Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
radeon 6870 vertical line crash on youtube and non HD movies
Old
  (#1)
aladin7
Newbie
 
Videocard: Club3D Radeon 6870
Processor: AMD FX-4300
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 630W
Default radeon 6870 vertical line crash on youtube and non HD movies - 04-02-2013, 13:05 | posts: 9 | Location: Lithuania

Hello,
I have Club 3D radeon 6870 GPU.
And I can play games without any crashes, but when I wach youtube (usually 720p or 1080p) or avi (SD) movies I sometims get vertical ine crash (usually blue).

My PSU is 80+ 630W , System is stable becaus I just changed GPUfrom radeon 4850, did driver sweep.

Tried any solution I could find but nothing helped .

Any ideas?

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 04-02-2013, 13:15 | posts: 1,822

Is this your problem?

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 04-02-2013, 13:17 | posts: 26,350 | Location: Hampshire UK

had something similar on my previous gpu. no fix out there worked. had to rma. is the card new? can you rma? if not, try different drivers, also try higher voltages in idle.

edit: oh just saw the pic. not what I had at all. the pc doesn't freeze when this happens, right?looks like artifacting.

Last edited by eclap; 04-02-2013 at 13:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 04-02-2013, 13:23 | posts: 1,822

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
...

edit: oh just saw the pic. not what I had at all. the pc doesn't freeze when this happens, right?looks like artifacting.
This is not the OPs picture but mine.

I took it when i had the 7770 which i returned.

Last edited by 3dPlayer; 04-02-2013 at 13:27.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
aladin7
Newbie
 
Videocard: Club3D Radeon 6870
Processor: AMD FX-4300
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 630W
Default 04-02-2013, 13:27 | posts: 9 | Location: Lithuania

No . In my case, I my system freezes and I get blue screen with vertical black lines.

Also, gpu-z did not show anything unusual, GPU load I not constant , temp is normal, just one thing I noticed, that on chrome core and memory clockes go to max when watching youtube. But in firefox it is lower, but it crashed with firefox too, just that I use always chrome, os cant tell if its better with firefox.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
aladin7
Newbie
 
Videocard: Club3D Radeon 6870
Processor: AMD FX-4300
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 630W
Default 04-02-2013, 13:30 | posts: 9 | Location: Lithuania

Also, card is used, so I have to fix it or sell it .
Wrote to club3d support, but no response.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
kevsamiga1974
Master Guru
 
kevsamiga1974's Avatar
 
Videocard: ULA
Processor: Z80A
Mainboard: 1982 Sinclair Research
Memory: Bubble Memory
Soundcard: Piezoelectric speakers
PSU: Solar Powered
Default 04-02-2013, 14:03 | posts: 766 | Location: England

Try turning off dynamic contrast in video settings.

May or may not work...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
aladin7
Newbie
 
Videocard: Club3D Radeon 6870
Processor: AMD FX-4300
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 630W
Default 04-02-2013, 14:08 | posts: 9 | Location: Lithuania

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevsamiga1974 View Post
Try turning off dynamic contrast in video settings.

May or may not work...
Ok, I will try that. Strange think is, when you turn off hardware acceleration on flash, gpu-z still shows that gpu load is at max. May be chrome issue...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Marco Borsato
Member Guru
 
Marco Borsato's Avatar
 
Videocard: x2 GTX 660 Ti 1200/3600
Processor: Core i7 3770K @ 4.5 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster X-Fi HD
PSU: Corsair HX-750
Default 04-02-2013, 14:56 | posts: 138 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by aladin7 View Post
Ok, I will try that. Strange think is, when you turn off hardware acceleration on flash, gpu-z still shows that gpu load is at max. May be chrome issue...
Probably just a driver issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
aladin7
Newbie
 
Videocard: Club3D Radeon 6870
Processor: AMD FX-4300
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 630W
Default 04-02-2013, 16:03 | posts: 9 | Location: Lithuania

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco Borsato View Post
Probably just a driver issue.
Might be, installing now newet beta driver, if that will not work, try drivers from cd.

All video settings are disabled.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
aladin7
Newbie
 
Videocard: Club3D Radeon 6870
Processor: AMD FX-4300
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 630W
Default 04-04-2013, 08:09 | posts: 9 | Location: Lithuania

So latest BETA drivers did not help. I will try later drivers from CD, dont have CD-ROM at the moment

At least I can game , but bot being able to watch youtube sucks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
aladin7
Newbie
 
Videocard: Club3D Radeon 6870
Processor: AMD FX-4300
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 630W
Default 04-05-2013, 16:41 | posts: 9 | Location: Lithuania

So installing drivers from cd did not help. I tried tyoutube with IE and it did not crash, so look like things came to worst, will have to you IE to watch youtube

Any more solutions alway welcome
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
xacid0
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Processor: Xeon E3-1230v2
Mainboard: MSI B75-G43A
Memory: G.Skill RipjawX 8GB 1600
Soundcard: BeatUpAudio
PSU: Enermax 650W 82+ Bronze
Default 04-05-2013, 19:04 | posts: 298

disable Chrome built-in flash plugin?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 04-05-2013, 19:20 | posts: 24,038 | Location: NZ

Do the lines look similar to the screenshot below?



This is a common problem on ATI cards with cheap or overclocked GDDR5 vram.

Raising voltage or lowering UMD (video) memclocks can help.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 04-05-2013 at 19:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Izukura
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6870
Processor: AMD FX
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3, Soc
Memory: Kingston DDR3 HyperX blu
Soundcard:
PSU: GX 750W
Default 04-06-2013, 07:21 | posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Do the lines look similar to the screenshot below?



This is a common problem on ATI cards with cheap or overclocked GDDR5 vram.

Raising voltage or lowering UMD (video) memclocks can help.
I have that problem. Where do I increase the voltage or lower the UMD memclocks?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Izukura
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6870
Processor: AMD FX
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3, Soc
Memory: Kingston DDR3 HyperX blu
Soundcard:
PSU: GX 750W
Default 04-06-2013, 10:58 | posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Do the lines look similar to the screenshot below?



This is a common problem on ATI cards with cheap or overclocked GDDR5 vram.

Raising voltage or lowering UMD (video) memclocks can help.
I got that problem. Where do I change voltage and UMD memclocks?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 04-06-2013, 14:48 | posts: 24,038 | Location: NZ

Try Afterburner or else mod the bios with RBE.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 04-06-2013 at 14:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
aladin7
Newbie
 
Videocard: Club3D Radeon 6870
Processor: AMD FX-4300
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 630W
Default 04-06-2013, 15:07 | posts: 9 | Location: Lithuania

Probably I have the same problem, only I get blue screen (mostly)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
aladin7
Newbie
 
Videocard: Club3D Radeon 6870
Processor: AMD FX-4300
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 630W
Default 04-06-2013, 15:10 | posts: 9 | Location: Lithuania

Other question would be, what are the correct voltages and clock?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Izukura
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6870
Processor: AMD FX
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3, Soc
Memory: Kingston DDR3 HyperX blu
Soundcard:
PSU: GX 750W
Default 04-11-2013, 19:59 | posts: 3

Well, I havent got any problems so far with a new screen. Had a BENQ something, changed to ASUS. This problem havent showed up. But for safetys sake, any one know the right values for the voltage and clock?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
readeon 6870, vertical lines crash

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.