Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Intel Haswell Xeons get up to 15 cores
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Intel Haswell Xeons get up to 15 cores - 04-03-2013, 08:38 | posts: 21,698 | Location: Guru3D testlab

CPU World has shown details about Intel's upcoming Haswell-based Xeon processors, you can read it over here. Xeon E7 v2 will arrive in Q4 2013, while Xeon E5-2600 v2 will launch a quarter earlier. Xe...

Intel Haswell Xeons get up to 15 cores
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 04-03-2013, 08:57 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

lol.
If power consumption is handled well and prices arent stupid, I'll be watching out for the lower end of this.
They've gotta clock well though, so probably not for me, but it will be interesting to see.

Quote:
CPU World has shown details about Intel's upcoming Haswell-based Xeon processors, you can read it over here.
You forgot the link
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
sverek
Maha Guru
 
sverek's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Ven. 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 04-03-2013, 10:01 | posts: 1,423 | Location: Japan, Soka

Why 15? Cmon intel, squish 1 more core to be reasonable.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 04-03-2013, 10:10 | posts: 8,523 | Location: Urban`Jungle

desktop 8 core (16 thread) would own, but its still faaar away.. Guess I'll have to settle with i7 4770k.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.8GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2134 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 04-03-2013, 10:16 | posts: 11,425 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
desktop 8 core (16 thread) would own, but its still faaar away.. Guess I'll have to settle with i7 4770k.
That's hardly settling!

15 cores sounds odd. Needs to be an even number, its making my mild autism hurt my brain!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 04-03-2013, 10:52 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by hallryu View Post
That's hardly settling!

15 cores sounds odd. Needs to be an even number, its making my mild autism hurt my brain!
It works out ok if consider a computer with zero cores, then there are 16 iterations
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
sverek
Maha Guru
 
sverek's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Ven. 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 04-03-2013, 11:29 | posts: 1,423 | Location: Japan, Soka

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
It works out ok if consider a computer with zero cores, then there are 16 iterations
another eastern egg from intel, "find the hidden core"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Exodite
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 6950 2GB @ Stock
Processor: Intel i7 2600K @ 1.15V
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Pro B3
Memory: 8GB Kingston PC10600
Soundcard: Realtek 892
PSU: Seasonic SS-460FL
Default 04-03-2013, 12:35 | posts: 1,652 | Location: LuleŚ, Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by hallryu View Post
15 cores sounds odd. Needs to be an even number, its making my mild autism hurt my brain!
I suppose it could be that far too few chips come out with 16 fully functional cores so they're harvested at 15 for consistency.

*shrug* Just my 2c.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 04-03-2013, 14:28 | posts: 7,512 | Location: GTA, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by sverek View Post
Why 15? Cmon intel, squish 1 more core to be reasonable.
It probably has 16 cores and they disable 1 to increase yields. They will probably have a lot of screw-ups with that many cores on 1 chip.

Edit: Ninja'd... by almost 2 hours.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
kenoh
Member Guru
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 680 - 1244mhz
Processor: Ivy Bridge 4930k 4.7ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK EXTREAM 4 x79
Memory: KINGSTON HYPER X 2400MHz
Soundcard: Paradigm 100V.5
PSU: EARTH WATTS PLATNIUM 650W
Default 04-03-2013, 18:52 | posts: 78 | Location: PA

How are these haswell based when haswell uses ddr4 and isn't supposed to come out till 2014? Wrong info maybe?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 04-03-2013, 18:59 | posts: 7,512 | Location: GTA, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenoh View Post
How are these haswell based when haswell uses ddr4 and isn't supposed to come out till 2014? Wrong info maybe?
Because Haswell has an already artificially delayed release date of roughly June to July 2013 with everyone expecting it to be delayed by several more months. No competition, no rush. Otherwise it would have been out already.

I heard nothing about Haswell using DDR4, is that correct?

Last edited by Neo Cyrus; 04-03-2013 at 19:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 04-03-2013, 19:13 | posts: 8,523 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Haswell-EX server edition will use it, well apparently.

Normal Desktop Haswell and Haswell-E is still DDR3
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
kenoh
Member Guru
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 680 - 1244mhz
Processor: Ivy Bridge 4930k 4.7ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK EXTREAM 4 x79
Memory: KINGSTON HYPER X 2400MHz
Soundcard: Paradigm 100V.5
PSU: EARTH WATTS PLATNIUM 650W
Default 04-03-2013, 19:15 | posts: 78 | Location: PA

Yes haswell ep will use ddr4 and is from the grantley platform and ivy bridge is brickland.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 04-03-2013, 19:28 | posts: 7,512 | Location: GTA, Canada

Haswell EP is not Haswell.
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Haswell-EX server edition will use it, well apparently.

Normal Desktop Haswell and Haswell-E is still DDR3
Saw the last post first, good to hear since I'll get more performance for the price out of DDR3. High speed DDR3 doesn't cost much at all unless prices have skyrocketed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 04-03-2013, 20:31 | posts: 3,658 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
CPU World has shown details about Intel's upcoming Haswell-based Xeon processors, you can read it over here. Xeon E7 v2 will arrive in Q4 2013, while Xeon E5-2600 v2 will launch a quarter earlier. Xe...

Intel Haswell Xeons get up to 15 cores
But will the majority of Software use all those cores?? We all know the answer to this no seeing most software barely uses 2 or 3 hell alot still are single core minded still . I would be super excited if SOFTWARE actual used Multi Core Correctly about all these cores other wise
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 04-03-2013, 21:33 | posts: 7,512 | Location: GTA, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
But will the majority of Software use all those cores?? We all know the answer to this no seeing most software barely uses 2 or 3 hell alot still are single core minded still . I would be super excited if SOFTWARE actual used Multi Core Correctly about all these cores other wise
And that is why it'll be Xeons with that many cores rather than a standard product. Sever applications will make use of all the cores.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 04-03-2013, 21:47 | posts: 3,658 | Location: USA

and yet it will still come to consumer based products and all the extra cores will be wasted, do to the simple fact Multi core are not used right to being with on consumer based. Like I said I would be more excited if Software actual used these cores.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
scoter man1
Ancient Guru
 
scoter man1's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570/Korean 1440p
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark1
Memory: GSkill Trident X 2x4GB
Soundcard: Onboard/Superlux HD660
PSU: XIGMATEK 750w
Default 04-03-2013, 21:55 | posts: 4,304 | Location: MI, USA

   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.