Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
ACER GD245HQ Screen "Jitter"
Old
  (#1)
NJCermak
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte WF3 7950 3GB
Processor: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Realtek ALC88x onboard
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default ACER GD245HQ Screen "Jitter" - 04-01-2013, 04:17 | posts: 18

I can't seem to find any results via google or numerous hardware forums about this. Also, I don't know if I'm even using the right word to describe this activity.

About every 30-45 minutes my screen will either have a "tear" on the bottom half of the screen or, at the very bottom of the screen next to the taskbar, it will jitter. It almost seems like the monitor is trying to configure it's position whenever this happens. This only happens for a couple of seconds. It's not a huge problem, but I just like to keep my computer up to snuff when I can.

I was just curious if anybody would know what causes this.

Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 04-01-2013, 04:35 | posts: 8,841 | Location: The Zone

Does it have a TraceFree setting?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
NJCermak
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte WF3 7950 3GB
Processor: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Realtek ALC88x onboard
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 04-01-2013, 14:58 | posts: 18

Not that I can tell. Pretty sure it doesn't. Would that be at all comparable to the LCD Overdrive setting?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 04-01-2013, 16:43 | posts: 8,841 | Location: The Zone

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJCermak View Post
Not that I can tell. Pretty sure it doesn't. Would that be at all comparable to the LCD Overdrive setting?
Yeah, same thing. Sorry, I thought you said Asus not Acer. Try adjusting that a bit lower and see if it goes away.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
NJCermak
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte WF3 7950 3GB
Processor: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Realtek ALC88x onboard
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 04-02-2013, 01:27 | posts: 18

Well, I disabled OD in the service menu. So far so good. I'll update if it still happens. Nonetheless, thanks for your help.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
NJCermak
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte WF3 7950 3GB
Processor: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Realtek ALC88x onboard
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 04-02-2013, 17:49 | posts: 18

Well, it's still happening. And to add on another problem, now my monitor won't go to sleep according to Windows 7's power options. It will go to sleep, only to wake up right away w/out user input and not go back to sleep again. *sigh*
I guess that's what I get for getting the cheapest 120Hz monitor I could find.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.