Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The HTPC, HDTV & High Definition section
The HTPC, HDTV & High Definition section Home Theater PC Enthusiasts or want to talk in High-Definition ? This is Guru3Ds Premier Community of HD and HTPC.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
TV will not display 1080
Old
  (#1)
AllTech
Member Guru
 
AllTech's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: MAXIMUS IV
Memory: Mushkin 4x4 2133
Soundcard: Asus Phoebus
PSU: Corsair TX650
Default TV will not display 1080 - 03-30-2013, 17:14 | posts: 79 | Location: Ohio

I have tried using two different TV`s and still can not display 1920x1080. I am connecting TV with HDMI from EVGA 660. Panasonic 37" and a Samsung 40" both display 1920x1080 as native in Nvidia control panel. However, both TV`s will not properly display this resolution. The taskbar icons and column of icons on the left side of desktop are not visible.
Am I seriously limited to a custom resolution or 720p with TV zoomed just to have full screen that properly fits?


Thanks

Last edited by AllTech; 03-30-2013 at 17:21.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m, UE46D5000
Processor: i7 3610QM
Mainboard: Intel HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w
Default 03-30-2013, 17:42 | posts: 9,934 | Location: Dundee, Scotland

There should be a a button on your samsung remote called P.SIZE, press that until "screen fit" comes up, if not, it's somewhere in your menus, the panasonic should have something similar as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
AllTech
Member Guru
 
AllTech's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: MAXIMUS IV
Memory: Mushkin 4x4 2133
Soundcard: Asus Phoebus
PSU: Corsair TX650
Default 03-30-2013, 18:53 | posts: 79 | Location: Ohio

That got it.

Thank You


1080 on the 40" - Game on!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
drandiiski
Master Guru
 
drandiiski's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX460 768M @800/2000
Processor: Intel C2Q Q6600 @3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Jetway I35P-SG
Memory: 2x2Gb DDR2 Kingston
Soundcard: Creative Audigy
PSU: CM 500W eXtreme Power
Default 04-01-2013, 07:08 | posts: 296 | Location: Bulgaria

On the Panasonic it is under advanced picture settings and it is called 16:9 overscan.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
SplashDown
Master Guru
 
SplashDown's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA770 4GB FTW 660 physx
Processor: AMD 8350 @ 4.8 H2O RX240
Mainboard: ASRock 990FX Extreme 9
Memory: G Skill Sniper @ 2133 CL9
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 & 1000w Reciv
PSU: Cooler Master Silent 1000
Default 04-01-2013, 19:56 | posts: 229 | Location: Michigan

Ya I got a 55 panasonic plasma and I had same prob. Go advanced then aspect adjustments and you'll see size options. At least thats how mine is and how I fixed. Just guessing we are close in setup.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
SplashDown
Master Guru
 
SplashDown's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA770 4GB FTW 660 physx
Processor: AMD 8350 @ 4.8 H2O RX240
Mainboard: ASRock 990FX Extreme 9
Memory: G Skill Sniper @ 2133 CL9
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 & 1000w Reciv
PSU: Cooler Master Silent 1000
Default 04-01-2013, 19:58 | posts: 229 | Location: Michigan

Sorry didnt see your last post.....forget. Glad you got figured. Drove me nutts for a few figurin out what was up.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
AllTech
Member Guru
 
AllTech's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: MAXIMUS IV
Memory: Mushkin 4x4 2133
Soundcard: Asus Phoebus
PSU: Corsair TX650
Default 04-02-2013, 05:27 | posts: 79 | Location: Ohio

Thanks everyone for the feedback.

I had messed with zoom earlier when I choose 720p from CP. I even setup a custom resolution. Easily overlooked function is screen fit. Drove me crazy for a minute, but that`s why I posted here.
Anyway, solution seemed so easy that I had to laugh. So far, I have launched a couple games and watched a movie. My build is nothing special, i3 3220 and GTX660, but I am able to max most games. Really diggin` it...

Last edited by AllTech; 04-02-2013 at 06:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.