mention games take up a shedload of space these days. Although anyone reading this will have their games smartly loaded on an SSD (where space becomes even more of a problem!)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 04-04-2013, 19:29 | posts: 13,546 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoobyDooby View Post
What on earth are some of you guys downloading that you require so much space..
Hi-Def Pr0n
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 04-04-2013, 19:32 | posts: 1,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by phazedelta1 View Post
hi-def pr0n
haha
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 04-04-2013, 19:37 | posts: 13,546 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.noob View Post
haha



Seriously though, the pic below isn't even 1/10 of what I have left to copy to my computer All my rips, DVD and Blu-ray are 1:1 copies. So there will be some big file sizes. My Blu-ray rips alone are almost 8Tb in size. And I still have a crap ton left to convert.


Last edited by PhazeDelta1; 04-04-2013 at 19:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Sprig
Master Guru
 
Sprig's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX560
Processor: Q6600 (g0) + TRUE @3.0Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA 780i
Memory: 8GB Corsair PC6400
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Antec Quattro 1KW
Default 04-05-2013, 02:40 | posts: 260 | Location: Wellington, NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripkebab View Post
How many/what size platters does a regular 4tb hdd use. More than 4? Does that mean we will see 5 and 6tb hdd's hitting the market iminently?
Still a while away. But the current tech HDD's use is reaching end of life.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread....44#post4570244
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 04-05-2013, 05:13 | posts: 24,207 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprig View Post
Still a while away. But the current tech HDD's use is reaching end of life.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread....44#post4570244
Well they'll still have magnetic recording surfaces, moving platters and r/w heads...so the tech mentioned in that article isn't much different than what is already used.

Only change seems to be density....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Tripkebab
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 680
Processor: I7 2600K @ 4.5
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Delux
Memory: Corsair 16gb @ 1600mhz
Soundcard: Logitech Z5500 / Built In
PSU: 1000W Corsair HX
Default 04-05-2013, 11:20 | posts: 64

I vote they bring back zip drives.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
JoeyJoeJoe5500
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6870 1GB
Processor: AMD Phenom II 960t
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Sigma Focus
Default 04-11-2013, 07:03 | posts: 38

I'm still using my 5 year old 250GB HDD, I think the most I have ever filled it was like about 100GB lol and right now, 172GB are available on it.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.